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BIG GAME LICENSE RETURNS | PAGE 11
	» GFP is now accepting tag returns for all big game and limited draw seasons. License 
holders not planning on hunting for any reason may mail their tags in by a specified 
date and will receive a full refund and preference points for that season will be 
retained. These tags will then be made available through a lottery process.

WHAT’S
NEW

YOUTH HUNTING REQUIREMENTS | PAGE 103
	» Comprehensive changes were made regarding youth hunting licenses. These include 
the apprentice/mentored/youth licenses as well as removing the junior combination 
license requirement.

EAST RIVER NONRESIDENT LANDOWNER DEER LICENSES | PAGE 23
	» Nonresident landowner deer licenses are now available for eligible landowners and 
will be allocated via a lottery process.

CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE | PAGE 87
	» New regulations were passed regarding CWD transport and disposal requirements 
for both deer and elk. This applies to hunters harvesting a deer or elk across the 
entire state of South Dakota.

PHEASANT SEASON EXTENSION | PAGE 27
	» The traditional pheasant season has been extended until January 31. This will be the 
second year of the extended season, which will run October 16-January 31.

WOLF DELISTING | PAGE 55
	» Wolves are no longer under the Endangered Species Act protection and will be 
managed by GFP as a predator/varmint species. Individuals harvesting a wolf will 
still be required to notify their Conservation Officer within 24 hours after the kill and 
submit the animal for inspection no later than 48 hours following the kill.

THREE-DUCK OPTION | PAGE 32
	» Hunters purchasing their state migratory bird certificate will now be able to pick 
between a “traditional” and a “three-duck” option. Hunters choosing the traditional 
option will see no difference in their bag limit, while hunters opting for the three-duck 
option will be able to harvest three ducks regardless of species or sex.
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FREQUENTLY 
ASKED
QUESTIONS

Aberdeen: 605.626.2391, 5850 E. Hwy 12
Chamberlain: 605.734.4530, 1550 E. King Ave.
Ft. Pierre: 605.223.7700, 20641 SD Hwy 1806
Huron: 605.353.7145, 895 3rd Street SW
Mobridge: 605.845.7814, 909 Lake Front Drive

Pierre: 605.773.3387, 523 E. Capitol Ave.
Rapid City: 605.394.2391, 4130 Adventure Trail
Sioux Falls: 605.362.2700, 4500 S. Oxbow Ave.
Watertown: 605.882.5200, 400 West Kemp
Webster: 605.345.3381, 603 E. 8th Ave.

GENERAL INFORMATION: 605.223.7660 
TTY: 605.223.7684, email: wildinfo@state.sd.us

I WILL BE ARCHERY HUNTING AND AM WONDERING IF IT IS 
LEGAL TO CARRY A PISTOL WITH ME SOLELY FOR PROTECTION?
A person who is allowed to legally carry a concealed pistol pursuant to state law 
may carry a concealed pistol while hunting.

ARE YOU ALLOWED TO HUNT WITH A SUPPRESSOR IN
SOUTH DAKOTA?
Yes, it is legal to hunt with a suppressor in South Dakota if you possess the proper 
federal documents for legally possessing the suppressor.

CAN I USE A DRONE TO SCOUT FOR DEER?
No, it is illegal to use a drone for the purpose of hunting, taking, concentrating, 
driving, rallying, stirring up, locating, or spotting any wild bird or animal.

WHAT IS THE THREE-DUCK DAILY BAG REGULATION OPTION?  
In an effort to recruit, retain, and reactivate duck hunters in South Dakota hunters 
will be given the option to choose between a traditional (6 duck) limit with all 
applicable species and sex restrictions, and a 3 duck (any species or sex) daily 
bag. Hunters will make this choice when they purchase their migratory bird 
certification.
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GENERAL LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

SPECIES RESIDENT NONRESIDENT
ALL SPECIES
Fishing, hunting, or trapping

Habitat Stamp plus the required license for 
the species and activity for those 18 years 
or older.

* No Habitat Stamp is required for one-day 
hunting or one-day fishing licenses, youth 
hunting license, any private shooting preserve 
license, reduced fee disabled licenses, or 
landowner hunting license.

Habitat Stamp plus the required license 
for the species and activity for those 18 
years or older.

* No Habitat Stamp is required for one-day 
hunting or one-day fishing licenses, youth 
hunting license, any private shooting preserve 
license, reduced fee disabled licenses, or 
landowner hunting license.

Fishing Habitat Stamp and one of the following:
•	 Annual Fishing License
•	 1-Day Fishing License*
•	 Senior Fishing License (65 and over)
•	 Combination License (Adult or Senior)
•	No license required for youth under age 
18 

Habitat Stamp and one of the following:
•	 Annual Fishing License
•	 1-Day Fishing License*
•	 3-Day Fishing License
•	No license required for youth under 
age 18

Small Game:
Pheasant, Grouse, Partridge, 
Quail,
Cottontail Rabbit, Squirrel, 
Mourning Dove, Common Snipe, 
Sandhill Crane

Habitat Stamp and one of the following:
•	 Small Game License
•	 1-Day Small Game License*
•	 Combination License (Adult or Senior)
•	 Youth Small Game License (ages 12-17)*
Dove, Snipe and Sandhill Crane also require 
Migratory Bird Certification

Habitat Stamp and one of the following:
•	Nonresident Small Game License
•	Nonresident Youth Small Game License 
(ages 12-17)*

Dove, Snipe and Sandhill Crane also require 
Migratory Bird Certification

NOTE: The Migratory Bird Certification 
alone does not entitle nonresidents to hunt 
waterfowl.

Waterfowl (includes Ducks, Geese, 
Coot, Tundra Swan and Sandhill 
Crane)
Tundra Swan must be applied for 
and received through the lottery 
drawing.
Federal waterfowl stamp is not 
required for Spring Light Goose, 
Coot or Sandhill Crane.

•	Migratory Bird Certification
•	 Federal Waterfowl Stamp (ages 16 and 

older)

Plus Habitat Stamp and one of the 
following:
•	 Small Game License
•	 1-Day Small Game License*
•	 Combination License (Adult or Senior)
•	 Youth Small Game License*

•	Migratory Bird Certification, except those 
nonresidentsonly hunting Canada geese 
from September 1-30

•	 Federal Waterfowl Stamp (ages 16 
and older)

Plus Habitat Stamp and the following:
•	Nonresident Waterfowl License  
(fall licenses by application only)

Wolf, Coyote, Red Fox, Gray Fox, 
Skunk, Raccoon, Badger, Opossum, 
Jackrabbit

HUNTING | Habitat Stamp and one of the 
following:
•	 Predator/Varmint License (not required 
April 1- August 31)

•	 Furbearer License
•	 Any Resident Hunting License
•	No license required for youth under age 
18

HUNTING | Habitat Stamp and one of 
the following:
•	Nonresident Predator/Varmint License
•	 Any Nonresident Hunting License other 
than Nonresident Private Shooting 
Preserve License

TRAPPING | Habitat Stamp and one of the 
following:
•	 Furbearer License (not required April 
1-August 31)

•	No license required for youth under age 
18

TRAPPING | Habitat Stamp and the 
following:
•	Nonresident Furbearer License

Bobcat, Mink, Weasel, Beaver, 
Muskrat

HUNTING OR TRAPPING | Habitat Stamp 
and the following:
•	 Furbearer License
•	No license required for youth under age 
18

HUNTING OR TRAPPING | Habitat Stamp 
and the following:
•	Nonresident Furbearer License

Prairie Dog, Gopher, Crow, 
Ground Squirrel, Porcupine, 
Marmot

Habitat Stamp and one of the following:
•	 Predator/Varmint License
•	 Furbearer License
•	 Any Resident Hunting License
•	No license required for youth under age 
18

Habitat Stamp and one of the following:
•	Nonresident Predator/Varmint License
•	 Any Nonresident Hunting License other 
than Nonresident Private Shooting 
Preserve License

•	Nonresident Furbearer License

Licensed Private Shooting 
Preserve

Same licenses required to hunt that species 
off a preserve

One of the following:
•	Nonresident Shooting Preserve License*
•	Nonresident Small Game License
•	Nonresident Youth Small Game License
•	 Same licenses as needed to hunt that 
species off a preserve

Big Game (including Wild Turkey) Resident Big Game License and Tag Nonresident Big Game License and Tag
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GENERAL LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
BORDER WATERS
	 On border waters with adjacent 
states, other than Nebraska, 
individuals with a valid South Dakota 
hunting or trapping license may only 
take wild animals on South Dakota’s 
side of the border. However, on 
the South Dakota-Nebraska border 
waters a hunter holding a resident 
South Dakota or a resident Nebraska 
license may enter and leave the water 
from either state’s shore. Individuals 
holding a nonresident license must 
enter and leave the water from 
the shore of the state in which they 
are licensed. Deeded islands in the 
Missouri River require the license of 
the state in which they are deeded. 
South Dakota islands include: James 
River Island, Gunderson Island and 
Jones Island. Nebraska islands include: 
Mayfield Island and Elk/Rush Island. 
Sandbars and islands not deeded 
and not attached to either state and 
Lake Yankton are open to hunting by 
licensed hunters from either state. 
	 The Springfield Bottoms are open 
only to South Dakota licensed hunters 
and the Bazile Creek Area is open 
only to Nebraska licensed hunters. 
	 Hunters licensed by either state may 
hunt anywhere in the flowing Missouri 
River if water separates the hunter 
from the mainland of the other state. 

BUYING LICENSES
	 Resident and nonresident over-the-
counter licenses may be purchased 
at many retail stores in South Dakota 
and at a few County Treasurer 
offices. When purchasing licenses over 
the counter you must have your state-
issued ID with you. Licenses can also 
be purchased online at gfp.sd.gov, or 
with the GFP mobile app. 

	 Big Game Licenses (including turkey 
licenses) and Nonresident Waterfowl 
Licenses are issued by lottery and can 
also be completed through the online 
licensing application system. The tag/
license is then mailed to individuals 
who draw a permit. A paper version 
of the application for mailing can be 
obtained online as well as at GFP 
regional offices and through local 
licensing agents. 

CARRYING/EXHIBITING LICENSES
	 A licensee shall exhibit the licensee’s 
license or license authorization 
issued by GFP upon request by a 
conservation officer or other law 
enforcement officer. A licensee who 
is 16 years of age or older who 
holds the license authorization, shall 
exhibit and provide for inspection 
a driver’s license, a state-issued 
identification card or another form of 
valid identification for the purpose of 
verifying the identity of the licensee.
	 Hunters can use their smartphone to 
display a copy of their license in lieu 
of a paper copy.

DELINQUENT CHILD SUPPORT
	 South Dakota law prohibits the 
issuance of any license or permit 
issued by GFP if an individual owes 
$1,000 or more in past-due child 
support, unless the individual enters 
into a repayment agreement with 
the Department of Social Services 
(DSS) for payment of the delinquent 
child support. For more information, 
contact the Division of Child Support 
at 605.773.3641.
 
DISABLED HUNTER PERMITS
	 A Disabled Hunter Permit allows 
a qualified hunter to lawfully shoot 
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GENERAL LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
game animals from a stationary 
motor vehicle. This includes big game 
animals such as deer, antelope, elk 
and turkey as well as small game 
animals such as grouse, pheasants, 
partridge, rabbits and waterfowl. 
The Disabled Hunter Permit is free 
to qualified hunters, valid for a 
four-year period and may be 
renewed after the expiration date. A 
temporary permit can be issued for no 
more than 12 months for temporary 
ambulatory injuries. 
	 NOTE: The disabled hunter permit 
is intended for use only in situations 
where an applicant’s physical or 
medical condition makes it impossible 
or causes severe pain or physical 
hardship on the applicant to walk 
while hunting. 
	 Qualifying individuals must have 
at least one of the following physical 
disabilities or medical conditions:
	» Has lost one or both legs or who has 
temporarily or permanently lost the 
use of one or both legs;

	» Requires a wheelchair for mobility;
	» Is physically unable to walk without 
the assistance of another person, 
prosthetic aid, brace, crutch or other 
device that is intended to support or 
assist the person while walking; 

	» Is on portable oxygen;
	» Is unable to walk a distance of more 
than 300 feet without assistance or 
rest due to arthritic, neurological or 
orthopedic condition; 

	» Has been diagnosed with a 
neuromuscular disorder (such as 
muscular dystrophy or multiple 
sclerosis);

	» Has been diagnosed with a Class III 
cardiac disease resulting in marked 
limitation of physical activity;

	» Has been diagnosed with a Class 

IV cardiac disease resulting in the 
inability to carry on any physical 
activity without discomfort;

	» Is restricted by lung disease to such 
a degree that the person’s forced 
expiratory volume in one second, 
when measured by a spirometer, 
is less than one liter; or the arterial 
oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/
hg on room air at rest. 

In addition:
	» Persons who have lost an arm or 
permanent use of an arm or use a 
wheelchair for mobility, may be 
eligible for a crossbow/draw-lock 
permit. 

	» Persons classified as legally blind or 
quadriplegic may be eligible for a 
Designated Shooter Permit.

Applications may be requested from: 
GFP Disabled Hunter Permits; 20641 
SD Hwy 1806; Ft. Pierre SD 57532; 
gfp.sd.gov/disabled-hunter; or any 
Wildlife Division office. 

LICENSING AGENT FEE
	 The maximum fee for hunting, 
fishing or trapping licenses sold by 
a license agent or online is $4 per 
item; except the maximum fee for 
issuing all Nonresident Small Game 
Licenses is $8. The agent’s fee may 
not be charged for issuing the State 
Migratory Bird Certification or 
Habitat Stamp. 

LOST LICENSES
	 Lost general hunting and fishing 
licenses may be replaced by any 
local licensing agent. Agents may 
charge a standard agent fee ($4 or 
$8) for replacing general hunting and 
fishing licenses. In addition, licenses 
may be reprinted at home by the 
licensee at any time. 
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	 Big Game Licensees should contact 
605.223.7660 for information on 
replacing lost big game tags. The cost 
to replace Big Game Licenses is $4 
for residents and $8 for nonresidents.

REVOKED LICENSES
	 If a person is convicted of certain 
wildlife violations, the person’s 
hunting or trapping privilege shall 
be automatically revoked for one 
or more years and that person is 
prohibited from buying or applying 
for another license during that time. 
	 Some violations are: knowingly 
trespassing, violating the artificial light 
law, substantially exceeding daily 
or possession limits, illegally shooting 
big game from road rights-of-way, 
shooting certain animals from a motor 
vehicle, violating any rule pertaining 
to hunting or possessing game without 
a license or during a closed season or 
violating a wildlife law punishable as 
a Class 1 misdemeanor or felony. 
	 Any person whose hunting or 
trapping privileges are currently 
revoked or suspended in any other 
state or country may not purchase a 
license or exercise the same privilege 
in South Dakota during the period of 
revocation or suspension. 
	 No person who has an unpaid 
and unsatisfied judgment issued for 
wildlife civil damages may hunt, 
fish or trap or purchase, attempt to 
purchase or possess any South Dakota 
hunting, fishing or trapping license. 

RESTRICTIONS
	 No one may at any time apply 
for, procure or possess a license or 
preference point under an assumed 
name or in which an address other 
than the person’s regular place of 

residence is given or make any false 
statement whatsoever in securing a 
license or preference point, lend a 
license or tag to another or knowingly 
issue or aid in securing a license or 
preference point for any person not 
legally entitled to it.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
	 All U.S. residents are required by 
federal and state law (SDCL 25-
7A-56.2) to provide their Social 
Security Number when purchasing 
and applying for a license; online or 
via paper application. The State of 
South Dakota continues to maintain 
the highest level of online security 
standards through the Payment Card 
Industry (PCI) to ensure customer 
safety when processing online 
transactions. 

TRIBAL INFORMATION
	 State hunting licenses are valid 
on private, deeded lands within the 
exterior boundaries of reservations. 
	 State hunting licenses are not 
valid on tribal trust lands and tribal 
licenses are not valid on private 
deeded lands within a reservation. 
Persons planning to hunt on tribal 
lands should contact the appropriate 
tribal office: Cheyenne River (Eagle 
Butte), Crow Creek (Ft. Thompson), 
Flandreau Santee (Flandreau), 
Lower Brule (Lower Brule), Pine 
Ridge (Kyle), Rosebud (Rosebud), 
Sisseton/Wahpeton (Agency Village), 
Standing Rock (Ft. Yates, ND), Yankton 
(Marty). However, if hunting on 
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers lands 
adjoining the Crow Creek or Standing 
Rock Reservations, state licensing 
requirements, seasons and bag limits 
apply. 

GENERAL LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
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	 Ownership of the former U.S. Army 
Corps of Engineers lands on the Lower 
Brule Sioux Reservation and Cheyenne 
River Sioux Reservation has been 
transferred to the respective tribes. 
All tribal and federal laws apply 
down to the water’s edge. Please 
contact the appropriate tribal office 
for specific information.

RETURNED LICENSES
	 GFP accepts license returns for all 
big game and limited draw seasons.
License holders not planning on 
hunting for any reason, must have 
their licenses postmarked before the 
beginning of the respective season 
based on specific dates provided by 
GFP. Hunters returning their tags will 
receive a full refund, no questions 
asked, and preference points for that 
season will be retained.
	 Any returned license will be posted 
on the GFP licensing website and 
available via a lottery drawing 
process.
	
Preference points will not be used 
during this lottery drawing. For 
more information about the drawing 
for returned licenses and eligibility 
requirements, please visit: gfp.sd.gov/
returned-tags/

GENERAL LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
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RESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION

RESIDENCY
	 To be eligible for a resident license, 
a person must meet all the following 
criteria: 
	» Have a domicile within this state for 
at least 90 consecutive days immedi-
ately preceding the date of appli-
cation for purchasing or attempting 
to purchase any hunting, fishing or 
trapping license/permit. A domicile 
is a person’s established, fixed and 
permanent home to which the person, 
whenever absent, has the present 
intention of returning; 

	» Make no claim of residency in any 
other state or foreign country for any 
purpose; 

	» Claim no resident hunting, fishing or 
trapping privileges in any other state 
or foreign country; 

	» Prior to any application for any 
license transfer to this state the 
person’s driver’s license and motor 
vehicle registrations. 

EXCEPTIONS: The following persons are 
deemed to be residents of this state 
if they continue to meet any of the 
conditions set forth below:
	» Any person who previously had a 
domicile in this state who is absent 
due to business of the United States 

or of this state or is serving in the 
armed forces of the United States or 
the spouse of an active duty military 
person; 

	» Any person who previously had 
a domicile in this state who is 
absent due to the person’s regular 
attendance at a post high school 
institution as a full-time student or in a 
medical or dental residency program; 

	» Any person in the active military of 
the United States, or that person’s 
spouse, who is continuously stationed 
in this state; 

	» Any person who is a patient in any 
war veterans’ hospital within this 
state;

	» Any person who is an employee of 
the veterans’ administration or any 
veterans’ hospital in this state;

	» Any person residing on restricted 
military reservations in this state;

	» Any person attending regularly a 
post-high school institution in this state 
as a full-time student for 30 days 
or more immediately preceding the 
application; 

	» Any foreign exchange student over 
16 years of age attending a public 

RESIDENT LICENSES AND FEES
2021 licenses are valid Dec. 15, 2020 through Jan. 31, 2022
2022 licenses are valid Dec. 15, 2021 through Jan. 31, 2023

Habitat Stamp	��������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $10
Combination (small game and fishing)*	�������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $55
Senior Combination, ages 65+ (small game and fishing)*	����������������������������������������������������� $40
Small Game*	����������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $33
One-day Small Game	������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $12
Youth Small Game, ages 12-17	�������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $5
State Migratory Bird Certification	����������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $5
Predator/Varmint	��������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $5
Furbearer	����������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $30
Federal Waterfowl E-Stamp (Online Only)	������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $25

* Fee includes a $6 surcharge mandated by state law. Revenue derived from this surcharge 
is dedicated to hunting access, wildlife damage management, and animal damage control 
programs.
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or private high school who has resided 
in the state for 30 days or more 
preceding the application; 

	» Any foreign exchange student 
between the ages of 12 and 16 
who has completed a hunter safety 
education course and has been 
issued certificate of competency upon 
completion of instruction and who 
has resided in the state for 30 days 
or more preceding application for a 
license; 

	» Any person who is a minor dependent 
of a resident of this state; 

	» For the purpose of acquiring resident 
small game and fishing licenses, any 
person who does not reside in South 
Dakota, but who is a member of the 
South Dakota National Guard or of 
any other unit of a reserve component 
of the armed forces of the United 
States located in South Dakota. 

PROOF OF RESIDENCY
	 To buy a license, a resident age 16 
or older needs a valid South Dakota 
driver’s license or a state-issued and 
expiration-dated South Dakota ID 
card. Either can be obtained at a state 
driver’s license office. Youth hunters 
under age 16 are required to provide 
a certificate of completion from a hunter 
safety education course.

TERMINATION OF RESIDENCY
	 A person (other than a person who fits 
into one of the above EXCEPTIONS) is 
deemed to have terminated their South 
Dakota resident hunting, fishing and 
trapping status if the person does any 
of the following: 
	» Applies for, purchases or accepts a 
resident hunting, fishing or trapping 
license issued by another state or 
foreign country; 

	» Registers to vote in another state or 

foreign country; 
	» Accepts a driver’s license issued by 
another state or foreign country; 

	» Moves to any other state or foreign 
country and makes it the person’s 
domicile or makes any claim of 
residency for any purpose in the other 
state or foreign country. However, a 
person who has lawfully acquired a 
resident hunting, fishing or trapping 
license and who leaves the state 
after acquiring the license to take up 
residency elsewhere may continue to 
exercise all the privileges granted by 
the license until the license expires if 
the person’s respective privileges are 
not revoked or suspended.

MILITARY GENERAL FISHING AND 
HUNTING LICENSE
	 Any resident who is on active duty in 
the armed forces of the United States 
and who is stationed at a location 
outside the state may fish and hunt small 
game without payment of a fee or the 
applicable hunting and fishing license 
authorizing the activity. However, if the 
resident is hunting migratory birds, the 
resident shall obtain a State Migratory 
Bird Certification permit and Federal 
Waterfowl Stamp (when necessary). 
While engaged in the permitted activity, 
the resident shall possess and display 
appropriate military orders indicating 
the resident is on active duty stationed 
outside of South Dakota and a valid 
military identification card. This section 
does not apply to any person who is 
serving on active duty for training as a 
member of the armed forces reserve or 
National Guard.

MILITARY BIG GAME LICENSE - 
ACTIVE DUTY 
	 Any person in the armed services of 
the United States who is absent from 

RESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION
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this state on active duty during the 
entire time for making application and 
is otherwise qualified and a resident 
of South Dakota, may apply for and 
shall receive deer, turkey and antelope 
licenses. In addition, any spouse and any 
minor dependent child of such a person 
in the armed services who are also 
absent from this state during the entire 
time for making application and are 
otherwise qualified, may apply for and 
shall receive deer, turkey and antelope 
licenses.

BIG GAME LICENSE
	 Resident Big Game (including turkey) 
Licenses are issued by application and 
a drawing. Big Game Licenses also 
allow the licensee to hunt prairie dog, 
jackrabbit, gopher, ground squirrel, 
crow, porcupine, marmot, red fox, grey 
fox, coyotes, wolves, skunks, opossum, 
and other unprotected species through 
Jan. 31. For a Big Game License to be 
valid to hunt these species, the licensee 
must retain the top portion of the Big 
Game License. 

HABITAT STAMP
	  A person eighteen years of age or 
older shall purchase a habitat stamp 
when applying for or purchasing a 
hunting or fishing license. The fee for the 
habitat stamp shall be $10 for residents. 
A person is not required to purchase 
more than one habitat stamp in a license 
year.  Any person that obtains a hunting 
or fishing license may not fish and hunt, 
or trap without purchasing a habitat 
stamp. Purchase of the habitat stamp 
is not required for the 1-Day Resident 
Small Game License, the 1-Day Resident 
Fishing License, any youth hunting license, 
any landowner hunting license, or any 
reduced fee disabled license. 
	

COMBINATION LICENSE
	 All Combination Licenses grant the 
same privileges as the Fishing License 
and Small Game License. They do 
not include the State Migratory Bird 
Certification. 

DISABILITY LICENSE
	 The following residents may apply 
to the License Office to receive a $10 
Disability Card that is equivalent to the 
Fishing License and Small Game License 
and is valid for four years: 
	» Persons who are paraplegics, or 
otherwise permanently physically 
unable to walk; 

	» Persons blind or visually impaired; 
	» A person who has a developmental 
disability (fishing only), contact the 
GFP License Office at 605.223.7660, 
or visit gfp.sd.gov

	» Resident veterans can qualify for a 
Disability License in one of four ways:

1.	 If they receive a veterans allotment 
for a 40% or more disability which is 
deemed a service-connected injury.

2.	 If they have received the Department 
of Veterans Affairs “K” Award.

3.	 If they have served on active duty 
in the armed forces of the United 
States or have served as a member 
of the armed forces reserve or 
national guard, and the resident 
is 40% or more disabled for the 
purposes of receiving social security 
benefits.

