
2022 MENTORED HUNTING
APPLICATION DEADLINE
Mentored Spring Turkey................................. No deadline
Mentored Deer.................................................No deadline
Mentored Antelope.......................................... No deadline
Mentored Fall Turkey...................................... No deadline

LANDOWNER PERMISSION REQUIRED
Permission is required to hunt private land in South Dakota. Every year 
Game, Fish, and Parks receives complaints from hunters who drew a 
license and couldn’t get permission to hunt private land once the season 
opened. Do not apply just because licenses are available. Have permission 
to hunt before you apply. If  you don’t get permission before you apply, 
you may not be able obtain permission during the season.

REMINDER FOR 2022
• Mentored licenses are available to both resident and nonresident 
mentees 15 years of  age or younger. 
•	 A nonresident application must include the name, address, and phone 
number of  a resident sponsoring the application. A resident sponsor 
must be a resident of  South Dakota 18 years of  age or older.

Definitions
Mentee: The youth 15 years of  age or younger that will be hunting. 
Mentor: The mentee’s parent, guardian, or other adult 18 years of  age 
or older.

Eligibility
• Resident and nonresident mentee must be 15 years of  age or younger. 
Licenses are only valid for the mentee that is named on the application 
and license.
• The parent or guardian of  the mentee must complete the application 
for the child. It does not impact their own license eligibility.
• The adult mentor can be a resident or nonresident and must be 18 
years of  age or older and must have successfully completed a hunter 
safety or hunter education course. Mentors may be the mentee’s parent 
or legal guardian or any other competent adult who has the written 
consent of  the child’s parent or guardian.
• Nonresident mentees must have a resident sponsor listed in their 
application.

Social Security Number
The Social Security Number information is required from all U.S. 
residents before this application will be processed [SDCL 25-7A-56.2]. 
This information will be kept confidential. The information is required 
to be in compliance with state law on collection of  delinquent child 
support payments.
	 South Dakota law prohibits the issuance or renewal of  any hunting or fishing 
license if  an individual owes $1,000 or more in past due child support unless 
the individual enters into a repayment agreement with the Department of  Social 
Services for payment of  the delinquent child support [SDCL 25-7A-56; 25-7A-
1(28)]. There is a requirement to enter into a repayment agreement with the Dept. 
of  Social Services even if  the individual is presently making child support payments, 
or if  child support is being withheld from wages or income. To enter into the required 

repayment agreement, individuals must contact the Dept. of  
Social Services, Division of  Child Support, 700 Governor’s 
Drive-Kneip Building, Pierre SD 57501, or call 605-773-
6456.

Submitting Fees
You must submit the appropriate license fee to cover the cost of  each 
season applied for on this multiple application form. One check may 
be written to cover the cost of  all seasons you apply for on this form. 
We recommend the fee be sent in the form of  a personal check, but 
a cashier’s check, money order or cash will be accepted. Cash is not 
recommended. Make checks payable to “South Dakota Game, Fish and 
Parks.” Payment for applications submitted online must be made with a 
valid credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express). 
Your credit card will be charged at the time of  application. Non-
payment in the form of  a cancelled credit card will result in your license 
application not being processed. A bad check will void the application 
and applicants will be subject to any back check fees and penalties.

Application Rules
• Applications must be submitted by a parent or guardian.
• Licenses are only valid for the mentee named on the application/license.
• Applications not properly filled out will be returned.

Submitting Applications
Applications may be submitted online, on the printed forms and 
mailed, or at the GFP Licensing Office in Fort Pierre. Proper postage 
must be affixed to ensure delivery. Mail to: 

Game, Fish and Parks License Office
20641 SD Hwy 1806
Fort Pierre, SD 57532

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

A P P LY  O N L I N E :  g f p . s d . g ov
Applying online is easy. Visit gfp.sd.gov, click on “Licenses,” and then  
“Purchase License” to purchase/apply for a Hunting/Fishing License. 
From there, the system walks you through step by step. If  you do not 
already have an account, you will be required to create one. You will 
begin by selecting a season to apply for and your first-choice hunting 
unit. Please note that you are required to provide a credit or debit card 
number to finish the transaction. Upon completion and submission of  
your application, you are then placed directly into the drawing for the 
unit you selected. 

