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IMPORTANT
CHANGES

MENTORED LICENSES

» Mentored Licenses will now be issued to the Mentee, to include all Mentored Big Game
Licenses, Mentored Small Game Licenses, Mentored Nonresident Small Game Licenses
and Mentored Nonresident Waterfowl Licenses, and State Migratory Bird Certificate.
For more information, visit pages 88-97.

FURBEARER

» The taking of beaver is prohibited in the Black Hills Fire Protection District.

» Bobcat harvest is limited to one bobcat per trapper/hunter in the Black Hills Fire
Protection District.

TURKEY

» Nonresident turkey licenses are no longer unlimited during the Black Hills turkey hunting
season and hunters must apply for a limited number of turkey licenses. There are 2,225
nonresident turkey licenses available for one male turkey in this unit.

WATERFOWL

» The daily limit on pintail was increased from 1 to 3 pintail per day.

» The bonus blue-winged teal season was reduced from 16 days to 9 days.

» There is no longer a Unit 3 Canada goose season in Bennett County. This area is now
considered a portion of Unit 2.

» Nonresidents who successfully drew a nonresident waterfowl license are required to
purchase a State Migratory Bird Certificate before they start hunting this fall. State
Migratory Bird Certificates can be purchased in Go Outdoors South Dakota.

ELK
» The Prairie Elk Hunting Season Unit PRE-WRA was expanded to include all counties west
of the Missouri River that are not currently in an elk hunting unit.
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CONTACT INFORMATION

GENERAL INFORMATION: 605.223.7660
TTY: 605.223.7684 | email: wildinfo@state.sd.us

Aberdeen: 605.626.2391, 5850 E. Hwy 12 Pierre: 605.773.3387, 523 E. Capitol Ave.
Chamberlain: 605.734.4530, 1550 E. King Ave. Rapid City: 605.394.2391, 4130 Adventure Trail
Ft. Pierre: 605.223.7700, 20641 SD Hwy 1806 Sioux Falls: 605.362.2700, 4500 S. Oxbow Ave.
Huron: 605.353.7145, 895 3rd Street SW Watertown: 605.882.5200, 400 West Kemp

Mobridge: 605.789.4699, 909 Lake Front Drive Webster: 605.626.3343, 603 E. 8th Ave.
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FREQUENTLY ASKED
QUESTIONS

Q: Where can | find application information that gives me deadlines,

draw dates, licenses available, season and preference point
information, and landowner qualification rules?

A: In addition to information in this book, application information can be
found at: gfp.sd.gov/view-applications/

Q: Where can | find information about hunting units, places | can hunt,
and rules on publicly accessible areas like Game Production Areas and
Walk In Areas?

A: In addition to information in this book, information on places to hunt can
be found at: gfp.sd.gov/hunting-areas/

Q: Where can | find information describing opportunities for youth and
new hunters including Learn to Hunt options and Mentored, Youth, and
Apprentice hunting seasons?

A: In addition to information in this book, information can be found at the

links below:

» Mentored hunter, Youth, and Apprentice hunting seasons: gfp.sd.gov/
youth-mentored/

» Hunter education: gfp.sd.gov/hunting-areas/

» Statewide education programs and learn to hunt opportunities:
gfp.sd.gov/education/

Q: Can | possess a deer that was hit by a car?

A: Excluding antlers, an individual can obtain the carcass from an animal hit
by a vehicle with an appropriate permit issued by a Conservation Officer
or other law enforcement personnel. Contact your nearest Regional Office
or Conservation Officer if you have questions.

6 | 2025 South Dakota Hunting and Trapping Handbook



KNOW BEFORE YOU GO:

E-BIKE USE IN SOUTH DAKOTA
As e-bikes continue to grow in popularity, it's critical to
understand where they can be used for hunting. Know

where you can use them, stay legal, protect wildlife,
and preserve hunting access for generations to come.

E-BIKE USE ON THE FOLLOWING LANDS ARE
PROHIBITED, EXCEPT ON ROADS OR POSTED
DESIGNATED TRAILS:

State-Managed Lands: Federal Lands:

» Game Production Areas » Waterfowl Production Areas
» Water Access Areas » Bureau Of Land Management
» State Park & Recreation Areas  » U.S. Forest Service

» School and Public Lands » Bureau of Reclamation

» U.S Army Corps of Engineers

Private Land Enrolled in Public Access

Programs:

» Walk-In Areas

» Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program
» Controlled Hunting Access Program

LOOK FOR SIGNS: "Foot Traffic Only", "Park Cars Here"
"No Vehicles Beyond this Point", “Designated Trail”
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ALL SPECIES
Fishing, hunting, or trapping
Fishing

Small Game (Pheasant,
Grouse, Partridge, Quail,
Cottontail Rabbit, and Tree
Squirrel)

Waterfowl and Migratory
Birds (Ducks, Geese,

Coot, Tundra Swan,

Dove, Snipe, and Sandhill
Crane). Tundra Swan and
Nonresident Waterfow!
must be applied for and
received through the lottery
drawing.

NOTE: Federal Waterfowl
Stamp is not required for
August Management Take,
Spring Light Goose, Coot,
Dove, Snipe, or Sandhill
Crane.

Coyote, Red Fox, Gray Fox,
Skunk, Raccoon, Badger,
Opossum, and Jackrabbit

NOTE: A resident Predator/
Varmint or Furbearer License
is not required

April 1-August 31.

Bobcat, Mink, Weasel,
Beaver, Muskrat, and River
Otter

Prairie Dog, Gopher, Crow,
Ground Squirrel, Porcupine,
and Marmot

Licensed Private Shooting
Preserve

Big Game (including Wild
Turkey)

Except for mentored big game
licensees, hunters must be 12
years of age for Spring Turkey or
12 years of age by Dec. 31 for
other big game seasons

Habitat Stamp plus the required license for the
species and activity for those 18 years or older.*

Habitat Stamp and one of the following:
* Annual Fishing License
¢ 1-Day Fishing License®
* Senior Fishing License (65 and over)
¢ Combination License (Adult or Senior)
* No license required for youth under age
Habitat Stamp and one of the following:
* Small Game License
* 1-Day Small Game License®
Combination License (Adult or Senior)
Youth Small Game License (ages 12-17)*
Mentored Small Game License (youth under
age 16)*
* State Migratory Bird Certificate (Valid July

1- June 30)
* Federal Waterfowl Stamp (ages 16 and older)

Plus Habitat Stamp and one of the following:

* Small Game License

* 1-Day Small Game License®

¢ Combination License (Adult or Senior)

* Youth Small Game License™*

* Mentored Small Game License (youth under
age 16)*

HUNTING | Habitat Stamp and one of the
following:

* Predator/Varmint License

* Furbearer License

* Any Resident Hunting License

* No license required for youth under age 18

TRAPPING | Habitat Stamp and one of the
following:

* Furbearer License

* No license required for youth under age 18
HUNTING OR TRAPPING | Habitat Stamp and
the following:

¢ Furbearer License

* No license required for youth under age

18
Habitat Stamp and one of the following:

* Predator/Varmint License

* Furbearer License

* Any Resident Hunting License

* No license required for youth under age 18

Same licenses required to hunt that species off a
preserve

Resident Big Game License and Habitat Stamp

Habitat Stamp plus the required license for the
species and activity for those 18 years or older.*

Habitat Stamp and one of the following:
* Annual Fishing License

* 1-Day Fishing License®

¢ 3-Day Fishing License

* No license required for youth under age

Habitat Stamp and one of the following:

* Nonresident Small Game License

* Nonresident Youth Small Game License (ages
12-17)*

Mentored Small Game License (youth under
age 16)*

* State Migratory Bird Certificate (Valid July 1—
June 30)
* Federal Waterfowl Stamp (ages 16 and older)

Plus Habitat Stamp and the following:
Waterfowl: Nonresident Waterfowl License
(received through lottery drawing)

Dove and Snipe: Nonresident Small Game
License or Nonresident Youth Small Game License
(ages 12-17)*, or Mentored Small Game License
(youth under age 16)*

Sandhill Crane: Nonresident Small Game License,
Nonresident Youth Small Game License (ages
12-17)*, Mentored Small Game License (youth
under age 16)*, or any Nonresident Waterfowl
License

NOTE: The State Migratory Bird Certificate alone does
not entitle nonresidents to hunt waterfowl.

HUNTING | Habitat Stamp and one of the
following:

Nonresident Predator/Varmint License

Any Nonresident Hunting License other than
Nonresident Private Shooting Preserve License
No shooting of badger or raccoon is allowed
unless they possess a non-resident furbearer
license.