4.	 If they were a Prisoner of War. 
A person must apply on forms 
provided by GFP and provide proof 
of South Dakota residency with the 
application. 

Details and applications are available 
from: GFP Licensing Office; 20641 SD 
Hwy 1806; Ft. Pierre SD 57532; or call 
605.223. 7660 for details. 

RESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION
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FEDERAL WATERFOWL STAMP
	 This stamp is an additional requirement 
for those ages 16 and older to 
hunt ducks, geese, tundra swan and 
merganser. To purchase this stamp, check 
with your local U.S. Postal Office and/or 
local licensing agent.  You can purchase 
an electronic Federal Stamp online (not 
available at license agents) at gfp.
sd.gov.  This E-Stamp will be valid for 45 
days and a physical stamp will be mailed 
to you that will be valid for the rest of the 
Federal Stamp year. The stamp is part of 
the waterfowl hunting requirements in all 
states. However, hunters are required to 
purchase only one stamp if the stamp is 
signed in ink across the face and carried 
at all times while hunting relevant species. 
GFP recommends that hunters leave the 
stamp on the original backing on which 
it is issued. A lost or destroyed Federal 
Waterfowl Stamp can only be replaced 
by purchasing a new one. 
	 NOTE: A Federal Waterfowl Stamp 
is not needed to hunt Sandhill crane, 
mourning dove, snipe and coot or to take 
light geese during the Spring Light Goose 
conservation order and Canada Goose 
August Management Take; however, a 
State Migratory Bird Certification is still 
required for these species. 

FURBEARER LICENSE
	 The Furbearer License is required to 
trap wolf, coyote, red fox, grey fox, 
jackrabbit, raccoon, badger, bobcat, 
river otter, opossum, mink, weasel, 
beaver, muskrat and skunk; and when 
and where allowed is required to hunt 
bobcat, river otter, opossum, mink, 
weasel, beaver and muskrat. However, 
a Furbearer License is not required for 
residents to trap raccoon, skunk, badger, 
opossum, jackrabbit, red fox, grey fox 
and coyote from April 1 - Aug. 31. No 

license is required for resident youth 
under age 18. 

PREDATOR/VARMINT LICENSE
	 The Predator/Varmint License is 
needed to hunt coyote, wolf, red fox, 
grey fox, skunk, raccoon, badger, prairie 
dog, gopher, crow, opossum, jackrabbit, 
ground squirrel, porcupine and marmot. 
Other licenses that may be used in lieu 
of the Predator/Varmint License include 
any valid resident South Dakota hunting 
license or furbearer license. For a Big 
Game License to be valid, the licensee 
must retain the top portion of the Big 
Game License. No license is required for 
resident youth under age 18. 

STATE MIGRATORY BIRD 
CERTIFICATION
	 Except for landowners hunting on 
land that they own or lease, residents 
(including all Youth Small Game License 
holders) hunting migratory birds and/or 
waterfowl must complete and purchase 
this certification.
	 Migratory birds that require this 
certification for hunting include ducks, 
geese, tundra swan, Sandhill crane, 
mourning doves, snipe and coot. This 
certification should not be confused with 
the Federal Waterfowl Stamp.
	 Hunters must choose which waterfowl 
regulation option (Traditional or Three-
duck daily bag limit) they want to hunt 
with for the entire season at the time of 
purchasing their State Migratory Bird 
Certification. See page 32 for more 
information.

MENTORED HUNTERS (UNDER AGE 16)
	 Residents and nonresidents who are 
less than 16 are not required to possess 
a hunting license in order to hunt if 
accompanied by a hunting mentor. 

RESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION
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	 A hunting mentor can be the mentored 
hunter’s parent or guardian or any 
other competent adult (at least 18 years 
old) who has the written consent of the 
child’s parent or guardian. The hunting 
mentor  must be legally licensed for the 
game being hunted, must be unarmed 
(may lawfully carry a concealed pistol) 
and must have successfully completed 
a recognized hunter safety education 
course. Mentors must possess the hunter 
safety education certification card on 
their person while accompanying a 
mentored hunter. A nonresident mentor 
must include the name, address, and 
phone number of a resident sponsoring 
the application. For more information on 
Mentored hunting, refer to pages 102-
108 of this publication. 

YOUTH (12-17)
	 Residents who are at least 12 years 
of age or who will turn 12 by Dec. 
31, may apply for or buy licenses and 
may hunt in any open season beginning 
Sept. 1 provided they have successfully 
completed a hunter safety education 
course and possess a course certification 
card or possess a copy of a current or 
previous years hunting license issued to 
them by another state and present it at 
time of purchasing the license(s). A parent 
or guardian must accompany the youth 
when obtaining the license(s). 
	 Upon turning 16 the youth must 
purchase the Federal Waterfowl Stamp 
if hunting migratory birds and waterfowl.  
	 However, residents  under age 18 
are exempt from buying the Furbearer 
License, Predator/Varmint License and 
Federal Waterfowl Stamp. However, 
they must buy the Youth Small Game 
License for small game, migratory birds 
and waterfowl and the State Migratory 
Bird Certification if hunting migratory 

birds and waterfowl. The Youth Small 
Game License is valid through the end of 
the license year even if the youth turns 
18. 

LANDOWNERS
	 Resident landowners and their 
immediate family (husband, wife and 
children residing at home or on land 
owned or leased by the landowner) 
may trap furbearers and hunt their 
property for small game (pheasant, 
grouse, partridge, quail, cottontail 
rabbit, squirrel, mourning dove and 
snipe), furbearers (opossum, muskrat, 
beaver, mink, skunk, raccoon, badger, 
red fox, grey fox, coyote, wolf, bobcat, 
weasel, river otter and jackrabbit) 
and predators/varmints (prairie dog, 
gopher, crow, chipmunk, ground squirrel, 
porcupine and marmot) without obtaining 
a hunting or  Furbearer License. 
	 Landowners are exempt from state 
licensing requirements for waterfowl 
hunting on their property but must 
purchase a Federal Waterfowl Stamp 
if they hunt ducks, geese, swans and 
mergansers. All laws and rules (season 
dates, bag limits, etc.) pertaining to 
hunting and trapping must be followed. 
	 Landowners are also exempt from the 
habitat stamp requirement when hunting 
on their own land.

SHOOTING PRESERVES
	 Residents hunting small game on 
licensed shooting preserves must possess 
a South Dakota license valid to hunt small 
game.

RESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION
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JOIN OUR 

TEAM
As a Conservation Officer, you will manage wildlife, 
fisheries, water, and land resources; implement 

department programs; and enforce laws in an assigned 
district to conserve and protect fish and wildlife, 

represent the department to the public, and provide 
recreational opportunities and public safety.

To view available job opportunities, visit 
bhr.sd.gov/job-seekers/law-enforcement/conservation-officer/
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NONRESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION

BIG GAME LICENSES
	 Nonresident Big Game Licenses 
(including turkey) are issued by 
application and a drawing. Big Game 
Licenses also allow the licensee to 
hunt prairie dog, jackrabbit, gopher, 
ground squirrel, crow, porcupine, 
marmot, red fox, grey fox, coyotes, 
wolves, skunks, opossum, and other 
unprotected species through Jan. 31. 
For a Big Game License to be valid 
to hunt these species, the licensee 
must retain the top portion of the Big 
Game License.  

HABITAT STAMP
	 A person eighteen years of age or 
older shall purchase a habitat stamp 
when applying for or purchasing a 
hunting or fishing license. The fee 
for the habitat stamp shall be $25 
for nonresidents. A person is not 
required to purchase more than one 
habitat stamp within a license year.
Any person required to obtain a 
hunting or fishing license may not fish 

and hunt, or trap without a habitat 
stamp. Purchase of the habitat stamp 
is not required for the 1-Day Fishing 
License, any youth license, any 
private shooting preserve license, or 
landowner hunting license.
	
FEDERAL WATERFOWL STAMP
	 This stamp is an additional 
requirement for those ages 16 and 
older to hunt ducks, geese, tundra 
swan and merganser. To purchase 
this stamp, check with your local U.S. 
Postal Office and/or local licensing 
agent. You can purchase an electronic 
Federal Stamp online (not available 
at license agents) at gfp.sd.gov. This 
E-Stamp will be valid for 45 days 
and a physical stamp will be mailed 
to you that will be valid for the rest 
of the Federal Stamp year. The 
stamp is part of the waterfowl hunting 
requirements in all states. 	
	 However, hunters are required to 
purchase only one stamp if the stamp 
is signed in ink across the face and 

NONRESIDENT LICENSES AND FEES
2021 licenses are valid Dec. 15, 2020 through Jan. 31, 2022
2022 licenses are valid Dec. 15, 2021 through Jan. 31, 2023

Habitat Stamp	��������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $25
Small Game (two 5-day periods)*	��������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $121
Youth Small Game, ages 12-17 (two 5-day periods)	������������������������������������������������������������� $10
Waterfowl (valid two 5-day periods, lottery application only)*	������������������������������������������ $116
Waterfowl (valid 3 days, lottery application only)*	��������������������������������������������������������������� $86
Early Fall Canada Goose (lottery application only)*	������������������������������������������������������������� $50
Spring Light Goose Conservation Order*	��������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $50
Youth Spring Light Goose Conservation Order, ages 12-17	������������������������������������������������� $26
State Migratory Bird Certification	����������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $5
Predator/Varmint	��������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $40
Furbearer (application only)	�������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $275
Shooting Preserve (annual)*	��������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $121
Shooting Preserve (5-day)*	���������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $76
Shooting Preserve (1-day)*	���������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $46
Federal Waterfowl E-Stamp (Online Only)	������������������������������������������������������������������������������� $25

* Fee includes a $6 surcharge mandated by state law. Revenue derived from this surcharge is 
dedicated to hunting access, wildlife damage management, and animal damage control programs.
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carried at all times while hunting 
relevant species. GFP recommends 
that hunters leave the stamp on 
the original backing on which it is 
issued. A lost or destroyed Federal 
Waterfowl Stamp can only be 
replaced by purchasing a new one. 
	 NOTE: A Federal Waterfowl Stamp 
is not needed to hunt Sandhill crane, 
mourning dove, snipe, coot or to 
take light geese during Spring Light 
Goose Conservation Order - a State 
Migratory Bird Certification is still 
mandatory. 

FURBEARER LICENSE
	 The Nonresident Furbearer License 
is required to trap wolf, coyote, red 
fox, grey fox, raccoon, badger, 
bobcat, opossum, mink, weasel, 
beaver, muskrat and skunks; and when 
and where allowed is required to hunt 
raccoon, badger, bobcat, opossum, 
mink, weasel, beaver and muskrat. 
Applications are available at local 
offices or online at gfp.sd.gov. 

LANDOWNERS
	 Eligible nonresident landowners 
may purchase a landowner-own-land 
license for West River deer and the 
firearm antelope hunting season. 
Eligible nonresident landowners can 
also apply for East River Landowner 
deer hunting seasons via drawing 
only.  

PREDATOR/VARMINT LICENSE
	 Nonresidents may hunt prairie dog, 
jackrabbit, gopher, ground squirrel, 
crow, porcupine, marmot, red fox, 
grey fox, coyotes, wolf, opossum and 
skunks if they possess a Predator/
Varmint License or any valid South 
Dakota Hunting or Furbearer License 

(other than nonresident shooting 
preserve).  

SHOOTING PRESERVE LICENSE
	 South Dakota permits private 
shooting preserves to offer hunting 
from September 1 - March 31. 
Nonresidents hunting on a licensed 
shooting preserve need the 
Nonresident Shooting Preserve 
License, Nonresident Small Game 
License or a Nonresident Youth Small 
Game License.
	 The Shooting Preserve License is 
valid through January 31 only on 
licensed shooting preserves and 
allows the hunter to take only the 
game for which the preserve is 
licensed. The license is valid to take 
Predator/Varmints on preserves 
through March 31. 
	 The Small Game License is valid 
outside the shooting preserve for the 
two 5-day periods specified on the 
license and valid on licensed shooting 
preserves through January 31 for 
the species for which the preserve is 
licensed. 

SMALL GAME LICENSE
	 The Small Game License or Youth 
Small Game License is valid for two 
periods of five consecutive days. 
Starting dates must be chosen for 
BOTH periods when the license is 
purchased. Both dates must be filled 
in on the license even if the two 
5-day periods run consecutively. 
Nonresidents may buy more than one 
Small Game License. 
	 The start date for each 5-day 
period may be changed prior to the 
start date. The change may be made 
online or at any license agent. License 
agents may charge a fee of up to $8. 

NONRESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION
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This license also allows nonresidents 
to shoot coyotes, red and grey 
fox, skunks, prairie dogs and other 
unprotected species through January 
31 and to hunt on licensed shooting 
preserves through January 31. 

STATE MIGRATORY BIRD 
CERTIFICATION
	 All nonresidents hunting migratory 
birds and/or waterfowl must complete 
and purchase this certification. 
	 Migratory birds that require this 
certification for hunting include ducks, 
geese (except those nonresidents only 
hunting Canada geese from Sept. 
1-30), tundra swan, Sandhill crane, 
mourning doves, snipe and coot. This 
certification should not be confused 
with the Federal Waterfowl Stamp.
	 Note:  The State Migratory Bird 
Certification is no longer combined 
with the nonresident waterfowl 
license.  Hunters must choose which 
duck regulation option (Traditional 
or Three-duck daily bag limit) they 
want to hunt with for the entire season 
at the time of purchasing their State 
Migratory Bird Certification. See 
page 32 for more information.

WATERFOWL LICENSES
	 A South Dakota Waterfowl License 
is required for nonresidents to hunt 
migratory waterfowl. Licenses for the 
fall seasons are issued by lottery. 
Licenses for the Spring Light Goose 
Conservation Order can be purchased 
through a local licensing agent or 
online. Nonresident Youth Waterfowl 
Licenses are only valid during the 
two-day youth waterfowl season.  
Licensed waterfowl hunters may only 
hunt within the unit designated on their 
license.  
	 The fall Waterfowl License for Units 

00B and 11A are valid for two 5-day 
periods; Unit 00A is valid through the 
entire season; and Units 00V, 00X, 
00Y and 00Z are valid for three 
consecutive days. Licenses are valid 
on private and public land for Units 
00A, 00B, 11A, and 00Y. Licenses are 
valid only on private land for Units 
00V, 00X and 00Z; these licenses are 
not valid on private property leased 
by GFP for public hunting or on public 
highways or other rights-of-way 
otherwise open to hunting.
	 The Nonresident Early Fall Canada 
Goose License is valid Sept. 1 - Sept. 
30. Nonresidents may not hunt geese 
during this season in Units 2 and 3 
or in the following counties: Beadle, 
Brookings, Hanson, Kingsbury, Lake, 
Lincoln, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, 
Moody, Sanborn, Turner and Union 
counties. 
	 On all limited-days Waterfowl 
Licenses, successful applicants must 
provide a start date before the 
license will be issued. The dates can 
be changed prior to the start date; 
either online or through the licensing 
office. These Waterfowl Licenses also 
allow nonresidents to hunt coyotes, 
red and grey fox, skunks, prairie 
dogs, opossum and other unprotected 
species through January 31.

YOUTH LICENSE
	 Nonresidents who are at least 
12 years of age or will turn 12 by 
December 31, may apply for or buy 
licenses and may hunt in any open 
season beginning Sept. 1.  
	 To buy a license, nonresidents under 
18 need a copy of their hunter safety 
education certificate or a copy of 
a current or previous hunting license 
issued to them from any state.

NONRESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION
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NONRESIDENT WATERFOWL HUNTING UNITS:
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Units 00B and 11A are valid for two 5-day periods
Unit 00A is valid through the entire season 
Units 00V, 00X, 00Y, and 00Z are valid for three consecutive days.  
Licenses are valid on private and public for Units 00A, 00B, 11A and 00Y.  Licenses 
are valid only on private land for Units 00V, 00X and 00Z.

NONRESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION
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FOR MORE INFORMATION OR QUESTIONS, PLEASE CONTACT 
LISA WEYER AT 605.773.4503

WORKING LANDS HABITAT PROGRAM

The Second Century Habitat Fund is a nonprofit 501 (c) 3 corporation that 
works with landowners and conservation groups to improve and create 
pheasant habitat across South Dakota. The Fund is governed by a Board 
of Directors appointed by Governor Noem representing landowners, 
business owners, pheasant preserve operators and community leaders 
across South Dakota.
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SMALL GAME HUNTING INFORMATION

RING-NECKED PHEASANT
DATES: Oct. 16–Jan. 31 
OPEN AREA: All of South Dakota except: 
	» Renziehausen Game Production Area and Game Bird Refuge in Brown and 
Marshall Counties, Gerken Game Bird Refuge in Faulk County and White Lake 
Game Bird Refuge in Marshall county are open Dec. 1–Jan. 31. 

	» Sand Lake National Wildlife Refuge in Brown County is open Dec. 13–Jan. 31.
DAILY LIMIT: 3 rooster pheasants.
POSSESSION LIMIT: 15 rooster pheasants, taken according to the daily limit. The 
limit accrues at the rate of 3 birds a day and 15 birds may not be possessed until 
after the fifth day of hunting. 
SHOOTING HOURS: 10 a.m., Central Time, to sunset. NOTE: Central Time is used 
for opening shooting hours statewide. 

RESIDENT-ONLY RING-NECKED PHEASANT
DATES: Oct. 9–11 
OPEN AREA: Public lands, statewide, which include the following:
	» Hunting on road rights-of-way is limited to those contiguous to and a part of 
public hunting lands open for hunting.

	» U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Waterfowl Production Areas.
	» U.S. Army Corps of Engineers land adjacent to the Missouri River.
	» U.S. Forest Service National Grasslands.

YOUTH RING-NECKED PHEASANT
DATES: Sept. 25–Oct. 3
OPEN AREA: Youth season is open statewide on private and public land. Hunting 
on road rights-of-way is limited to those contiguous to and a part of public 
hunting lands open for hunting.
DAILY LIMIT: 3 rooster pheasants.
POSSESSION LIMIT: 15 rooster pheasants, taken according to daily limit. The 
limit accrues at the rate of 3 birds a day and 15 birds may not be possessed until 
after the fifth day of hunting.
SHOOTING HOURS: 10 a.m., Central Time, to sunset. NOTE: Central Time is used 
for opening shooting hours statewide.
ELIGIBILITY: Resident and nonresident youth hunters must be 12 (or turn 12 by 
Dec. 31) through 17 years old and properly licensed to hunt during the youth 
pheasant season. Those under age 16 must possess a valid hunter education 
certificate. If participating in a Resident Mentored Hunt, the youth hunter must be 
less than 16 years of age. See pages 64-65 for the requirements for “Mentored 
and Youth Small Game Hunting.”   
SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS: All youth hunters must be accompanied by an 
unarmed adult. It is advisable that all wear at least one exterior garment of 
fluorescent orange.
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SMALL GAME HUNTING INFORMATION
	» U.S. Bureau of Reclamation Land.
	» SD School and Public Lands.
	» State parks, recreation areas and lakeside use areas.
	» GFP managed or leased property otherwise open to public hunting, including 
Game Production Areas open during the regular pheasant season.

	» GFP managed and leased property designated as Walk-in Areas and land 
enrolled in the Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP).

	» Non-toxic shot is required to hunt small game on most public lands. 
DAILY LIMIT: 3 rooster pheasants.
POSSESSION LIMIT: 9 rooster pheasants, taken according to the daily limit. Limit 
accrues at the rate of 3 birds a day; 9 birds may not be possessed until after the 
third day of hunting.
SHOOTING HOURS: 10 a.m., Central Time, to sunset. NOTE: Central Time is used 
for opening shooting hours statewide.

PRAIRIE CHICKEN AND SHARP-TAILED GROUSE
Includes ruffed grouse.
DATES: Sept. 18–Jan. 2
OPEN AREA: Statewide.
DAILY LIMIT: 3 (any combination).
POSSESSION LIMIT: 15 (any combination) taken according to the daily limit. Limit 
accrues at the rate of 3 birds a day; 15 birds may not be possessed until after 
the fifth day of hunting.
SHOOTING HOURS: Sunrise to sunset statewide.

Attention Prairie-Chicken and Grouse Hunters
Prairie chicken and sharp-tailed grouse hunters are requested to voluntarily 
submit wings at wing box collection sites found on the Ft. Pierre, Grand River 
and Buffalo Gap National Grasslands, with additional locations found across 
the state. This data is used to assist biologists in monitoring prairie grouse 
populations. Your cooperation to collect this information is greatly appreciated. 
View a listing of all wing box collection locations at gfp.sd.gov and search “wing 
box locations.”

GRAY PARTRIDGE AND CHUKAR
DATES: Sept. 18–Jan. 2
OPEN AREA: Statewide.
DAILY LIMIT: 5 (any combination).
POSSESSION LIMIT: 15 (any combination) taken according to the daily limit. Limit 
accrues at the rate of 5 birds a day; 15 birds may not be possessed until after 
the third day of hunting.
SHOOTING HOURS: Sunrise to sunset statewide.

GREATER SAGE GROUSE
SEASON CLOSED
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SMALL GAME HUNTING INFORMATION

QUAIL
DATES: Oct. 16–Jan. 2
OPEN AREA: Statewide.
DAILY LIMIT: 5 (any combination).
POSSESSION LIMIT: 15 (any combination) taken according to the daily limit. Limit 
accrues at the rate of 5 birds a day; 15 birds may not be possessed until after 
the third day of hunting.
SHOOTING HOURS: Sunrise to sunset statewide.

Attention Dog Owners
Hunters who hunt public lands and road rights-of-way should understand their 
dogs may encounter fences, barbed wire, posts, old machinery or other materials 
that may cause injury. In addition, most public lands allow trapping and snaring. 
Dog owners should be aware they are sharing these lands with other users and 
may encounter these activities. Landowner permission is required for trapping on 
lands leased for public hunting such as: Walk-In Areas (WIA), Controlled Hunting 
and Access Program (CHAP) and Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program 
(CREP) areas, however, the same potential risks may exist on these lands as well. 
Visit gfp.sd.gov/pages/remove-dog/ to view an informational video.

Respect the Past. 
Never Remove artifacts.

Cultural resources provide an understanding and appreciation of  South Dakota’s heritage. 
The removal of  cultural resource artifacts from state Game, Fish and Parks managed land is 

a violation of  state and federal laws.

If  you find an artifact, please leave it in its place and contact our Department Cultural 
Resource Protection Officer at 605.668.2985. Please provide accurate information on where 

the item or items were located.

help protect our cultural resources. 
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WATERFOWL HUNTING INFORMATION

DUCK
HIGH PLAINS:
Oct. 9 - Jan. 13
The area west of 
Boundary A (see 
Boundary Definitions)

LOW PLAINS - 
NORTH ZONE:
Sept. 25 - Dec. 7
The area east of 
Boundary A and 
north of Boundary B

LOW PLAINS - MIDDLE ZONE:
Sept. 25 - Dec. 7
The area east of Boundary A, south of Boundary B and north of Boundary C

LOW PLAINS - SOUTH ZONE:
Oct. 23 - Jan. 4
The area within Boundary C

BOUNDARY DEFINITIONS:
Boundary A - A line beginning at the SD-ND state line and extending south along 
U.S. 83 to U.S. 14, east on U.S. Hwy 14 to Blunt, south on the Blunt-Canning Road 
to SD Hwy 34, east and south on SD Hwy 34 to SD Hwy 50 at Lee’s Corner, 
south on SD Hwy 50 to I-90, east on I-90 to SD Hwy 50, south on SD Hwy 50 to 
SD Hwy 44, west on SD Hwy 44 across the Platte-Winner Bridge to SD Hwy 47, 
south on SD Hwy 47 to U.S. 18, east on U.S. Hwy 18 to SD Hwy 47, south on SD 
Hwy 47 to the SD-NE state line.

Boundary B - A line beginning at the junction of U.S. Hwy 83 and U.S. Hwy 212, 
then east on U.S. Hwy 212 to the SD-MN state line.

Boundary C - A line beginning at the junction of SD Hwy 47 and the SD-NE state 
line, then north on SD Hwy 47 to SD Hwy 44, then east on SD Hwy 44 to SD Hwy 
50, then south on SD Hwy 50 to CFAS 6198 (Geddes Hwy) at Geddes, then east 
on the Geddes Hwy to U.S. Hwy 281, then south on U.S. Hwy 281 to SD Hwy 50, 
then east on SD Hwy 50 to I-29, then south on I-29 to the SD-IA state line. 