SOUTH DAKOTA DEPARTMENT OF GAME, FISH, AND PARKS

NOTE: In 2023, all applications must be submitted online.



SEASON  APPLICATION  INFORMATION

MENTORED SPRING TURKEY

Use the entire 8-digit number in the first column when filling out “Unit-Type” on the application. 
	 TRIBAL TRUST LANDS. State licenses are valid on private, deeded lands within the exterior boundaries of  an Indian reservation. Persons 
wishing to hunt on tribal lands should contact the appropriate tribal office concerning tribal licenses.
	 NOTE: The purchase of  a mentored hunting license does not affect eligibility of  the parent/guardian for other deer, antelope and 
turkey seasons.

Season Dates: Mentored Spring Turkey licenses are valid during the 
established 2022 spring turkey season.

License Eligibility: A mentor may be the mentee’s parent or guardian 
or any other competent adult who has the written consent of  the 
mentee’s parent or guardian. A nonresident application must include 
the name, address, and phone number of  a resident sponsoring the 
application. Mentored Spring Turkey hunters are ineligible to purchase 
a regular Archery Spring Turkey or Prairie Spring Turkey license.

Individual License Quota: One mentored Spring Turkey license per 
mentee. Applicants may purchase a license throughout the season by 
applying online, via mail, or at the License Office in Fort Pierre. Please 
allow ample time (7-10 business days) for the license to be processed 
and mailed to you before you leave for your hunt.

Processing Licenses: Applications are being accepted for this season. 
Licenses will be processed beginning in late February.

SEASON-UNIT-TYPE CHOICES:
MST-ST1-32 Specific season and unit information will be provided 
with the license. Mentored Spring Turkey licenses are valid statewide 
wherever a Spring Turkey unit is open. However, unit specific and 
season specific equipment restrictions apply as outlined in the Prairie 
Spring Turkey and Archery Spring Turkey season information. Valid for 
one male wild turkey.
	 Unlimited resident ($5); Unlimited nonresident ($10)
License not valid in Custer State Park.

MENTORED FALL TURKEY
Season Dates: Mentored Fall Turkey licenses are valid during the 
established 2022 Prairie Fall Turkey season.

License Eligibility: A mentor may be the mentee’s parent or guardian 
or any other competent adult who has the written consent of  the 
mentee’s parent or guardian. A nonresident application must include 
the name, address, and phone number of  a resident sponsoring the 
application. Mentored Fall Turkey hunters are ineligible to purchase a 
regular Prairie Fall Turkey license.

Individual License Quota: One mentored Fall Turkey license per 
mentee. Applicants may purchase a license throughout the season by 
applying online, via mail, or at the License Office in Fort Pierre. Please 
allow ample time (7-10 business days) for the license to be processed 
and mailed to you before you leave for your hunt.

Processing Licenses: Applications are being accepted for this season. 
Licenses will be processed beginning in late July.

SEASON-UNIT-TYPE CHOICES:
MFT-ST1-31 Mentored Fall Turkey licenses are valid statewide 
wherever a Fall Turkey unit is open. Unit specific equipment restrictions 
apply as outlined in the Prairie Fall Turkey season. Valid for one any 
turkey.
	 Unlimited resident ($5); Unlimited nonresident ($10)
License not valid in Custer State Park.

MENTORED ANTELOPE
Significant changes for 2022: Mentored antelope licenses are valid in 
any open firearm hunting unit west of  the Missouri River for private 
land only.

Season Dates: Mentored Antelope licenses are valid during the 
established 2022 Archery Antelope and the Firearm Antelope seasons. 
Firearms may not be used during the Archery Antelope season. 

License Eligibility: A mentor may be the mentee’s parent or guardian 
or any other competent adult who has the written consent of  the 
mentee’s parent or guardian. A nonresident application must include 
the name, address, and phone number of  a resident sponsoring the 
application. Mentored antelope hunters are ineligible to purchase a 
regular Archery Antelope or Firearm Antelope license.

Individual License Quota: One mentored antelope license per 
mentee. Applicants may purchase a license throughout the season by 
applying online, via mail, or at the License Office in Fort Pierre. Please 
allow ample time (7-10 business days) for the license to be processed 
and mailed to you before you leave for your hunt.

Processing Licenses: Applications are being accepted for this season. 
Licenses will be processed beginning in late July.