TRAPPING | Habitat Stamp and the following:

* Nonresident Furbearer License

HUNTING OR TRAPPING | Habitat Stamp and

the following:

* Nonresident Furbearer License

* River Otter is resident only

Habitat Stamp and one of the following:

* Nonresident Predator/Varmint License

* Any Nonresident Hunting License other than
Nonresident Private Shooting Preserve License

* Nonresident Furbearer License

One of the following:

* Nonresident Shooting Preserve License*

* Nonresident Small Game License

* Nonresident Youth Small Game License

* Same licenses as needed to hunt that species off
a preserve

Nonresident Big Game License and Habitat Stamp

* No Habitat Stamp is required for one-day hunting or one-day fishing licenses, Mentored Small Game License, youth hunting license,

any private shooting preserve license, landowner hunting license, resident reduced fee disabled license, or to purchase preference

points.
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BORDER WATERS

On border waters with adjacent
states, other than Nebraska, individuals
with a valid South Dakota hunting or
trapping license may only take wild
animals on South Dakota’s side of the
border. However, on the South Dakota-
Nebraska border waters a hunter
holding a resident South Dakota or a
resident Nebraska license may enter
and leave the water from either state’s
shore. Individuals holding a nonresident
license must enter and leave the water
from the shore of the state in which
they are licensed. Deeded islands in
the Missouri River require the license
of the state in which they are deeded.
South Dakota islands include: James
River Island, Gunderson Island and
Jones Island. Nebraska islands include:
Mayfield Island and Elk/Rush Island.
Sandbars and islands not deeded and
not attached to either state and Lake
Yankton are open to hunting by licensed
hunters from either state.

The Springfield Bottoms are open
only to South Dakota licensed hunters
and the Bazile Creek Area is open only
to Nebraska licensed hunters.

Hunters licensed by either state may
hunt anywhere in the flowing Missouri
River if water separates the hunter from
the mainland of the other state.

BUYING LICENSES

Resident and nonresident licenses can
be purchased online at gfp.sd.gov, or
with the GFP mobile app. Many over-
the-counter resident and nonresident
licenses may be purchased at many
retail stores in South Dakota and at a
few County Treasurer offices. When
purchasing licenses over-the-counter you
must have your state-issued ID with you.

Big game licenses (including turkey

licenses) and Nonresident Waterfowl
Licenses are issued by lottery and

can be completed through the online
licensing application system. Application
information can be found at: gfp.
sd.gov/view-applications

CARRYING/EXHIBITING LICENSES

A licensee shall exhibit the licensee’s
license or license authorization issued by
GFP upon request by a Conservation
Officer or other law enforcement
officer. A licensee who is 16 years
of age or older who holds the license
authorization, shall exhibit, and provide
for inspection a driver’s license, a state-
issued identification card, or another
form of valid identification for the
purpose of verifying the identity of the
licensee.

Hunters can use their smartphone to
display a copy of their license instead
of a paper copy.

DELINQUENT CHILD SUPPORT

South Dakota law prohibits the
issuance of any license or permit issued
by GFP if an individual owes $1,000 or
more in past-due child support, unless
the individual enters into a repayment
agreement with the Department of
Social Services (DSS) for payment of
the delinquent child support. For more
information, contact the Division of Child
Support at 605.773.3641.

SHOOT FROM A VEHICLE PERMIT

A ‘Shoot From a Vehicle’ Permit
allows a qualified hunter to lawfully
shoot game animals from a stationary
motor vehicle. This includes big game
animals such as deer, antelope, elk, and
turkey as well as small game animals
such as grouse, pheasants, partridge,
rabbits, and waterfowl.
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The ‘Shoot From a Vehicle’ Permits
are free to qualified hunters, valid for a
four-year period and may be renewed
within 60 days of the expiration date.
A temporary permit can be issued for
no more than 12 months for temporary
ambulatory injuries.

NOTE: The ‘Shoot From a Vehicle’
Permit is intended for use only in
situations where an applicant’s physical
or medical condition makes it impossible
or causes severe pain or physical
hardship for the applicant to walk while
hunting.

Qualifying individuals must have
at least one of the following physical
disabilities or medical conditions:

» Has lost one or both legs or who has
temporarily or permanently lost the
use of one or both legs;

P

¥

Requires a wheelchair for mobility;
P

¥

Is physically unable to walk without
the assistance of another person,
prosthetic aid, brace, crutch or other
device that is intended to support or
assist the person while walking;

P

¥

Requires use of portable oxygen;

» Is unable to walk a distance of more

¥

than 300 feet without assistance or
rest due to arthritic, neurological or
orthopedic condition;

P

¥

Has been diagnosed with a
neuromuscular disorder (such as
muscular dystrophy or multiple
sclerosis);

P

¥

Has been diagnosed with a Class Il
cardiac disease resulting in marked
limitation of physical activity;

P

¥

Has been diagnosed with a Class
IV cardiac disease resulting in the
inability to carry on any physical
activity without discomfort;

P

¥

Is restricted by lung disease to such
a degree that the person’s forced
expiratory volume in one second,

when measured by a spirometer,
is less than one liter; or the arterial
oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/
hg on room air at rest.

In addition:

» Persons who have lost an arm or
permanent or temporary use of an
arm or use a wheelchair for mobility
may be eligible for a crossbow/
draw-lock permit.

» Persons classified as legally blind or
quadriplegic may be eligible for a
Designated Shooter Permit.

Applications may be downloaded at:
gfp.sd.gov/disabled-hunter or obtained
from any GFP Wildlife Division office.

LOST LICENSES

Lost general hunting and fishing
licenses may be replaced by any local
licensing agent. Agents may charge
a standard agent fee ($4 or $8) for
replacing general hunting and fishing
licenses. In addition, licenses may be
reprinted at home by the licensee at
any time.

Big game licensees should contact
GFP at 605.223.7660 for information
on replacing lost big game licenses.
The cost to replace big game licenses
is $4 for residents and $8 for
nonresidents.

REVOKED LICENSES

If a person is convicted of certain
wildlife violations, the person’s
hunting or trapping privilege shall be
automatically revoked for one or more
years and that person is prohibited
from buying or applying for another
license during that time.

Any person whose hunting or
trapping privileges are currently
revoked or suspended in any other
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state or country may not purchase a
license or exercise the same privilege
in South Dakota during the period of
revocation or suspension.

No person who has an unpaid and
unsatisfied judgment issued for wildlife
civil damages may hunt, fish, or trap
or purchase, attempt to purchase or
possess any South Dakota
hunting, fishing, or trapping license.

RESTRICTIONS

No one may, at any time apply
for, procure, or possess a license or
preference point under an assumed
name or in which an address other than
the person’s regular place of residence
is given. Persons may not make any
false statement whatsoever in securing
a license or preference point. Persons
may not lend a license or tag to another
person or knowingly issue or aid in
securing a license or preference point
for any person not legally entitled to it.

TRIBAL INFORMATION

State hunting licenses are valid
on private, deeded lands within the
exterior boundaries of reservations.

State hunting licenses are not valid
on tribal trust lands and tribal licenses
are not valid on private deeded lands
within a reservation. Persons planning
to hunt on tribal lands should contact
the appropriate tribal office. If hunting
on U.S. Army Corps of Engineers lands
adjoining the Crow Creek or Standing
Rock Reservations, state licensing
requirements, seasons and bag limits
apply.

Ownership of the former U.S. Army
Corps of Engineers lands on the Lower
Brule Sioux Reservation and Cheyenne
River Sioux Reservation has been
transferred to the respective tribes. All

tribal and federal laws apply down to
the water’s edge. Please contact the
appropriate tribal office for specific
information.

RETURNED LICENSES

GFP accepts license returns for all big
game and limited draw seasons. To be
eligible for a refund and reinstatement
of preference points the following rules
apply:
1. Deer licenses obtained during

the combined deer drawing must

be postmarked no later than

September 24.
2. Elk licenses, including all licenses

issued to landowners, must be

postmarked no later than August 1.
3. All other licenses must be

postmarked prior to the start of

the respective season.
Hunters returning their tags by these

deadlines will receive a full refund and
preference points for that season will
be reinstated. Returned deer licenses
will be posted on the GFP licensing
website and available via a lottery
drawing process. Preference points will
not be used during this lottery drawing.
For more information about the drawing
for returned licenses and eligibility
requirements, please visit: gfp.sd.gov/
returned-tags/.

Mail returned licenses with a note
specifying this is a return license to: GFP
Licensing Office, 20641 SD Hwy 1806,
Fort Pierre, SD 57532.

YOUTH ACCOMPANIMENT

A parent, guardian or responsible
adult (at least 18 years old) must
accompany youth under age 16 while
hunting.
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START YOUR SEASON WITH
A SAFETY REMINDER.

Learn how to be safe in the field and brush
up on your skills before the season starts
by taking a HuntSAFE class. B

=== Scan to register
for a HuntSAFE

=
7 class today.

BASE CAMP

Camping Cabins sleep up
to five people and are
located near prime hunting
destinations across the state.

