
2024 MENTORED HUNTING
APPLICATION DEADLINE
Mentored Spring Turkey................................. No deadline
Mentored Deer.................................................No deadline
Mentored Antelope.......................................... No deadline
Mentored Fall Turkey...................................... No deadline

LANDOWNER PERMISSION REQUIRED
Permission is required to hunt private land in South Dakota. Every 
year Game, Fish and Parks receives comments from hunters who drew 
a license and couldn’t obtain permission to hunt private land once the 
season opened. Do not apply just because licenses are available. Have 
permission to hunt before you apply. If  you don’t receive permission 
before you apply, you may not be able obtain permission during the 
season.

REMINDER FOR 2024
•	 Mentees that obtain a Mentor Deer/Antelope/Turkey license cannot 
possess any other license for the respective species.  For example; if  
a child has a Mentor Deer license, they cannot possess any other deer 
license in 2024.  
•	 Mentees can only possess one mentor license, per species in 
2024.

Definitions
Mentee: The youth 15 years of  age or younger that will be hunting. 
Mentor: The mentee’s parent, guardian, or other adult 18 years of  age 
or older.

Eligibility
• Resident and nonresident mentee must be 15 years of  age or younger. 
Licenses are only valid for the mentee that is named on the license.
• The parent or guardian of  the mentee must complete the application 
for the child. It does not impact license eligibility for the adult (i.e. the 
mentor).
• The adult mentor can be a resident or nonresident and must be 18 
years of  age or older and must have successfully completed a hunter 
safety or hunter education course. Mentors may be the mentee’s parent 
or legal guardian or any other competent adult who has the written 
consent of  the child’s parent or guardian.
• Nonresident mentees must have a resident sponsor listed in their 
application that includes the name, address, and phone number of  the 
resident sponsor. The resident sponsor must be 18 years of  age or 
older.
• The mentor shall be unarmed, with the exception of  a legally 
possessed handgun, and have the mentee under their immediate 
physical control, direct supervision, and responsibility at the time the 
mentee discharges the firearm or operates a bow and arrow in the act 
of  hunting.

Social Security Number
The Social Security Number information is required from all U.S. 
residents before this application will be processed [SDCL 25-7A-56.2]. 
This information will be kept confidential. The information is required 
to be in compliance with state law on collection of  delinquent child 
support payments.

	 South Dakota law prohibits the issuance or renewal of  any hunting or fishing 
license if  an individual owes $1,000 or more in past due child support unless 
the individual enters into a repayment agreement with the Department of  Social 
Services for payment of  the delinquent child support [SDCL 25-7A-56; 25-
7A-1(28)]. There is a requirement to enter into a repayment agreement with the 
Dept. of  Social Services even if  the individual is presently making child support 
payments, or if  child support is being withheld from wages or income. To enter into 
the required repayment agreement, individuals must contact the Dept. of  Social 
Services, Division of  Child Support, 700 Governor’s Drive-Kneip Building, Pierre 
SD 57501, or call 605.773.6456.

Fees
Payment for online applications must be made with a valid credit/debit 
card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express). 
Your credit/debit card will be charged at the time of  checkout. Non-
payment in the form of  a cancelled/invalid credit/debit card will result 
in your license not being processed.

Application Rules
• Applications must be submitted by a parent or guardian.
• Licenses are only valid for the mentee named on the application/license.

Submitting Applications
Applications must be submitted online, by calling 605.223.7660, or at a 
GFP Wildlife Division Office.

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

APPLY ONLINE: gfp.sd.gov
Visit gfp.sd.gov, click on “Licenses,” and then  
“Purchase License” to purchase/apply for a Hunting 
License. From there, the system walks you through step by step. If  
you do not already have an account, you will be required to create 
one. You will begin by selecting a season to apply for. Please note that 
you are required to provide a credit or debit card number to finish the 
transaction. Upon completion and submission of  your application, you 
are then awarded the license which will then be mailed to you. 

NOTE: All applications must be submitted online.

SEASON  APPLICATION  INFORMATION
	 TRIBAL TRUST LANDS. State licenses are valid on private, deeded 
lands within the exterior boundaries of  an Indian reservation. Persons 
wishing to hunt on tribal lands should contact the appropriate tribal 
office concerning tribal licenses.
	 NOTE: The purchase of  a mentored hunting license does not 
affect eligibility of  the parent/guardian for other deer, antelope 
and turkey seasons.



MENTORED FALL TURKEY
Season Dates: Mentored Fall Turkey licenses are valid during the 
established 2024 Prairie Fall Turkey season.

License Eligibility: A mentor may be the mentee’s parent or guardian 
or any other competent adult who has the written consent of  the 
mentee’s parent or guardian. A nonresident application must include 
the name, address, and phone number of  a resident sponsoring the 
license. Mentored Fall Turkey hunters cannot purchase a regular 
Prairie Fall Turkey license (including the unit in the Black 
Hills).

Individual License Quota: One mentored Fall Turkey license per 
mentee. Applicants may purchase a license throughout the season by 
applying online, by calling 605.223.7660, or at GFP Wildlife Division 
offices. Please allow ample time (7-10 business days) for the license to 
be processed and mailed to you before you leave for your hunt.