SEASON-UNIT-TYPE CHOICES:
MHA-ST1-43 Mentored antelope licenses are valid in any open firearm 
hunting unit west of  the Missouri River for private land only. Firearms 
may not be used during the Archery Antelope season. All unit, date, 
and equipment restrictions apply as outlined in the archery and firearms 
seasons. Valid for one doe/fawn antelope.
	 Unlimited resident ($5); Unlimited nonresident ($10)



MENTORED DEER
Season Dates: Mentored Deer licenses are valid during the 2022 Youth 
and Apprentice Deer season, September 10, 2022 to January 1, 2023.

License Eligibility: A mentor may be the mentee’s parent or guardian 
or any other competent adult who has the written consent of  the 
mentee’s parent or guardian. Mentored deer hunters are ineligible 
to purchase a Youth Deer license or apply in any other firearm deer 
seasons.

Processing Licenses: Applications are being accepted for this season. 
Licenses will be processed beginning in late July.

Individual License Quota: One Mentored Deer license per mentee. 
Applicants may purchase a license throughout the season by applying 
online, via mail, or at the License Office in Fort Pierre. Please allow 
ample time (7-10 business days) for the license to be processed and 
mailed to you before you leave for your hunt.

Not Valid

MHD-03

MHD-13

SEASON-UNIT-TYPE CHOICES:
MHD-03- License is valid in West River Deer hunting units: 02A, 15A, 
15B, 31A, 35A, 35C, 35L, 49A, 49B, 53A, 53C, and 64A (see map for 
open area), all national parks and monuments, and Fort Meade Bureau 
of  Land Management South Unit and the signed portion of  the North 
Unit are closed to this season.
	 03: License valid for one Any Antlerless Deer.
	 Unlimited resident ($5); Unlimited nonresident ($10)

MHD-13- License is valid for that portion of  the state not included 
in Unit MHD-03, excluding Farm Island State Recreation Area, 
LaFramboise Island State Nature Area, Custer State Park, and all 
national parks and monuments. Also, mentored deer hunting is not 
allowed on Sand Lake National Wildlife Refuge, Lacreek National 
Wildlife Refuge, Lake Andes National Wildlife Refuge, and Waubay 
National Wildlife Refuge unless otherwise allowed by the refuge. 	
	 13: License valid for one Antlerless Whitetail.
	 Unlimited resident ($5); Unlimited nonresident ($10)



CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE
Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) is a fatal disease of the central nervous system found in both captive and free-ranging deer and elk. The South 
Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks (GFP) has been conducting surveillance for CWD since 1997 to determine disease presence and 
prevalence across the state. Chronic wasting disease has been confirmed in free-ranging deer or elk in Bennett, Buffalo, Butte, Corson, Custer, Fall 
River, Haakon, Harding, Jackson, Lawrence, Lyman, Meade, Mellette, Pennington, Perkins, Stanley, Sully, Tripp, and Ziebach counties, including 
Custer State Park and Wind Cave National Park.

Carcass transportation and disposal regulations apply for all harvested deer or elk that is transported from the county of harvest or from another state 
back into South Dakota. In summary, the regulations include the following:

•	 Hunters are recommended to leave as much of the unusable carcass as possible at the location of the harvest in a discrete location. Make 
arrangements with landowner on property where permission has been granted. 

•	 Regulations do not prohibit a hunter from transporting a deer or elk carcass from the harvest location to anywhere in the state.

•	 If any portion of the carcass is transported from the county of harvest, the hunter is required to dispose of all carcass remains with a waste 
management provider, if an allowable trash item, or with a permitted landfill. 

•	 If you are not moving a deer or elk carcass from the county of harvest, the regulations do not apply unless the carcass is delivered to a game 
processor or taxidermist. Returning carcass remains to public lands and using road ditches to dispose of carcass remains is illegal. Make sure 
permission is granted prior to disposing carcasses on private land.

•	 Deer or elk carcasses from another state brought back into South Dakota must be disposed of with a waste management provider or landfill 
that accepts carcass parts.

•	 Game processors and taxidermists, regardless of the location of harvest, are required to dispose of all carcass remains with a waste 
management provider, if an allowable trash item, or with a permitted landfill.