SCAN FOR MORE INFORMATION
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RESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION

RESIDENT LICENSES AND FEES
2025 licenses are valid Dec. 15, 2024 through Jan. 31, 2026
2026 licenses are valid Dec. 15, 2025 through Jan. 31, 2027 (license fees subject to change)
*State Migratory Bird Certificates are valid from July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026

Habitat Stamp $10
Combination (small game and fishing)* $60
Senior Combination, ages 65+ (small game and fishing)* $43
Small Game* $36
One-day Small Game $15
Youth Small Game, ages 12-17. $5
Mentored Small Game (youth under 16) $5
State Migratory Bird Certificate $5
Predator/Varmint $6
Furbearer $31
Federal Waterfowl E-Stamp (Online Only) $29

* Fee includes a $6 surcharge mandated by state law. Revenue derived from this surcharge is dedi-
cated to hunting access, wildlife damage management, and animal damage control programs.

RESIDENCY

To be eligible for a resident license,

a person must meet all the following

criteria:

» Have a domicile within this state
for at least 90 consecutive days
immediately preceding the date
of application for purchasing or
attempting to purchase any hunting,
fishing or trapping license /permit.
A domicile is a person’s established,
fixed and permanent home in which
the person physically lives, and
whenever absent, has the present
intention of returning;

» Make no claim of residency in any

other state or foreign country for

any purpose;

Claim no resident hunting, fishing

or trapping privileges in any other

state or foreign country;

Transfer the applicant’s driver’s

license and motor vehicle

»

T

P

¥

¥

¥

¥

¥

due to business of the United States
or of this state or is serving in the
armed forces of the United States or
the spouse of an active duty military
person;

Any person who previously had

a domicile in this state who is
absent due to the person’s regular
attendance at a post high school
institution as a full-time student or

in a medical or dental residency
program;

Any person in the active military of
the United States, or that person’s
spouse, who is continuously stationed
in this state;

Any person who is a patient in any
war veterans’ hospital within this
state;

Any person who is an employee of
the veterans’ administration or any
veterans’ hospital in this state;

registrations to South Dakota prior to
any application.
EXCEPTIONS: The following persons
are deemed to be residents of this
state if they continue to meet any of
the conditions set forth below:

»

¥

Any person residing on restricted
military reservations in this state;
»

¥

Any person attending regularly a
post-high school institution in this
state as a full-time student for 30

» Any person who previously had a
domicile in this state who is absent

days or more immediately preceding
the application;
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» Any foreign exchange student over
16 years of age attending a public
or private high school who has
resided in the state for 30 days or
more preceding the application;

P

X

Any foreign exchange student

between the ages of 12 and 16

who has completed a hunter safety

education course and has been issued

a certificate of competency upon

completion of instruction and who

has resided in the state for 30 days

or more preceding application for a

license;

» Any person who is a minor dependent
of a resident of this state;

P

X

For the purpose of acquiring resident
small game and fishing licenses, any
person who does not reside in South
Dakota, but who is a member of the
South Dakota National Guard or of
any other unit of a reserve component
of the armed forces of the United
States located in South Dakota.

PROOF OF RESIDENCY
To buy a license, a resident age 16
or older needs a valid South Dakota
driver’s license or a state-issued and
expiration-dated South Dakota ID card.
Either can be obtained at a state
driver’s license office. Hunters under
age 16 are required to provide
a certificate of completion from a
hunter safety education course unless
participating in the mentored hunter
program.

TERMINATION OF RESIDENCY

A person (other than a person who
fits into one of the above EXCEPTIONS)
is deemed to have terminated their
South Dakota resident hunting, fishing,
and trapping status if the person does
any of the following:
» Applies for, purchases or accepts a

RESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION

resident hunting, fishing, or trapping
license issued by another state or
foreign country;

X

Registers to vote in another state or
foreign country;

X

Accepts a driver’s license issued by
another state or foreign country;

X

Moves to any other state or foreign
country and makes it the person’s
domicile or makes any claim of
residency for any purpose in the other
state or foreign country;

X

Resides in any other state, territory,
or country for an aggregate of 180
or more days in a calendar year.
However, a person who has lawfully
acquired a resident hunting, fishing, or
trapping license and who leaves the
state after acquiring the license to take
up residency elsewhere may continue to
exercise all the privileges granted by
the license until the license expires if the
person’s respective privileges are not
revoked or suspended.

MILITARY GENERAL FISHING AND
HUNTING LICENSE

Any resident who is on active duty in
the armed forces of the United States
and who is stationed at a location
outside the state may fish and hunt small
game without payment of a fee or the
applicable hunting and fishing license
authorizing the activity. However, if the
resident is hunting migratory birds, the
resident shall obtain a State Migratory
Bird Certificate and Federal Waterfowl
Stamp (when necessary). While
engaged in the permitted activity,
the resident shall possess and display
appropriate military orders indicating
the resident is on active duty stationed
outside of South Dakota and a valid
military identification card. This section
does not apply to any person who is
serving on active duty for training as a
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member of the armed forces reserve or
National Guard.

MILITARY BIG GAME LICENSE -
ACTIVE DUTY

Any person in the armed services of
the United States who is absent from
this state on active duty during the
entire time for making application and
is otherwise qualified and a resident
of South Dakota, may apply for and
shall receive deer, turkey, and antelope
licenses. In addition, any spouse and
minor dependent child of such a person
in the armed services who are also
absent from this state during the entire
time for making application and are
otherwise qualified, may apply for and
shall receive deer, turkey, and antelope
licenses.

BIG GAME LICENSE

Big game licenses allow the licensee
to hunt prairie dog, jackrabbit, gopher,
ground squirrel, crow, porcupine,
marmot, red fox, grey fox, coyotes,
skunks, opossum, and other unprotected
species through Jan. 31. For a big game
license to be valid to hunt these species,
the licensee must retain the top portion
of the big game license.

HABITAT STAMP

A person eighteen years of age or
older shall purchase a habitat stamp
when applying for or purchasing a
hunting or fishing license. A person is
not required to purchase more than
one habitat stamp in a license year.
Purchase of the habitat stamp is not
required for the 1-Day Resident Small
Game License, the 1-Day Resident
Fishing License, any youth hunting
license, any landowner hunting license,
any reduced fee disabled license or

RESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION

purchasing preference points.

COMBINATION LICENSE

All Combination Licenses grant the
same privileges as the Fishing License
and Small Game License. They do
not include the State Migratory Bird
Certificate.

DISABILITY LICENSE
The following residents may apply to
the License Office to receive a Disability
License that is equivalent to the Fishing
License and Small Game License and is
valid for four years:
» Persons who are paraplegics, or
otherwise permanently physically
unable to walk;

¥

Persons blind or visually impaired;

» A person who has a developmental
disability (fishing only), contact the
GFP License Office at 605.223.7660
or visit gfp.sd.gov.

¥

Resident veterans can qualify for a

Disability License in one of four ways:

1. If they receive a veteran’s allotment
for a 40% or more disability which
is deemed a service-connected
injury.

2. If they have received the
Department of Veterans Affairs “K”
Award.

3. If they have served on active duty
in the armed forces of the United
States or have served as a member
of the armed forces reserve or
national guard, and the resident
is 40% or more disabled for the
purposes of receiving social security
benefits.

4. If they were a Prisoner of War.

A person must apply on forms

provided by GFP and provide proof

of South Dakota residency with the
application.
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Details and applications are available
from GFP Regional Offices or by calling
605.223.7660 for details.

FEDERAL WATERFOWL STAMP

The Federal Waterfowl Stamp is
an additional requirement for those
ages 16 and older to hunt ducks,
geese, tundra swan and merganser. An
electronic Federal Waterfowl Stamp
may be purchased online at gfp.sd.gov.
The electronic Federal Waterfowl Stamp
is valid from July 1, 2025 through
June 30, 2026. The electronic Federal
Woaterfowl Stamp will not have a
physical stamp mailed to the purchaser
until March 15, 2026. An electronic
Federal Waterfowl Stamp can be
presented to a wildlife Conservation
Officer upon request via the state’s
electronic licensing system under which
it was purchased or a paper license
(issued to the hunter/purchaser) that
includes the purchase of an electronic
Federal Waterfowl Stamp. Physical
Federal Waterfowl Stamps must be
signed while in possession to be legal.
The Federal Waterfowl Stamp is part of
the waterfowl hunting requirements in all
states. However, hunters are required to
purchase only one electronic or physical
stamp. A lost or destroyed Federal
Woaterfowl Stamp can only be replaced
by purchasing a new one. To purchase
a physical stamp, check with your local
U.S. Postal Office.

NOTE: A Federal Waterfowl Stamp
is not needed to hunt sandhill crane,
mourning dove, snipe, and coot; or
light geese during the Spring Light
Goose Conservation Order; or Canada
goose during August Management
Take. However, a State Migratory Bird
Certificate is still required for these
species.

RESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION

STATE MIGRATORY BIRD CERTIFICATE

Except for landowners hunting on
land that they own or lease, residents
(including all youth small game license
holders) hunting migratory birds and/or
waterfowl must complete and purchase
this certificate.

