State Record Fish Application Directions
See Application Form on Reverse Side

Return application form to:
Fisheries Program Administrator
SD Game, Fish and Parks
20641 SD Hwy 1806
Ft. Pierre, SD 57532-6100

****No new species will be added to the state record fish list.
If a species is not currently on the list, it is not eligible for a state record.****

Application quidelines

1.

2.

No

All applicable information must be completed. Please print legibly or type when filling out
application.

Possible state record fish must be identified and verified by a qualified professional ichthyologist or
fisheries biologist.

Possible state record fish must be weighed on registered scales and weight slip attached if available.
Two witnesses other than the angler must be present during the weighing process OR one
Department of Game, Fish and Parks Fisheries or Law Enforcement employee must be present.
Witness signhature(s) must be present on application form.

Weight must be rounded down to the nearest ounce. To replace the existing record, a fish must
weigh at least one ounce more.

A fish must weigh 1 pound (16 ounces) or more to be eligible for state record status.

A color photograph of the angler with the fish can be submitted to Game, Fish and Parks personnel
along with the completed application (photo can be emailed also).

Sturgeon species (shovelnose, pallid and lake sturgeon) and any state threatened or endangered
species may not be harvested and are therefore, not eligible for state records.

Definitions of eligibility

1.

*Hook and line records must be caught by a licensed angler (anglers younger than 16 years of age
exempt from license requirements) by legal means during legal open season and hours with rod, reel
and line; pole and line; or any legal ice fishing method (not speared or snagged).
*Unrestricted records may be taken by a licensed angler (anglers younger than 16 years of age
exempt from license requirements) by any other legal method than hook and line. This includes
spearing, snagging, bow and arrow, setline or seining (smelt only).

*Aid in landing the fish (i.e. netting, gaffing, etc.) is acceptable.
Fish should be measured for total length in inches, as measured in a straight line along a flat surface,
from the tip of the snout to the tip of the tail. (Paddlefish should be measured from the front of the eye
to the fork in the tail)

Eligible Fish Species

Bass, Largemouth
Bass, Rock

Bass, Smallmouth
Bass, White
Bass, Hybrid
Bluegill

Buffalo, Bigmouth
Buffalo, Smallmouth
Bullhead, Black
Bullhead, Brown
Bullhead, Yellow
Burbot

Carp, Common

Carp, Bighead
Carp, Grass
Carpsucker, River
Catfish, Blue
Catfish, Channel
Catfish, Flathead
Chub, Creek
Chub, Flathead
Crappie, Black
Crappie, White
Drum, Freshwater
Eel, American
European Rudd

Gar, Longnose

Gar, Shortnose
Goldeye

Herring, Lake (Cisco)
Herring, River
Mooneye
Muskellunge
Muskellunge, Tiger
Paddlefish

Perch, Yellow

Pike, Northern

Red Horse, Shorthead
Salmon, Chinook

Salmon, Coho
Salmon, Kokanee
Sauger

Shad, Gizzard
Shiner, Common
Shiner, Golden
Shiner, Red
Shiner, Sand
Smelt, Rainbow
Splake

Stonecat
Sturgeon, Lake
Sturgeon, Pallid

Sturgeon, Shovelnose
Sucker, Blue

Sucker, White
Sunfish, Green
Sunfish, Orange-Spotted
Sunfish, Pumpkinseed
Trout, Brook

Trout, Brown

Trout, Cutthroat
Trout, Lake

Trout, Rainbow

Trout, Tiger

Walleye

Whitefish
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South Dakota State Record Fish Application
South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks

Angler information

Name Fishing License Number
Address City
State Zip Code Phone Number_( )

Angler Signature

Catch information

Species Scientific Name
Date Caught Time Caught
Water where caught County
Type of bait or lure Other legal method

Weight and length information

Owner/agent of scale Signature of agent
Weight: Pounds Ounces Rounded down to nearest ounce
Total Length inches Measurements should be from tip of tail to tip of snout

Note: Paddlefish fork length should be measured-From the front of the eye to the fork in the tail

Girth inches Measure around the widest portion of the fish’'s body

Witness information
Must be witnessed and signed by EITHER two withesses OR one
SD GFP fisheries or law enforcement official in lieu of two witnesses
Witness 1 (non-GFP witness OR GFP fisheries or law enforcement employee)

Name (print) Signature

Date / / Phone number__( )

Witness 2 (non-GFP witness-only necessary if Witness 1 is also non-GFP employee)

Name (print) Signature

Date / / Phone number__( )

Verification and Approval
Must be verified by a qualified ichthyologist or fisheries biologist

Verified by (print) Signature Date / /

Fisheries Program Administrator (signature) Date / /
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