SM Link

Governor's Commission on Fort Sisseton


The Governor's Commission on Fort Sisseton was established in 1996 by former Governor Bill Janklow. The fifteen members are appointed by the Governor. The following is a summary of duties:

  • Serve as a mechanism to assure citizen input on issues pertaining to management and preservation efforts at Fort Sisseton.
  • Serve as an advisor on planning and design issues dealing with restoration and interpretive projects at Fort Sisseton.
  • Formulate and act on a marketing plan to promote Fort Sisseton as a destination for tourism in South Dakota.
  • Work to ensure a continuing emphasis on a local perspective to the Fort's restoration, thereby maintaining the historical integrity of one of South Dakota's most valuable cultural resources.

The Commission's 15 members are from across northeastern South Dakota, specifically from 8 cities, and 4 counties, plus one liaison form South Dakota's Department of Tourism.

They meet formally 3 times a year to advise and provide citizen input about restoration or interpretation.

Commission Members

Name Address Term Expires
Mary Dunn Eden, SD 2019
Karie Geyer Veblen, SD 2018
Judy Gulleson Britton, SD 2019
Jim Hagen Pierre, SD Secretary Dept. of Tourism
Duane Hemmah Webster, SD 2018
Bill Hoskins Garretson, SD 2019
Kirk Hulstein Pierre, SD Tourism Liaison
Glen Johnson Sisseton, SD 2019
Kirk Jones Britton, SD 2017
Jim Patrick Watertown, SD 2021
Bruce Prins Sisseton, SD 2018
Sidney Schroeder Aberdeen, SD 2018
Gary Strand Roslyn, SD 2018
Eileen Warzeka Lake City, SD 2017



Next Meeting:

January 22, 2018, 2017

Previous Meetings:

September 12, 2017
July 21, 2017


April 20, 2017


February 9, 2017