Migratory birds that require this
certificate for hunting include ducks,
geese, tundra swan, Sandhill crane,
mourning doves, snipe, and coof. This
certificate should not be confused with
the Federal Waterfowl Stamp.

Hunters must choose which waterfowl
regulation option (Traditional or Three-
duck daily bag limit) they want to hunt
with for the entire season at the time of
purchasing their State Migratory Bird
Certificate.

FURBEARER LICENSE

The Furbearer License is required
to trap coyote, red fox, grey fox,
jackrabbit, raccoon, badger, bobcat,
river otter, opossum, mink, weasel,
beaver, muskrat, and skunk; and when
and where allowed is required to hunt
bobcat, river otter, opossum, mink,
weasel, beaver and muskrat. However,
a Furbearer License is not required for
residents to trap raccoon, skunk, badger,
opossum, jackrabbit, red fox, grey fox,
and coyote from April 1 - Aug. 31. No
license is required for resident youth
under age 18.

PREDATOR/VARMINT LICENSE

The Predator/Varmint License is
needed to hunt coyote, red fox, grey
fox, skunk, raccoon, badger, prairie
dog, gopher, crow, opossum, jackrabbit,
ground squirrel, porcupine, and marmot.
Other licenses that may be used in lieu
of the Predator/Varmint License include
any valid resident South Dakota hunting
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license or furbearer license. For a big
game license to be valid, the licensee
must retain the top portion of the big
game license. No license is required for
resident youth under age 18.

MENTORED HUNTING PROGRAM
(UNDER AGE 16)

See information in the Mentored
sections in the back of the book.

YOUTH LICENSES (AGES 12-17)
See information in the Mentored
sections in the back of the book.

LANDOWNERS

Resident landowners and their
immediate family (husband, wife and
children residing at home or on land
owned or leased by the landowner) may
trap furbearers and hunt their property
for small game (pheasant,
grouse, partridge, quail, cottontail
rabbit, squirrel, mourning dove and
snipe), furbearers (opossum, muskrat,

TRY ONX HUNT

FOR ONE MONTH

RESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION

beaver, mink, skunk, raccoon, badger,
red fox, grey fox, coyote, bobcat,
weasel, river ofter, and jackrabbit)
and predators/ varmints (prairie
dog, gopher, crow, chipmunk, ground
squirrel, porcupine, and marmot) without
obtaining a hunting or Furbearer License.
Landowners are exempt from state
licensing requirements for waterfowl
hunting on their property but must
purchase a Federal Waterfowl Stamp
if they hunt ducks, geese, swans and
mergansers. All laws and rules (season
dates, bag limits, etc.) pertaining to
hunting and trapping must be followed.
Landowners are also exempt from the
habitat stamp requirement when hunting
on their own land.

SHOOTING PRESERVES

Residents hunting small game on
licensed shooting preserves must possess
a South Dakota license valid to hunt
small game.

OH [ HUNT

FREE

@ SCAN ME

TRUSTED BY MILLIONS OF HUNTERS
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NONRESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION

NONRESIDENT LICENSES AND FEES
2025 licenses are valid Dec. 15, 2024 through Jan. 31, 2026
2026 licenses are valid Dec. 15, 2025 through Jan. 31, 2027 (license fee subject to change)

*State Migratory Bird Certificates are valid from July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026
Habitat Stamp $25
Small Game (two 5-day periods)* $142
Youth Small Game, ages 12-17 (two 5-day periods) $10
Mentored Small Game (youth under 16) $10
Waterfowl (valid two 5-day periods, lottery application only)* $145
Waterfowl (valid 3 days, lottery application only)* $106
Early Fall Canada Goose* $51
Spring Light Goose Conservation Order* $61
Youth Spring Light Goose Conservation Order*, ages 12-17 $21
State Migratory Bird Certificate $5
Predator/Varmint $46
Furbearer (application only) $325
Shooting Preserve (annual)* $146
Shooting Preserve (5-day)* $96
Shooting Preserve (1-day)* $50
Federal Waterfowl E-Stamp (Online Only) $29
* Fee includes a $6 surcharge mandated by state law. Revenue derived from this surcharge is
dedicated to hunting access, wildlife damage management, and animal damage control programs.

BIG GAME LICENSES

Big game licenses allow the licensee
to hunt prairie dog, jackrabbit, gopher,
ground squirrel, crow, porcupine, marmot,
red fox, grey fox, coyotes, skunks,
opossum, and other unprotected species
through Jan. 31. For a big game license to
be valid to hunt these species, the licensee
must retain the top portion of the big
game license.

HABITAT STAMP

A person eighteen years of age or
older shall purchase a habitat stamp when
applying for or purchasing a hunting or
fishing license. A person is not required
to purchase more than one habitat stamp
within a license year. Any person required
to obtain a hunting or fishing license may
not fish and hunt, or trap without a habitat
stamp.

FEDERAL WATERFOWL STAMP

The Federal Waterfowl Stamp is an
additional requirement for those ages 16
and older to hunt ducks, geese, tundra
swan and merganser. An electronic

Federal Waterfowl Stamp may be
purchased online at gfp.sd.gov. The
electronic Federal Waterfowl Stamp is
valid from July 1, 2025 through June 30,
2026. The electronic Federal Waterfowl
Stamp will not have a physical stamp
mailed to the purchaser until March 15,
2026. An electronic Federal Waterfowl
Stamp can be presented to a wildlife
Conservation Officer upon request via
the state’s electronic licensing system
under which it was purchased or a paper
license (issued to the hunter/purchaser)
that includes the purchase of an electronic
Federal Waterfowl Stamp. Physical
Federal Waterfowl Stamps must be
signed while in possession to be legal.
The Federal Waterfowl Stamp is part of
the waterfowl hunting requirements in all
states. However, hunters are required to
purchase only one electronic or physical
stamp. A lost or destroyed Federal
Waterfowl Stamp can only be replaced
by purchasing a new one. To purchase a
physical stamp, check with your local U.S.
Postal Office.
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NOTE: A Federal Waterfowl Stamp

is not needed to hunt sandhill crane,
mourning dove, snipe, and coot; or
light geese during the Spring Light
Goose Conservation Order; or Canada
goose during August Management
Take. However, a State Migratory Bird
Certificate is still required for these
species.

FURBEARER LICENSE

The Nonresident Furbearer License is
required to trap coyote, red fox, grey
fox, raccoon, badger, bobcat, opossum,
mink, weasel, beaver, muskrat, and
skunks; and when and where allowed
is required fo hunt raccoon, badger,
bobcat, opossum, mink, weasel, beaver,
and muskrat. Applications are available
at local offices or online at gfp.sd.gov.

LANDOWNERS

Eligible nonresident landowners
may purchase a landowner-own-land
license for West River Deer and the
firearm antelope hunting season. Eligible
nonresident landowners can also apply
for East River landowner-own-land deer
hunting seasons via drawing only.

PREDATOR/VARMINT LICENSE

Nonresidents may hunt prairie dog,
jackrabbit, gopher, ground squirrel,
crow, porcupine, marmot, red fox, grey
fox, coyotes, and skunks if they possess
a Predator/Varmint License or any valid
South Dakota Hunting or Furbearer
License (other than nonresident shooting
preserve).

SHOOTING PRESERVE LICENSE

South Dakota permits private
shooting preserves to offer hunting from
September 1 - March 31. Nonresidents
hunting on a licensed shooting preserve

NONRESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION

need the Nonresident Shooting Preserve
License, Nonresident Small Game License,
or a Nonresident Youth Small Game
License.

The Shooting Preserve License is valid
through January 31 only on licensed
shooting preserves and allows the hunter
to take only the game for which the
preserve is licensed. The license is valid
to take Predator/Varmints on preserves
through March 31.

The Small Game License is valid
outside the shooting preserve for the two
5-day periods specified on the license
and valid on licensed shooting preserves
through January 31 for the species for
which the preserve is licensed.

SMALL GAME LICENSE

The Small Game License, Youth Small
Game License, and Mentored Small
Game License is valid for two periods of
five consecutive days.

Starting dates must be chosen for
BOTH periods when the license is
purchased. Both dates must be filled
in on the license even if the two 5-day
periods run consecutively. Nonresidents
may buy more than one Small Game
License.

The start date for each 5-day period
may be changed prior to the start date.
The change may be made online or at
any license agent. License agents may
charge a fee of up to $8.

This license also allows nonresidents to
shoot coyotes, red and grey fox, skunks,
prairie dogs and other unprotected
species through January 31 and to hunt
on licensed shooting preserves through
January 31.

STATE MIGRATORY BIRD CERTIFICATE
All nonresidents hunting migratory
birds and/or waterfowl must complete
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and purchase this certificate.

Migratory birds that require this
certificate for hunting include ducks,
geese, tundra swan, Sandhill crane,
mourning doves, snipe, and coot. This
state certificate should not be confused
with the Federal Waterfowl Stamp.