Processing Licenses: Applications will start being accepted for this 
season in late August.

SEASON-UNIT-TYPE CHOICES:
MFT-ST1-31 Mentored Fall Turkey licenses are valid wherever a Fall 
Turkey unit is open. Unit specific equipment restrictions apply as 
outlined in the Prairie Fall Turkey season. Valid for one any turkey.
Unlimited resident ($5); 
	 Unlimited nonresident ($10) 
License not valid in Custer State Park.

Season Dates: Mentored Spring Turkey licenses are valid during the 
established 2024 spring turkey season.

License Eligibility: A mentor may be the mentee’s parent or guardian 
or any other competent adult who has the written consent of  the 
mentee’s parent or guardian. A nonresident application must include 
the name, address, and phone number of  a resident sponsoring the 
license. Mentored Spring Turkey hunters cannot purchase a 
regular Archery Spring Turkey, Black Hills Spring Turkey, or 
Prairie Spring Turkey license.

Individual License Quota: One mentored Spring Turkey license 
per mentee. Applicants may purchase a license throughout the season 
by applying online, calling 605.223.7660, or at GFP Wildlife Division 
offices. Please allow ample time (7-10 business days) for the license to 
be processed and mailed to you before you leave for your hunt.

Processing Licenses: Applications will start being accepted for this 
season in late January. 

SEASON-UNIT-TYPE CHOICES:
MST-ST1-32 Specific season and unit information will be provided 
with the license. All specific unit and season equipment restrictions 
apply as outlined in the Prairie Spring Turkey and Archery Spring 
Turkey season information. Mentored Spring Turkey licenses are valid 
statewide, wherever a Spring Turkey unit is open (i.e. must archery hunt 
in an archery unit or shotgun hunt in only shotgun units). Valid for one 
male wild turkey.
	 Unlimited resident ($5); Unlimited nonresident ($10) 
License not valid in Custer State Park.

MENTORED SPRING TURKEY

*The map above identifies all Prairie Spring Turkey units. Archery Spring 
Turkey is open statewide, except for Custer State Park and south of  Highway 34 
in Lake County.



MENTORED DEER
Season Dates: Mentored Deer licenses are valid during the 2024 Youth 
and Apprentice Deer season, September 14, 2024 to January 1, 2025.

License Eligibility: A mentor may be the mentee’s parent or guardian 
or any other competent adult who has the written consent of  the 
mentee’s parent or guardian. Mentored deer hunters cannot possess 
any other deer license.

Processing Licenses: Applications will start being accepted for this 
season in late May.

Individual License Quota: One Mentored Deer license per mentee. 
Applicants may purchase a license throughout the season by applying 
online, by calling 605.223.7660, or at GFP Wildlife Division offices. 
Please allow ample time (7-10 business days) for the license to be 
processed and mailed to you before you leave for your hunt.

SEASON-UNIT-TYPE CHOICES:
MHD-03- License is valid in West River Deer hunting units: 02A, 15A, 
15B, 31A, 35A, 35C, 35L, 49A, 49B, 53A, 53C, and 64A (see map for 
open area), all national parks and monuments, and Fort Meade Bureau 
of  Land Management South Unit and the signed portion of  the North 
Unit are closed to this season.
	 03: License valid for one Any Antlerless Deer.
	 Unlimited resident ($5); Unlimited nonresident ($10)

MHD-13- License is valid for that portion of  the state not included 
in Unit MHD-03, excluding Farm Island State Recreation Area, 
LaFramboise Island State Nature Area, Custer State Park, and all 
national parks and monuments. Also, mentored deer hunting is not 
allowed on Sand Lake National Wildlife Refuge, Lacreek National 
Wildlife Refuge, Lake Andes National Wildlife Refuge, and Waubay 
National Wildlife Refuge unless otherwise allowed by the refuge. 	
	 13: License valid for one Antlerless Whitetail.
	 Unlimited resident ($5); Unlimited nonresident ($10)

MENTORED ANTELOPE
Open Area: Mentored Antelope licenses are valid in any open firearm 
hunting unit west of  the Missouri River on private land only. Lands 
leased by GFP for public hunting (Walk In Areas and CHAP areas) are 
NOT open to Mentor Antelope hunting.

Season Dates: Mentored Antelope licenses are valid during the 
established 2024 Archery Antelope and the Firearm Antelope seasons. 
Firearms may not be used during the Archery Antelope season. 

License Eligibility: A mentor may be the mentee’s parent or guardian 
or any other competent adult who has the written consent of  the 
mentee’s parent or guardian. A nonresident application must include 
the name, address, and phone number of  a resident sponsoring the 
license. Mentored antelope hunters cannot possess a regular 
Archery Antelope, Firearm Antelope, or Special Antelope  
license.

Individual License Quota: One mentored antelope license per 
mentee. Applicants may purchase a license throughout the season by 
applying online, by calling 605.223.7660, or at GFP Wildlife Division 
offices. Please allow ample time (7-10 business days) for the license to 
be processed and mailed to you before you leave for your hunt.