High Plains

Low Plains
South Zone

Low Plains
Middle Zone

Low Plains
North Zone

C

B

A

A

i

i

i

i

Visit: gfp.sd.gov/maps to view an interactive map of these units.
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TIER 1 (TRADITIONAL) DAILY LIMIT:
Ducks: 6 - The daily duck limit may be comprised of no more than: 
5 mallards, which may include no more than 2 hens 
3 wood ducks
1 scaup
2 redheads 
2 canvasback
1 pintail
2 - bonus blue-winged teal (first 16 days of the season only) 
Low Plains North and Middle Zones: Sept. 25 - Oct. 10. 
Low Plains South Zone: Oct. 23 -  Nov. 7; 
High Plains: Oct. 9 - 24
Mergansers: 5, which may include no more than 2 hooded mergansers.
Coots: 15.

TIER 2 (THREE-DUCK) DAILY LIMIT:
3 ducks of any species or sex (includes mergansers)
POSSESSION LIMIT: Three times the daily limit; taken according to the daily limit.
SHOOTING HOURS: One-half hour before sunrise to sunset.
NON-TOXIC SHOT: Approved non-toxic shot is required to hunt waterfowl. See 
the “Non-Toxic Shot Regulations” section for more information.
ANTELOPE ISLAND RESTRICTIONS: The Antelope Island area on Lake Sharpe 
(the area within the water’s edge from a north-south line across Lake Sharpe 
through the dredged channel at the east end of Hipple Lake, downstream to a 
north-south line across the reservoir 100 yards east of the eastern-most emergent 
vegetation on Antelope Island) has the following restrictions - No waterfowl 
decoys or hunting blinds may be left in the area between sunset and 5 a.m.; and 
no waterfowl decoys may be left unattended between 5 a.m. and sunset.

WATERFOWL HUNTING INFORMATION

CANADA GOOSE
Includes brant and cackling geese.
SHOOTING HOURS: One-half hour before sunrise to sunset.
NON-TOXIC SHOT: Same as under Duck Regulations.
Antelope Island Restrictions: Same as under Duck Regulations.

AUGUST MANAGEMENT TAKE (RESIDENT ONLY): Aug. 21-31

DAILY LIMIT: 15 geese 
POSSESSION LIMIT: Unlimited
OPEN AREA: Meade County south of South Dakota Highway 34, Pennington 	 	
County west of the Cheyenne River and the counties of Aurora, Beadle, Bon 	
Homme, Brookings, Brown, Clark, Clay, Codington, Davison, Day, Deuel, Edmunds, 
Faulk, Hamlin, Hanson, Hutchinson, Grant, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, 
Marshall, McCook, McPherson, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Roberts, Sanborn, 
Spink, Turner, Union and Yankton.
(see unit boundary map on page 34) 
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WATERFOWL HUNTING INFORMATION
UNIT 1: Sept. 1 - Dec. 16

DAILY LIMIT: Sept. 1-30, limit of 15. Oct. 1-Dec. 16, limit of 8.
NOTE: Nonresidents may not hunt Canada or Cackling Geese from Sept. 
1 - 30 in the counties of Beadle, Brookings, Hanson, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, 
McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Sanborn, and Turner.  
POSSESSION LIMIT: Three times the daily limit, taken according to daily limit.
	
The counties of Aurora, Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Butte, Campbell, Clark, 
Codington, Corson, Davison, Day, Deuel, Douglas, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, 
Haakon, Hamlin, Hand, Hanson, Harding, Hutchinson, Jackson, Jerauld, Jones, 
Kingsbury, Lake, McCook, McPherson, Marshall, Meade, Mellette, Moody, 
Miner, Oglala Lakota, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, Todd, Turner, Walworth, and 
Ziebach, that portion of Dewey County north of Bureau of Indian Affairs Road 
8, Bureau of Indian Affairs, Road 9, and the section of U.S. Hwy 212 east of 
the Bureau of Indian Affairs Road 8 junction, that portion of Potter County east 
of U.S. Hwy 83, that portion of Sully County east of U.S. Hwy 83, portions of 
Hyde, Buffalo, Brule, Charles Mix, and Bon Homme counties north and east of 
a line beginning at the Hughes-Hyde county line on SD Hwy 34, east  to Lees 
Boulevard, southeast to the SD Hwy 34, east 7 miles to 350th Avenue, south to 
Interstate 90 on 350th Avenue, south and east on SD Hwy 50 to Geddes, east 
on 285th Street to U.S. Hwy 281, north on U.S. Hwy 281 to the Charles Mix-
Douglas county boundary, that portion of Bon Homme County north of SD Hwy 
50, those portions of Yankton and Clay counties north of County Hwy 585 
(306th Street) to U.S. Hwy 81, then north on U.S. Hwy 81 to 303rd Street, 
then east on 303rd Street to 444th Avenue, then south on 444th Avenue to 
305th Street, then east on Bluff Road (305th Street) to County Hwy 19, south 
to SD Hwy 50 and east to the Clay/Union County line, and that portion of 
Perkins County west of SD Hwy 75 and south of SD Hwy 20, that portion of 
Lincoln County west of SD Hwy 17 and south of County Hwy 116 (Klondike 
Road), and that portion of Minnehaha County north of a line beginning at the 
junction of the South Dakota-Minnesota state line and County Hwy 122 (254th 
Street) west to its junction with County Hwy 149 (464th Avenue), that portion 
west of County Hwy 149 (464th Avenue) to Hartford, that portion west of 
County Hwy 151 (463rd Avenue) to State Hwy 42, that portion south of State 
Hwy 42 to SD Hwy 17, and the portion west of SD Hwy 17 to the Minnehaha-
Lincoln county boundary.

UNIT 2: Nov. 1 - Feb. 13. Those areas not included in Unit 1 or Unit 3.

DAILY LIMIT: 4
POSSESSION LIMIT: Three times the daily limit, taken according to daily limit.
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UNIT 3: Jan. 8 - 16. Bennett County.
DAILY LIMIT: 4
POSSESSION LIMIT: Three times the daily limit, taken according to daily limit.
NOTE: Bennett County is open to Canada and Cackling goose hunting 
Oct. 16 - Dec. 19 by lottery license ONLY. All goose limits apply, but Canada 
and Cackling geese must be tagged immediately upon possession of the bird.

YOUTH WATERFOWL
SEASON DATES: Sept. 11 - 12
HUNTING UNIT: Statewide.
SHOOTING HOURS: One-half hour before sunrise to sunset.
DAILY LIMIT:
DUCKS – 
TIER 1 (TRADITIONAL): Same as regular duck season. (Bonus blue-winged teal 
not allowed during youth season). 
TIER 2 (THREE-DUCK): 3 ducks of any species or sex (includes mergansers)
Canada Goose - The daily limit is 15 in Unit 1. The daily limit is 4 in Units 2 
and 3.
POSSESSION LIMIT: Twice the daily limit, taken according to daily limit.
NON-TOXIC SHOT: Approved non-toxic shot is required to hunt waterfowl. 
See the “Non-Toxic Shot Regulations” section for more information.
OTHER REQUIREMENTS:
	» Open to residents and nonresidents. 
	» The youth hunter must be properly licensed to hunt waterfowl in the state, 
unless participating under a Resident Mentored Hunt scenario as described in 
the “Mentored and Youth Hunting” section. pg 106-107. Youth may not have 
reached age 18 by the first day of the season.

WATERFOWL HUNTING INFORMATION

Unit 3

Unit 2

Unit 2

Unit 2
Unit 2

Unit 1
Unit 1

Early Fall Goose Proposal - 2018

Visit: gfp.sd.gov/maps to view an interactive map of these units.

CANADA GOOSE UNIT BOUNDARY MAP



gfp.sd.gov  | 605.223.7660 | 35

WATERFOWL HUNTING INFORMATION

Visit: gfp.sd.gov/maps to view an interactive map of these units.

	» An adult (18 or older) must accompany youth. The adult may not hunt ducks 
but may participate in other open seasons, including the Canada Goose 
Season. 

	» All other restrictions are the same as during the regular waterfowl seasons. 
	» Nonresident youth must have a Nonresident Waterfowl License with valid 
dates during Sept. 11 - 12 or a Nonresident Youth Waterfowl License to 
participate in this hunt.

	» No Federal Waterfowl Stamp is required if under the age of 15.

WHITE-FRONTED GOOSE
SEASON DATES: Sept. 25 - Dec. 7, statewide.
UNIT: Statewide.
DAILY LIMIT: 3
POSSESSION LIMIT: Three times the daily limit, taken according to daily limit.

LIGHT GOOSE 
SEASON DATES: Sept. 25 - Jan. 7, statewide.
UNIT: Statewide.
DAILY LIMIT: 50.
POSSESSION LIMIT: Unlimited.
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FEDERAL LAWS FOR MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS
AGGREGATE DAILY BAG LIMIT
	 The maximum number of migratory 
game birds permitted to be taken by 
one person in any one day during the 
open season when such person hunts in 
more than one specified geographic 
area and/or for more than one 
species for which a combined daily 
bag limit is prescribed. The aggregate 
daily bag limit is equal to, but shall 
not exceed, the largest daily bag limit 
prescribed for any one species or for 
any one specified geographic area in 
which taking occurs. 

AGGREGATE POSSESSION LIMIT
	 The maximum number of migratory 
game birds of a single species or 
combination of species taken in 
the United States permitted to be 
possessed by any one person when 
taking and possession occurs in 
more than one specified geographic 
area for which a possession limit is 
prescribed. The aggregate possession 
limit is equal to, but shall not exceed, 
the largest possession limit prescribed 
for any one of the species or specified 
geographic areas in which taking and 
possession occurs. 

BAITED AREA
	 Any area on which salt, grain or 
other feed has been placed, exposed, 
deposited, distributed or scattered, 
if that salt, grain or other feed could 
serve as a lure or attraction for 
migratory game birds to, on or over 
areas where hunters are attempting to 
take them. Any such area will remain 
a baited area for ten days following 
the complete removal of all such salt, 
grain or other feed. 

BAITING
	 The direct or indirect placing, 
exposing, depositing, distributing or 
scattering of salt, grain or other feed 
that could serve as a lure or attraction 
for migratory game birds to, on or 
over any areas where hunters are 
attempting to take them. 

CUSTODY OF BIRDS OF ANOTHER
	 No person shall receive or have in 
custody any migratory game birds 
belonging to another person unless 
such birds are tagged as required.

DAILY BAG LIMIT
	 The maximum number of migratory 
game birds of single species or 
combination (aggregate) of species 
permitted to be taken by one 
person in any one day during the 
open season in any one specified 
geographic area for which a daily 
bag limit is prescribed. 

GIFT OF MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS
	 No person may receive, possess 
or give to another, any freshly killed 
migratory game birds as a gift, 
except at the personal abodes of the 
donor or donee, unless such birds have 
a tag attached, signed by the hunter 
who took the birds, stating the hunter’s 
address, the total number and species 
of birds and the date such birds were 
taken.

ILLEGAL HUNTING METHODS
	 Migratory birds on which open 
seasons are prescribed in this part 
may be taken by any method except 
those prohibited in this section. No 
persons shall take migratory game 
birds: 
	» With a trap, snare, net, rifle, pistol, 
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swivel gun, shotgun larger than 
10-gauge, punt gun, battery gun, 
machine gun, fish hook, poison, drug, 
explosive or stupefying substance; 

	» With a shotgun of any description 
capable of holding more than three 
shells, unless it is plugged with 
a one-piece filler, incapable of 
removal without disassembling the 
gun, so its total capacity does not 
exceed three shells; 

	» From or by means, aid or use of a 
sink-box or any other type of low 
floating device, having a depression 
affording the hunter a means of 
concealment beneath the surface of 
the water; 

	» From or by means, aid or use of any 
motor vehicle, motor-driven land 
conveyance or aircraft of any kind; 

	» From or by means of any motorboat 
or other craft having a motor 
attached or any sailboat, unless 
the motor has been completely shut 
off and/or the sails furled and its 
progress has ceased;

	» By the use or aid of live birds as 
decoys; although not limited to, it 
shall be a violation for any person 
to take migratory waterfowl on an 
area where tame or captive live 
ducks or geese are present unless 
such birds are and have been for a 
period of 10 consecutive days prior 
to such taking, confined within an 
enclosure which substantially reduces 
the audibility of their calls and 
totally conceals such birds from the 
sight of wild migratory waterfowl; 

	» By the use or aid of recorded or 
electrically amplified bird calls or 
sounds or recorded or electrically 
amplified imitations of bird calls or 
sound;

	» By means or aid of any motor driven 

land, water or air conveyance, or 
any sailboat used for the purpose 
of or resulting in the concentrating, 
driving, rallying or stirring up of any 
migratory bird;

	» While possessing loose shot for 
muzzle loading or shot shells 
containing other than approved non-
toxic shot;

	» By the aid of baiting or on or over 
any baited area, where a person 
knows or reasonably should know 
that the area is or has been baited.

	» However, nothing in this paragraph 
prohibits:

	» The taking of any migratory game 
bird, including waterfowl, coots 
and Sandhill cranes, on or over the 
following lands or areas that are not 
otherwise baited areas; 

	» Standing crops or flooded standing 
crops (including aquatics); standing, 
flooded or manipulated natural 
vegetation; flooded harvested 
croplands; or lands or areas where 
seeds or grains have been scattered 
solely as the result of a normal 
agricultural planting, harvesting, 
post-harvest manipulation or normal 
soil stabilization practice;

	» From a blind or other place of 
concealment camouflaged with 
natural vegetation;

	» From a blind or other place of 
concealment camouflaged with 
vegetation from agricultural crops, 
as long as such camouflaging 
does not result in the exposing, 
depositing, distributing or scattering 
of grain or other feed; or 

	» Standing or flooded standing 
agricultural crops where grain is 
inadvertently scattered solely as a 
result of a hunter entering or exiting 
a hunting area, placing decoys or 

FEDERAL LAWS FOR MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS
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retrieving downed birds. 
	» The taking of any migratory game 
bird, except waterfowl, coots and 
Sandhill cranes, on or over lands 
or areas that are not otherwise 
baited areas and where grain or 
other feed has been distributed 
or scattered solely as the result of 
manipulation of an agricultural crop 
or other feed on the land where 
grown or solely as the result of a 
normal agricultural operation.

MANIPULATION
	 The alteration of natural vegetation 
or agricultural crops by activities 
that include but are not limited to 
mowing, shredding, disking, rolling, 
chopping, trampling, flattening, 
burning or herbicide treatments. The 
term manipulation does not include 
the distributing or scattering of grain, 
seed or other feed after removal from 
or storage on the field where grown. 

MARKING PACKAGE OR 
CONTAINER
	 No person shall transport by the 
U.S. Postal Service or a common 
carrier migratory game birds unless 
the package or container in which such 
birds are transported has the name 
and address of the shipper and the 
consignee and an accurate statement 
of the numbers of each species of 
birds therein contained clearly and 
conspicuously marked on the outside 
thereof.

MIGRATORY BIRD PRESERVATION 
FACILITY
	 Any person who, at their residence 
or place of business and for hire or 
other consideration; or
	 Any taxidermist, cold-storage 

facility or locker plant which, for hire 
or other consideration; or
	 Any hunting club which, in the 
normal course of operations; receives, 
possesses or has in custody any 
migratory game birds belonging 
to another person for purposes of 
picking, cleaning, freezing, processing, 
storage or shipment.

NATURAL VEGETATION
	 Any non-agricultural, native or 
naturalized plant species that grows at 
a site in response to planting or from 
existing seeds or other propagules. 
The term natural vegetation does 
not include planted millet. However, 
planted millet that grows on its own 
in subsequent years after the year 
of planting is considered natural 
vegetation. 

NO MIGRATORY BIRD 
PRESERVATION FACILITY SHALL:
	» Receive or have in custody any 
migratory game bird unless accurate 
records are maintained which can 
identify each bird received by or 
in the custody of, the facility by the 
name of the person from whom the 
bird was obtained and show: 
•	 The number of each species;
•	 The location where taken;
•	 The date such birds were 
received;

•	 The name and address of the 
person from whom such birds were 
received;

•	 The date such birds were disposed 
of; and

•	 The name and address of the 
person to whom such birds were 
delivered or

	» Destroy any records required to be 
maintained under this section for a 

FEDERAL LAWS FOR MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS
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period of one year following the 
last entry on the record.

	» Record keeping as required by 
this section will not be necessary 
at hunting clubs which do not fully 
process migratory birds by removal 
of both the head and wings.

Please note these examples do 
not represent an all-inclusive list 
of waterfowl regulations. For a 
detailed explanation, visit fws.gov/
le or contact a U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service Law Enforcement Agent at: 
Columbia 605.885.6403, Hot Springs 
605.745.5076, or Bismarck, ND 
701.255.0593.

NORMAL AGRICULTURAL 
PLANTING, HARVESTING, OR POST-
HARVEST MANIPULATION
	 A planting or harvesting undertaken 
for the purpose of producing and 
gathering a crop or manipulation 
after such harvest and removal of 
grain, that is conducted in accordance 
with official recommendations of 
State Extension Specialists of the 
Cooperative Extension Service of the 
U.S. Department of Agriculture. 

NORMAL AGRICULTURAL 
OPERATION
	 A normal agricultural planting, 
harvesting, post-harvest manipulation 
or agricultural practice that is 
conducted in accordance with official 
recommendations of State Extension 
Specialists of the Cooperative 
Extension Service of the U.S. 
Department of Agriculture. 

NORMAL SOIL STABILIZATION 
PRACTICE
	 A planting for agricultural soil 
erosion control or post-mining land 

reclamation conducted in accordance 
with official recommendations of 
State Extension Specialists of the 
Cooperative Extension Service of the 
U.S. Department of Agriculture for 
agricultural soil erosion control. 

POSSESSION LIMIT
	 The maximum number of migratory 
game birds of a single species or a 
combination of species permitted to 
be possessed by any one person when 
lawfully taken in the United States 
in any one specified geographic 
area for which a possession limit is 
prescribed. 

POSSESSION OF LIVE BIRDS
	 Every migratory game bird 
wounded by hunting and reduced 
to possession by the hunter shall be 
immediately killed and become a part 
of the daily bag limit. No person shall 
at any time or by any means, possess 
or transport live migratory game birds 
taken under authority of this part. 

TAKE
	 Pursue, hunt, shoot, wound, kill, 
trap, capture or collect; and includes 
attempting to do the same.

TAGGING REQUIREMENT
	 No person shall put or leave any 
migratory game birds at any place 
(other than at his personal abode) 
or in the custody of another person 
for picking, cleaning, processing, 
shipping, transportation or storage 
(including temporary storage) or for 
the purpose of having taxidermy 
services performed, unless such birds 
have a tag attached, signed by the 
hunter, stating his address, the total 
number and species of birds and the 
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date such birds were killed. Migratory 
game birds being transported in any 
vehicle as the personal baggage of 
the possessor shall not be considered 
as being in storage or temporary 
storage.

TRANSPORTATION
	 Ship, convey, carry or transport 
by any means, including delivery or 
receipt for such shipment, conveyance, 
carriage or transportation. 

TRANSPORTATION OF BIRDS OF 
ANOTHER
	 No person shall transport migratory 
game birds belonging to another 
person unless such birds are tagged as 
required.

WANTON WASTE OF MIGRATORY 
GAME BIRDS
	 No person shall kill or cripple any 
migratory game bird without making a 
reasonable effort to retrieve the bird 
and retain it in actual custody, at the 
place where taken or between that 
place and either:
	» That person’s automobile 
or principal means of land 
transportation; or

	» That person’s personal abode or 	
temporary or transient place of 
lodging; or

	» A migratory bird preservation 
facility; or

	» A post office; or
	» A common carrier facility.	

TERMINATION OF POSSESSION
	 Subject to all other requirements 
of this part, the possession of birds 
taken by any hunter shall be deemed 
to have ceased when such birds have 
been delivered by him to another 

person as a gift; or have been 
delivered by him to a post office, a 
common carrier or a migratory bird 
preservation facility and consigned 
for transport by the U.S.Postal Service 
or a common carrier to some person 
other than the hunter.

SPECIES IDENTIFICATION 
REQUIREMENT
	 No person shall transport within the 
United States any migratory game 
birds unless the head or one fully 
feathered wing remains attached to 
each such bird at all times while being 
transported from the place where 
taken until they have arrived at the 
personal abode of the possessor or a 
migratory bird preservation facility.

WATERFOWL INFORMATION: 
GFP provides weekly updates on the 
status of the waterfowl migration and 
other waterfowl hunting information.
	 These weekly migration reports 
provide a good indicator of the duck 
and goose activity for the upcoming 
weekend and can be found at 
gfp.sd.gov/migration-reports/.
	 For the most current waterfowl 
population information, visit 
flyways.us. 

BANDED WATERFOWL AND 
MOURNING DOVES
The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 
encourage hunters who bag banded 
waterfowl and mourning doves to visit 
reportband.gov to report the band 
number.

FEDERAL LAWS FOR MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS
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BIG GAME TAGGING AND 
TRANSPORTATION
	 See Big Game Regulations.

DOMICILE
	 A person’s established, fixed and 
permanent home to which the person, 
whenever absent, has the present 
intention of returning.

GAME BIRD TRANSPORTATION 
AND PACKAGING
	 No game bird, including a wild 
turkey, may be possessed, placed 
in public storage, transported or 
accepted for shipment unless the 
following minimum requirements are 
met for each listed species:
	» Waterfowl shall include an attached 
fully feathered wing or an attached 
head; and conform to other federal 
requirements (see federal laws for 
migratory game birds).

	» Pheasants and grouse, unless 
processed at a wildlife processing 
facility and accompanied by the 
receipt or at the domicile of the 
possessor, shall include at least one 
of the following attached: the head, 
a fully feathered wing or a foot. The 
term grouse includes sharp-tailed 
grouse, ruffed grouse and prairie 
chicken;

	» Wild turkeys, unless processed at 
a wildlife processing facility and 
accompanied by the receipt, or at 
the domicile of the possessor, shall 
include the attached leg and foot 
bearing the tag issued with the 
license. Any person who lawfully 
takes a wild turkey may remove 
edible portions from the turkey 
while in the field and transport 

providing the person also has in 
their possession the beard, leg and 
foot with the attached tag until the 
bird has arrived at the domicile of 
the processor. Any person licensed 
to take “any turkey” is exempt from 
transporting the beard; 

	» All other game birds, unless processed 
at a wildlife processing facility and 
accompanied by the receipt, or at the 
domicile of the possessor, shall include 
the attached head or an attached 
fully-feathered wing.

	 If the head or wing is used for 
identification, it shall have sufficient 
plumage attached to allow for prompt 
identification of the game bird. Game 
birds, if frozen, shall be packaged no 
more than two per package in order 
to facilitate identification and count of 
species.
	 No game bird may be transported 
by unlicensed individuals, unless 
accompanied by a valid transportation 
permit issued by the department. 
However, at the conclusion of hunting a 
licensed hunter may transport a game 
bird legally taken by another person 
to a wildlife processing facility if the 
bird is tagged with the name of the 
hunter, the hunter’s address, the total 
number and species of birds taken, 
the date such bird was killed, and 
signature of the hunter. 

POSSESSION LIMIT	
	 The maximum number of a particular 
species of game (excluding migratory 
game birds) that a person may 
lawfully have under their control 
(including those in their immediate 
possession, a portable cooler in the 
vehicle, a home freezer, or registered 

TRANSPORTATION, SHIPPING AND STORAGE OF
SMALL GAME AND WATERFOWL
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in their name at a wildlife processing 
facility/locker; or any combination 
thereof). Game harvested during 
a previous season or year in South 
Dakota and still in possession counts 
toward the possession limit of the 
current license year. However, game 
(excluding migratory game birds) 
lawfully harvested under another 
state’s license does not count towards 
the South Dakota limit. 
	 See Federal Laws for Migratory 
Game Birds on page 36-41. 

PUBLIC STORAGE
	 No person may place into public 
storage any game bird, game fish 
or game animal unless the game 
bird, game fish or game animal 
has attached to it a tag showing 
the owner’s name and address, the 
number and kind of bird, fish or 
animal, the date the bird, fish or 
animal is placed in storage, the date 
killed (for migratory game birds) 
and hunter signature (for migratory 
game birds). Public storage is any 
business storing game birds, game 
fish or game animals for a fee or a 
convenience and has a South Dakota 
sales tax license.

RECORDS REQUIRED FOR WILDLIFE 
PROCESSING FACILITIES
	 No wildlife processing facility shall:
	» Receive or have in custody any wild 
animal unless accurate records are 
maintained that can identify each 
wild animal received by, or in the 
custody of, the facility by the name 
of the person from whom the wild 
animal was obtained and show the 
number of each species; the date 

each wild animal was received; the 
name and address of the owner of 
each wild animal; the date each 
wild animal was disposed of; and 
the name of the person or business 
to whom each wild animal was 
delivered or

	» Destroy records required to be 
maintained under this section for 
a period of one year following 
receipt of each wild animal or

	» Allow any wild animal or parts 
thereof, to leave the facility without 
a receipt bearing the name of the 
facility, number and species of wild 
animals and name of the owner of 
each wild animal.

However, the provisions of this section 
do not apply to any permitted bird 
harvested on a licensed shooting 
preserve and processed by the 
preserve permittee.