NOTE: The State Migratory Bird
Certificate is no longer combined with the
Nonresident Waterfowl license. Hunters
must choose which duck regulation option
(Traditional or Three- Duck daily bag
limit) they want to hunt with for the entire
season at the time of purchasing their
State Migratory Bird Certificate. See
page 32 for more information.

MENTORED HUNTING PROGRAM
(UNDER AGE 16)

See information in Mentored sections in
the back of the book.

YOUTH LICENSES (AGES 12-17)
See information in the back of the
book.

WATERFOWL LICENSES

A Nonresident Waterfowl license
is required for nonresidents to hunt
migratory waterfowl and can be
purchased online. Licenses for most fall
seasons are issued by lottery drawing.
Nonresident Youth Waterfowl licenses
are only valid during the two-day Youth
Waterfowl season.

Licensed waterfowl hunters may only
hunt within the unit designated on their
license.

The fall Nonresident Waterfowl license
for Unit 00B is valid for two 5-day
periods; Unit O0A is valid through the
entire season; and Units 00V, 00X, 00Y

NONRESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION

and 00Z are valid for three consecutive
days. Licenses are valid on private and
public land for Units 00A, 00B, and

00Y. Licenses are valid only on private
land for Units 00V, 00X and 00Z; these
licenses are not valid on private property
leased by GFP for public hunting or on
public highways or other rights-of-way
otherwise open to hunting.

The Nonresident Early Fall Canada
Goose license is valid Sept. 1 - Sept. 30.
Nonresidents may not hunt geese during
this season in Unit 2.

On all limited-days, Nonresident
Waterfowl licenses, successful applicants
must provide a start date before hunting.
The dates can be changed prior to the
start date either online, at license agents,
or through any GFP Wildlife Division
office. Hunters must print their license
at home or have on their smartphone.
These Nonresident Waterfowl licenses
also allow nonresidents to hunt coyotes,
red and grey fox, skunks, prairie dogs,
opossum, and other unprotected species
through January 31.

NONRESIDENT MILITARY THREE-DAY
WATERFOWL LICENSE

Qualifying nonresident armed forces
members who are on active duty may
purchase one fall three-day temporary
nonresident waterfowl license. This license
is valid only on private land. Complete
information is available on gfp.sd.gov/
nonresident-military-waterfowl-license.
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NONRESIDENT LICENSE INFORMATION

NONRESIDENT WATERFOWL HUNTING UNITS:
3-DAY SEASON MAP

10-DAY AND SEASON-LONG MAP

"

Units 00B are valid for two 5-day periods

Unit 00A is valid through the entire season

Units 00V, 00X, 00Y, and 00Z are valid for three consecutive days.

Licenses are valid on private and public for Units 00A, 00B, and 00Y. Licenses are
valid only on private land for Units 00V, 00X, and 00Z.
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DATES: Oct. 18—Jan. 31

OPEN AREA: All of South Dakota except:

» Renziehausen Game Production Area and Game Bird Refuge in Brown and
Marshall counties, Gerken Game Bird Refuge in Faulk County and White Lake
Game Bird Refuge in Marshall County are open Dec. 1-Jan. 31.

» Sand Lake National Wildlife Refuge in Brown County is open Dec. 8—Jan. 31.

DAILY LIMIT: 3 rooster pheasants.

POSSESSION LIMIT: 15 rooster pheasants, taken according to the daily limit. The

limit accrues at the rate of 3 birds a day and 15 birds may not be possessed until

after the fifth day of hunting.

SHOOTING HOURS: 10 a.m., Central Time, to sunset. NOTE: Central Time is used

for opening shooting hours statewide.

DATES: Sept. 27—Oct. 5

OPEN AREA: Statewide on private and public land. Hunting on road rights-of-
way is limited to those contiguous to and a part of public hunting lands open for
hunting.

DAILY LIMIT: 3 rooster pheasants.

POSSESSION LIMIT: 15 rooster pheasants, taken according to daily limit. The
limit accrues at the rate of 3 birds a day and 15 birds may not be possessed until
after the fifth day of hunting.

SHOOTING HOURS: 10 a.m., Central Time, to sunset. NOTE: Central Time is used
for opening shooting hours statewide.

ELIGIBILITY: Resident and nonresident youth hunters must be 12 (or turn 12 by
Dec. 31) through 17 years old and properly licensed to hunt during the Youth
Pheasant season. Those under age 16 must possess a valid hunter education
certificate. If participating in a Mentored Hunt, the youth hunter must be 15 years
of age or younger

SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS: All youth hunters must be accompanied by an
unarmed adult. It is advisable that all wear at least one exterior garment of
fluorescent orange or fluorescent pink.

DATES: Oct. 11-13

OPEN AREA: Public lands, statewide, which include the following:

» Hunting on road rights-of-way is limited to those contiguous to and a part of
public hunting lands open for hunting.

» U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Waterfowl Production Areas.

» U.S. Army Corps of Engineers land adjacent to the Missouri River.

» U.S. Forest Service National Grasslands.
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» U.S. Bureau of Reclamation Land.

» SD School and Public Lands.

» State parks, recreation areas and lakeside use areas.

» GFP managed or leased property otherwise open to public hunting, including
Game Production Areas open during the regular pheasant season.

» GFP managed and leased property designated as Walk-in Areas and land
enrolled in the Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP).

» Non-toxic shot is required to hunt small game on most public lands.

DAILY LIMIT: 3 rooster pheasants.

POSSESSION LIMIT: 9 rooster pheasants, taken according to the daily limit. Limit

accrues at the rate of 3 birds a day; 9 birds may not be possessed until after the

third day of hunting.

SHOOTING HOURS: 10 a.m., Central Time, to sunset. NOTE: Central Time is used

for opening shooting hours statewide.

Includes ruffed grouse.

DATES: Sept. 20—Jan. 31

OPEN AREA: Statewide.

DAILY LIMIT: 3 (any combination).

POSSESSION LIMIT: 15 (any combination) taken according to the daily limit. Limit
accrues at the rate of 3 birds a day; 15 birds may not be possessed until after
the fifth day of hunting.

SHOOTING HOURS: Sunrise to sunset statewide.

Attention Prairie-Chicken and Grouse Hunters

Prairie chicken and sharp-tailed grouse hunters are requested to voluntarily
submit wings at wing box collection sites found on the Fort Pierre, Grand River
and Buffalo Gap National Grasslands, with additional locations found across
the state. This information is used to assist biologists in monitoring prairie grouse
populations. Your cooperation to collect this information is greatly appreciated.
View a listing of all wing box collection locations at gfp.sd.gov and search “wing
box locations.”

SEASON CLOSED

DATES: Sept. 20—Jan. 31

OPEN AREA: Statewide.

DAILY LIMIT: 5 (any combination).

POSSESSION LIMIT: 15 (any combination) taken according to the daily limit. Limit
accrues at the rate of 5 birds a day; 15 birds may not be possessed until after
the third day of hunting.

SHOOTING HOURS: Sunrise to sunset statewide.
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SMALL GAME HUNTING INFORMATION

QUAIL

DATES: Oct. 18—Jan. 31

OPEN AREA: Statewide.

DAILY LIMIT: 5 (any combination).

POSSESSION LIMIT: 15 (any combination) taken according to the daily limit. Limit
accrues at the rate of 5 birds a day; 15 birds may not be possessed until after
the third day of hunting.

SHOOTING HOURS: Sunrise to sunset statewide.

Attention Dog Owners

Hunters who hunt public lands and road rights-of-way should understand their
dogs may encounter fences, barbed wire, posts, old machinery or other materials
that may cause injury. In addition, most public lands allow trapping and snaring.
Dog owners should be aware they are sharing these lands with other users and
may encounter these activities. Landowner permission is required for trapping on
lands leased for public hunting such as: Walk-In Areas (WIA), Controlled Hunting
and Access Program (CHAP) and Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program
(CREP) areas, however, the same potential risks may exist on these lands as well.
Visit gfp.sd.gov/pages/remove-dog/ to view an informational video.

Cultural resources provide an understanding and appreciation of South Dakota’s heritage.
The removal of cultural resource artifacts from state Game, Fish and Parks managed land is S8
a violation of state and federal laws. =

If you find an artifact, please leave it in its place and contact our Department Cultural
i Resonrce Protection Officer at 605.668.2985. Please provide accurate information on where
the item or items were located.

HELP PROTECT OUR CULTURAL RESOURCES.

gfp.sd.gov | 605.223.7660 | 29



WATERFOWL
HUNTING
INFORMATION




Visit: gfp.sd.gov/maps to view an interactive map of these units.

