2025 NONRESIDENT EAST RIVER LANDOWNER

APPLY ONLINE: Applying online is easy. Visit *gfp.sd.gov*. Click on "Licenses" and "Purchase License" to purchase/apply for a Hunting/Fishing License. From there, the system walks you through step by step. If you do not already have an account, you will be required to create one. You will begin by selecting a season to apply for and your first choice hunting unit. Please note that you are required to provide a credit or debit card number to finish the transaction. Upon completion and submission of your application, you are then placed directly into the drawing for the unit you selected. Preference points are automatically included if applicable.

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

Termination of Residency

A person is deemed to have terminated their South Dakota resident hunting, fishing, and trapping status if the person does any of the following:

- Applies for, purchases, or accepts a resident hunting, fishing, or trapping license issued by another state or foreign country;
- Registers to vote in another state or foreign country;
- · Accepts a driver's license issued by another state or foreign country; or
- Moves to any other state or foreign country and makes it the person's domicile or makes any claim of residency for any purpose in the other state or foreign country.

However, a person who has lawfully acquired a resident hunting, fishing, or trapping license and who leaves the state after acquiring the license to take up residency elsewhere may continue to exercise all the privileges granted by the license until the license expires if the person's respective privileges are not revoked or suspended.

Social Security Number

The last four digits of your Social Security Number are required. The Social Security Number information is required from all U.S. residents before this application will be processed [SDCL 25-7A-56.2]. This information will be kept confidential and is required to be in compliance with state law on collection of delinquent child support payments.

South Dakota law prohibits the issuance or renewal of any hunting or fishing license if an individual owes \$1,000 or more in past-due child support unless the individual enters into a repayment agreement with the Dept. of Social Services for payment of the delinquent child support [SDCL 25-7A-56; 25-7A-1(28)]. There is a requirement to enter into a repayment agreement with the Dept. of Social Services even if the individual is presently making child support payments, or if child support is being withheld from wages or income. To enter into the required repayment agreement, individuals must contact the Dept. of Social Services - Office of Child Support Enforcement, 700 Governor's Drive - Kneip Building, Pierre SD 57501, or call 605.773.6456.

Age Eligibility

- Nonresidents must be 12 years old by Dec. 31, 2025 to hunt.
- Nonresidents under age 16 must successfully complete a HuntSAFE course.
- Nonresidents under age 16 must include the certificate number from their hunter safety card, or a current or previous hunting license issued to them from any state.
- Nonresidents who have not completed the HuntSAFE course at the time of application must leave their HuntSAFE number blank within their profile, but they can still apply. If successful in the draw, their license will be held until the GFP License Office is notified of the HuntSAFE card number once the course has been successfully completed.
- Information on the "Mentored Hunt" program is found in a separate application form.

Fees

Payment for online applications must be made with a valid credit/debit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express). Your credit/debit card will not be charged the full fee until, and only if you are successful in the drawing. Nonpayment in the form of a cancelled credit/debit card will result in your license being withheld and the blocking of any future license purchases until the unpaid fee, along with any penalties, is paid in full.

Application Rules

• Licenses may not be transferred to another person.

NONRESIDENT EAST RIVER LANDOWNER INFORMATION

LANDOWNER ELIGIBILITY

Qualifying nonresident landowners and "owner/ operators," and any "immediate family" living at home, who have not been issued a big game license that permits the harvest of a buck during the East River Deer season are eligible to apply for a Nonresident East River Landowner Own Land license to hunt their own land.

- Nonresident landowners must own for "agricultural purposes" a minimum of 160 contiguous acres and be an "owner/operator" of the land to qualify.
- Nonresident landowners are eligible for both a Landowner Own Land license for West River and East River Deer if eligibility requirements are met. The qualifying applicant's land, as described on their application, must be within the hunting unit applied for and be an area open for hunting.
- Legal entities, including shareholders of a corporation, members of an LLC holding a membership interest in the company, partners in a partnership, and beneficiaries of a trust entitled to the current income and assets held in trust, organized and in good standing under the laws of this state are eligible if:
 - o The **nonresident** entity holds title to 160 contiguous acres or more (East River) of private land located within the hunting unit applied for
 - o The shareholder, member, partner, or trust beneficiary is responsible for making the day-to-day management decisions for "agricultural purposes" on the farm or ranch.
- "Agricultural purposes" means the producing, raising, growing, or harvesting of food or fiber upon agricultural land, including dairy products, livestock, crops, timber, and grasslands. Land leased solely for hunting, fishing, or trapping is not considered agricultural purposes.
- "Owner/Operator" means an individual holding fee title to farm or ranch real property who is directly involved in the management decisions made for agricultural purposes on the farm or ranch.
- "Immediate Family" means the qualifying applicant's spouse or a child who resides with the qualifying applicant.

LANDOWNER EAST RIVER DEER - Nonresident only

APPLICATION DEADLINES:

First Deadline – Applications must be submitted online by 8 a.m. CDT March 17. Results available online by March 20. One application may be submitted per applicant.

Second Deadline – Applications must be submitted online by 8 a.m. CDT April 10. Results available online by April 16. Those who do not already have a license may submit one application.

Leftover Licenses – Those who do not already have a license may purchase one license. Licenses will be issued first-come, first-served by online application only on Monday, May 5, at 2 p.m. CDT.

Season Dates: Nov. 22-Dec. 7

SEASON-UNIT-TYPE CHOICES

LED-NR- Landowner's property located within units open to hunting during the East River Deer season. There are 250 total licenses available. Applicants must choose between an "any deer" or an "any deer and any antlerless deer" in their application.

01: Valid for ONE any deer. \$190.50

08: Valid for ONE any deer and ONE any antlerless deer. \$215.50