INSPECTION OF WILDLIFE 
PROCESSING FACILITIES
	 No wildlife processing facility may 
prevent any GFP representative from 
entering the facility during normal 
business hours and inspecting any wild 
animal, records and the premises of 
the facility.

WILDLIFE PROCESSING FACILITY
	 A wildlife processing facility is 
any person or entity that has a South 
Dakota sales tax license to operate 
a business that receives, possesses 
or has in custody any wild animal 
belonging to another person for 
purposes of picking, skinning, cleaning, 
freezing, processing or storage.

TRANSPORTATION, SHIPPING AND STORAGE OF
SMALL GAME AND WATERFOWL
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SHIPPING/COMMON CARRIER
	 A licensed hunter may carry as 
personal baggage any small game 
or waterfowl lawfully taken or 
possessed by that hunter. No person 
may knowingly ship or receive for 
shipment by common carrier any 
small game or waterfowl unless the 
container containing the small game or 
waterfowl has affixed to the outside 
of the container a clearly visible 
statement containing the following 
information:
	» The name, address, and license 
number of the person shipping the 
small game or waterfowl;

	» The number and species of all 
small game and waterfowl in the 
container;

	» The date of shipment; and
	» The name and address of the 
person to whom the small game or 
waterfowl has been shipped.

TRANSPORTATION PERMITS
	 A person other than the licensee 
may transport small game with a 
transportation and shipping permit. 
A permit may be obtained from a 
conservation officer or a designee 
without a charge. Follow these steps 
to obtain a permit:
	» Contact a conservation officer or 
GFP Wildlife Division office to 
arrange a meeting place and time.

	» All persons involved must meet 
with the officer and bring their 
hunting licenses and game to be 
transported.

	» Permits will not be issued before 
they are needed.

	» Permits will not be issued as a 
means of exceeding the daily/
possession limit or circumventing 
plumage, transportation or shipping 
requirements. 

	» See “Federal Laws for Migratory 
Game Birds” for specific 
requirements for waterfowl and 
other migratory game birds.

TRANSPORTATION, SHIPPING AND STORAGE OF
SMALL GAME AND WATERFOWL

Pheasant and Grouse Duck
(or other migratory waterfowl)

Option 1
Fully feathered
head attached

Option 1
Fully feathered
head attached

Option 2
Fully feathered
wing attached

Option 2
Fully feathered
wing attached

Option 3
One leg 
and foot 
attached
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OTHER SEASONS

1.	 Mourning Dove Restrictions. A person:
•	 May not shoot a mourning dove unless the bird is flying.
•	 May not hunt mourning doves with a shotgun capable of holding more than 

three shells.
•	 May not hunt mourning doves in a state park or recreation area, except that 

portion of Angostura State Recreation Area lying west of the dam.
•	 May not hunt mourning doves within road rights-of-way. 

NOTE: The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service encourage hunters who bag banded doves to 
visit reportband.gov to report the band number and other important information.
2.	 Common Snipe. Hunters must use non-toxic shot to hunt snipe.
3.	 Sandhill Crane. Open area is that portion of South Dakota lying west of a line 

beginning at the South Dakota-North Dakota border and SD Hwy 25, south on 
SD Hwy 25 to its junction with SD Hwy 34, east on SD Hwy 34 to its junction with 
U.S Hwy 81, then south on U.S Hwy 81 to the South Dakota-Nebraska border. 
Hunters must use non-toxic shot.

4.	 American Crow. Electronic calls and rifles are legal to hunt crows.
5.	 Tundra Swan. Only hunters who applied for and received a license through the 

License Office are eligible to hunt. Hunters must use non-toxic shot when hunting 
tundra swans. The open unit includes the counties of Aurora, Beadle, Brookings, 
Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Campbell, Clark, Codington, Davison, Day, Deuel, 
Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Hanson, Hughes, Hyde, Jerauld, Kingsbury, 
Lake, Marshall, McCook, McPherson, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Potter, Roberts, 
Sanborn, Spink, Sully and Walworth. Federal laws apply.

6.	 Prairie Dog. Prairie dog shooting is prohibited year-round in the Conata Basin 
and several other areas within the Buffalo Gap National Grasslands. Please 
contact the U.S. Forest Service for additional information regarding specific 
closure locations at 605.279.2125.

7.	 Cottontail Rabbit. Landowners and their guests may hunt cottontail rabbit on the 
landowner’s property year-round without a limit.

Species Dates Daily 
Limit

Possession 
Limit

Open 
Area

* Mourning Dove  Sept. 1-Nov. 9 15 45 Statewide

* Common Snipe  Sept. 1-Oct. 31 5 15 Statewide

* Sandhill Crane  Sept. 25-Nov. 21 3 9

Crow  Sept. 1-Oct. 31
Mar. 1-Apr. 30

Unlimited Statewide

Tundra Swan  Oct. 2-Jan. 7 One per license

Prairie Dog  Year-round Unlimited Statewide

Cottontail Rabbit  Sept. 1-Feb. 28 10 30 Statewide

Tree Squirrel Sept. 1-Feb. 28 5 15 Statewide

Ground Squirrel, Gopher, Porcupine, Marmot Year-round Unlimited Statewide
SHOOTING HOURS: Sunrise to sunset for all species listed except mourning dove, Sandhill crane and tundra swan which is 30 minutes before 
sunrise to sunset and crow, prairie dog, ground squirrel, gopher, porcupine and marmot, which are not restricted.

* Although federal laws apply, a Federal Waterfowl Stamp is not required to hunt mourning dove, Sandhill crane or snipe. South Dakota State 
Migratory Bird Certification is still mandatory.
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FURBEARER SEASONS

1.	 Nonresidents may take only raccoon, beaver and muskrat from Dec. 1 - Mar. 15, 
and bobcats from Jan. 8 - Feb. 15. Mink and weasel may be trapped from Dec. 1 - 
Jan. 31. Nonresidents may not use dogs to aid in taking raccoon. 

2.	 Seasons begin at sunrise of opening day and end at sunset of closing day.
3.	 River Otter. Limit of one river otter per hunter/trapper. Season will end prior to 

December 31 if the harvest limit of 20 is reached. See page 51
4.	 Bobcat. Hunters/trappers are restricted to one bobcat per hunter/trapper in the 

open areas in East River.
5.	 Coyote. The coyote season in Custer State Park is from Dec. 26-April 30. No shooting 

is allowed within 200 yards of any public building or road within Custer State Park.
6.	 Wolf. Any person who harvests a wolf in South Dakota must notify a Conservation 

Officer within 24 hours after the kill and submit the animal for inspection by a 
department representative or Conservation Officer no later than 48 hours following 
the kill.

FURBEARER SEASONS 
Species Dates  Open Areas

Mink, Weasel Nov. 1-Jan. 31 Statewide

Muskrat West River Year-round West River except the Black Hills Fire Protection District 
south of I-90 and west of SD Hwy 79

Black Hills Nov. 1-Apr. 30 Black Hills Fire Protection District south of I-90 and west of 
SD Hwy 79

East River Nov. 1-Apr. 30 No trapping on or in muskrat houses of any size after March 15.

Statewide Apr. 1-Aug. 31 SHOOTING- Only landowners and lessees, including SD 
School and Public land surface lease holders, on land they 
own or operate and state, county or township highway 
officials within road rights-of-way are allowed to shoot 
muskrats, statewide. Only rimfire cartridges of .22 caliber 
or smaller, muzzleloaders of .45 caliber or smaller, legal 
archery equipment, or shotguns with non-toxic shot are 
allowed.

Beaver Statewide Year-round Statewide, except areas within the Black Hills Fire 
Protection District south of I-90 and west of SD Hwy 79

Black Hills Jan. 1-Mar. 31

Nov. 1-Apr. 30

U.S. Forest Service land within the Black Hills Fire
Protection District south of I-90 and west of SD Hwy 79

Non-U. S. Forest Service land within the Black Hills Fire
Protection District south of I-90 and west of SD Hwy 79

River 
Otter

East River Nov. 1-Dec. 31 Aurora, Beadle, Bon Homme, Brookings, Brown, Charles Mix, 
Clark, Clay, Codington, Davison, Day, Deuel, Douglas, Grant, 
Hamlin, Hanson, Hutchinson, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, 
Marshall, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Roberts, 
Sanborn, Spink, Turner, Union and Yankton counties

Bobcat Statewide  Dec. 26-Feb. 15 Statewide

Red and Grey Fox, 
Badger, Raccoon, Skunk, 
Opossum, 
Jackrabbit, Coyote

Year-round Statewide

Wolf  Year-round Statewide
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BARBED HOOKS
	 Barbed hooks or other similarly 
sharpened instruments may not be used 
to take furbearing animals.

BOBCAT CARCASSES
	 Any person harvesting a bobcat must 
submit the entire carcass, along with 
the detached pelt, to GFP personnel 
within five days of capture. Once the 
season has closed, an individual has 24 
hours to notify a conservation officer 
or wildlife damage specialist of any 
untagged bobcats harvested during 
the season. The pelt will be inspected, 
tagged and registered. The lower 
jaw will be removed from the carcass. 
The tagged pelt will be returned. The 
carcass may be returned upon request. 
No person may possess, purchase or 
sell raw bobcat pelts that are not 
legally tagged. 

RIVER OTTER CARCASSES
 	 Any person harvesting a river 
otter must report it to GFP within 24 
hours of harvest.  The entire carcass, 
along with the detached pelt, must be 
submitted to GFP personnel within five 
days of capture. Once the season has 
closed (last day of season or harvest 
limit reached), an individual has 24 
hours to notify a conservation officer 
or wildlife damage specialist of any 
untagged river otter harvested during 
the season. The pelt will be inspected, 
tagged and registered. The tagged 
pelt will be returned. The carcass will 
be surrendered to GFP and may be 
returned upon request after collection 
of biological data. 
	 No person may possess, purchase 
or sell raw river otter pelts that are 
not legally tagged.  Any river otter 

harvested after the 24-hour period 
following the close of the season, will 
be considered incidental take and will 
be surrendered to GFP. 

BODY GRIP TRAPS (COMMONLY 
KNOWN AS CONIBEARS)
	 Body grip traps with a jaw 
spread greater than eight inches are 
permitted only as water sets. All of 
the bottom surface of these traps must 
remain completely below the water’s 
edge for beaver trapping.
	 On all public lands and road rights-
of-way statewide, no person may set 
or operate a body grip trap with a 
jaw spread greater than 6 3/4 inches 
(i.e. larger than a 160 conibear) when 
used in conjunction with any bait, lure, 
or scent unless:
	» The trap is recessed in a plastic, 
wood, or metal cubby a minimum 
of seven inches from the front edge 
of the cubby to the trigger of the 
trap; or

	» The trap is set below the water’s 
edge of a stream, river, or other 
body of water.

Note: A single overhang on the top of 
the cubby does not meet this recess 
requirement.

CATCHES OUT OF SEASON
	 A trapper must immediately release 
any live wild animal found in a trap or 
snare at a time when the established 
season is closed. Any trapper who 
finds a dead wild animal in a trap 
or snare out of season must leave the 
animal undisturbed in the trap or snare 
and contact a GFP representative 
within 12 hours.

FURBEARER REGULATIONS
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CLOSED AREAS
	 Federal refuges, national monuments, 
state game refuges, or privately-owned 
areas within such lands are closed to 
hunting and trapping of furbearers.

COLONY TRAPS
	 The size of colony traps for muskrats 
may not exceed 36 inches in overall 
length. If using a round colony trap, the 
diameter cannot exceed 12 inches. If 
using a box colony trap, the height may 
not exceed 12 inches nor may the width 
exceed 12 inches.

FLAGGING
	 No person may flag, mark or 
attempt to claim a muskrat house on 
public lands or waters before sunrise 
on opening day of the trapping 
season (i.e. November 1). After the 
season is open, marking of muskrat 
houses is legal if the house contains an 
operational trap set.

FURBEARER POSSESSION, LIVE
	 Possession of live furbearers is 
prohibited except that no more than 
one live furbearer (either a raccoon, 
jackrabbit, skunk, red or grey fox or 
coyote) per household may be kept as 
a pet. In addition, the Animal Industry 
Board requires a permit to keep 
mammals including certain furbearers. 
For details, contact the Animal Industry 
Board at 605.773.3321. No pet 
furbearer may be physically altered 
except skunks may be descented. Sale 
or purchase of a pet wild furbearer is 
prohibited.

FURBEARERS, RELEASE OR KILLING
	 Except when kept as a pet as 
provided above, a furbearer taken 
from the wild must either be released 
or immediately and humanely killed.

LANDOWNERS
	 A resident of South Dakota may 
catch, trap or kill furbearing animals 
upon land owned or leased without 
obtaining a license to do so, during any 
period when hunting, catching, taking, 
trapping or killing such animals is 
permitted.

LIVE MAMMALS OR BIRDS
	 The use of any live mammal or 
live bird to aid in the taking of a 
furbearing animal, predator or varmint 
by a trap or snare is prohibited.

PERMISSION REQUIRED
	 No person may attach a trap, 
including snares, to any part of a fence 
along road rights-of-way adjacent to 
private land without permission from 
the adjoining landowner.
	 No person, except the adjoining 
landowner or a person receiving 
written permission from the adjoining 
landowner, may trap on public road 
rights-of-way within 660 feet of a 
home, church or schoolhouse.
	 Snares may not be set within fenced 
pastures, cropland, feedlots or fenced 
areas containing domestic livestock 
without permission of the landowner or 
the operator.
	 A person must have a permit issued 
by the park manager to trap in a 
state park or recreation area. The free 
permits are valid Nov. 1 - Mar. 31.
	 Permission is required from the 
landowner for trapping on private 
land leased for public hunting in 
the Walk-In Area program (WIA), 
Controlled Hunting and Access Program 
(CHAP) and the Conservation Reserve 
Enhancement Program (CREP).

FURBEARER REGULATIONS
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POLE TRAPS
	 No person may set or allow to be 
set any trap, snare or similar device 
on a pole or post in a manner that a 
raptor may be captured, injured or 
killed.

PROTECTED ANIMALS
	 No person may take pine (American)
marten, black-footed ferret, swift fox, 
fisher or black bear. If any of these 
protected species are accidentally 
caught the animal must be released 
alive. If the animal is found dead, it 
must be left undisturbed in the snare 
or trap and a GFP representative 
contacted within 12 hours.

RAW FURS
	 Raw furs may be kept after the 
close of each respective season if 
the furs are checked with a GFP 
conservation officer within 10 days.

RESTRICTIONS
	 Except in Haakon, Jackson, Jones, 
Lyman and Stanley counties where 
these laws do not apply for muskrats, 
no person may:
	» Hunt mink or muskrats with dogs.
	» Dig or disturb a mink den or beaver 
house to capture mink or beaver, or 
use poison, gas or smoke to kill or 
capture these animals.

	» Spear muskrat.
	» Destroy a muskrat house, except 
that in open season a house may 
be opened in a manner that will not 
destroy or damage it as a place of 
habitation.

SNARES
	 Snares must have a mechanical lock, 
swivel device on the anchor end and 
stop device to prohibit the restraint 
loop from closing to a diameter less 
than 2-1/2 inches. Snares must be 
attached by the swivel directly to the 
anchoring device or by chain or cable 
between the swivel and the anchoring 
device. The swivel may not be more 
than four inches long and must operate 
freely when set. Attaching snares to a 
drag is prohibited. Exempt from the 
above restriction that requires the use 
of a permanent stop are snares that 
have a lock or device with a breaking 
strength of 350 pounds of pressure 
or less. Trappers who use these types 
of snares must submit the snare for 
breaking strength testing if requested 
by a GFP representative.	 	
	 It is unlawful to possess or transport 
snares not properly equipped, except 
manufacturers may obtain a free 
Shipping and Transportation Permit 
from a GFP conservation officer to 
ship or transport snares to another 
area that does not require the same 
equipment as South Dakota.
	 Snares are prohibited May 1 - Nov. 
13 on improved road rights-of-way 
and on all public lands statewide. No 
snare with a spring or other device 
that applies pressure to the locking 
mechanism (commonly referred to as: 
kill springs, choke springs, compression 
springs, dispatch springs, ram snares, 
or similar devices) may be placed on a 
Game Production Area or Waterfowl 
Production Area unless the snare is 
placed below the surface of the water 
or ice.

FURBEARER REGULATIONS
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TRAP CHECKING
	 Traps, including snares, must be 
checked prior to midnight of the second 
full calendar day (from the time the 
trap was initially set or last checked) 
east of the Missouri River and prior to 
midnight of the third full calendar day 
west of the Missouri River. Any animal 
caught must be removed.
	 Traps or snares entirely submerged 
in the water and remain set beneath 
ice must be checked and any caught 
animals removed prior to midnight of 
the fifth full calendar day statewide.

TRAP REMOVALS
	 If traps including snares are not 
being checked within the required trap 
check period, traps shall be rendered 
inoperable and snares shall be closed 
to their permanent stop or closed to less 
than 2-1/2 inches if not equipped with 
a permanent stop. All traps and snares 
(set or unset), stakes, cables, chains, 
wires, or other devices used for the 
purpose of attaching a trap or snare 
must be removed from public lands and 
improved road rights-of-way prior to 
May 1 of each year, except live traps 
may be used until August 31.

TRAPPING IN STATE PARKS
	 A person must have a permit issued 
by the park manager to trap in a State 
Park or Recreation Area (Custer State 
Park, Adams Homestead and Nature 
Preserve in Union County and Beaver 
Creek Nature Area in Minnehaha 
County are closed to trapping). The 
free permits are valid Nov. 1 - Mar. 
31. Applications can be found online 
or contact any park office. A valid 
furbearer license is required. Trappers 
must also be familiar with and adhere 
to all park, firearm and vehicle 
restrictions. 

TRAP VANDALISM
	 No person may steal, damage or 
destroy someone else’s trap, snare or 
animal in a trap.

VISIBLE BAIT
	 Traps, including snares, may not be 
set within 30 feet of exposed bait 
visible to airborne raptors. Exposed bait 
is meat or viscera of any animal, bird or 
fish with or without skin, hide or feathers.

WATER SETS
	 Traps (except any live cage trap 
or live box trap, snares and traps 
designed specifically to catch raccoons 
such as coon cuffs and egg traps) cannot 
be placed or set in water or within 30 
feet of water from Oct. 1 to Oct. 31. 
However, body-grip traps may be set 
below the water’s edge for beaver, 
statewide (excluding the Black Hills Fire 
Protection District). All of the bottom 
surface of these traps must remain 
completely below the water’s edge at 
all times.
	 No person may place any trap (set 
or unset), stake, cable, chain, wire or 
other device used for the purpose of 
attaching a trap or otherwise attempt to 
claim or mark a trap site on any public 
road rights-of-way or public lands or 
waters open to trapping within 30 feet 
of water from Oct. 1 through sunrise on 
Nov. 1, inclusive.

MANDATORY INSPECTION OF 
HARVESTED WOLF
Any person who harvests a wolf in 
South Dakota must notify a conservation 
officer within 24 hours after the kill and 
submit the animal for inspection by a 
department representative no later than 
48 hours following the kill.

FURBEARER REGULATIONS
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FURBEARER REGULATIONS

TIME OF PRIMENESS FOR S.D. FURBEARERS

OCT. NOV.

GREATEST 
PRIMENESS

PRIME

DEC. JAN. FEB. MAR. APR.

STRIPED SKUNK

RACCOON

COYOTE

MINK

RED FOX

WEASEL

BOBCAT

MUSKRAT

OPOSSUM

BADGER

BEAVER

WOLF IDENTIFICATION

 

WOLF
•	2.5 feet tall and 5-6 feet long
•	70-120 pounds
•	Broad snout
•	Round ears
•	Color light gray to black
•	Track 4.5 inches wide and 5.5 inches long 

COYOTE
•	1.5 feet tall and 4 feet long
•	30-40 pounds
•	Narrow snout
•	Pointed ears
•	Color light gray to brown
•	Track 2.5 inches wide and 2-2.5 inches long

Gray wolves in South Dakota are no longer protected by the federal endangered species act. The recent action 
allows GFP to manage wolves as a predator/varmint. Under GFP’s management authority, trappers, sportsmen and 
women, landowners and livestock producers now have the ability to harvest gray wolves across the state. 

RIVER OTTER



PITTMAN-
ROBERTSON
FUNDING
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PITTMAN-ROBERTSON FUNDING
	 The Pittman-Robertson Wildlife Restoration Act authorizes the Secretary of 
the Interior to cooperate with states, through their respective fish and game 
departments, for wildlife restoration projects. 
	 States must meet federal standards for the conservation of wildlife; which 
includes a prohibition against the diversion of license fees paid by hunters for any 
other purpose than the administration of the state fish and game department. 
Funds are collected through excise taxes on firearms, ammunition, archery 
equipment and other hunting-related items. 
	 States must provide a 25 percent match to requested funds. The Pittman-
Robertson funding allocation in 2021 totaled $11,448,334. In 2021, South 
Dakota allocated funds to programs listed in the below chart.

LAND/ HUNTER ACCESS 
MANAGEMENT | 48%

WALK-IN AREA PROGRAM | 24%

WILDLIFE SURVEYS, RESEARCH 
AND MANAGEMENT | 22%

HUNTER EDUCATION | 6%
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BIG GAME SEASONS

ANTELOPE
ARCHERY ANTELOPE: Aug. 21 - Oct. 31
	» Closed during firearms season

FIREARM ANTELOPE: Oct. 2 - Oct. 17

DEER
MENTORED/YOUTH/APPRENTICE SEASON: Sept. 11 - Jan. 1
ARCHERY: Sept. 1 - Jan. 1; Nonresident Public Land Archery, Oct. 1 - Jan. 1
EAST RIVER DEER: Nov. 20 - Dec. 5
	» Only antlerless tags valid Dec. 11 - 19

WEST RIVER DEER: Nov. 13 - 28
	» Unit 30A, Nov. 6 - 9 and Nov. 22 - 28
	» Only antlerless tags valid Dec. 11 - 19

BLACK HILLS DEER: Nov. 1 - 30
CUSTER STATE PARK DEER: 
	» Any Whitetail licenses: Nov. 1 - 30; Archery only Nov. 1 - 15
	» Antlerless Whitetail licenses: Dec. 1 - 15

REFUGE DEER: (see application for various start dates for Sand Lake, Lacreek 
and Waubay National Wildlife Refuges)
MUZZLELOADER DEER: Dec. 1 - Jan. 1

MISCELLANEOUS
BIGHORN SHEEP: Sept. 1 - Dec. 31 
MOUNTAIN GOAT: Sept. 1 - Dec. 31
FALL TURKEY: Nov. 1 - Jan. 31
BLACK HILLS MOUNTAIN LION (WITHIN BLACK HILLS FIRE PROTECTION 
DISTRICT): Dec. 26 - April 30 or closed if the harvest limit of 60 mountain lions or 
40 female mountain lions  is reached prior to April 30.
STATEWIDE MOUNTAIN LION:  Year-round outside of the Black Hills Fire 
Protection District.

ELK
BLACK HILLS FIREARMS ELK
	» Any Elk tag: Oct. 1 - 31
	» Antlerless Elk tags for Units H1B, H2B, H2E H4B, H7B and H9B: Oct. 15 - 31 
and Dec. 1 - 16

	» Antlerless Elk tags for Units H2H, H3B and H3E: Oct. 15 - 31
	» Antlerless Elk tags for Units H2I, H3C and H3F: Dec. 1 - 16
	» Antlerless Elk tags for Units H2J, H3D and H3G: Dec. 17 - 31 

PRAIRIE FIREARMS ELK
Multiple season dates, see application for details.
BLACK HILLS ARCHERY ELK: Sept. 1 - 30
CUSTER STATE PARK ARCHERY ELK: Sept. 1 - 30
CUSTER STATE PARK FIREARMS ANY ELK: Oct. 1 - 31

Big Game Licenses are issued by application. Season regulations accompany licenses. 
All elk, bighorn sheep, mountain lion, mountain goat and Custer State Park seasons 
are resident only. See gfp.sd.gov/hunt.
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The following is a synopsis of big game 
regulations. Other rules applicable to 
big game hunting may be found in other 
sections of this handbook. Big game 
regulations are also available on 
gfp.sd.gov.

TAG DEFINITIONS
	» Any Deer - whitetail or mule deer 
buck, doe or fawn.

	» Any Whitetail Deer – whitetail only 
buck, doe or fawn.

	» Any Elk – elk bull, cow or calf.
	» Antlerless Deer/Elk - deer/elk of 
either sex without visible antler.

	» Antlerless Whitetail – whitetail only of 
either sex without visible antler.

	» Doe/Kid Antelope - antelope of either 
sex without horns or with horns less 
than three inches in length.

	» Any Mountain Lion – solitary mountain 
lion of either sex without a spotted 
coat.

	» Any Turkey - wild turkey of either sex.
	» Male Turkey - wild turkey with a visi-
ble beard/spurs.