HIGH PLAINS:
Oct. 11 - Jan. 15 )

The area west of Ex}—> North Zone g

Boundary A (see f‘( L/—Iﬁ s -

Boundary Definitions)

High Plains
LOW PLAINS - E / oo |
NORTH ZONE: G| waatzond |
Sept. 27 - Dec. 9 ﬁ—lj M.»] 46
|

The area east of

Boundary A and

Low Plains
South Zone

north of Boundary B

LOW PLAINS - MIDDLE ZONE:
Sept. 27 - Dec. 9
The area east of Boundary A, south of Boundary B and north of Boundary C

LOW PLAINS - SOUTH ZONE:
Oct. 25 - Jan. 6

The area within Boundary C

BOUNDARY DEFINITIONS:

Boundary A - A line beginning at the SD-ND state line and extending south along
U.S. 83 to U.S. 14, east on U.S. Hwy 14 to Blunt, south on the Blunt-Canning Road
to SD Hwy 34, east and south on SD Hwy 34 to SD Hwy 50 at Lee’s Corner,
south on SD Hwy 50 to I-90, east on |-90 to SD Hwy 50, south on SD Hwy 50 to
SD Hwy 44, west on SD Hwy 44 across the Platte-Winner Bridge to SD Hwy 47,
south on SD Hwy 47 to U.S. 18, east on U.S. Hwy 18 to SD Hwy 47, south on SD
Hwy 47 to the SD-NE state line.

Boundary B - A line beginning at the junction of U.S. Hwy 83 and U.S. Hwy 212,
then east on U.S. Hwy 212 to the SD-MN state line.

Boundary C - A line beginning at the junction of SD Hwy 47 and the SD-NE state
line, then north on SD Hwy 47 to SD Hwy 44, then east on SD Hwy 44 to SD Hwy
50, then south on SD Hwy 50 to CFAS 6198 (Geddes Hwy) at Geddes, then east
on the Geddes Hwy to U.S. Hwy 281, then south on U.S. Hwy 281 to SD Hwy 50,
then east on SD Hwy 50 to |-29, then south on I-29 to the SD-IA state line.
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POSSESSION LIMIT: Three times the daily limit; taken according to the daily limit.
SHOOTING HOURS: One-half hour before sunrise to sunset.

NON-TOXIC SHOT: Approved non-toxic shot is required to hunt waterfowl. See the
“Non-Toxic Shot Regulations” section for more information.

ANTELOPE ISLAND RESTRICTIONS: The Antelope Island area on Lake Sharpe (the
area within the water’s edge from a north-south line across Lake Sharpe through
the dredged channel at the east end of Hipple Lake, downstream to a north-south
line across the reservoir 100 yards east of the eastern-most emergent vegetation on
Antelope Island) has the following restrictions - No waterfowl decoys or hunting blinds
may be left in the area between sunset and 5 a.m.; and no waterfowl decoys may
be left unattended between 5 a.m. and sunset.

*At the time of purchase of a State Migratory Bird Certificate, hunters must select one of two options (see

below) for their daily duck limit. The hunter’s selection must be used for the duration of the 2025-26 duck
season. For more information, please visit gfp.sd.gov/three-duck-limit/.

STATE MIGRATORY BIRD CERTIFICATE OPTIONS

TRADITIONAL DAILY LIMIT:

Ducks: 6 - The daily duck (including mergansers) limit may be comprised of no more
than:

5 mallards, which may include no more than 2 hens

3 wood ducks

1 scaup

2 redheads

2 canvasback

3 pintail

Coots: 15

2 - bonus blue-winged teal (first 9 days of the zone-specific season only)

THREE-DUCK DAILY LIMIT:
3 ducks of any species or sex (includes mergansers)
*No bonus blue-winged teal.

Includes brant and cackling geese.

SHOOTING HOURS: One-half hour before sunrise to sunset.
NON-TOXIC SHOT: Same as under Duck Regulations.
Antelope Island Restrictions: Same as under Duck Regulations.

Aug. 16 - 31

DAILY LIMIT: 15 geese

POSSESSION LIMIT: Unlimited

OPEN AREA: The counties of Meade County south of South Dakota Highway 34,
Pennington County west of the Cheyenne River, and the counties of Brown, Clark,
Codington, Day, Deuel, Edmunds, Faulk, Hamlin, Grant, Marshall, McPherson,
Roberts, and Spink.

(For more information and maps, visit gfp.sd.gov/goose)
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Sept. 1 - Dec. 16

DAILY LIMIT: Sept. 1-30, limit of 15. Oct. 1-Dec. 16, limit of 8.

POSSESSION LIMIT: Three times the daily limit, taken according to daily limit.

OPEN AREA:

* The entire counties of Aurora, Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Butte, Campbell,
Clark, Codington, Corson, Davison, Day, Deuel, Douglas, Edmunds, Faulk,
Grant, Haakon, Hamlin, Hand, Hanson, Harding, Hutchinson, Jackson, Jerauld,
Jones, Kingsbury, Lake, McCook, McPherson, Marshall, Meade, Mellette,
Moody, Miner, Oglala Lakota, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, Todd, Turner,
Walworth, and Ziebach.

* That portion of Dewey County north of Bureau of Indian Affairs Road 8,
Bureau of Indian Affairs, Road 9, and the section of U.S. Hwy 212 east of the
Bureau of Indian Affairs Road 8 junction.

* That portion of Potter County east of U.S. Hwy 83.

* That portion of Sully County east of U.S. Hwy 83.

* Those portions of Hyde, Buffalo, Brule, Charles Mix, and Bon Homme counties
north and east of a line beginning at the Hughes-Hyde county line on SD Hwy
34, east to Lees Boulevard, southeast to the SD Hwy 34, east 7 miles to 350th
Avenue, south to Interstate 90 on 350th Avenue, south and east on SD Hwy 50
to Geddes, east on 285th Street to U.S. Hwy 281, north on U.S. Hwy 281 to
the Charles Mix- Douglas county boundary.

* That portion of Bon Homme County north of SD Hwy 50.

* Those portions of Yankton and Clay counties north of County Hwy 585 (306th
Street) to U.S. Hwy 81, then north on U.S. Hwy 81 to 303rd Street, then
east on 303rd Street to 444th Avenue, then south on 444th Avenue to 305th
Street, then east on Bluff Road (305th Street) to County Hwy 19, south to SD
Hwy 50 and east to the Clay/Union County line.

* That portion of Perkins County west of SD Hwy 75 and south of SD Hwy 20.

* That portion of Lincoln County west of SD Hwy 17 and south of County Hwy
116 (Klondike Road).

* That portion of Minnehaha County north of a line beginning at the junction of
the South Dakota-Minnesota state line and County Hwy 122 (254th Street)
west to its junction with County Hwy 149 (464th Avenue), that portion west
of County Hwy 149 (464th Avenue) to Hartford, that portion west of County
Hwy 151 (463rd Avenue) to State Hwy 42, that portion south of State Hwy
42 to SD Hwy 17, and the portion west of SD Hwy 17 to the Minnehaha-
Lincoln county boundary.

Nov. 3 - Feb. 15. Those areas not included in Unit 1.

DAILY LIMIT: 4
POSSESSION LIMIT: Three times the daily limit, taken according to daily limit.
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SEASON DATES: Sept. 13 - 14

HUNTING UNIT: Statewide.

SHOOTING HOURS: One-half hour before sunrise to sunset.

DAILY LIMIT:

DUCKS (The daily limit is determined by State Migratory Bird Certificate selection) -

» TRADITIONAL OPTION: Same as regular duck season. (Bonus blue-winged teal is
not allowed during youth season).

» THREE-DUCK OPTION: 3 ducks of any species or sex (includes mergansers)
(Bonus blue-winged teal is not allowed during youth season).

CANADA GOOSE - The daily limit is 15 in Unit 1 and the daily limit is 4 in Unit 2.

POSSESSION LIMIT: Twice the daily limit, taken according to daily limit.

NON-TOXIC SHOT: Approved non-toxic shot is required to hunt waterfowl. See the

“Non-Toxic Shot Regulations” section for more information.

OTHER REQUIREMENTS:

» See Mentored and Youth Waterfowl section in the back of the book.

SEASON DATES: Sept. 27 - Dec. 9, statewide.

UNIT: Statewide.

DAILY LIMIT: 3

POSSESSION LIMIT: Three times the daily limit, taken according to daily limit.

SEASON DATES: Sept. 27 - Jan. 9, statewide.
UNIT: Statewide.

DAILY LIMIT: 50.

POSSESSION LIMIT: Unlimited.
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AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES RULES APPLY TO WATERFOWLERS

Aquatic Invasive Species rules apply to waterfowl hunters and their boats as well. All
boat plugs must be removed or open except when on the water, launching or loading,
or while the boat is in the parking area. Small watercraft without plugs must be tipped
and drained as thoroughly as possible. In addition, all plants, mud, animals, or other
organic material must be removed from boats and trailers.

SCAN THE QR CODE
TO VIEW A LIST OF
INFESTED WATERS AND
AIS REGULATIONS.

