
2025 LIGHT GOOSE CONSERVATION ORDER
2025 LIGHT GOOSE CONSERVATION ORDER

DATES: Feb. 17 – May 15, statewide

DAILY/POSSESSION LIMIT: Unlimited

LEGAL SPECIES: SNOWS, BLUES AND ROSS’ GEESE.  
Canada geese, white-fronted geese, or any other goose species 
CANNOT be taken.

SHOOTING HOURS: One-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour 
after sunset.

NONTOXIC SHOT: Approved nontoxic shot includes steel 
shot, bismuth-tin, tungsten-polymer, tungsten matrix, and any 
combination of tungsten-iron-nickel-tin-copper-bismuth.

SHOTGUN SHELL CAPACITY: Shotguns with a shell capacity of 
more than 3 shells are allowed.

ELECTRONIC CALLS: Use of tapes of migratory bird calls or 
sounds, or electronically amplified imitations of bird calls is allowed.

STATE REFUGES: Except for the Wall Lake Game Bird Refuge in 
Hand County, Silver Lake in Hutchinson County, and the waterfowl 
refuges on the Missouri River that include Oahe Dam, Big Bend Dam 
and Fort Randall Dam, the taking of light geese is allowed in state 
Game, Game Bird and Waterfowl Refuges. Some refuges contain 
private land, and landowner permission is required to hunt those 
areas.

FEDERAL REFUGES: Some federal refuges may allow light goose 
hunting in a portion of the refuge. Check with specific refuge.

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS
Residents
All residents, regardless of age, need a 2024-25 Migratory Bird 
Certification ($5) and one of the following licenses for which they 
qualify:
Combination (small game and fishing)............................................... $60
Senior Combination (small game and fishing).................................. $43
Small Game............................................................................................. $36
Youth Small Game, ages 12-17............................................................... $5
One-Day Small Game............................................................................ $15

	» Hunters 12 through 15 years of age must also possess a hunter 
safety card.

	» Details for the Mentored Hunt program can be found in the 2024 
Hunting and Trapping Handbook or at the Game, Fish and Parks 
website at gfp.sd.gov.

	» Federal Waterfowl Stamp is not required. 
	» Resident landowners do not need a state license to hunt their own 

land.

Nonresidents
All nonresidents, regardless of age, need a 2024-25 Migratory Bird 
Certification ($5) and one of the following licenses for which they 
qualify:
Nonresident Spring Light Goose License............................................ $61
Youth Nonresident Spring Light Goose License (age 12 through 17).... $21

	» The nonresident Spring Light Goose License is valid the entire 
season, statewide.

	» Licenses can be purchased on the GFP website or from license 
agents.

	» Nonresidents who are at least 12 years old may buy licenses to take 
light geese.

	» Hunters 12 through 15 years of age must also possess a hunter 
safety card or a license from another state to buy a South Dakota 
license.

	» Federal Waterfowl Stamp is not required.

Habitat Stamp
A Habitat Stamp is required for anyone 18 years of age or older who 
purchases or applies for a hunting, fishing, or furbearer license. This 
includes both residents and nonresidents. The Habitat Stamp must be 
purchased before obtaining or applying for a license or at the time of 
a license sale or application.

This publication is a supplement to the 2024 Hunting and 
Trapping Handbook. Unless excepted above, all rules and laws 
published in the 2024 Hunting and Trapping Handbook apply.

FEDERAL REGULATIONS FOR MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS
In addition to state regulations, these federal rules, enforced by both state and federal officers, apply to taking migratory game birds.

RESTRICTIONS 
No person may take migratory game birds:
	» With trap, snare, net, crossbow, rifle, pistol, swivel gun, shotgun larger than 10 gauge, punt gun, battery gun, machine gun, fish hook, 

poison, drug, explosive or stupefying substance.
	» From a sink box (a low-floating device that conceals the hunter beneath the surface of the water).
	» From or with the aid of a car or other motor-driven land conveyance or an aircraft.
	» From a motorboat or sailboat unless the motor has been shut off or the sail furled and its progress has ceased.
	» By the use or aid of live decoys.
	» By driving, rallying or chasing birds with a motorized conveyance or a sailboat to put them in range of hunters.
	» By placing, exposing, or scattering feed such as corn, wheat, salt or other feed to lure migratory game birds to an area where hunters are 

attempting to take them. An area is considered to be baited for 10 days after the removal of the bait.

WANTON WASTE: All migratory game birds must be retrieved, if possible, and retained in the custody of the hunter in the field.

LIVE BIRDS: Crippled birds must be immediately killed.



LEGAL SPECIES
Snow and Blue Geese
Length: 27-31 in.
Weight: 4-6 1/2 lbs.

Adult snow geese are white with 
black wing tips. Blue geese are a color 
phase of the snow goose.
IN FLIGHT: Snow geese, blue geese 
and ross’ geese all have black wing 
tips (primaries).

SNOW GOOSE (SNOWS)
Sexes similar

BLUE GOOSE (BLUES)
Sexes similar
A color phase of the snow goose, sizes 
similar

ROSS’ GOOSE (no art)
The Ross’ goose is similar to the snow 
goose, but smaller. In  South Dakota, 
they associate with flocks of snow geese.
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Immature

Adult

Immature

NOT LEGAL SPECIES

Adult

Immature

Length: 27-30 in.
Weight: 4 1/2-7 lbs.

View weekly waterfowl migration reports at gfp.sd.gov/migration-reports.

White-Fronted Geese
White-fronted geese are 
commonly called “speckle bellies” 
or “laughing geese.” This medium-
sized brown goose is distinguished 
in adult plumage by the striking 
black and white barring on the 
underparts. The head is dusky 
brown with a white mask.
IN FLIGHT: Black-barred or 
striping on under parts (chest) 
with Yellow-orange feet evident.

Canada Geese
Canada geese are often called 
“honkers.” Includes several 
races varying in weight from 
3 to over 12 pounds. All have 
black heads and necks with a 
white cheek and throat patch. 
Similar habitats and voices. 
Sexes are identical.

SUNRISE/SUNSET
The following sunrise/sunset times are for Huron. For each 12 miles west, add 1 minute. For each 12 miles east, subtract 1 minute. Daylight 
Saving Time begins March 9.

DATE RISE SET

FEBRUARY
17 7:28 6:05

20 7:24 6:09
23 7:19 6:13

26 7:14 6:17

28 7:11 6:20

DATE RISE SET

MARCH

1 7:09 6:21

3 7:05 6:24
6 7:00 6:27

9 7:55 7:31

11 7:51 7:34
13 7:48 7:36
17 7:40 7:41
20 7:35 7:45
22 7:31 7:48
24 7:27 7:50
26 7:24 7:53
28 7:20 7:55
30 7:16 7:58

DATE RISE SET

APRIL

1 7:13 8:00

3 7:09 8:03
6 7:04 8:06

9 6:58 8:10

11 6:55 8:12
14 6:50 8:16
17 6:45 8:20
20 6:40 8:23
22 6:36 8:26
24 6:33 8:28
26 6:30 8:31
28 6:27 8:33
30 6:24 8:36

DATE RISE SET

MAY

1 6:23 8:37

3 6:20 8:39
5 6:17 8:42

7 6:14 8:44

9 6:12 8:46
11 6:09 8:49
13 6:07 8:51
15 6:05 8:53