The goal of surveillance strategies in South Dakota is to determine the likely spread of CWD to new units where the disease has not been detected 
in wild, free-ranging deer and elk. Hunters who would like to get their deer tested for CWD can voluntarily submit a sample for testing. As a voluntary 
submission, hunters will be responsible for the cost of shipping and any professional sample collection costs unless the hunter delivers a sample to a 
GFP Office or sample collection area. GFP will pay for the testing cost of the sample at South Dakota State University Animal Disease and Research 
Diagnostics Lab (SDSU ADRDL). Results will be sent to both the hunter and GFP. These results will supplement GFP’s surveillance effort across the 
state. The process for collecting samples from a harvested elk or deer (same process) and how to properly submit to SDSU ADRDL can be found at 
gfp.sd.gov/cwd-testing.

More detailed information on hunter submissions for CWD testing will become available prior to the start of the season. For more information CWD, 
visit gfp.sd.gov/chronic-wasting-disease.



1. Season/Unit/Type Choices: Fill in your unit-type choice from the choices provided with each season. You may apply for multiple seasons with this form. For 
example, you may apply for mentored deer on season one, mentored antelope on season two, mentored fall turkey on season three and mentored spring turkey 
on season four. You would only need to fill out one form and provide one check to cover the cost of  all applications.

MENTEE INFORMATION:
2. Print Name: Print the mentee’s complete name, with FIRST NAME first, followed by middle initial and last name. Leave a space between each.
3. Date of  Birth: Enter the mentee’s date of  birth, month first, followed by day and year. For example, a birth date of  March 8, 2007, would be entered 03-08-2007.
4. Gender: Check the appropriate box for the mentored hunter/child.

MENTOR INFORMATION:
5. Social Security Number: Last four digits only. This information is required by state law and applications that do not include the SSN will be rejected. See 

information under “application requirements.”
6. Date of  Birth: Enter your date of  birth, month first, followed by day and year. For example, a birth date of  March 8, 1971, would be entered 03-08-1971.
7. Driver License or Identification Card Number: If  you possess one, please enter your driver’s license number, even if  it duplicates your Social Security Number. 

Those without a driver’s license must enter your state-issued and expiration-dated South Dakota ID card  number. Include the two-letter abbreviation for the 
state or province your driver’s license was issued from.

8. Print Name: Print your complete name, with FIRST NAME first, followed by middle initial and last name. Leave a space between each.
9. Mailing Address: Licenses will be mailed to the address provided on the application. Those returned as “undeliverable” will be held in the License Office until a 

correct address is provided.
10. Phone Number: Enter your daytime phone number. This information is kept confidential and is used only for contacting and/or surveying hunters.
11. E-mail Address: This information is optional, but is helpful if  there is a need to contact or send updates on information. We request that you fill this out if  you 

have a personal e-mail address.
12. Gender: Check the appropriate box.
13. Mailing List Opt-Out: Applications are considered “public record” and from time to time the Game, Fish and Parks Commission receives requests from groups 

and businesses for these names and addresses. If  you wish to keep your name from appearing on these lists, you may check this box. You will still be included in 
official GFP mailings such as season surveys.

14. Suspended Privileges: Any person who has had hunting, fishing or trapping privileges revoked or suspended in any state or country may not purchase a license 
for or exercise that same privilege in South Dakota during the period of  the revocation or suspension.

15. Residency: Check the appropriate box to indicate that you qualify and are applying as a resident, or applying as a nonresident. If  you are a 
nonresident, you must complete the “Resident Sponsor” section.

16. Resident Sponsor: If  you are a nonresident, you must include the name (first and last name), address, and phone number of  a sponsor who is a 		
  resident of  South Dakota. This information must be provided on the application form or the application will be rejected.

17. Donate To Second Century Habitat Fund, TIPs, or SAH: You may make a donation to the Second Century Habitat Fund, Turn In Poachers (TIPs), or 
Sportsmen Against Hunger (SAH) programs by checking one of  the blanks at the bottom of  the application and including an amount greater than the license fee 
in your payment. Any amount over the license fee will be donated to the selected program when one of  the boxes is checked. If  neither of  the boxes is checked, 
the overpayment will be refunded.  Your contributions are tax deductible.

18. Sign Application: This application must be signed by the parent or guardian to be valid. Applications that are not signed will not be processed for a license. 