	» Hen Turkey - wild turkey without a 
visible beard/spurs.

APPRENTICE DEER
	» Residents who are 18 years of age 
or older by June 30 can receive 
an apprentice license if they have 
not held a deer license during the 
previous 10 years.

	» The apprentice deer license (limited 
to one) is for an “any antlerless 
deer” tag that is valid for Unit APD-
03 or an “antlerless whitetail deer” 
tag that is valid for Unit APD-13.

	» Apprentice deer hunters are not 
required to be accompanied by an 
adult while hunting.  

ARCHERY EQUIPMENT 
RESTRICTIONS: 
	 A person hunting with bow and 
arrow may not use or possess any of 
the following:                                                                                   
	» Explosive, poisonous, hydraulic or 
pneumatic points;

	» Crossbows and draw-lock devices that 
hold the bow at partial or full draw 
except for persons with qualifying 
disabilities;

	» Electronic devices mounted to the 
bow that aid in the taking of game. 
However, cameras, video cameras, 
cell phones used exclusively for 
photographic purposes, lighted sight 
pins and illuminated arrow nocks may 
be used;

	» Electronic arrow or electronic string 
releases;

	» Telescopic sights;
	» An arrow without a broadhead (fixed 
or mechanical) that has at least two 
metal cutting edges when hunting 
big game animals. However, an 
arrow tipped with any point may be 
possessed when used for practice;

	» A bow measuring less than 40 pounds 
pull when hunting an elk; 

	» A bow measuring less than 30 pounds 
pull when hunting big game animals 
other than elk.

BOWHUNTER EDUCATION
	 The National Bowhunter Education 
Foundation certificate is not required 
for resident or non-resident archery 
licensees, however online and in person 
bowhunter education is still available 
for those wanting to learn more about 
archery. All big game archery licensees 
under age 16 must possess a hunter 
safety education certificate. 

BIG GAME REGULATIONS
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CONCEALED PISTOL
	 No firearm restrictions in place for 
any hunting season prohibit a licensee 
from otherwise lawfully carrying a 
concealed pistol while hunting.

DECOYS
	 Decoys may be used for big game 
hunting.

DOG USE WHILE HUNTING BIG GAME
 	 No one may use a dog for hunting 
big game, except for the following:
	» A dog that is leashed and under the 
control of a handler may be used 
to track and retrieve any big game 
animal that is wounded or presumed 
dead. 

	» The use of dogs to hunt mountain lions 
is only allowed during those specified 
hunting intervals in Custer State 
Park that allow for the use of dogs 
and outside of the Black Hills Fire 
Protection District on private land with 
permission of the landowner or lessee. 
However, a pursuit of a mountain lion 
by dogs that originates on private 
land may cross over or culminate on 
property owned by the Office of 
School and Public Lands or the United 
States Bureau of Land Management 
other than the Fort Meade Recreation 
Area

FLUORESCENT ORANGE
	 Any person hunting any big game 
animal, except turkey or mountain lion, 
with a firearm shall wear in a visible 
manner one or more fluorescent orange 
exterior garments. The exterior garment 
shall be a hat, cap, shirt, jacket, vest, 
coverall, or poncho worn above the 
waist.

LEGAL FIREARMS
	 No self-loading or auto-loading 
firearm that holds more than six 
cartridges may be used to hunt, pursue, 
shoot at, shoot, kill or wound any 
big game animal. No firearm that is 
capable of being operated as a full 
automatic may be used to hunt, shoot, 
shoot at, wound, kill or pursue any big 
game or small game animal. Shotguns 
must discharge a single ball or rifled 
slug weighing at least one-half ounce. 
Buckshot is prohibited.
	 Deer, Antelope, Mountain Lion: 
Shoulder-held firearms using ammunition 
rated to produce at least 1,000 foot-
pounds of energy at the muzzle and 
handguns using ammunition that is rated 
to produce at least 500 foot-pounds 
of energy at the muzzle, may be used 
to hunt deer, antelope and mountain 
lion. 	
	 Only soft-point or expanding bullets 
are permitted. Shotguns must discharge 
a single ball or rifled slug weighing 
at least one-half ounce. Buckshot is 
prohibited.
	 Elk: It is illegal to use firearms that 
produce less than 1,700 foot-pounds 
of energy at the muzzle and that are 
smaller than .243 caliber to hunt elk. 
Only soft point or expanding bullets are 
permitted. Buckshot is prohibited.
	 Turkey : A person may not use a 
rimfire, centerfire or muzzleloading rifle 
during the spring turkey season. Other 
shoulder-held firearms using ammunition 
that is factory-rated to produce at 
least 700 foot-pounds of energy at the 
muzzle and handguns using ammunition 
which is factory-rated to produce at 
least 500 foot-pounds of energy at the 
muzzle may be used in the hunting of 
wild turkeys. Buckshot is prohibited.
	 Muzzleloading Firearms: In seasons 
restricted to muzzleloading firearms, 
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telescopic sights are not allowed. 
Telescopic sights are those sights that 
utilize magnification. No person may 
hunt, shoot, shoot at, wound, kill or 
pursue any big game animal with any 
muzzle loading rifle which is less than 
.44 caliber. Muzzleloading handguns 
must discharge a projectile of .50 
caliber or larger.
	 Note: Hunters filling big game tags 
that are not restricted to archery or 
muzzleloaders may use any of the 
weapons described under “Legal 
Firearms” or “Archery” or any 
combination of weapons.  Additionally, 
a person who holds a Big Game 
License to take a big game animal 
during the firearm season may take 
the animal by using a crossbow in lieu 
of a firearm. The crossbow shall have 
at least 125 pounds pull and have a 
working mechanical safety.

NONLICENSEES/ACCOMPANIMENT
ALL BIG GAME LICENSEES
	 No person possessing a firearm, 
including a muzzleloading firearm or a 
bow and arrow may accompany a big 
game hunter in the field or cooperate 
as part of a big game hunting group 
unless the accompanying person 
possesses a Big Game License that is 
valid for the same geographic area 
and time of year as the licensee. The 
provisions of this section do not apply 
to a person who is legally licensed to 
hunt small game or exempt from license 
requirements and hunting only with 
a shotgun using shotshells. No person 
hunting small game and accompanying 
a licensed firearm big game hunter 
in the field may use dogs while 
accompanying the big game hunter. 

ARCHERY-ONLY BIG GAME LICENSEE
	 No person who is licensed in a 
season restricted to archery only may:
	» Possess a firearm in the field while 
hunting big game with bow and ar-
row, except  a person who  possesses 
a firearms big game license that is 
valid for the same geographic area 
and time of year as the archery 
license OR a person who is lawfully 
carrying a pistol.

PERSONAL PROPERTY ON PUBLIC 
LAND
	 A person may not leave any 
property after 11:00 p.m. on public 
lands owned, leased, or controlled 
by GFP or in the water adjoining 
such an area, or within the right-of-
way of the George S. Mickelson Trail 
unless that person is legally camped, 
lodged, or fishing or the property is 
located in a leased space designated 
for the specified use of that property. 
Unless otherwise posted as such, these 
restrictions do not apply to legally 
placed tree stands, elevated platforms, 
portable blinds, trail cameras, or 
trapping equipment on GFP lands (see 
additional requirements below).   
	 Except for legal tree stands, 
portable blinds, trail cameras and 
trapping equipment all personal 
property must be removed from lands 
managed by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service by the end of each day. 

PROHIBITED FELONS
	 An individual who has a felony 
conviction might be prohibited from 
possessing a firearm by state or 
federal law. According to state law 
the term “firearm” now includes any 
antique firearm and any muzzleloading  
rifle, muzzleloading  shotgun or 
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muzzleloading pistol, including 
muzzleloading weapons that are 
designed to use black powder or a 
black powder substitute and cannot use 
fixed ammunition.

RESTRICTIONS
	 No one may discharge a firearm, 
muzzleloader, crossbow or bow and 
arrow at any big game animal, except 
turkey may be taken with a shotgun 
using shot shells or with a bow and 
arrow, from within the rights-of-way of 
an improved highway including gravel 
township roads.
	 No one may discharge a firearm or 
other weapon across or from a Black 
Hills National Forest Service road.
	 No person may place any salt or 
salt lick or construct, occupy or use any 
screen, blind, scaffold or other device 
at or near any salt or salt lick for the 
purpose of enticing or baiting big game 
animals to the same for the purpose 
of hunting, watching for or killing big 
game.
	 No one may establish, utilize or 
maintain a bait station from Aug. 
1 - Feb. 1, inclusive and from March 
15 - May 31, inclusive, to attract any 
big game animal (including turkey). A 
bait station is a location where grains, 
fruits, vegetables, nuts, hay, minerals 
(including salt) or any other natural 
food materials, commercial products 
containing natural food materials or 
by-products of such materials are 
placed or maintained as an attractant 
to big game animals for the purpose of 
hunting. The use of scents alone does not 
constitute a bait station. The bait station 
restriction does not apply to foods that 
have not been placed or gathered by 
an individual and result from normal 
environmental conditions or accepted 

farming, forest management, wildlife 
food plantings, orchard management 
or similar land management activities. 
Individuals are exempt from the bait 
station requirements while participating 
in any research or depredation 
management activities directed by GFP.
	 No person may establish, utilize 
or maintain a bait station on lands 
owned by the GFP and on properties 
managed and classified by GFP as 
Game Production Areas, State Parks, 
State Recreation Areas, State Lakeside 
Use Areas, State Nature Areas or State 
Water Access Areas. 
	 Additionally, the distribution of bait 
and hunting over bait is prohibited 
on U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 
Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA).
	 No one may use an electronic call 
when hunting big game (including 
turkey). Electronic calls are allowed for 
mountain lion hunting.
	 No one may kill a big game animal 
not in season or kill a big game animal 
in season and not tag and claim the 
animal.

SHOOTING HOURS
	 All firearms and archery big game 
shooting hours (except turkey) are 30 
minutes before sunrise to 30 minutes 
after sunset. Shooting hours for turkey 
season are 30 minutes before sunrise to 
sunset.

TAGGING AND TRANSPORTATION
	 The tag you receive with your license 
must be signed, dated and securely 
attached to the big game animal at the 
time it is brought to a road or into any 
hunting camp, farmyard or residence or 
before it is placed in or on a vehicle.
	 The locking seal issued with each Big 
Game License is an adhesive tag. The 
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licensee shall sign the tag and date 
it by cutting out completely the month 
and date of kill only. The licensee shall 
attach the tag securely around one 
leg of a mountain lion, turkey, swan, 
or goose. The licensee shall attach the 
tag securely to all hoofed big game 
animals:
1.	  Around one hind leg between the 

hoof and ankle joint;
2.	  Around the hock tendon directly 

above the ankle joint on one hind 
leg; or

3.	 Around the base of the antler or 
horn.	

4.	 Tagging allows a big game animal 
to be transported and stored by 
the hunter or another person for the 
hunter.

	 No one may lend a license or tag 
to another or knowingly issue or aid in 
securing a license or preference point 
for any person not legally entitled to it.
	 No person may possess in the 
field or transport a big game animal 
(including boned out meat), except 
turkey, unless it is accompanied by the 
animal’s lawfully tagged leg or antler 
along with either the animal’s head or 
a hind quarter with the visible external 
sex organs left naturally attached to it. 
Any person licensed to take any deer, 
any elk or any antelope is exempt 
from transporting the animal’s head or 
hind quarter with attached sex organs 
if the lawfully tagged leg accompanies 
the animal for such license. However, 
the provisions of this section do not 
apply to a Big Game Licensee who 
transports big game parts (including 
boned out meat) from the licensee’s 
domicile to another location if the 
licensee possesses the big game tag 
or Big Game License entitling the 
licensee to the animal or to big game 

that has been cooked or cured, by 
means other than freezing, for personal 
consumption. If a person other than 
licensee transports big game animal 
parts (including boned meat) from the 
licensee’s domicile to another location, 
the tagged leg or a transportation 
permit must accompany the items being 
transported.
	 Wild turkeys, unless processed 
at a wildlife processing facility and 
accompanied by the receipt, or at the 
domicile of the processor, shall include 
the attached leg and foot bearing 
the tag issued with the license. Any 
person who lawfully takes a wild 
turkey may remove edible portions 
from the turkey while in the field and 
transport providing the person also 
has in their possession the beard, leg 
and foot with the attached tag until 
the bird has arrived at the domicile 
of the processor. Any person licensed 
to take “any turkey” is exempt from 
transporting the beard.	
	 If someone other than the licensed 
hunter is transporting big game parts 
(antlers, hide, etc.) to a taxidermist, 
the parts must be accompanied 
by the tagged leg or appropriate 
documentation that would allow a 
conservation officer to determine that 
the items in transport were lawfully 
possessed. 
	 Big game taken in another state or 
with a tribal license must be properly 
tagged when transported within South 
Dakota. If no tag was issued, the 
person in possession of the animal must 
provide proof the animal was lawfully 
taken.

TRAIL CAMERAS ON GFP LANDS
	 Any trail camera placed on public 
lands owned, leased, or controlled by 
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GFP may be attached to a tree, post, 
or other structure by utilizing no more 
than one nail, bolt, or screw. The name 
and address of the owner or user OR the 
year and current applicable big game 
license number of the owner or user must 
be on the exterior of an unattended trail 
camera. A trail camera is a remotely 
activated device set to capture photos, 
video, sound, or other evidence of 
activity while the user is absent from the 
location. 

TREE STANDS/PORTABLE BLINDS ON 
PUBLIC LAND 
	 Construction or use of permanent tree 
stands, permanent blinds, and climbing 
devices are prohibited on lands owned, 
leased, or controlled by GFP. Portable 
tree stands, portable blinds, and climbing 
devices that do not utilize nails, wire, or 
bolts for attachment are allowed from 
August 1 - March 31, inclusive. Portable 
blinds may also be used during the 
spring turkey seasons by licensed spring 
turkey hunters. One screw-in “T”  bolt 
may be used to stabilize a tree stand. 
Removable screw-in steps may be 
used to access a tree stand. The name 
and address OR the year and current 
applicable big game license number of 
the owner or user must be on the exterior 
of an unoccupied portable blind and 
legible from the ground on a tree stand. 
Other elevated platform devices that 
are not attached to a tree must meet the 
requirements of this rule for permitted 
dates and for labeling if left overnight 

or unattended. A properly labeled tree 
stand on GFP land is privately owned 
property.
	 The use of nails, wires, screws, bolts or 
screw-in steps is prohibited on National 
Wildlife Refuges and Waterfowl 
Production Areas, both managed by the 
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.
	 Contact Sand Lake National Wildlife 
Refuge for specifics on placement of 
deer stands within the Refuge. Call 
605.885.6320 or visit fws.gov/sandlake.

TURKEY HUNTING RESTRICTION
	 No turkey may be shot in a tree 
or roost. Lead shot is legal for turkey 
hunting on all public lands.

BIG GAME REGULATIONS



gfp.sd.gov  | 605.223.7660 | 67

TAGGING AND TRANSPORTING DEER

When do I tag my deer?
The locking seal issued with each Big Game License is an adhesive tag.  The licensee 
shall sign the tag and date it by cutting out completely the month and date of kill 
only.  The tag shall be securely attached to the animal at the time it is brought to a 
road or into any hunting camp, dwelling, farmyard, or other place of abode of any 
kind, or before it is placed in or on a vehicle of any kind (including ATVs and UTVs).

Where do I tag my deer?
The licensee shall attach the tag securely to all hoofed big game animals:
1. Around one hind leg between the hoof and ankle joint;
2. Around the hock tendon directly above the ankle joint on one hind leg; or
3. Around the base of the antler or horn.

How do I transport my deer from the field?
The deer (including boned out meat) must be accompanied by the animal’s lawfully 
tagged leg or antler along with either the animal’s head or a hind quarter with 
the visible external sex organs left naturally attached to it. However, a person 
with an any deer license must only provide the lawfully tagged leg or antler that 
accompanies the animal for such license.

Can I transport a deer for another person?
Tagging allows a deer to be transported and stored by the hunter or for the hunter. 
If a person other than licensee transports deer parts (including boned meat) from the 
licensee’s domicile to another location, the tagged leg OR a transportation permit 
must accompany the items being transported.

What do I need to transport my deer from my domicile to the taxidermist or processor?
You must carry the big game tag or Big Game License entitling you to the animal.
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	 Road rights-of-way, excluding the 
Interstate highway system, are open for 
the hunting of small game and waterfowl 
(see Mourning Dove, Youth Pheasant 
and Resident-Only Pheasant seasons for 
special road hunting restrictions). Only the 
owner of the occupied dwelling, church, or 
schoolhouse; the owner of livestock; or a 
person who has written permission from the 
owner of the occupied dwelling, church, or 
schoolhouse, or the owner of the livestock 
may use such highways or rights-of-way for 
the purposes of discharging any firearm 
or for the purposes of hunting within a 660 
foot safety zone surrounding an occupied 
dwelling, a church, schoolhouse, or livestock. 
No other person may discharge a firearm 
at small game within the safety zone.
	 The rights-of-way along a section line or 
other highway are open for hunting if:
	» The rights-of-way have been commonly 
used by the public for vehicular travel, as 
demonstrated by the existence of a well-
worn vehicle trail.

	» An intentional alteration or adaptation 
has been made to the rights-of-way to 
enhance the natural terrain’s utility for 
vehicular travel or to permit vehicular 
travel where it was not possible before.

NOTE: Fences are sometimes not on a 
rights-of-way boundary and sometimes 
there is no fence. Most section line rights-
of-way are 66 feet wide. Some acquired 
rights-of-way are wider.
	» Hunters can take only small game 
(except mourning doves) and waterfowl 
within the rights-of-way on foot. The 
hunter must be within the rights-of-way 
and the game must originate from the 
road rights-of-way or be flying over the 
rights-of-way.

	» The person must park or stop their vehicle 
as far to the right-hand side of the road 
as possible.

	» If the person who discharges a firearm is 
more than 50 yards from the vehicle, the 
doors on the side of the vehicle nearest 
the roadway must be closed, but the 
engine may remain running.

	» If the person who discharges a firearm 
is less than 50 yards from the vehicle, all 
of the doors of the vehicle must be closed 
and the engine shall be turned off.

	» It is NOT legal to shoot small game and 
waterfowl that takes flight from rights-
of-way over a Federal Refuge or Tribal 
lands. If a state-licensed hunter shoots 
at a bird across the fence on either of 
these lands, the hunter may be subject to 
federal arrest.

	» Small game and waterfowl taken from 
the rights-of-way but falling onto private 
property can be retrieved by unarmed 
hunters on foot.

	» No person may discharge a firearm, 
muzzleloader, crossbow or bow and 
arrow at any big game animal, except 
turkey to be taken with a shotgun using 
shot shells or with a bow and arrow, from 
within the rights-of-way of an improved 
public highway.

	» A person may not discharge a firearm or 
other weapon across or from any Black 
Hills National Forest Service road.

	» Any person who, while hunting road 
rights-of-way, negligently endangers 
another person or puts that person in 
fear of imminent serious bodily harm, is 
guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

HUNTING ON  ROAD RIGHTS-OF-WAY
Laws and rules governing trespass and motor vehicles are complex. The laws may be simplified if the hunter remembers 
to hunt only on foot during established seasons, to ask permission to enter private land and not to drive on state and 
federal lands. It is also advisable to restrict vehicular travel in wet weather when roads, trails, rangeland and cropland 
could be damaged and in dry conditions when fire danger is high.
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ARTIFICIAL LIGHT
	  Between sunset and sunrise, no 
person may use or possess night-vision 
equipment or throw or cast the rays of 
a spotlight, motor vehicle headlight, or 
other artificial light onto a highway, 
or into any field, pasture, woodland, 
forest, or prairie, for the purpose of 
spotting, locating, taking, attempting 
to take, or hunting any animal, if the 
person is in possession or control of a 
firearm, bow, or other implement by 
which an animal could be killed. 
However:
	» A person may use a handheld light, 
while the person is on foot, to take 
raccoons after the raccoons have 
been treed by dogs, or to engage 
in trapping activity and to take 
trapped fur-bearing animals;

	» A person who owns or occupies land 
and up to two guests accompanying 
the person may use an artificial light 
and night vision equipment on the 
person’s land, to take jackrabbits, 
coyotes, beaver during its hunting 
season, foxes, wolves, raccoons, 
opossums, badgers, skunks, and 
rodents, provided they use a shotgun 
and shotshells or a firearm and a 
cartridge having a bullet diameter 
of less than .225 inches; and

	» If a person who is at least eighteen 
years of age owns or occupies 
land, that person may grant 
permission for up to two guests to 
hunt unaccompanied on that person’s 
land for jackrabbits, coyotes, 
beaver during its hunting season, 
foxes, raccoons, opossums, badgers, 
skunks, and rodents, and such guests 
may use night vision equipment, 
provided they use a shotgun and 
shot shells or a firearm and a 
cartridge having a bullet diameter 

of less than .225 inches.
	» “Artificial light” means a man-made 
light or lighting device that projects 
lumination for an unaided eye.  

	» “Night-vision equipment” means 
an electronic or battery-powered 
device that enhances a person’s 
ability to see in the dark.

RECREATIONAL ARTIFICIAL 
LIGHT LAW
	 Except as otherwise provided in 
“Artificial Light” above, between 10 
p.m. and sunrise, from September 1 
to January 31, inclusive, no person 
may cast the rays of a spotlight, 
or any artificial light other than a 
motor vehicle headlight, into any 
field, pasture, woodland, forest, or 
prairie, for the purpose of spotting or 
locating any wild animal.  However, 
a person owning or occupying land 
and up to two guests may use night-
vision equipment, a spotlight, or other 
artificial light, on the person’s land.

BOATING RESTRICTIONS
	 Hunters and trappers must follow all 
state and federal boating regulations 
when operating boats on public 
waters in South Dakota. Those using a 
boat for hunting or trapping purposes 
should verify they have all required 
boating equipment on board and 
their vessel is currently and properly 
licensed. 	
	 The 2021 South Dakota Boating 
Handbook is available from regional 
wildlife offices and from county 
treasurer offices or online at: 
gfp.sd.gov/pages/regulations.
	 The following list includes water 
bodies in South Dakota with boating 
or boat motor restrictions that may 
impact hunters and trappers. On 
waters with motor restrictions, boats 
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with motors exceeding the maximum 
horsepower can be operated with 
alternate motors under the maximum 
horsepower. A complete listing of 
public water safety zones by county 
may be found online at: legis.sd.gov.
	» Aurora County: Wilmarth Lake, no 
wake zone.

	» Beadle County: Staum Dam, no 
wake zone.

	» Bon Homme County: Lake Henry, no 
wake zone.

	» Brown County: Willow Dam Wildlife 
Management Area, no motorboats or 
motor vehicles; Putney Slough Game 
Production Area, no boating Oct. 20 
- Dec. 31 in Secs. 7, 8, 17 and 18 in 
T124N, R61W.

	» Clark County: Reid Lake, no boating 
Oct. 20 - Dec. 31.

	» Codington County: McKilligan 
Lake, no boating during waterfowl 
seasons; Horseshoe Lake, no motors 
during waterfowl seasons; Blythe 
Slough in portions of Secs. 27 and 28 
of T117N, R55W, no boating from 
March 1 - Aug. 31.

	» Custer County: Sylvan and Legion 
lakes electric motors only; Center 
Lake, no wake zone.

	» Day County: Hillebrand’s and Spring 
lakes and Swan Pond, no boating; 
Blue Dog Lake on waters fronting the  
Lakeside Use Area starting at east 
property boundary and extending 
300 feet west along shore is a no 
wake zone.

	» Deuel County: Lake Oliver, no wake 
zone.

	» Fall River County: Cold Brook and 
Cottonwood reservoirs, electric 
motors only

	» Hand County: Wall Lake, no motors 
during waterfowl seasons.

	» Hanson County: Hanson Lake, no 

wake zone when lake elevation is 
12” or greater over the spillway 
elevation.

	» Hughes County: Hipple Lake west of 
the buoy, electric motors only.

	» Hutchinson County: Silver Lake, 
no boating during fall and spring 
waterfowl seasons; Dimock, Tripp 
and Menno lakes, no wake zone.

	» Lake County: Long Lake, no wake 
zone except during July and August; 
the water of Sunset Harbor, including 
the entrance canal, no wake zone.

	» Lincoln County: Lake Alvin and Lake 
Lakota, no wake zone.

	» McCook County: The waters of 
Lehrman Game Production Area, in 
Sec. 32, T103N, R56W, no boating 
during  the Light Goose Conservation 
Order as well as any open season 
for migratory waterfowl.

	» Meade County: Bear Butte Lake, no 
wake zone.

	» Minnehaha County: Clear Lake, no 
boating Oct. 20 - Dec. 31.

	» Moody County: Lake Campbell, no 
wake zone south of Moody County 
Road 1; Battle Creek, no wake zone 
from Lake Campbell south to the 
steel bridge one mile south of Moody 
County Road 2.

	» Pennington County: Deerfield 
Reservoir, no wake zone.

