### WHERE TO OFF-ROAD IN South Dakota State Parks

### OAHE DOWNSTREAM OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE Area

5 miles North of Fort Pierre off SD 1806 605.223.7722

The Oahe Downstream Off-Highway Vehicle Area features almost 400 acres of hilly grassland, river bluff and vegetated shale slopes for you to explore. Boundaries are marked, but there are no designated trails.

### **REVHEIM BAY OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE AREA**

1 mile SE of Mobridge off US Hwy 12 605.845.7112

The Revheim Bay Off-Highway Vehicle Area features a 1.1 mile long track.



South Dakota Game, Fish, and Parks 523 E. Capitol Avenue Pierre, SD 57501 605.773.3391 gfp.sd.gov

### OFF-ROADING ON FEDERAL LANDS

Contact local law enforcement agencies for regulations.

BLACK HILLS NATIONAL FOREST 605.673.9200 fs.usda.gov/blackhills

### BUFFALO GAP NATIONAL GRASSLAND 605.745.4107

fs.usda.gov/main/nebraska

**CUSTER NATIONAL FOREST** 605.797.4432 fs.usda.gov/main/custergallatin

### FORT PIERRE NATIONAL GRASSLAND

605.224.5517 fs.usda.gov

### **GRAND RIVER NATIONAL GRASSLAND**

605.374.3592 fs.usda.gov/dpg

### **BUREAU OF RECLAMATION**

Dakotas Area Office 605.394.9757 usbr.gov/gp/dkao

For information on licensing regulations, contact the Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles at 605.773.3541 or *dor.sd.gov/individuals/motor-vehicle.* 

# OPERATING RECREATIONAL VEHICLES

IN SOUTH DAKOTA STATE PARKS



ATVS UTVS MOTORCYCLES MOTOCROSS BIKES GOLF CARTS MOPEDS SCOOTERS

## ATVS, MOTORCYCLES, Motocross bikes

#### At Oahe Downstream and Revheim Bay Off-Highway Vehicle Areas:

- » Vehicles are not required to be registered or to have a park entrance license.
- » Riding is allowed only inside the designated off-road vehicle area.

#### In all other state park areas:

- » Vehicles must be registered.
- » A park entrance license is required.
- » Operator must be able to provide proof of insurance coverage.
- » If not registered, the vehicle must remain in the truck or on the trailer.
- » Non-resident OHVs may be temporarily registered by contacting the South Dakota Department of Revenue at 605.773.3541.
- » Vehicles must be equipped with a horn, headlight, brake light and rearview mirror.
- » Operator must be 14 years of age or older and possess a valid driver's license.
- » Vehicles can only be operated on designated park roads. Vehicles cannot be operated on paved or unpaved trails or shorelines.
- » Operator must have eye protection.
- » Helmets are required of all users under 18 years of age.
- » Driver must obey all traffic regulations.

# The following cannot be licensed and cannot operate on park roads:

- » ATVs under 200cc
- » Three-wheeled ATVs

## SCOOTERS/MOPEDS

- » A park entrance license is required.
- » Mopeds/scooters must be equipped with a horn, headlight, brake light and rear view mirror.
- » Mopeds/scooters under 50cc are not required to be registered, but may operate on park roads if properly equipped.
- » Operator must be 14 years of age or older and have a valid driver's license.
- Mopeds/scooters can only be operated on designated park roads when in South Dakota state parks and recreation areas. Mopeds/scooters cannot be operated on paved or unpaved trails or beaches.
- » Operator must have eye protection unless a windshield is in place.
- » Helmets are required of all users under 18 years of age.
- » Drivers must obey all traffic regulations.

## **SNOWMOBILES**

» For snowmobile regulations, visit gfp.sd.gov/snowmobiling or see the current issue of the South Dakota Snowmobile Trails Map, available November to March. Request a copy online at travelsd.com or by calling 605.773.3391.

## **GOLF CARTS**

- » Golf carts are not required to be licensed to operate in state parks and state recreation areas.
- » A park entrance license is required.
- » Unlicensed golf carts must be equipped with a headlight, brake light, and rearview mirror.
- » Operator must be able to provide proof of insurance coverage.
- » Operator must be 14 years of age or older and have a valid driver's license.
- » Unregistered golf carts cannot operate on state park and recreation roads with posted speed limits of more than 35 miles per hour.
- » Within Custer State Park, unregistered golf carts can only operate within designated campgrounds.
- » Golf carts can only operate on designated park roads when in South Dakota state parks and recreation areas. Golf carts are not allowed to operate on paved or unpaved trails or beaches.
- » Drivers must obey all traffic regulations.