Review your application form to make certain all required information is completed and accurate. 
Carefully tear or cut the one page form from this pamphlet, and mail the application to:

Game, Fish and Parks License Office
20641 SD Hwy 1806

Fort Pierre, SD 57532

APPLICATION  INSTRUCTIONS

CONTACT US: FOR MORE INFORMATION:
License Office

20641 SD Hwy 1806
Fort Pierre, SD 57532

Phone
605.223.7660

TTY: 605.223.7684

Office Hours
Monday - Friday

8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Visit our website at:
gfp.sd.gov

•	 A mentor may be the mentee’s parent or guardian or any other competent adult who has the written consent of  the mentee’s parent or guardian.  
A nonresident application must include the name, address, and phone number of  a resident sponsoring the application. They may purchase one 
mentor deer, one mentor antelope, one mentor spring turkey and one mentor fall turkey license for each mentee.

•	 Each resident license costs $5. Nonresident licenses are $10 each.
•	 Mentee must be 15 year of  age or younger.
•	 A mentee must be accompanied by an unarmed parent, guardian, or designated mentor and within the immediate physical control, direct 

supervision, and responsibility of  the mentor.
•	 An adult mentor cannot accompany more than one mentee at any given time.
•	 A hunting party cannot exceed six people, including the mentee(s).
•	 An adult mentor must have successfully completed a hunter safety or hunter education course, carry their certification card and must be at least 

18 years old.
•	 All unit, date, and equipment restrictions apply for each respective season.
•	 Mentees designated on a mentored license are ineligible to receive a regular license for that season (youth deer, archery and firearm antelope, any 

firearms deer season, fall turkey, or spring turkey).
•	 Nonresident mentees must provide resident sponsor information.

MENTORED HUNT REQUIREMENTS AND RESTRICTIONS



"

BIG GAME APPLICATION FORM
Please follow instructions on the 

opposite side of this page. Detach 
and mail this completed page with the 

appropriate fee.

You may apply for multiple seasons with this form. You must first read the attached information and follow application instructions. Applications with errors will be 
rejected.

You may find the most convenient method is to apply using the online system offered by GFP at its website: gfp.sd.gov. Click on the link that invites you 
to apply for limited license seasons and follow the instructions. Your application will be submitted directly into the license lottery system without mail time or further 
handling. If errors occur, you will be prompted to correct them before proceeding.

Print all information one letter or number per box. Do not tape, staple or paper clip forms and fees.

Season/Unit/Type choices (May apply for multiple seasons on this form and make one payment)

Season One:	 Season Three:

Season Two:	 Season Four:

1

2

15

5

8

9

10

11

12 13

14

6 7X X X X X
Last four digits of Social Security Number	 Date of Birth (Month,Day, Year)	 Driver License or Identification Card Number	 State/Province

Name (First, Middle Initial, Last)	

Mailing Address (Street, Box Number)

City	 State	 Zip Code	 Country if not USA

Phone Number

E-mail Address

Gender:                                                      Check the box to remove your name from non-GFP mailing lists

Indicate below if any of your hunting, fishing or trapping privileges are under revocation or suspension in any state or country:

Male              Female

Which privileges are under suspension or revocation:          Hunting              Fishing               Trapping

Which state or country has imposed the revocation or suspension

What is the time period of the revocation or suspension

Donate my overpayment to Second Century Habitat Fund
Donate my overpayment to Sportsmen Against Hunger
Donate my overpayment to Turn In Poachers

PARENT/GUARDIAN SIGNATURE                                                                    DATE

17

18 X

I declare these statements to be true and correct and 
that I meet the qualifications for the license for which I 
am applying. I declare that for the license privileges I 
am applying for I am not presently under revocation or 
suspension in any state or country and understand any 
false statement or misrepresentation in this application 
subjects me to criminal prosecution.

DO NOT MARK IN THIS BOX  For office use only

MENTEE INFORMATION

Name (First, Middle Initial, Last)

Date of Birth (Month, Day, Year)	
Gender: Male           Female

MENTOR INFORMATION

3 4

Check One:  I qualify as a South Dakota resident                  I am applying as a nonresident*

16
Name (First, Last)	

Mailing Address (Street, Box Number)

State                           Zip Code	 Phone Number

City	 State	 Zip Code	

RESIDENT SPONSOR INFORMATION
*If a nonresident, please fill out Resident Sponsor Information	