	» Roberts County: Secs. 20, 28, 29, 
32 and 33 of T128N, R49W of 
Cottonwood Lake Waterfowl Refuge, 
no boating zone during waterfowl 
seasons; and Secs. 11, 12 and 14 
of T127N, R48W of Mud Lake, only 
boats using electric motors during 
waterfowl seasons.

	» Turner County: Swan Lake, no 
motors on waters south and west of 
Christian Camp; and the waters at 
the eastern end of Swan Lake within 
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an area starting at a point along 
the shoreline approximately 60 feet 
south of the concrete retaining wall 
that is located on the north side of 
the beach on a line to a point 100 
feet westerly, then on a line to a 
point 100 feet southerly, then on a 
line in an easterly direction back to 
a point on shore are a no boating 
zone.

	» Yankton County: Marindahl Lake, 
no wake zone; Lake Yankton, 
electric motors only.

CIVIL DAMAGE LIABILITY
	 Violations of most big game 
regulations are Class 1 misdemeanors, 
punishable by fine and/ or 
imprisonment and mandatory loss of 
hunting privileges for one year. In 
addition to criminal penalties, a person 
taking or killing big game illegally 
may be assessed civil damages in 
the amount of $100 for each game 
bird, $200 for each turkey, $1,000 
for each non-trophy deer, non-trophy 
antelope or bobcat, $5,000 for 
each non-trophy elk, mountain lion 
or buffalo and $10,000 for each 
mountain goat or bighorn sheep.
	 Cases involving “trophy” antelope 
or deer, civil damages will be at least 
$2,000 and not more than $5,000 for 
each animal; cases involving “trophy” 
elk, civil damages will be at least 
$6,000 and not more than $10,000 
for each elk. If a person has taken 
or is in possession of more than two 
times the lawful daily or possession 
limit of a regulated wild animal, such 
person may be liable for twice the 
civil damages. In addition, individuals 
charged with the illegal taking of a 
trophy big game animal are subject 
to loss of all preference points for the 
lottery license drawing.

CLOSED AREAS
	 The following are illegal:
	» Hunting without permission of 
landowner on legally vacated 
section lines.

	» No person (except the landowner or 
anyone with landowner permission) 
may hunt on public waters that 
inundate private land within 660 
feet of livestock, occupied dwelling, 
churches or schoolhouses.

	» Discharging firearms or hunting 
road rights-of-way within 660 feet 
of a occupied dwelling, church, 
schoolhouse, or livestock without 
written permission from the owner 
of such property. NOTE: Hunters 
often violate this state law when trees 
obscure feedlots, livestock, buildings 
and dwellings. A violation of the 
660-foot law carries a one-year 
suspension of hunting privileges when 
the distance is clearly and accurately 
posted.

	» Hunting waterfowl within state 
waterfowl refuges or game birds 
(including waterfowl) within state 
game bird refuges except as 
provided in season regulations.

	» Hunting during the waterfowl 
seasons along Brown County Road 
16 adjacent to the Sand Lake 
National Wildlife Refuge.

	» Hunting within any federal refuge, 
National Park or monument, except 
as otherwise provided for in season 
regulations.  

DOG TRAINING
	 No person may kill or capture any 
wild game birds while training or 
running a dog except during open 
seasons. Using pen-raised birds to 
train dogs is permitted with certain 
restrictions:
	» No person may train dogs on wild 

GENERAL LAWS



74 | 2021 South Dakota Hunting and Trapping Handbook

game birds from April 15 - July 31 
statewide. From Aug. 1 through the 
Friday preceding the third Saturday 
in September, a person may train 
a dog for the purpose of locating, 
pursuing or pointing wild game birds 
on publicly owned land or on road 
rights-of-way with the following 
restrictions:

	» No more than four dogs may be 
trained in any one day. In addition, 
a person may not use or carry a 
shotgun or rifle during training.

	» The dog(s) must be owned by the 
person conducting the training and 
not offered for sale.

	» The owner of the dog may be 
assisted in the training if the owner 
is present.

	» No motor vehicle, horse or any other 
conveyance may be used.

	» However, persons who otherwise 
qualify to train dogs on public lands 
may use a horse for dog training on 
public lands until noon central time 
on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays 
from the first Friday of August to the 
first Sunday of September, inclusive, 
with authorization of the government 
agency managing the public land.

	» For complete rules write to Game, 
Fish and Parks Permits; 20641 SD 
Hwy 1806; Fort Pierre, SD 57532.

	» The use of dogs is encouraged 
for hunting on federal U.S. Fish 
and Wildlife Service Waterfowl 
Production Areas (WPA). Dogs 
are allowed for other recreational 
activities only if confined to a 
vehicle, boat, ice house or on a 
leash controlled by the handler. Dog 
training and dogs roaming freely on 
WPA are prohibited.

DOG REQUIREMENTS
	 Dogs being brought into South 
Dakota are required to have a 
certificate from their local veterinarian 
indicating that they are vaccinated 
against rabies. A health certificate 
is not necessary for dogs traveling 
to this state with their owners for 
less than 30 days. Dog owners with 
questions concerning requirements 
may call the Animal Industry Board at 
605.773.3321.

ELECTRONIC CALLS
	 The use of electronic calls is 
prohibited when hunting migratory 
birds (except for crows and during the 
spring light goose conservation order) 
and when hunting big game except for 
mountain lion. Turkeys are considered 
big game.

FALCONRY - GENERAL
	 A person may not hunt by falconry 
and be in possession of a firearm or 
be accompanied by a person carrying 
a firearm, except for persons who 
may lawfully carry a concealed pistol. 
Non- migratory game birds and 
game animals may be hunted Sept. 
1 - March 31. Migratory game birds 
may be hunted only in accordance with 
state and federal migratory game 
bird season regulations for 107 days 
beginning no earlier than Sept. 1 and 
ending by Jan. 15. The daily bag limit 
is three and the possession limit is six 
of game species in the aggregate. A 
person may not hunt by falconry and 
be in possession of a firearm or be 
accompanied by a person carrying 
a firearm, except a person who may 
lawfully carry a concealed pistol. 
Protected nongame birds and animals 
taken incidentally by a raptor may not 
be retained or possessed.
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FALCONRY-TAKING OR 
ACQUISITION OF RAPTORS
	 No person may take or attempt to 
take any raptor without first acquiring 
a raptor collecting permit issued by 
GFP. Permittees must be in immediate 
possession of the raptor collecting 
permit while taking or attempting to 
take raptors. The fee for a nonresident 
raptor collecting permit is $200.
	 The trapping of passage raptors 
(immature raptors in their first-year 
plumage) is permitted only between 
Aug. 1 - March 31. Only resident 
general or master falconry permittees 
may take eyas (young, flightless birds) 
from a nest or aerie. At least one eyas 
must be left in the nest or aerie. Eyas 
may be taken only May 1 - July 31. 
For additional information, visit 
gfp.sd.gov/falconry-permit.

FEDERAL LACEY ACT
	 No person may transport or ship 
to another state fish and wildlife 
unlawfully taken, possessed or sold in 
South Dakota.

GENERAL RESTRICTIONS
	 No one may:
	» Wantonly waste game or destroy 
any birds or animals protected by 
the laws of South Dakota.

	» Possess a loaded firearm while 
intoxicated.

	» Recklessly discharge a firearm or 
bow and arrow.

	» Use a firearm in the Fort Meade 
Recreation Area South Unit and the 
signed portion of the North Unit.

	» Take game, except by shooting it 
with a legal weapon or by birds 
trained in falconry.

	» Hunt game birds with a firearm other 
than a shotgun. Turkeys are classified 
as big game.

	» Hunt game birds with a shotgun 
capable of being operated as a full 
automatic.

	» Use rifles and handguns, including 
.22 caliber rimfire firearms, to hunt 
upland game birds. They may be 
used for hunting other small game 
animals such as squirrels and rabbits.

	» Hunt with air guns, EXCEPT air guns 
may be used by licensed hunters to 
take cottontail rabbit, tree squirrel, 
coyote, fox, skunk, gopher, ground 
squirrel, chipmunk, jackrabbit, 
marmot, porcupine, crow and prairie 
dog; air guns must be factory-rated 
to produce a muzzle velocity of at 
least 1,000 feet per second; only 
hunting pellets are permitted.

	» Steal, damage or destroy someone 
else’s trap, snare or animal in a trap.

	» Use a drone to aid in the taking of 
game.

GIFTING WILDLIFE AND FISH
	 For the purpose of this rule, gift 
means the voluntary transfer of game/
fish from any person to another 
without fee or consideration. A licensee 
may gift game and fish or any part 
of game and fish, to another person if 
each of the following conditions is met:
	» The game/fish was lawfully taken, 
caught or killed; and

	» The number or amount of game/fish 
gifted does not place the recipient 
in violation of any season, daily or 
possession limit established for the 
species of game/fish being gifted.

	» If gifting to an unlicensed person the 
licensee shall gift the game/fish at 
the domicile of the recipient.

	» A wildlife processing facility and a 
person who deposits lawfully taken 
game with the facility for processing 
may agree upon a period of 
time following which the facility 
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may consider the game, except a 
migratory bird, to be abandoned 
by the person. With the exception 
of a migratory bird, the facility 
may distribute abandoned game 
to any non-profit organization or 
any charitable organization that 
distributes food or other services 
to individuals in need. At no time 
may any abandoned game be 
considered the property of the 
wildlife processing facility.

	» Gifting of waterfowl must comply 
with federal regulations. See 
“Federal Laws for Migratory Game 
Birds” for more information.

HARASSMENT
	 No person may intentionally interfere 
with other persons lawfully engaged 
in taking or attempting to take game 
or fish, engage in activity specifically 
intended to harass or prevent the 
lawful taking of game or fish or scare 
or disturb game with specific intent to 
prevent its lawful taking. 
	
HUNTING GUIDES ON PUBLIC LANDS
	 No person, acting as a hunting 
guide, may guide any hunting 
activity on state-owned or managed 
Game Production Areas, state parks, 
recreation areas and lakeside use 
areas, federal land leased or under 
agreement to GFP and posted as a 
Game Production Area and managed 
for wildlife purposes or private land 
leased or under agreement to GFP for 
the purpose of providing public access, 
or on highways or other rights-of-way 
within this state that otherwise meet 
the requirements except that a hunting  
guide or employees of a hunting 
guide may guide a hunting activity on 
the road rights-of-way immediately 
adjacent to property owned or leased 

by the hunting guide.
	 A hunting guide is defined as a 
person who holds himself or herself 
out to the public as a hunting guide 
and for compensation or remuneration, 
directs or provides services to any 
person for the purpose of hunting any 
wild animals.
	 Federal agencies have regulations 
pertaining to guiding and outfitting in 
addition to those listed here. Contact 
the respective agency for more 
information.

INSPECTION
	 Any person who possesses any 
game bird, animal, or fish shall, upon 
the request of any person authorized 
to enforce the game and fish laws of 
the state, permit the inspection and 
count of the birds, animals, or fish. Any 
motor vehicle, pickup camper, camper, 
or any conveyance attached thereto, 
may be stopped for such an inspection 
and count by any uniformed law 
enforcement officer.
 
MOTOR VEHICLE RESTRICTIONS
	 No person may operate motor-
propelled vehicles on:
	» Lands owned, leased or controlled 
by GFP except on designated roads 
and parking areas; and waters that 
are open to motorized boats (see 
boating restrictions).

	» Federal Waterfowl Production 
Areas, except on designated 
parking areas.

	» Fort Pierre National Grasslands 
except on designated roads and 
trails.

	» U.S. Forest Service roads posted 
against travel in the Black Hills.

	» U.S. Army Corps of Engineers land 
except on established roads.

GENERAL LAWS



gfp.sd.gov  | 605.223.7660 | 77

	» On all waters of the Waubay 
National Wildlife Refuge and 
Waubay State Game Refuge in Day 
County, except for designated trails.

	» Private land without permission from 
the owner or lessee.

	 No person who is in or on a 
motor vehicle, except those hunters 
with Disabled Hunter Permits, may 
discharge a firearm, crossbow or a 
bow and arrow at any wild animal 
except, coyotes, wolves, jackrabbits, 
rodents, skunks, badgers, raccoons and 
red and grey fox.
	 No person may allow a firearm to 
protrude from a motor vehicle or a 
conveyance attached to it while the 
vehicle is on a public road during a 
hunting season. However, a firearm 
may protrude from a motor vehicle 
when shooting at, wolves, coyotes, 
jackrabbits, rodents, skunks, badgers, 
raccoons and red and grey fox.
	 NOTE: Trespass laws apply and 
landowner permission is necessary to 
shoot from a road at these species 
that are on private land.
	 No person may use a motor vehicle 
to chase, harass, intercept, pursue 
or disturb big game, small game or 
migratory birds.
	 No person may kill or attempt to 
kill any wild bird or animal from an 
aircraft, except for persons with a 
valid aerial hunting permit issued by 
the department.  No person may use 
an aircraft for the purpose of hunting, 
taking, concentrating, driving, rallying, 
stirring up, locating, or spotting any 
wild bird or animal, except a person 
who uses a drone for the purpose 
of locating or spotting a predator 
or varmint, provided (1) The activity 
occurs only on or over land that is 
privately owned; (2) The person 

operating the drone is the landowner 
or has permission from the landowner 
or a lessee; (3) The activity does not 
occur during the months of September, 
October, or November; and (4) 
The operation of the drone is in full 
compliance with all applicable Federal 
Aviation Administration regulations.
	 No person may use an amphibious 
or all-terrain vehicle to hunt or shoot 
at waterfowl unless the vehicle is at 
rest or being used as part of a fixed 
hunting blind.
	 No person may use a motor vehicle 
on SD School and Public Lands for 
the purpose of hunting, fishing or 
trapping. The restriction does not 
apply to roads, trails or parking areas 
designated and signed by GFP.
	 No person may use a snowmobile 
to chase, harass or disturb any wild 
animal.
	   No more than one person may be 
aboard the snowmobile while coyotes 
are being hunted, and when shooting 
at coyotes, the snowmobile must be 
stationary. The restriction for carrying 
firearms do not apply to any person 
who may lawfully carry a concealed 
pistol.
	 No person may send or receive 
a message by radio, cellular 
telephone or other electronic form of 
communications while in or on a motor 
vehicle for the purpose of hunting 
big game, small game or migratory 
waterfowl.
	 Hunters planning to use U.S. Forest 
Service or National Grassland public 
lands should contact the Forest Service 
or Grasslands office for details on 
travel restrictions.

PARTY HUNTING DAILY LIMITS
	 Two or more legally licensed hunters 
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who mutually agree to hunt small game 
as a party and who maintain visual 
and unaided vocal contact may take 
more than one daily limit of small 
game. However, the total number of 
small game taken by the party may 
not exceed the aggregate daily limit 
for all members of the party who are 
licensed to take and possess small 
game.
	 This does not apply to anyone who 
hunts small game in more than one 
party in one day.
	 This does not apply to any Big 
Game License or any tag issued as a 
part of a hunting license nor does this 
section apply to hunting of migratory 
birds.

PROTECTED ANIMALS
	 The following mammals are on the 
state and/or federal threatened or 
endangered species lists and are 
protected: swift fox, and black-footed 
ferret. No person may kill nongame 
birds except English (house) sparrows, 
rock pigeons, Eurasian collared-doves 
and European starlings. Blackbirds 
(red-winged and yellow-headed), 
common grackles, American crows 
and Black-billed magpies may be 
killed when doing or about to do 
depredation. 

NON-TOXIC SHOT
	 The use of non-toxic shot is required 
for all small game/waterfowl hunting 
on all state game production areas, 
lake and fishing access areas, state 
park system areas, U.S. Army Corps 
of Engineers land, U.S. Bureau of 
Reclamation Wildlife Production 
Areas managed by GFP, U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service National Wildlife 
Refuges, and U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service Waterfowl Production 

Areas (WPA). Lead shot may not be 
possessed while hunting waterfowl/
small game on these areas. GFP 
encourages hunters to use non-
toxic shot for all hunting, but it is 
not required on U.S. Forest Service 
National Grasslands, SD School and 
Public Lands or on most GFP-managed 
and leased property designated as 
Walk-In Areas, CHAP and CREP when 
hunting small game such as pheasants, 
grouse or mourning doves.
	 Those hunting ducks, geese, coots, 
tundra swan, Sandhill cranes or snipe 
may not possess lead shot and must use 
a federally approved non-toxic shot.
	 Approved non-toxic shot includes 
steel (iron) shot, bismuth-tin, tungsten-
polymer, tungsten-matrix, tungsten-iron-
fluoropolymer and any combination of 
tungsten-iron-nickel-tin-copper-bismuth. 
See also 50 CFR 20.21(j)(1) for the 
complete listing of federally approved 
non-toxic shot types.
	 Coated lead shot does NOT qualify 
as non-toxic shot.
	 Turkeys are classified as big game 
and can be hunted with lead shot.
	 In addition, target shooting with 
shotguns using lead shot is prohibited 
on the following state public lands: 
State Game Production Areas, lake 
and fishing access areas, public water 
access areas, state park system areas 
and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 
Wildlife Production Areas and U.S. 
Bureau of Reclamation lands managed 
by GFP.

Refer to Tom Roster’s Non-toxic Shot 
Lethality Table on page 85.

NATIONAL PARKS, MONUMENTS, 
MEMORIALS
	 The taking of wildlife is prohibited in 
Badlands National Park, Jewel Cave 
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National Monument, Mount Rushmore 
National Memorial and Wind Cave 
National Park. No person may hunt, 
trap or discharge a firearm within the 
boundaries of these units.
	 If an animal is wounded outside the 
boundaries of one of these units and 
enters within the boundaries, the hunter 
should immediately notify a Park 
Ranger before tracking or retrieving 
the animal.

PUBLIC LAND AND PARK 
RESTRICTIONS
	 No person may enter, use or occupy 
lands owned or leased by GFP if it 
interferes with the management of 
the area, the posted purpose for 
which the land was acquired or if the 
lands are posted against such entry 
or use. Camping is only permitted in 
established campgrounds. Camping 
is also prohibited on U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service Waterfowl Production 
Areas (WPA). Campfires are allowed 
only at designated campsites and in 
approved fireplaces, stoves or grills on 
GFP lands. Campfires are not allowed 
on U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 
Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA).
	 No person may use a motor vehicle 
for the purposes of hunting, fishing 
or trapping on any land under the 
control of SD School and Public Lands, 
except for roads, trails or parking 
areas designated and signed by GFP. 
Hunting is not permitted in standing 
crops.
	 Only persons using a state park, 
state recreation area, state nature 
area or state lakeside use area for 
lawful hunting, trapping, fishing, 
snowmobiling, boating or camping may 
enter, use, or occupy any of the above 
areas from 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. 

	 Only persons engaged in lawful 
hunting, trapping, fishing or boating 
may enter, use, or occupy any of the 
following areas from 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. 
year-round: Public Shooting Areas, 
Game Production Areas, Wildlife 
Refuges, Lake and Fishing Access 
Areas, Public Water Access Areas 
and U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 
Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA).
	 A person hunting in a leased 
controlled waterfowl hunting area may 
hunt only in designated hunting areas. 
Hunting in leased shooting zones where 
blinds have been constructed by GFP 
must only occur from the constructed 
blinds. Hunting outside of or between 
adjacent blinds is prohibited.
	 No person may target shoot on U.S. 
Fish and Wildlife Service Waterfowl 
Production Areas (WPA).
	 The Fort Pierre National Grasslands 
prohibits trap shooting, and asks 
hunters to use non-toxic shot for small 
game hunting.	
	 Uncased firearms, crossbows and 
bows are prohibited in all state parks, 
state recreation areas, state nature 
areas and state lakeside use areas 
with the following exceptions:
	 Uncased firearms, crossbows and 
bows are permitted on designated rifle 
and archery ranges the year around 
and may be transported or carried 
uncased to and from ranges and boat 
ramps from designated parking areas; 
and a firearm, air gun, crossbow or 
bow legally transported in a motor 
vehicle, trailer camper, or boat 
pursuant to state law, is considered 
cased for purposes of this section;
	 Hunters licensed for Custer State 
Park hunting seasons may have 
uncased firearms, crossbows and bows 
in Custer State Park during the season 
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for which they are licensed;
	 From Sept. 1 - May 31, inclusive, 
uncased firearms, air guns, crossbows 
and bows are authorized for licensed 
hunters in all lakeside use areas and 
Shadehill Recreation Area;
	 From Oct. 1 - April 30, inclusive, 
uncased firearms, crossbows and bows 
are authorized for licensed hunters in 
all state parks, state recreation areas, 
nature areas and lakeside use areas 
during established hunting seasons with 
the following restrictions:
	 Uncased  firearms, crossbows and 
bows are prohibited year around in all 
established campgrounds, designated 
day use areas, and at Beaver Creek 
Nature Area, Lake Herman State Park, 
Spring Creek Recreation Area, Spirit 
Mound Historic Prairie, Bear Butte 
State Park east of Hwy 79, Oahe 
Downstream Recreation Area except 
for a hunter who possesses a valid 
deer license for Unit WRD-58D or 
a valid turkey license for Unit PST-
58B; and in Good Earth State Park 
and Adams Homestead and Nature 
Preserve except for a resident hunter 
who possesses a valid archery spring 
turkey or archery deer license and an 
access permit;
	  Only bows are permitted in Big 
Sioux State Recreation Area, the Forest 
Drive Unit of Richmond Lake State 
Recreation Area, Palisades State Park, 
LaFramboise Island Nature Area , 
Chief White Crane Recreation Area, 
Clay County Recreation Area and the 
mouth of  Spearfish Canyon;
	 Only shotguns using shot shells, 
crossbows and bows are permitted in 
West Whitlock State Recreation Area, 
West  Pickerel Recreation Area, Mina 
Recreation Area, Okobojo Recreation 
Area, Farm Island Recreation Area, 

Angostura Recreation Area, Cow Creek 
State Recreation Area, Oakwood Lake 
State Park and those portions of North 
Point State Recreation Area which are 
situated to the west of 381st St. and 
north of 297th Ave., and situated west 
of 382nd Ave. and north of 297th St., 
and situated south of 297th St. and 
west of Prairie Dog Bay;  
	 Only shotguns using shot shells, 
crossbows and bows for the wild turkey 
hunting seasons and bows for archery 
deer and archery wild turkey hunting 
seasons are permitted in that portion 
of Newton Hills State Park which is 
situated to the west of County Road 
135 and north of County Road 140;
A person who possesses a valid turkey 
license for Unit PST-48 is permitted 
to have an uncased shotgun using 
shot shells, a crossbow, a bow, or 
a muzzleloading shotgun within the 
boundary of Sica Hollow State Park to 
the eighth day before Memorial Day, 
inclusive.
	 Uncased .22 caliber rimfire firearms 
are prohibited on all state park and 
recreation area lands and on the 
George S. Mickelson Trail the year 
around. However, uncased .22 caliber 
rimfire firearms are permitted within 
North Point Recreation Area and Oahe 
Downstream Recreation Area year-
round on rifle ranges designated by 
the GFP.
	 The  discharge of firearms or bows 
on or across the George S. Mickelson 
Trail rights-of-way is prohibited
	 Uncased  firearms are prohibited on:
	» The East Pelican Lake Access Area in 
Codington Co.

	» That portion of the Beilage Game 
Production Area north of Christensen 
Drive located in Sec. 24 and 25, 
T6N, R2E, in Lawrence Co.
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	» Hazel’s Haven Fishing Access Area 
in Moody Co.

	» That portion of the Marcotte Game 
Production Area in Sec. 16, T5N, 
R5E, in Meade Co.

	» Kelley’s Cove Fishing Access Area in 
Yankton Co.

	» The Hwy 38/James River Fishing 
Access Area in Davison Co.

	» The New Underwood Lake Access 
Area in Pennington Co. except 
any licensed hunter while lawfully 
engaged in hunting.

	» The Rollings Game Production Area 
in Lincoln Co. except any licensed 
hunter, using a shotgun with shot 
shells only, while hunting small game 
or wild turkey and persons using the 
shooting range when open.

	» The Lake Henry Fishing Access Area 
in Bon Homme Co. except any 
licensed hunter, using a shotgun with 
shot shells only, while hunting small 
game or turkey.

	» Only shotguns using shot shells, 
crossbows, and bow and arrow 
are permitted on lands owned 
and operated by the Otter Tail 
Power Company and leased as a 
Game Production Area in Grant 
Co. and the Lake Andes units Game 
Production Areas in Charles Mix Co..