LEARN MORE

STAGES OF
COLD WATER
IMMERSION =

1. COLD SHOCK
*Gasp reflex

*Panic
*Hyperventilation
*Increased heart rate

2. MUSCLE FAILURE

*Loss of muscle coordination
*Difficulty swimming, if you're able to swim at all

3. HYPOTHERMIA

*Body temperature drops to dangerous levels
*75% of victims don’t survive to this point

4. RESCUE DANGERS

*Being removed from cold water can have short and long term effects on your body
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FEDERAL LAWS FOR MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS

AGGREGATE DAILY BAG LIMIT

The maximum number of migratory
game birds permitted to be taken by
one person in any one day during the
open season when such person hunts in
more than one specified geographic
area and/or for more than one
species for which a combined daily
bag limit is prescribed. The aggregate
daily bag limit is equal to, but shall
not exceed, the largest daily bag limit
prescribed for any one species or for
any one specified geographic area in
which taking occurs.

AGGREGATE POSSESSION LIMIT
The maximum number of migratory
game birds of a single species or
combination of species taken in
the United States permitted to be
possessed by any one person when
taking and possession occurs in
more than one specified geographic
area for which a possession limit is
prescribed. The aggregate possession
limit is equal to, but shall not exceed,
the largest possession limit prescribed
for any one of the species or specified
geographic areas in which take and
possession occurs.

BAITED AREA

Any area on which salt, grain, or
other feed has been placed, exposed,
deposited, distributed or scattered,
if that salt, grain or other feed could
serve as a lure or attraction for
migratory game birds to, on or over
areas where hunters are attempting to
take them. Any such area will remain
a baited area for ten days following
the complete removal of all such salt,
grain or other feed.

BAITING

The direct or indirect placing,
exposing, depositing, distributing or
scattering of salt, grain or other feed
that could serve as a lure or attraction
for migratory game birds to, on or
over any areas where hunters are
attempting to take them.

CUSTODY OF BIRDS OF ANOTHER
No person shall receive or have in
custody any migratory game birds
belonging to another person unless
such birds are tagged as required.

DAILY BAG LIMIT

The maximum number of migratory
game birds of single species or
combination (aggregate) of species
permitted to be taken by one
person in any one day during the
open season in any one specified
geographic area for which a daily
bag limit is prescribed.

GIFT OF MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS
No person may receive, possess,
or give to another, any freshly killed

migratory game birds as a gift,
except at the personal abodes of the
donor or recipient, unless such birds
have a tag attached, signed by the
hunter who took the birds, stating the
hunter’s address, the total number and
species of birds and the date such
birds were taken.

ILLEGAL HUNTING METHODS
Migratory birds on which open
seasons are prescribed in this part
may be taken by any method except
those prohibited in this section. No
persons shall take migratory game
birds:
» With a trap, snare, net, rifle, pistol,
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swivel gun, shotgun larger than
10-gauge, punt gun, battery gun,
machine gun, fishhook, poison, drug,
explosive or stupefying substance;

P

X

With a shotgun of any description
capable of holding more than three
shells, unless it is plugged with

a one-piece filler, incapable of
removal without disassembling the
gun, so its total capacity does not
exceed three shells;

P

X

From or by means, aid or use of a
sink-box or any other type of low
floating device, having a depression
affording the hunter a means of
concealment beneath the surface of
the water;

P

X

From or by means, aid or use of any
motor vehicle, motor-driven land
conveyance or aircraft of any kind;
P

X

From or by means of any motorboat
or other craft having a motor
attached or any sailboat, unless

the motor has been completely shut

off and/or the sails furled and its

progress has ceased;

» By the use or aid of live birds as
decoys; although not limited to, it
shall be a violation for any person
to take migratory waterfowl on an
area where tame or captive live
ducks or geese are present unless
such birds are and have been for a
period of 10 consecutive days prior
to such taking, confined within an
enclosure which substantially reduces
the audibility of their calls and
totally conceals such birds from the
sight of wild migratory waterfowl;

» By the use or aid of recorded or
electrically amplified bird calls or
sounds or recorded or electrically
amplified imitations of bird calls or
sound;

» By means or aid of any motor driven

X

X

X

X

X

X

X

X

FEDERAL LAWS FOR MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS

land, water or air conveyance, or
any sailboat used for the purpose
of or resulting in the concentrating,
driving, rallying or stirring up of any
migratory bird;

While possessing loose shot for
muzzle loading or shot shells
containing other than approved non-
toxic shot;

By the aid of baiting or on or over
any baited area, where a person
knows or reasonably should know
that the area is or has been baited.
However, nothing in this paragraph
prohibits:

The taking of any migratory game
bird, including waterfowl, coots

and Sandhill cranes, on or over the
following lands or areas that are not
otherwise baited areas;

Standing crops or flooded standing
crops (including aquatics); standing,
flooded or manipulated natural
vegetation; flooded harvested
croplands; or lands or areas where
seeds or grains have been scattered
solely as the result of a normal
agricultural planting, harvesting,
post-harvest manipulation or normal
soil stabilization practice;

From a blind or other place of
concealment camouflaged with
natural vegetation;

From a blind or other place of
concealment camouflaged with
vegetation from agricultural crops, if
such camouflaging does not result in
the exposing, depositing, distributing
or scattering of grain or other feed;
or

Standing or flooded standing
agricultural crops where grain is
inadvertently scattered solely as a
result of a hunter entering or exiting
a hunting areaq, placing decoys or
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retrieving downed birds.

» The taking of any migratory game
bird, except waterfowl, coots and
Sandhill cranes, on or over lands
or areas that are not otherwise
baited areas and where grain or
other feed has been distributed
or scattered solely as the result of
manipulation of an agricultural crop
or other feed on the land where
grown or solely as the result of a
normal agricultural operation.

MANIPULATION

The alteration of natural vegetation
or agricultural crops by activities
that include but are not limited to
mowing, shredding, disking, rolling,
chopping, trampling, flattening,
burning, or herbicide treatments. The
term manipulation does not include
the distributing or scattering of grain,
seed, or other feed after removal
from or storage on the field where
grown.

NORMAL AGRICULTURAL
PLANTING, HARVESTING, OR POST-
HARVEST MANIPULATION

A planting or harvesting undertaken
for the purpose of producing and
gathering a crop or manipulation
after such harvest and removal of
grain, that is conducted in accordance
with official recommendations of
State Extension Specialists of the
Cooperative Extension Service of the
U.S. Department of Agriculture.

MARKING PACKAGE OR
CONTAINER

No person shall transport by the
U.S. Postal Service or a common
carrier migratory game birds unless
the package or container in which such

FEDERAL LAWS FOR MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS

birds are transported has the name
and address of the shipper and the
consignee and an accurate statement
of the numbers of each species of
birds therein contained clearly and
conspicuously marked on the outside
thereof.

MIGRATORY BIRD PRESERVATION
FACILITY

Any person who, at their residence
or place of business and for hire or
other consideration; or

Any taxidermist, cold-storage
facility, or locker plant which, for hire
or other consideration; or

Any hunting club which, in the
normal course of operations; receives,
possesses or has in custody any
migratory game birds belonging
to another person for purposes of
picking, cleaning, freezing, processing,
storage, or shipment.

NATURAL VEGETATION

Any non-agricultural, native, or
naturalized plant species that grows at
a site in response to planting or from
existing seeds or other propagules.

The term natural vegetation does
not include planted millet. However,
planted millet that grows on its own
in subsequent years after the year
of planting is considered natural
vegetation.

NO MIGRATORY BIRD

PRESERVATION FACILITY SHALL:

» Receive or have in custody any
migratory game bird unless accurate
records are maintained which can
identify each bird received by or
in the custody of, the facility by the
name of the person from whom the
bird was obtained and show:
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* The number of each species;

* The location where taken;

* The date such birds were
received;

* The name and address of the
person from whom such birds were
received;

* The date such birds were disposed
of; and

* The name and address of the
person to whom such birds were
delivered or

»

X

Destroy any records required to be
maintained under this section for a
period of one year following the
last entry on the record.

Record keeping as required by

this section will not be necessary

»

X

at hunting clubs which do not fully

process migratory birds by removal

of both the head and wings.

Please note these examples do
not represent an all-inclusive list of
waterfowl regulations. For a detailed
explanation, visit fws.gov/le or contact
a U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Law
Enforcement Agent at: Bismarck, ND
701.255.0593.

NORMAL AGRICULTURAL
OPERATION

A normal agricultural planting,
harvesting, post-harvest manipulation
or agricultural practice that is
conducted in accordance with official
recommendations of State Extension
Specialists of the Cooperative
Extension Service of the U.S.
Department of Agriculture.

NORMAL SOIL STABILIZATION
PRACTICE

A planting for agricultural soil
erosion control or post-mining land
reclamation conducted in accordance

FEDERAL LAWS FOR MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS

with official recommendations of
State Extension Specialists of the
Cooperative Extension Service of the
U.S. Department of Agriculture for
agricultural soil erosion control.

POSSESSION LIMIT

The maximum number of migratory
game birds of a single species or a
combination of species permitted to
be possessed by any one person when
lawfully taken in the United States
in any one specified geographic
area for which a possession limit is
prescribed

POSSESSION OF LIVE BIRDS

Every migratory game bird
wounded by hunting and reduced
to possession by the hunter shall be
immediately killed and become a part
of the daily bag limit. No person shall
at any time or by any means, possess
or transport live migratory game birds
taken under authority of this part.

