Fall South Dakota nonresident waterfowl licenses are limited in number and distributed by a lottery drawing. Hunters must submit an application and fee, either online or by paper application via mail.
- Applicants must be a minimum of age 12, or will turn 12 by December 31, to be eligible for the drawing.
- Hunters age 16 and older must have a valid, signed Federal Waterfowl Stamp in possession to be legal.
- The application process and the license issued include the Migratory Bird Certification privileges.
- A separate nonresident small game license is required to hunt small game, such as pheasants and grouse.
Applicants may receive:
- No more than one Nonresident Waterfowl License before Nov. 1.
- Beginning Nov. 1, there is no limit to the number of Nonresident Waterfowl Licenses a hunter may possess.
- Applicants are also eligible for one Nonresident September Canada Goose license, which does not count against the harvest limit of regular Nonresident Waterfowl licenses.
- Nonresident Waterfowl Season Dates -
See application for specific details
Nonresident youth waterfowl
- Season Dates: Nonresident Youth Waterfowl season dates are September 17-18, 2016 only.
- License Eligibility: Nonresidents who have not reached the age of 16 by September 17, 2016, are eligibile for this license.
- 100 licenses are available in the youth drawing.
- Nonresident youth can hunt statewide.
- View additional information in the 2016 application.
2016 Legislative changes
House Bill 1075 amended Administrative Rules of South Dakota (ARSD) 41:06:16:11 to expand the area where 3-day nonresident waterfowl licenses in hunting unit NRW-00X are valid; see map and unit information below.
Previously the legislature granted the GFP Commission the ability to set nonresident waterfowl licenses with passage of House Bill 1185 in 2014.
House Bill 1185 removed caps on licenses from South Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) 41-6-18.4 but restricted the GFP Commission from raising license numbers by more than 5% per year.
House Bill 1185 left in place a provision of SDCL 41-6-18.4 requiring the GFP Commission to determine that sufficient opportunity for waterfowl hunting exists prior to issuing temporary (3-day) nonresident waterfowl licenses.
Because House Bill 1075 only amended ARSD and did not codify the adopted changes into state statute, the authority of the GFP Commission to regulate nonresident waterfowl licenses remains unchanged. The Commission will not be able to make any changes to ARSD 41:06:16:11 until after July 1, 2016. This is the date when bills from the 2016 legislative session that were adopted without an emergency clause become effective. Any adopted amendments to ARSD 41:06:16:11 prior to July 1, 2016 would be nullified when HB 1075 becomes effective.
Nonresident waterfowl unit maps
- NRW-00A-86: CHARLES MIX, BON HOMME, YANKTON, CLAY and UNION counties. License valid for entire season.
- NRW-00B-86: STATEWIDE, except area in units NRW-00A and NRW-11A. License valid for 10 consecutive days.
- NRW-11A-86: BENNETT county. Applicants must chose a 10 consecutive day period between (Oct. 15-Dec. 18, 2016 and Jan. 14-22, 2017) in this unit. Successful applicants will receive two tags for Canada geese that may be taken according to daily and possession limits.
- NRW-00X-86: License valid on private land only in Hughes, Lyman, Potter, Stanley and Sully counties. However, licenses are not valid on private property leased by GFP for public hunting or on public highways or other rights of way otherwise open to hunting. The license is valid on public and private land in Campbell, Edmunds, Faulk, McPherson and Walworth counties. For all counties identified above, the license is valid for 3 consecutive days.
- NRW-00Y-86: License valid on public and private land in Brown, Marshall, Roberts, Day, Grant, Clark, Codington, Deuel and Hamlin counties. License is valid for 3 consecutive days.