	 Centerfire  rifles are prohibited on 
the Lechtenberg Game Production 
Area in Hand Co. and on the 
Cottonwood Lake Hatchery Game Bird 
Refuge in Spink Co.
	 No  person may use any firearm on 
the Fort Meade Recreation Area South 
Unit and the signed portion of the 
North Unit.
	 No  person may discharge a 
weapon across or from a National 
Forest Service road or into a cave 
or within 150 yards of a residence, 
building, campsite or recreation area 

(Pactola, Sheridan, Deerfield, etc.).
	 NOTE: A person who is allowed 
to legally carry a concealed pistol 
pursuant to state law may carry a 
concealed pistol at any time.
	 No person may ride or allow horses 
on land owned, leased or controlled 
by GFP except on designated bridle 
trails or equestrian areas. During 
established seasons, licensed deer 
hunters may use horses on state 
Game Production Areas along the 
Missouri River, and licensed deer 
and elk hunters or anyone assisting in 
the removal of legally tagged deer 
and elk may use horses on the Battle 
Mountain/Friendshuh GPA in Fall 
River and Custer counties. Horses are 
prohibited on U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service Waterfowl Production Areas 
(WPA) and National Wildlife Refuges.
	 A person may not destroy, damage 
or remove a living or dead tree, shrub 
or vegetation; disturb any earth, rocks, 
minerals, natural formations or cultural 
resources; or destroy, damage or 
remove  skulls or other parts of animal 
carcass located on lands owned 
or leased by GFP without written 
permission from the secretary or a 
designated agent. 
	 Shed antler hunting is allowed on 
GFP owned lands, including state 
parks, recreation areas and Game 
Production Areas. However, permission 
from the landowner is required for 
shed hunting on Walk-In Areas, CREP, 
CHAP, or other privately-owned lands 
leased by GFP for public hunting. 
Regulations differ for lands owned 
by other state or federal agencies. 
Contact the respective agency for 
more information.
	 If you are planning a trip for 
hunting or other recreation on National 
Forest and Grasslands in South 
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Dakota please contact a U.S. Forest 
Service Office for information on use 
of these public areas, road closures 
and recreation fees that might apply in 
certain areas.

RAILROAD RIGHTS-OF-WAY
	 Railroad rights-of-way are not 
considered to be the same as road 
rights-of-way for purposes of hunting. 
Some rail lines expressly prohibit 
hunting on their owned or leased 
railroad rights-of-way. Those routes 
include:
Rapid City, Pierre and Eastern 
Railroad
	» Belle Fourche to Nebraska border at 
Wayside following Hwy 34 and 79

	» Rapid City to South Dakota border 
at Elkton following Hwy 14

	» Blunt to Onida following Hwy 83
	» Huron to Yale north of Hwy 14
	» All crossings are marked RCP&E

Burlington Northern/Santa Fe
	» White Butte - Mobridge - Aberdeen 
– Milbank-Ortonville

	» Aberdeen - Mitchell - Yankton - Ver-
million - Elk

	» Point - North Sioux City
	» Mitchell - Parker - Canton
	» Canton - Sioux Falls - Colton - Went-
worth - Madison

	» Sioux Falls - Garretson - Sherman
	» Dewey-Edgemont-Provo-Ardmore

Britton Line
	» Aberdeen northeast to the SD/ND 
state line 

Sioux Valley Line
•	 Canton to Elk Point 
Mitchell to Rapid City (MRC) - (not 
open during the resident-only 
pheasant season) No big game 
hunting allowed (firearm or archery) 
on the entire MRC line.
	» Mitchell to U.S. Hwy 83 (West of 

Vivian) - closed to hunting.
	» U.S. Hwy 83 to Kadoka - open to 
small game hunting.

	» Kadoka to Rapid City – closed to 
hunting.

Napa to Platte Line
	» Napa (Yankton County Road 211) to 
the City of Ravinia - open to small 
game hunting.

	» City of Ravinia to City of Platte – 
closed to hunting.

	 Other rail lines exercise varying 
degrees of control over the uses of 
the rail lines they operate, including 
restrictions on public hunting. 
Abandoned rail lines may have 
reverted to private ownership to the 
adjoining landowner. Unless permission 
has been obtained from the rail line 
operating the particular stretch of track 
or permission has been obtained from 
the adjoining landowner of property 
in the case of abandoned rail lines, 
railroad rights-of-way should not be 
considered open for hunting.

ROAD-KILLED BIG GAME
	 An unfortunate by-product of wild 
free-ranging big game animals is 
vehicle-wildlife accidents. If an accident 
occurs between a motor vehicle and a 
deer or other big game, the accident 
must be reported to law enforcement 
if there is significant damage to the 
vehicle. In accordance with state law, 
before any individual can possess a 
big game animal killed by a motor 
vehicle that individual must obtain 
authorization from a GFP conservation 
officer prior to taking possession. 
Taking carcasses or any part of a big 
game animal, including the antlers, 
without authorization is illegal.

GENERAL LAWS
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SALE/USE OF WILDLIFE
	 No person may sell or barter game 
birds or animals except for skin, head 
or bone-hard antlers of big game; 
skin or plumage of pheasants, sharp-
tailed grouse, prairie chickens or grey 
partridge; turkey feathers; skins of 
cottontail rabbit, fox squirrel, grey 
squirrel and red squirrel that have 
been lawfully taken by a licensed 
hunter; and legal furbearers.
	 No person may wantonly waste 
game.

TRESPASS
	 No person may hunt or trap any 
species of game, including unprotected 
species, on private land without 
permission from the owner or lessee 
except in that part of the Black 
Hills Fire Protection District south of 
Interstate 90 and west of SD Hwy 
79. In that area, no person may 
enter private land to hunt if the land 
is posted or if told by the owner or 
lessee not to do so. The Black Hills 
Forest Fire Protection District is as 
follows: Commencing at a point on the 
WY-SD state line at the junction of 
I-90 at the state line; then east and 
southeast along I-90 via Rapid City to 
the intersection of U.S. Hwy 16B; then 
south and southwest along U.S. Hwy 
16B to the intersection of SD Hwy 79; 
then south along SD Hwy 79 to the 
intersection of U.S. Hwy 18; then south 
along U.S. Hwy 18 to the Cheyenne 
River; then west and northwest along 
the Cheyenne River to the WY-SD 
state line; then north along said state 
line to the place of beginning. The 
Black Hills Forest Fire Protection District 
does not include any area within the 
limits of any municipality.
	 If a person is convicted of knowingly 

trespassing, the person’s applicable 
hunting or trapping privilege shall 
be revoked for one year. A person’s 
applicable hunting or trapping 
privilege shall be revoked for 
two years following a second or 
subsequent trespassing conviction 
within ten years.

UNARMED RETRIEVAL
	 Hunters may retrieve lawfully 
taken small game without permission 
from private or public land (except 
National Wildlife Refuges closed to 
such entry) if they are unarmed and 
retrieve on foot.
	 Permission is needed to retrieve big 
game, including turkeys.
	 To be lawfully taken from road 
rights-of-way, the hunter must be 
within the rights-of-way boundaries 
when shooting and the small game 
must originate from or be flying over 
the road rights-of-way.
	 See the “Hunting on Public Road 
Rights-of-Way” section.

WALK-IN AREA/CREP/CHAP 
RESTRICTIONS
	 No one may enter, use or occupy 
lands leased by GFP through state 
access programs for any purpose 
other than hunting unless they have 
permission from the landowner or any 
lessee of the land other than GFP. 
A person may enter, use, or occupy 
lands leased by GFP under the state 
for purposes of hunting under the 
following conditions:
	» The person moves or travels only on 
foot.

	» The conditions under which a person 
may enter, use, or occupy lands 
leased by GFP apply whether 
or not the state has jurisdiction to 
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impose its hunting regulations on 
the person seeking to enter, use, or 
occupy the land.

	» Landowner permission is required to 
trap on these areas.

	» The same restrictions apply to land in 
CREP, except hunting and fishing are 
allowed on CREP without landowner 
permission. 

YOUTH/APPRENTICE 
ACCOMPANIMENT
	 A parent, guardian or responsible 
adult (at least 18 years old) must 
accompany youth under age 16 (under 
18 for Youth Pheasant Season) while 
hunting. 

BE RESPECTFUL OF ROAD 
CONDITIONS
Driving roads during wet weather 
and leaving the traveled road in bad 
condition may hinder relationships 
between hunters and landowners. 
Landowners have expressed their 
concern about road conditions during 
the hunting seasons. When roads 
are traveled during wet periods ruts 
are developed and once frozen, can 
be extremely difficult to drive farm 
equipment down to access crop fields. 
Please respect these important roads. 
If you notice your vehicle leaving ruts, 
make the right decision; back out of 
the soft area, park and walk to your 
desired location.

GENERAL LAWS
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OTHER INFORMATION AND MAPS
S.D. SPORTSMEN AGAINST 
HUNGER
The South Dakota Sportsmen Against 
Hunger (SAH) program was established 
in 1993 to provide hunters with an 
easier way to share their success with 
those who are not as fortunate. South 
Dakota sportsmen and women can 
continue to make a difference by sharing 
the meat from big game and game 
birds. For 2021, all donated deer and 
elk harvested west of the Missouri River, 
in Sully County and out-of-state will 
need a negative test result for chronic 
wasting disease. To learn more about 
CWD and testing options, please visit 
gfp.sd.gov/chronic-wasting-disease/. 
SAH processing certificates will again be 
available from participating processors 

for hunters to use in paying for most 
or all the cost of processing donated 
antlerless deer, doe/kid antelope 
and Canada geese. Hunters may help 
offset costs of this program by making 
tax-deductible cash donations to SAH 
through use of a check-off provision 
on the online and paper applications 
for hunting licenses. Individuals may 
also use the “Donate” link on the SAH 
website at feedtheneedsd.com or make 
out checks or money orders to “South 
Dakota Sportsmen Against Hunger” and 
send them to South Dakota Sportsmen 
Against Hunger, P.O. Box 1172, Pierre, 
SD 57501. Call 1.800.456.2758 or visit 
the SAH website to learn more about the 
program.

CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE
Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) is a 
fatal disease of the central nervous 
system found in both captive and free-
ranging deer and elk. The South Dakota 
Department of Game, Fish and Parks 
(GFP) has been conducting surveillance 
for CWD since 1997 to determine 
disease presence and prevalence across 
the state. CWD has been confirmed 
in free-ranging deer and/or elk in 
Bennett, Butte, Corson, Custer, Fall River, 
Haakon, Harding, Jackson, Lawrence, 
Lyman, Meade, Mellette, Pennington, 
Sully, Tripp, and Ziebach counties 
including Custer State Park and Wind 
Cave National Park. A map of known 
distribution of CWD within free-ranging 
deer and elk can be found at the bottom 
of gfp.sd.gov/chronic-wasting-disease/ 
under “Related Maps.”
	 GFP Commission has revised 
regulations for the 2021 deer and elk 
hunting seasons. Carcass transportation 

and disposal regulations will apply for 
any harvested deer or elk that will be 
transported from the county of harvest 
or from another state back into South 
Dakota. These revised regulations will go 
into effect for the 2021 hunting seasons. 
For more information, see page 113 or
visit gfp.sd.gov/2021-cwd-regulations/.
	 The goal of surveillance strategies in 
South Dakota is to determine the likely 
spread of CWD to new units where the 
disease has not been detected in wild, 
free-ranging deer and elk. Detailed 
information on hunter submissions for 
CWD testing will be mailed to successful 
applicants in priority surveillance units 
prior to the start of the deer hunting 
seasons.  For additional information on 
the CWD surveillance program, visit: 
gfp.sd.gov/chronic-wasting-disease/ 
or contact the GFP Regional Office in 
Rapid City at 605.394.2391.
	 Other hunters in South Dakota who 
would like to get their deer or elk 
tested for CWD can voluntarily submit 
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a sample for testing. As a voluntary 
submission, hunters will be responsible 
for the cost of shipping and any 
professional sample collection costs 
unless the hunter delivers a sample 
to a GFP Office, sample collection 
area or using a testing kit provided 
by GFP. GFP will pay for the testing 
cost of the sample at South Dakota 
State University Animal Disease and 
Research Diagnostics Lab (SDSU 
ADRDL). Results will be sent to both 
the hunter and GFP. These results will 
supplement GFP’s surveillance effort 
across the state.

	 Hunters can serve a critical role 
with surveillance efforts and reducing 
the spread of CWD. The process for 
collecting samples from a harvested 
deer or elk and how to properly submit 
to SDSU ADRDL can be found at: gfp.
sd.gov/cwd-testing/. To learn more 
about CWD and how hunters can 
be proactive by implementing best 
management practices, please visit 
gfp.sd.gov/chronic-wasting-disease/.

OTHER INFORMATION AND MAPS

PLAGUE IN WILDLIFE
 Plague is an infectious disease of 
humans and wildlife caused by the 
bacterium Yersinia pestis. It is generally 
contracted through the bite of a flea 
carrying the bacterium or by handling 
an animal infected with the disease. 
Fleas carrying plague are found 
primarily on rodents but can be found 
on several wild mammal species found 
in South Dakota (e.g. prairie dogs, 
coyotes, badgers, fox and bobcats).  
Free-roaming pets that interact with 
infected wild animal populations can 
also carry plague-infected fleas.
	 Plague has been confirmed in 14 
counties west of the Missouri River and 
the bacterium can likely be found in the 

remaining counties west of the Missouri 
River. Presence of the bacterium does 
not indicate an outbreak is occurring.
	 Plague can cause severe illness or 
death in wildlife and humans. Antibiotic 
treatment is effective against plague 
if the infected person is treated 
promptly. Human cases of plague 
in the US are rare and there have 
been NO documented human cases of 
plague in South Dakota. Avoid fleas 
and interacting with pets that may 
have had exposure to plague. 	
	 For more information about plague 
in humans visit the Department of 
Health(doh.sd.gov/) or Centers for 
Disease Control websites (cdc.gov).

PUBLIC HUNTING AREAS
Please remember some of these lands 
are privately owned and your actions 
while hunting them can determine if they 
are open to public hunting in the future.

Game Production Areas (GPA)
	 GPAs are public lands owned 
by the State of South Dakota and 
managed by Game, Fish and Parks 

for wildlife habitat and public hunting 
opportunities. Most GPAs were 
purchased with funds from hunting 
licenses sales and/or through the 
Wildlife and Sportfish Restoration 
program, which generates funds via an 
excise tax at the manufacturer’s level 
on hunting equipment. GPAs are open 
to public hunting, fishing, trapping, 
and related outdoor activities. South 
Dakota has approximately 720 GPAs, 
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totaling more than 285,000 acres. GPAs 
are assessed as agricultural lands, with 
full property taxes paid annually by 
GFP.  
Non-toxic shot required for waterfowl 
and small game.

Walk-In Areas (WIA)
	 WIAs are lands owned by private 
individuals as working farms and ranches 
leased for public hunting access by GFP. 
Landowner permission is required for 
fishing and trapping on WIAs. Funds 
from the sale of hunting licenses and 
the Wildlife and Sportfish Restoration 
program are used by GFP to pay these 
leases. No permission is needed to hunt 
WIAs and driving is prohibited on WIAs 
except on designated trails marked with 
signs. There are over 1.2 million acres 
enrolled in the Walk-In Area program. 
	 Non-toxic shot required for waterfowl.

Controlled Hunting Access Program 
(CHAP)
	 CHAP areas are lands owned by 
private individuals as working farms 
and ranches that are leased for public 
hunting access by GFP. Funds from the 
sale of hunting licenses and the Wildlife 
and Sportfish Restoration program are 
used to pay these leases. Permission is 
needed to hunt these areas and can be 
received via self-serve check in boxes, 
on-line reservations, or by directly 
contacting the landowner. Landowner 
permission is required for fishing and 
trapping. See the Public Hunting Atlas 
for more details. Driving is prohibited 
on CHAPs except on designated trails 
marked with signs.  
	 Non-toxic shot required for waterfowl.

Elk Hunting Access Program (EHAP)
	 EHAP was developed to help address 

depredation on private land and to 
increase hunter success. EHAP areas 
are lands owned by private individuals 
and leased by GFP for public elk 
hunting access. Funds from the sale 
of hunting licenses are used to pay 
these leases. Driving is prohibited on 
EHAP areas. Permission is needed to 
hunt these areas and can be received 
by directly contacting the landowner. 
Contact the GFP office in Rapid City at 
605.394.2391 to learn how to access 
these areas.

Conservation Reserve Enhancement 
Program (CREP)
	 Lands in CREP are open year-round 
to public hunting and fishing access. 
Landowner permission is required for 
trapping. CREP lands are owned by 
private individuals who have enrolled 
them in the Conservation Reserve 
Program (CRP) and signed a lease 
agreement with GFP to provide public 
hunting and fishing access, and target 
wildlife habitat conservation in the 
James River Watershed. These lands 
were enrolled in the program starting at 
various times between 2010 and 2013 
and will be in CREP for 10 to 15 years 
or longer if re-enrolled.  Most CREP 
areas have excellent wildlife habitat 
established and provide quality hunting 
opportunities. Over 60,000 acres of 
CREP will be open to public hunting this 
fall.   
	 Non-toxic shot required for waterfowl.

Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA)
	 WPAs are owned by the United States 
Fish and Wildlife Service. These areas 
are open to public hunting and trapping, 
and although managed specifically for 
waterfowl production provide a diversity 
of hunting opportunities and habitat 

OTHER INFORMATION AND MAPS
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for other wildlife. There are 1,000 
WPAs in South Dakota, totaling nearly 
150,000 acres.   
	 Non-toxic shot required for 
waterfowl and small game.

Other Public Areas
	 GFP also manages Water Access 
Areas, State Game Refuges, State 
Game Bird Refuges, State Waterfowl 
Refuges, Lakeside Use Areas, State 

Recreation Areas and State Parks. 
Many of these areas have special 
use restrictions or regulations limiting 
their use and availability for public 
hunting. Other agencies with public 
hunting lands in South Dakota include 
the SD Office of School and Public 
Lands, U.S. Forest Service, the Army 
Corps of Engineers, the Bureau of 
Land Management, and the Bureau of 
Reclamation.

OTHER INFORMATION AND MAPS

STATE GAME REFUGES
 GAME REFUGE - No hunting or 
trapping of any species.
GAME BIRD REFUGE - No hunting 
of game birds, including waterfowl. 
Big game hunting and trapping are 
allowed.
WATERFOWL REFUGE - No waterfowl 
hunting. Big game and small game 
hunting and trapping are allowed.

Brown County
Renziehausen Slough - Game Bird 
Refuge
Brule County
Jorgenson - Game Refuge
Clark County
Reid Lake - Waterfowl Refuge 
Antelope Lake - Waterfowl Refuge
Day County
Waubay - Game Bird Refuge
Edmunds County
Scatterwood Lake - Waterfowl Refuge
Faulk County
Gerken - Game Bird Refuge  
Scatterwood Lake - Waterfowl Refuge
Grant County
Eye - Game Refuge
Lake Albert - Waterfowl Refuge
Big Stone Power Plant - Waterfowl 
Refuge
Hand County
Wall Lake - Game Bird Refuge

Hughes County
LaFramboise Island - Game Bird 
Refuge (No Firearms)
Hutchinson County
Silver Lake - Waterfowl Refuge
Marshall County
White Lake - Game Bird Refuge
Perkins County
Shadehill - Waterfowl Refuge
Roberts County
Cottonwood Lake - Waterfowl Refuge 
Bullhead Lake - Waterfowl Refuge
Spink County
Cottonwood Lake - Waterfowl Refuge 
Cottonwood Hatchery - Game Bird 
Refuge
Yankton County 
Kelly’s Cove - Game Refuge 

MISSOURI RIVER RESERVOIR 
REFUGES
Refuge boundaries are posted with 
signs. Missouri River refuges are shown 
in the Hunting Atlas.
Lake Oahe
Blue Blanket Waterfowl Refuge 
Swan Creek Waterfowl Refuge 
Latin Draw Waterfowl Refuge 
Whitlock Bay Waterfowl Refuge 
Sutton Waterfowl Refuge
Sutton Bottom Waterfowl Refuge 
Baker’s Gulch Waterfowl Refuge 
Mail Shack Waterfowl Refuge 
Okobojo Creek Waterfowl Refuge 
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Spring Creek Waterfowl Refuge 
Peoria Flats Waterfowl Refuge 
Oahe Dam Waterfowl Refuge
Lake Sharpe
Oahe Dam Waterfowl Refuge 
DeGrey Waterfowl Refuge                                      
Joe Creek Waterfowl Refuge
Big Bend Dam Waterfowl Refuge
Lake Francis Case
Chamberlain Waterfowl Refuge
Chamberlain North Waterfowl Refuge 
Big Bend Dam Waterfowl Refuge 
Whetstone Waterfowl Refuge
White Swan Waterfowl Refuge
Fort Randall Dam Waterfowl Refuge
Lake Lewis and Clark
Fort Randall Dam Tailwaters Reservoir
	

	 Refuges on Lake Oahe and Lake 
Sharpe, except those including Oahe 
Dam and Big Bend Dam, are closed to 
waterfowl hunting from the opening day 
of the earliest waterfowl season through 
the last day of the Canada goose 
season and are open to duck hunting 
after that date if that season is still 
open.
	 All state waterfowl refuges are open 
during the Light Goose Conservation 
Order in the spring, except for Silver 
Lake and refuges that encompass Oahe 
Dam, Big Bend Dam and Fort Randall 
Dam. Waterfowl hunters should also 
read the section on “Boating Restrictions” 
in this handbook.

OTHER INFORMATION AND MAPS

South Dakota Hunting Atlas
	 This free booklet contains a series of 
detailed maps showing private land 
in South Dakota that has been leased 
for public hunting by GFP as Walk-In 
Areas. The maps also show other public 
hunting areas. Maps are available at 
GFP offices, from the GFP website gfp.
sd.gov, by email request from wildinfo@
state.sd.us, phone request from 
605.223.7660, or by writing Game, Fish 
and Parks Information Office, 20641 SD 
Hwy 1806, Fort Pierre, SD 57532.

South Dakota Hunting Map for GPS
	 SD Hunting Atlas Map information 
is available for download into GPS 
devices at: gfp.sd.gov/hunting-areas

South Dakota School and Public Lands
	 Shows state school and public lands 
throughout the state. Index is available 

online at sdpubliclands.com or by calling 
Office of School and Public Lands, 
605.773.3303. There is a cost for each 
map.

Buffalo Gap National Grasslands
	 Color map of the National Grasslands 
and Badlands National Park in 
southwestern South Dakota. Write: 
U.S. Forest Service, 125 North Main 
Street, Chadron, NE 69337; or call 
308.432.0300. Check with the Forest 
Service for map cost and postage; or 
visit nationalforeststore.com.

Black Hills National Forest
	 Color map of the Black Hills 
showing roads, trails and public 
land ownership. Write: U.S. Forest 
Service, 1019 N. 5th St., Custer, SD 
57730; call 605.673.9200; or visit 
nationalforeststore.com. Check with 

Maps are available to assist hunters when hunting and navigating public lands 
across South Dakota. For additional information on the maps listed below or to have 
any one of them mailed to you, contact the represented agency or view them online, 
if available.

MAPS FOR HUNTERS
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the Forest Service for map cost and 
postage. To order a map using a credit 
card, call 605.745.7020.

Fort Pierre National Grasslands
	 Color map of the National 
Grasslands in central South Dakota. 
Write: U.S. Forest Service, 1020 N. 
Deadwood Ave., Ft. Pierre, SD 57532; 
call 605.224.5517; or visit the website 
at nationalforeststore.com. Check 
with the Forest Service for cost and 
postage.

Grand River and Cedar River 
National Grasslands
	 Color map of National Grasslands 
in northwestern South Dakota. Write: 
Dakota Prairie Grasslands, 240 
West Century Ave., Bismarck, ND 
58503; call 701.250.4443; or visit 
nationalforeststore.com. Check with the 
Forest Service for cost and postage.

Custer National Forest
	 Color map including Cave Hills, 
Slim Buttes, Long Pines and Short 
Pines in northwestern South Dakota, 
as well as Custer National Forest 
in Montana. Write: U.S. Forest 
Service, 1310 Main St., Billings, MT 
59105; call 406.657.6200; or visit 
nationalforeststore.com. Check with 
the Forest Service for map cost and 
postage.

BLM Surface Management Quads
	 Shows public land in extreme 
western and northwestern South 
Dakota. Free index available. 
Write: Bureau of Land Management, 
Field Office, 310 Roundup Street, 
Belle Fourche, SD 57717; call 
605.892.7000. Prices vary with size of 
the maps.

U.S. Bureau of Reclamation Lands
	 Information regarding land 
managed by the U.S. Bureau of 
Reclamation can be requested from: 
U.S. Bureau of Reclamation, Dakotas 
Area Office, Rapid City Field Office 
Room 101, 515 9th St., Rapid City, SD 
57701; or call 605.394.9757.

Missouri River Boating and 
Recreation Guide Maps
	 Includes water area and government 
lands on the mainstem reservoirs of the 
Missouri River. Maps for lakes Lewis 
and Clark, Francis Case, Sharpe and 
Oahe can be ordered from: Dept. of 
the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - 
Omaha District, Operations Division 
- CEMRO- OP-N, 106 South 15th 
St., Omaha, NE 68102-1618; or call 
402.221.4139. Contact the Corps for 
map costs and postage.

