SM Link

governor's Pheasant habitat work group

Huron, SD - December 6, 2013

Pheasant Habitat Summit Information

January 7, 2014

Pheasant Habitat Work Group Members Selected

PIERRE, S.D. - Gov. Dennis Daugaard today announced the members of a work group tasked with examining strategies for developing pheasant habitat in South Dakota.

The pheasant habitat work group continues the efforts Gov. Daugaard began last month with the first ever Governor's Pheasant Habitat Summit in Huron.

"Pheasant habitat and agriculture enjoy a symbiotic relationship in South Dakota," Gov. Daugaard said. "The work group will look for practical ways we can solidify our status as the world's greatest pheasant hunting destination while supporting agriculture - our number one industry."

The thirteen pheasant habitat work group members are:

The pheasant habitat work group will develop recommendations to the Governor that focus on practical solutions for maintaining and improving pheasant habitat.

The work group will meet periodically through June, with a final report completed in late summer 2014.

Members of the public may submit ideas for encouraging pheasant habitat development to, or by telephone at 605.223.7660. All submissions will be considered by the work group.

The following are videos from South Dakota Public Broadcasting during the Governor's Pheasant Habitat Summit.

opening remarks

Jeff Vonk - Secretary, South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks
Governor Dennis Daugaard

history of pheasants

Tony Leif - Director, Wildlife Division of South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks

south dakota land use

Barry Dunn, Ph. D. - South Dakota Corn Utilization Council Endowed Dean, SDSU College of Agriculture and Biological Sciences

modern agricultural production

Bruce Knight - Principle and Founder, Strategic Conservation Solutions, LLC

Conservation Policies

Dave Nomsen - VP of Governmental Affairs, Pheasants Forever

pheasant hunting and tourism

Jim Hagen - Secretary, South Dakota Department of Tourism

Panel Discussion

Moderated by Lucas Lentsch - Secretary, South Dakota Department of Agriculture

findings of small group discussions and wrap-up