SM Link
Jump to a State Park:  | Parks Home

Visitor Centers

The Civilian Conservation Corp left an indelible mark on the landscape of Custer State Park. Many of the buildings they constructed in the 1930's are still in use today. Two of most prominent of these buildings are the Peter Norbeck Visitor Center and the Wildlife Station Visitor Center.

Peter Norbeck outdoor education center

Mount Coolidge Fire Tower

The Peter Norbeck Outdoor Education Center, named in honor of Governor Peter Norbeck, is located along US Highway 16A near the Historic State Game Lodge. Norbeck was the force behind the establishment of Custer State Park back in 1919 and is recognized as the "Father of Custer State Park."

Here guests will find displays and exhibits about the park and surrounding Black Hills, life size animal mounts, information about the park's on-going naturalist programs, a book store and staff members to help plan their stay.

Wildlife Station Visitor Center

Mount Coolidge Fire Tower

The Wildlife Station Visitor Center is located on the Wildlife Loop Road and provides guests with a place to stop, stretch their legs and visit with park staff about the prairie habitats of Custer State Park or find out where they might see a herd of bison and other wildlife.

The building was originally built as the Buffalo Herdsman's house and over the years has housed the herdsman and other park staff but more recently became a Visitor Center around 1990. Inside you will witness the unique craftsmanship of the CCC era as well as exhibits, wildlife mounts and a bookstore.


Peter Norbeck outdoor education Center

Closed for the season on October 28.

Wildlife Station Visitor Center

Opens the third weekend in May and closes around September 30, shortly after the Buffalo Roundup.