OTHER INFORMATION AND MAPS
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GET TO KNOW YOUR LOCAL 
CONSERVATION OFFICER
For the most updated list of Conservation 

Officers, visit gfp.sd.gov/contactus
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DUCK IDENTIFICATION

DIVING DUCKS

	 Identifying ducks in the field is important. It is necessary for hunters to be able to 
identify ducks by sex and species so bag limits are not exceeded. The following are 
the most common ducks waterfowl hunters will encounter in South Dakota’s marshes 
and fields. There are two views of male plumage. 

	 Males molt in the summer and many resemble hens. Coloration gradually changes 
from hen-like to a blotchy, partial coloration in early fall and finally to full winter 
plumage. Young of the year males also evolve through these stages.

Illustrations by Donald A Soderlund,
Copyright South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks Department,
Duck wing photos collected by Spencer Vaa, photographed by Gary Marrone.
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DUCK IDENTIFICATION
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DUCK IDENTIFICATION
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DUCK IDENTIFICATION
DIVING DUCKS
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DUCK IDENTIFICATION
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DUCK IDENTIFICATION
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INTRODUCING A NEW HUNTER TO 
THE FIELD IS EASIER THAN EVER!

START AS A BEGINNER | BECOME A DUCK HUNTER

The THREE-DUCK REGULATION OPTION allows hunters 
to shoot a limit of three ducks regardless of species or 
sex. The only difference from the traditional license is the 
number of ducks a hunter can harvest. Possession limit, 
license requirements and season dates are the same.

Ph
ot

o 
by

 Ji
m

 Th
om

ps
on

SELECT YOUR DUCK HUNTING OPTION WHEN YOU 
PURCHASE YOUR MIGRATORY BIRD CERTIFICATION.



MENTORED BIG 
GAME AND 
YOUTH DEER
Big Game Mentored Program
Youth Deer License
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MENTORED BIG GAME AND YOUTH DEER

RESIDENT

Age Eligible for 
Youth Deer 
License?

Eligible for Big 
Game Mentored 
Program?

Under 12
(11 or 
younger on 
December 31)

No Yes

12-17
(12 by 
December 31)

Yes Yes, if under the 
age of 16

NONRESIDENT

Age Eligible for Youth 
Deer License?

Eligible for 
Big Game 
Mentored 
Program?

Under 12
(11 or 
younger on 
December 31)

No Yes

12-17
(12 by 
December 31)

Yes Yes, if under 
the age of 
16

Youth hunters under age 16, are required to possess hunter 
education certification, or a copy of a current or previous year’s 
hunting license issued by another state in the field. See pages 17 
and 23 for more information.

To learn more about mentored big game hunting, youth, and 
apprentice deer hunting, visit gfp.sd.gov and search “mentor hunt.” 

* Must have a resident sponsor for mentor hunting

Youth hunters under age 16, are required to possess hunter education 
certification, or a copy of a current or previous year’s hunting license 
issued by another state in the field. See pages 17 and 23 for more 
information.

Residents who are 18 years of age or older and who have not had a deer 
license in the last 10 years are eligible for an apprentice deer tag. See 
pages 59 and 61 for more information.
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MENTORED BIG GAME AND YOUTH DEER

BIG GAME MENTORED PROGRAM 
(UNDER 16 YEARS OF AGE)
Deer, Antelope, Turkey
	» Available for both resident and 
nonresident mentored hunters younger 
than 16 years of age. 

	» A nonresident must include the name, 
address, and phone number of a 
resident sponsoring the application.

	» The mentor can be a resident or 
nonresident.

	» Mentored hunter who, at the time of 
going hunting, is under 16 years old.

	» Mentored deer licensees, if 12 years 
of age by December 31 and have 
completed a HuntSafe course, are 
eligible for other deer licenses except 
the Youth Deer License.  

	» Mentored hunter must be accompanied 
by an unarmed parent, guardian or 
designated mentor within immediate 
control (arm’s length) and supervision 
of the adult.

	» Mentors must physically possess hunter 
education certification and the license 
intended for their specific mentored 
hunter for the respective season.

	» Mentors who are not the parent or 
guardian of the mentored hunter must 
also possess written permission from 
the parent or guardian of the hunter. 

	» Adult can only accompany one 
mentored hunter at a time.

	» Hunting parties with mentored hunters 
cannot exceed six persons.

	» The mentored deer license (limited to 
one) is for an “any antlerless deer” 
tag that is valid for Unit MHD-03 or 
an “antlerless whitetail” tag that is 
valid for Unit MHD-13.

YOUTH DEER LICENSEES (AGES 12-18)
	» A parent/guardian must accompany 
the youth when obtaining an Youth 
Deer License.

	» The youth deer license (limited to one) 
is for an “any antlerless deer” tag 
that is valid for Unit YOD-03 or an 
“antlerless whitetail” tag that is valid 
for Unit YOD-13.

	» All youth deer licensees under the age 
of 16 must be accompanied (unaided 
visual and vocal contact) by a parent, 
guardian or responsible adult (at least 
18 years old). 

	» Adult accompanying the youth deer 
licensee is not required to possess 
hunter education certification.

	» Adult (at least 18 years old) must 
be unarmed unless the adult has a 
Big Game License valid for the same 
geographic area and time of year as 
the youth deer licensee.

	» Youth deer licensees are eligible 
for other deer licenses except the 
mentored deer license.  

	» Adult can accompany multiple youth 
deer hunters.
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Game, Fish
& Parks

SOUTH DAKOTA

PROCEEDS SUPPORT HABITAT

Game, Fish
& Parks

SOUTH DAKOTA

The Hunt for Habitat is a raffle that 
offers the winners a true once-in-a-

lifetime hunting opportunity

Since 2019, the Hunt for Habitat raffle has 
raised over 1 million dollars to improve 

habitat in South Dakota!

More information can be found at 
gfp.sd.gov/hunt-for-habitat/



YOUTH 
SMALL GAME 
Youth Small Game
Small Game Mentored Program
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YOUTH SMALL GAME

RESIDENT

Age Eligible for Youth 
Small Game
License? 

Eligible for 
Youth 
Small Game 
Mentored 
Program? 2

Under 12
(11 or younger on 
December 31)

No Yes

12-17
(12 by Dec. 31) 1

Yes Yes, if under the 
age of 16

18+ No No

NONRESIDENT

Age Eligible for 
Nonresident 
Youth Small 
Game License?

Eligible for 
Youth Small 
Game Mentored 
Program? 2

Eligible for Nonresident 
Adult Small Game License?

Under 12
(11 or younger 
on Dec. 31)

No Yes No

12-17
(12 by Dec. 31)1

Yes Yes, if under the 
age of 16

No

18+ No No Yes

1.	 If the youth acquires a Youth Small Game License before turning 18, the license is 
valid through Jan. 31, 2022. 

2.	 Mentors must be properly licensed for small game hunting and possess hunter 
education certification on their person while mentoring a youth who is small game 
hunting. Mentors who are not the parent or guardian of the mentored hunter 
must be at least 18 years old, and possess written permission from the parent or 
guardian of the hunter.  

Youth hunters under age 16, are required to possess hunter education certification, or a 
copy of a current or previous year’s hunting license issued by another state in the field. 
See pages 17 and 23 for more information.

Youth hunters under age 16, are required to possess hunter education certification, or 
a copy of a current or previous year’s hunting license issued by another state in the 
field. See pages 17 and 23 for more information.
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YOUTH SMALL GAME

YOUTH SMALL GAME
	» A parent/guardian must accompany 
the youth when obtaining the Youth 
Small Game License.

	» Adult (at least 18) accompanying the 
youth hunter is not required to have 
hunter education certification.

	» Youth under 16 must be 
accompanied (unaided visual and 
vocal contact) by a parent, guardian 
or responsible adult (at least 18 
years old). 

	» Youth hunters under age 16, are 
required to possess hunter education 
certification, or a copy of a current 
or previous year’s hunting license 
issued by another state in the field. 

	» The combined number of animals 
taken or possessed by the youth 
hunter and accompanying  adult 
may not exceed the number of 
animals authorized under licenses 
held by active hunters.

	» An adult can accompany multiple 
youth small game.

	» A person who has not reached age 
18 is eligible to hunt in the youth 
pheasant season.

SMALL GAME MENTORED 

PROGRAM
	» Available for both resident and 
nonresident mentored hunters who, at 
the time of going hunting, is younger 
than 16 years of age. 

	» Mentored hunter is not required 
to possess hunter education 
certification. 

	» The mentored hunter can hunt during 
the youth small game or other small 
game seasons but the mentored 
hunting rules for accompaniment must 
be followed anytime a mentored 
hunter is hunting:

	» A mentored hunter must be 
accompanied by an unarmed parent, 
guardian or designated mentor 
within immediate control (arm’s 
length) and supervision of the adult.

	» Game taken by a mentored hunter 
counts toward the mentor’s daily 
limit.

	» The combined number of animals 
taken or possessed by the mentored 
hunter and the mentor may not 
exceed the number of animals 
authorized under the license held by 
the adult mentor.

	» Adult mentor can only accompany 
one mentored hunter at a time.

	» Hunting parties with mentored 
hunters cannot exceed six persons.
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LEARN HOW TO BE 
SAFE OUT IN THE FIELD 

THIS FALL.
Scan the QR code below to find a 

HuntSAFE class near you!



YOUTH 
WATERFOWL 
Youth Waterfowl
Waterfowl Mentored Program
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YOUTH WATERFOWL

RESIDENT

Age Eligible for Youth 
Waterfowl 
License?

Eligible for 
Youth 
Waterfowl 
Mentored 
Program?

Under 12
(11 or younger on 
December 31)

No Yes

12-17
(12 by December 31)

Yes Yes, if under the 
age of 16

18+ No No

NONRESIDENT

Age Eligible for 
Nonresident 
Youth 
Waterfowl 
License?

Eligible for 
Youth Mentored 
Program?

Eligible for 
Nonresident 
Adult Waterfowl 
License?

Under 12
(11 or younger 
on Dec. 31)

No Yes No

12-17
(12 by Dec. 31)

Yes, valid 
for the two-
day Youth 
Waterfowl 
Season

Yes, if under the 
age of 16

Yes

18+ No No Yes

Hunters are required to possess the State Migratory Bird Certification. 
Those 16 and older are also required to possess the Federal Waterfowl Stamp.

Youth hunters under age 16, are required to possess hunter 
education certification, or a copy of a current or previous year’s 
hunting license issued by another state in the field. See pages 17 
and 23 for more information.

Youth hunters under age 16, are required to possess hunter education 
certification, or a copy of a current or previous year’s hunting license issued 
by another state in the field.  See pages 17 and 23 for more information.



112 | 2021 South Dakota Hunting and Trapping Handbook

YOUTH WATERFOWL

1.	 Youth who have not reached 
age 18 by the first day of the 
youth waterfowl season may hunt 
waterfowl during the youth waterfowl 
season. 

2.	 Mentors must be properly licensed 
for waterfowl hunting and possess 
hunter education certification on 
their person while mentoring a youth 
who is waterfowl hunting. Mentors 
who are not the parent or guardian 
of the mentored hunter must be 
at least 18 years old and possess 
written permission from the parent or 
guardian of the hunter.  

3.	 If the resident youth acquires a Small 
Game License before turning 18, 
the license is valid through Jan. 31, 
2022. 

YOUTH WATERFOWL
	» Nonresident Fall Waterfowl Licenses 
by application only.

	» Youth hunters under age 16, are 
required to possess hunter education 
certification, or a copy of a current or 
previous year’s hunting license issued 
by another state in the field.

	» A parent/guardian must accompany 
the youth under age 16 when 
obtaining the Youth Small Game 
License and State Migratory Bird 
Certification (residents only). 

	» Federal Waterfowl Stamp is required 
for any hunters age 16 and older.

	» Youth under 16, must be accompanied 
(unaided visual and vocal contact) by a 
parent, guardian or responsible adult 
(at least 18 years old). 

	» Adult can accompany multiple youth 
waterfowl hunters.

WATERFOWL MENTORED PROGRAM
	» Available for both resident and 
nonresident mentored hunters younger 
than 16 years of age. 

	» A nonresident must include the name, 
address, and phone number of a 
resident sponsoring the application.

	» Mentored hunter who, at the time of 
going hunting, is under 16 years old.

•	 Mentored hunter is not required 
to possess hunter education 
certification. 

	» The mentored hunter can hunt during 
the youth waterfowl or regular 
waterfowl seasons but the mentored 
hunting rules for accompaniment must 
be followed anytime a mentored 
hunter is hunting:

•	 The mentor shall be properly 
licensed to hunt waterfowl in 
South Dakota.

•	 A mentored youth hunter must 
be accompanied by an unarmed 
parent, guardian or designated 
mentor within immediate control 
(arm’s length) and supervision of 
the adult.

•	 Game taken by a mentored 
hunter counts toward the mentor’s 
daily limit.

•	 The combined number of animals 
taken or possessed by the 
mentored hunter and the hunting 
mentor may not exceed the 
number of animals authorized 
under licenses held by the adult 
mentor.

•	 Adult mentor can only accompany 
one mentored hunter at a time.

•	 Hunting parties with mentored 
hunters cannot exceed six 
persons.
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NEW 2021 
CWD REGULATIONS
The transportation and disposal of deer and elk carcass regulations 
have been revised and go into effect for the 2021 hunting seasons.  

All deer or elk carcass remains must be disposed of with a waste management 
provider, if an allowable trash item, or with a permitted landfill. 
	» Exceptions include deer or elk carcasses:

•	 Not removed from the county of harvest and not transported to a game 
processor or taxidermist.

•	 Passing through South Dakota.
	» This includes deer or elk carcasses:

•	 Transported to any game processor or taxidermist, regardless of where the 
harvest occurred.

•	 Transported into South Dakota.

Hunters are recommended to leave as much of the unusable carcass as possible at 
the location of the harvest in a discrete location on both public and private lands.  
	» It is illegal to dispose of carcass remains on:

•	 Road ditches.
•	 Private property without permission. 
•	 Public land different from location of the harvest.

NEW TRANSPORTATION AND DISPOSAL REGULATIONS

BEST MANAGEMENT PRACTICES

FOR MORE INFORMATION ON CWD IN SOUTH DAKOTA, PLEASE 
VISIT: GFP.SD.GOV/CHRONIC-WASTING-DISEASE/.
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Aberdeen	 	 Nick Cochran | 605.881.7594
	 	 Tim McCurdy (District Supervisor) | 605.380.4572

Belle Fourche	 Bill Eastman | 605.391.1575

Brookings	 	 Jeff Grendler | 605.360.0509

Canton	 	 Josh VandenBosch |605.940.0222

Chamberlain	 Diana Landegent | 605.730.1578
	 	 Travis March | 605.730.1573

Clark	 	 Zach Thomsen | 605.881.2260

Clear Lake		 Adam Behnke | 605.881.3780

Custer	 	 Ron Tietsort | 605.431.7048
	 	 Jenna Capper | 605.391.2132
	 	 Jim Ganser | 605.431.8099

Elk Point	 	 Tony Stokley | 605.677.7814

Flandreau	 	 Trevor Johnson | 605.941.4552

Fort Pierre	 	 Dylan Peterson | 605.730.3774
	 	 John Murphy (District CO Supervisor) | 605.730.1571
	 	 Josh Carr (Regional CO Supervisor) | 605.730.1574

Gettysburg		 Kendyll DeRouchey | 605.730.1568

Hayti	 	 Logan Hammer | 605.8810018

Hill City	 	 Jeff Edwards | 605.381.9995

Hot Springs		 D.J. Schroeder | 605.381.6438
	 	 Duane Stanley | 605.890.0239
		  Brian Meiers (District CO Supervisor) | 605.391.6023

Howard	 	 Evan Meyer (District CO Supervisor) | 605.553.4299

Ipswich	 	 Eric Voigt | 605.380.4376
	 	 Joe Galbraith (District CO Supervisor) | 605.380.4563

Lemmon	 	 Keith Mutschler | 605.391.7364

Madison	 	 Cody Symens | 605.480.3364

Martin	 	 Tom Beck | 605.381.6433

Milbank	 	 Blake Swanson | 605.881.3779
	 	 Jamie Pekelder (District CO Supervisor) | 605.881.3778

Miller	 	 Jon Dunlap | 605.730.1570
	 	 Cory Flor (District CO Supervisor) | 605.680.0003

Mobridge	 	 Jacob Schwint | 605.845.6261

	 	 Patrick Beffa  | 605.845.6286

Olivet	 	 Taylor Gerdes | 605.941.4735

Onida	 	 Tyler Krekelberg | 605.730.1384

Plankinton	 	 Lynn Geuke | 605.220.6943

Platte	 	 Jeff Martin (District CO Supervisor) | 605.730.1575

Pierre	 	 Jason Hamil | 605.280.7619

Rapid City	 	 Chris Dekker | 605.390.0923
	 	 Ross Fees | 605.381.3734
	 	 Adam Geigle (District  CO Supervisor) | 605.390.1230
	 	 Jim McCormick (Regional CO Supervisor) | 605.381.9500

Redfield	 	 Shane Pedersen | 605.460.0450

Salem	 	 Matt Talbert | 605.360.0491

CONSERVATION OFFICERS
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CONSERVATION OFFICERS

WILDLIFE DAMAGE SPECIALISTS

Sioux Falls	 	 Craig Fishel | 605.201.3001
	 	 Justin Harman |605.530.7085
	 	 Jared Hill | 605.941.0181
	 	 Jeremy Rakowicz (District CO Supervisor) | 605.941.0074
	 	 Jeremy Roe (Regional CO Supervisor) | 605.940.3519

Sisseton	 	 Dean Shultz | 605.881.3773

Spearfish	 	 Josh Thompson | 605.381.4704
	 	 Mike Apland (District CO Supervisor) | 605.391.1574

Sturgis	 	 Ryan Pearson | 605.391.0836

Tyndall	 	 Todd Crownover | 605.360.0497

Watertown		 Kyle Lenzner | 605.881.3777
	 	 Seth Lorton | 605.880.0009
	 	 Kraig Haase (Regional CO Supervisor) | 605.881.3774

Webster	 	 Austin Norton | 605.881.2177
	 	 Calvin Meyer | 605.237.3275

Winner	 	 Dillon Bates | 605.730.1576

Yankton	 	 Don Allaway | 605.350.1669
	 	 Dan Altman (District CO Supervisor) | 605.941.4549

Aberdeen	 	 Tim Ray | 605.380.2425

Belle Fourche	 Spencer Lynch | 605.786.2283
	 	 Quinn Hanisch | 605.220.1182

Bison	 	 Mel Utter | 605.390.2364

Buffalo	 	 Daniel Laine | 605.381.4482

Chamberlain	 Brent Vander Ley | 605.730.0747
	 	 Dean Bisbee| 605.730.2419

Dallas	 	 Chris McAllister (WDM Supervisor) | 605.295.3530

Faith	 	 Garret Mooney | 605.431.1474

Fort Pierre	 	 Brad Janecke | 605.730.1582
	 	 Jason Burt | 605.730.1581
	 	 Trapper Goltz | 605.730.2353

Hot Springs		 Loren Vande Stroet | 605.890.0532

Huron	 	 Glen Sterling Jr. | 605.350.4648

Milbank	 	 Eric Kraetsch | 605.881.0271

Mitchell	 	 Randy Becker | 605.933.9170
	 	 Dillon Turner | 605.323.9001

Mobridge	 	 Brendan Peterson | 605.730.1579

Keldron	 	 Finn Sacrison | 605.845.6570

Phillip	 	 Collin Rhine | 605.391.6092

Pringle	 	 Jack Alexander (WDM Supervisor) | 605.391.1576

Rapid City	 	 Sean Marsich | 605.415.1132

Redfield	 	 Colton Taylor | 605.460.0240

Sioux Falls	 	 Stacey Bork | 605.305.2829
	 	 Daren Hetland | 605.941.4554
	 	 Greg Wolbrink | 605.351.7068
	 	 Brad Baumgartner (WDM Supervisor) |605.941.1578

Spearfish	 	 Chad Sebade | 605.381.9996

Watertown		 Nick Rossman (WDM Supervisor) | 605.881.8404

Webster	 	 Alex Elias | 605.881.4423
	 	 Aaron Hunt | 605.881.6908	
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ENHANCE 
& PRESERVE
Our Parks and Wildlife
Our mission is to enhance outdoor recreation for future 
generations and preserve our parks and wildlife.

About the Foundation

Current Projects

The Foundation is a separate, nongovernmental, 
nonprofit, public charitable 501(c)(3) support 
organization for the South Dakota Department 
of Game, Fish and Parks.

	» Custer State Park Bison Center
	» Outdoor Campus East Indoor Archery Range
	» Palisades State Park

$18M

3,800

10

1

Raised to enhance SD parks and 
outdoor recreation since 2008

Total donors

Major projects completed 
since 2008

State for us to protect

Donate Today at Parkswildlifefoundation.org
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2021-2022
HUNTING SEASONS

2021-2022 Season Table

Grouse1

Sage Grouse
Partridge
Pheasant

Youth only Sept. 25 - Oct. 3
Residents only Oct. 9-11

Quail
Cottontail Rabbit
Tree Squirrel
Crow The crow hunting season is also open Mar. 1 - Apr. 30
Common Snipe
Mourning Dove

Youth only Sept. 11-12
Low Plains North
Low Plains Middle
Low Plains South
High Plains
Unit 1
Unit 2
Bennett Co.2 Jan. 8-16

Light Geese
White-fronted Geese
Sandhill Crane
Tundra Swan
Fall Turkey
Black Hills Mountain Lion 3

Antelope - Archery Oct. 18-31
Antelope - Rifle Oct. 2-17

Nov. 13-28 Dec. 11-19 6

Nov. 20 - Dec. 5 Dec. 11-19 6

Deer - Refuge
Deer - Custer State Park
Elk - Black Hills and CSP
Elk - Prairie

9 Black Hills season dates 
listed in table are for any elk 
licenses.  Prairie elk season 
dates vary by unit and 
licnese type.  Visit 
https://gfp.sd.gov/elk to view 
applicable season dates.

Aug. 21 - Oct. 1

Sept. 11 - Jan. 1
Nov. 1-30

Dec. 1 - Jan. 1

Varies by elk hunting unit and license type. 9
Archery: Sept. 1-30 Rifle: Oct. 1-31 9

Nov. 1 - Dec. 15 8 
Varies 7

7 Varies by National Wildlife 
Refuge.  Visit 
https://gfp.sd.gov/deer/ to 
view application for season 
dates.

8 Varies by license type.  
Visit https://gfp.sd.gov/deer/ 
to view application for 
season dates.

Oct. 2  - Jan. 7

Sept. 1 - Dec. 16
Nov. 1 - Feb. 13

Deer - Black Hills 
Deer - West River 5

Deer - East River

Sept 1 - Oct. 31

Sept. 1 - Nov. 9

Sept. 25 - Dec. 7

Oct. 9 - Jan. 13

Deer - Archery 4

Nov. 1 - Jan. 31

Deer - Muzzleloader
Deer - Mentored/Youth/Apprentice

Oct. 23 - Jan. 4

Sept. 25 - Jan. 7

Hunting Season

Sept. 1 - Oct. 31

OctoberSeptember

Sept. 1 - Jan. 1

Dec. 26 - April 30

JanuaryDecember

D
uc

ks

November

Sept. 25 - Dec. 7
Sept. 25- Nov. 21

February

C
an

ad
a 

G
ee

se

Oct. 16 - Dec. 19

Sept. 18 - Jan. 2

Sept. 18 - Jan. 2

6 Only antlerless deer tags 
are valid Dec. 11-19.

Sept. 25 - Dec. 7

Sept. 1 - Feb. 28
Sept. 1 - Feb. 28

SEASON CLOSED

Oct. 16 - Jan. 2 3 Open year-round statewide 
outside of the Black Hills Fire 
Protection Area.

5 Units in Gregory County 
have different season dates.

Notes

4 Nonresident archery 
season on public lands has a 
delayed start of Oct. 1.

Oct. 16 - Jan. 31

1 Includes prairie chicken, 
sharp-tailed grouse, and 
ruffed grouse.

2 Special permit required.
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THIS NUMBER IS FOR REPORTING WILDLIFE LAW VIOLATIONS ONLY. OPERATORS ARE NOT EQUIPPED TO HANDLE 
INFORMATION OR TO TRANSFER CALLS.

1.888.OVERBAG | tips.sd.gov

ON NOVEMBER 2, 1983, TWO BULL ELK WERE POACHED NEAR THE 
DEERFIELD AREA. THIS CASE IS WHAT STARTED THE TIPS PROGRAM 
WHICH HAS NOW LED TO OVER:

THE ORIGINAL TIPS CALL

12,535 INVESTIGATIONS
4,718 ARRESTS
$892,981 FINES  
$815,425 LIQUIDATED CIVIL DAMAGES
43,009 DAYS OF JAIL  (39,365 DAYS SUSPENDED)
$189,730 REWARDS PAID 