Processing Licenses: Applications will start being accepted for this 
season in late July.

SEASON-UNIT-TYPE CHOICES:
MHA-ST1-43 Mentored antelope licenses are valid in any open firearm 
hunting unit west of  the Missouri River on private land only. Lands 
leased by GFP for public hunting (Walk In Areas and CHAP areas) are 
NOT open to Mentor Antelope hunting. Firearms may not be used 
during the Archery Antelope season. All unit, date, and equipment 
restrictions apply as outlined in the archery and firearms seasons. Valid 
for one doe/fawn antelope.
	 Unlimited resident ($5); Unlimited nonresident ($10)



CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE
Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) is a fatal disease of the central nervous system found in both captive and free-ranging deer and elk. The South Dakota 
Department of Game, Fish and Parks (GFP) has been conducting surveillance for CWD since 1997 to determine disease presence and prevalence 
across the state. Chronic wasting disease has been confirmed in free-ranging deer or elk in Bennett, Buffalo, Butte, Corson, Custer, Fall River, Haakon, 
Harding, Jackson, Lawrence, Lyman, Meade, Mellette, Pennington, Perkins, Stanley, Sully, Tripp, Union, and Ziebach counties, including Custer State 
Park and Wind Cave National Park.
Carcass transportation and disposal regulations apply for all harvested deer or elk that is transported from the county of harvest or from another state 
back into South Dakota. In summary, the regulations include the following:

•	 Hunters are recommended to leave as much of the unusable carcass as possible at the location of the harvest in a discrete location. Make 
arrangements with landowner on property where permission has been granted. 

•	 Regulations do not prohibit a hunter from transporting a deer or elk carcass from the harvest location to anywhere in the state.
•	 If any portion of the carcass is transported from the county of harvest, the hunter is required to dispose of all carcass remains with a waste 

management provider, if an allowable trash item, or with a permitted landfill. 
•	 If you are not moving a deer or elk carcass from the county of harvest, the regulations do not apply unless the carcass is delivered to a game 

processor or taxidermist. Returning carcass remains to public lands and using road ditches to dispose of carcass remains is illegal. Make sure 
permission is granted prior to disposing carcasses on private land.

•	 Deer or elk carcasses from another state brought back into South Dakota must be disposed of with a waste management provider or landfill that 
accepts carcass parts.

•	 Game processors and taxidermists, regardless of the location of harvest, are required to dispose of all carcass remains with a waste management 
provider, if an allowable trash item, or with a permitted landfill.

The goal of surveillance strategies in South Dakota is to determine the likely spread of CWD to new units where the disease has not been detected 
in wild, free-ranging deer and elk. Hunters who would like to get their deer tested for CWD can voluntarily submit a sample for testing. As a voluntary 
submission, hunters will be responsible for the cost of shipping and any professional sample collection costs unless the hunter delivers a sample to a 
GFP Office or sample collection area. GFP will pay for the testing cost of the sample at South Dakota State University Animal Disease and Research 
Diagnostics Lab (SDSU ADRDL). Results will be sent to both the hunter and GFP. These results will supplement GFP’s surveillance effort across the 
state. The process for collecting samples from a harvested elk or deer (same process) and how to properly submit to SDSU ADRDL can be found at  
gfp.sd.gov/cwd-testing.
More detailed information on hunter submissions for CWD testing will become available prior to the start of the season. For more information CWD, visit 
gfp.sd.gov/chronic-wasting-disease.

CONTACT US

GFP LICENSING OFFICE
20641 SD Hwy 1806
Fort Pierre, SD 57532

605.223.7660 | TTY: 605.223.7684
Monday - Friday | 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

gfp.sd.gov

•	 A mentor may be the mentee’s parent or guardian or any other competent adult who has the written consent of  the mentee’s parent or guardian.  
•	 A nonresident application must include the name, address, and phone number of  a resident sponsoring the license. The resident sponsor must be 

18 years of  age or older.
•	 A mentor may purchase one mentor deer, one mentor antelope, one mentor spring turkey and one mentor fall turkey license for each mentee.
•	 Each resident license costs $5. Nonresident licenses are $10 each.
•	 Mentee must be 15 year of  age or younger.
•	 A mentee must be accompanied by an unarmed, with the exception of  a legally possessed handgun, parent, guardian, or designated mentor and 

within the immediate physical control, direct supervision, and responsibility of  the mentor.
•	 An adult mentor cannot accompany more than one mentee at any given time.
•	 A hunting party cannot exceed six people, including the mentee(s).
•	 An adult mentor must have successfully completed a hunter safety or hunter education course, carry their certification card and must be at least 

18 years old.
•	 All unit, date, and equipment restrictions apply for each respective season.
•	 Mentees designated on a mentored license cannot possess a regular license for that respective species. For example, if  a child has a Mentor Deer 

license, they cannot possess any other deer license in 2024 (including Youth Deer).

MENTORED HUNT REQUIREMENTS AND RESTRICTIONS