TAKE

Pursue, hunt, shoot, wound, kill,
trap, capture or collect; and includes
attempting to do the same.

TAGGING REQUIREMENT

No person shall put or leave any
migratory game birds at any place
(other than at their personal abode)
or in the custody of another person
for picking, cleaning, processing,
shipping, transportation, or storage
(including temporary storage) or for
the purpose of having taxidermy
services performed, unless such birds
have a tag attached, signed by the
hunter, stating his address, the total
number and species of birds and the
date such birds were killed. Migratory
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game birds being transported in any
vehicle as the personal baggage of
the possessor shall not be considered
as being in storage or temporary
storage.

TRANSPORTATION

Ship, convey, carry, or transport
by any means, including delivery or
receipt for such shipment, conveyance,
carriage, or transportation.

TRANSPORTATION OF BIRDS OF
ANOTHER

No person shall transport migratory
game birds belonging to another
person unless such birds are tagged as
required.

WANTON WASTE OF MIGRATORY
GAME BIRDS
No person shall kill or cripple any
migratory game bird without making a
reasonable effort to retrieve the bird
and retain it in actual custody, at the
place where taken or between that
place and either:
» That person’s automobile
or principal means of land
transportation; or
» That person’s personal abode or
temporary or transient place of
lodging; or
» A migratory bird preservation
facility; or
» A post office; or
» A common carrier facility.

TERMINATION OF POSSESSION
Subject to all other requirements

of this part, the possession of birds

taken by any hunter shall be deemed

to have ceased when such birds have

been delivered by the hunter to

another person as a gift; or have been

FEDERAL LAWS FOR MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS

delivered by him to a post office, a
common carrier or a migratory bird
preservation facility and consigned for
transport by the U.S. Postal Service

or a common carrier fo some person
other than the hunter.

SPECIES IDENTIFICATION
REQUIREMENT

No person shall transport within the
United States any migratory game
birds unless the head or one fully
feathered wing remains attached to
each such bird at all times while being
transported from the place where
taken until they have arrived at the
personal abode of the possessor or a
migratory bird preservation facility.

BANDED WATERFOWL AND
MOURNING DOVES

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
encourage hunters who bag banded
waterfowl and mourning doves to visit
reportband.gov to report the band
number.
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DOMICILE

A person’s established, fixed and
permanent home to which the person,
whenever absent, has the present
intention of returning.

WILDLIFE PROCESSING FACILITY

A wildlife processing facility is
any person or entity that has a South
Dakota sales tax license to operate
a business that receives, possesses,
or has in custody any wild animal
belonging to another person for
purposes of picking, skinning, cleaning,
freezing, processing, or storage.

GAME BIRD TRANSPORTATION

AND PACKAGING
No game bird, including a wild

turkey, may be possessed, placed

in public storage, transported or

accepted for shipment unless the

following minimum requirements are
met for each listed species:

» Waterfowl shall include an attached
fully feathered wing or an attached
head; and conform to other federal
requirements (see federal laws for
migratory game birds).

» Pheasants and grouse, unless

processed at a wildlife processing

facility and accompanied by the
receipt or at the domicile of the
possessor, shall include at least one
of the following attached: the head,

a fully feathered wing or a foot. The

term grouse includes sharp-tailed

grouse, ruffed grouse and prairie
chicken.

Wild turkeys are considered a

big game species in South Dakota.

»

¥

Tagging and transportation
regulations for wild turkeys can be
found in the Big Game Regulations

TRANSPORTING, SHIPPING AND STORAGE OF
SMALL GAME AND WATERFOWL

section;
»

¥

All other game birds, unless processed
at a wildlife processing facility and
accompanied by the receipt, or at
the domicile of the possessor, shall
include the attached head or an
attached fully feathered wing.

If the head or wing is used for
identification, it shall have sufficient
plumage attached to allow for
prompt identification of the game
bird. Game birds, if frozen, shall

be packaged no more than two per
package to facilitate identification
and count of species.

No game bird may be transported
by unlicensed individuals, unless
accompanied by a valid transportation
permit issued by the Department.
However, at the conclusion of hunting a
licensed hunter may transport a game
bird legally taken by another person
to a wildlife processing facility if the
bird is tagged with the name of the
hunter, the hunter’s address, the total
number, and species of birds taken,
the date such bird was killed, and
signature of the hunter.

POSSESSION LIMIT

The maximum number of a particular
species of game (excluding migratory
game birds) that a person may
lawfully have under their control
(including those in their immediate
possession, a portable cooler in the
vehicle, a home freezer, or registered
in their name at a wildlife processing
facility /locker; or any combination
thereof). Game harvested during
a previous season or year in South
Dakota and still in possession counts
toward the possession limit of the
current license year. However, game
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(excluding migratory game birds)
lawfully harvested under another
state’s license does not count towards
the South Dakota limit.

See Federal Laws for Migratory
Game Bird.

PUBLIC STORAGE

No person may place into public
storage any game bird, game fish
or game animal unless the game
bird, game fish or game animal
has attached to it a tag showing
the owner’s name and address, the
number and kind of bird, fish or
animal, the date the bird, fish or
animal is placed in storage, the date
killed (for migratory game birds) and
hunter signature (for migratory game
birds). Public storage is any business
storing game birds, game fish or game
animals for a fee or a convenience
and has a South Dakota sales tax
license.

RECORDS REQUIRED FOR WILDLIFE

PROCESSING FACILITIES
No wildlife processing facility shall:

» Receive or have in custody any wild
animal unless accurate records are
maintained that can identify each
wild animal received by, or in the
custody of, the facility by the name
of the person from whom the wild
animal was obtained and show the
number of each species; the date
each wild animal was received; the
name and address of the owner of
each wild animal; the date each wild
animal was disposed of; and the
name of the person or business to
whom each wild animal was deliv-
ered or

TRANSPORTING, SHIPPING AND STORAGE OF
SMALL GAME AND WATERFOWL

4

Destroy records required to be
maintained under this section for a
period of one year following receipt
of each wild animal or

4

Allow any wild animal or parts
thereof, to leave the facility without
a receipt bearing the name of the
facility, number and species of wild
animals and name of the owner of
each wild animal.

However, the provisions of this
section do not apply to any permitted
bird harvested on a licensed shooting
preserve and processed by the
preserve permittee.

INSPECTION OF WILDLIFE
PROCESSING FACILITIES

No wildlife processing facility may
prevent any GFP representative from
entering the facility during normal
business hours and inspecting any wild
animal, records, and the premises of
the facility.

SHIPPING/COMMON CARRIER
A licensed hunter may carry as

personal baggage any small game

or waterfowl lawfully taken or

possessed by that hunter. No person

may knowingly ship or receive for
shipment by common carrier any small
game or waterfowl unless the container
containing the small game or waterfowl
has affixed to the outside of the
container a clearly visible statement
containing the following information:

» The name, address, and license
number of the person shipping the
small game or waterfowl;

» The number and species of all small
game and waterfowl in the container;

» The date of shipment; and
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» The name and address of the
person to whom the small game or
waterfowl has been shipped.

TRANSPORTATION PERMITS
A person other than the licensee

may transport small game with a

transportation and shipping permit.

A permit may be obtained from a

Conservation Officer or a designee

without a charge. Follow these steps

to obtain a permit:

» Contact a Conservation Officer
or GFP Wildlife Division office to
arrange a meeting place and time.

» All persons involved must meet
with the officer and bring their
hunting licenses and game to be
transported.

» Permits will not be issued before
they are needed.

Pheasant and Grouse

» Permits will not be issued as a
means of exceeding the daily/
possession limit or circumventing
plumage, transportation, or shipping
requirements.

» See “Federal Laws for Migratory
Game Birds” for specific
requirements for waterfowl and
other migratory game birds.

Duck

(or other migratory waterfowl)

Option 1 Option 2 1: Option 3 | Option 1 Option 2

Fully feathered  Fully feathered . One leg | Fully feathered Fully feathered

head attached  wing attached and foot | head attached wing attached
attached
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OTHER SEASONS

* Mourning Dove © Sept. 1-Nov. 9 15 45 Statewide
* Snipe © Sept. 1-Oct. 31 5 15 Statewide
* Sandhill Crane © Sept. 27-Nov. 23 3 9 Open Unit
G L S/‘:qp: ]]:Z:: 3 (; Unlimited Statewide
Tundra Swan © Oct. 4-Jan. 9 One per license | Open Unit
Prairie Dog ® Year-round Unlimited Statewide
Cottontail Rabbit @ Sept. 1-Mar. 31 10 30 Statewide
Tree Squirrel Sept. 1-Mar. 31 5 15 Statewide
Ground Squirrel, Gopher, Porcupine, Marmot Year-round Unlimited Statewide
SHOOTING HOURS: Sunrise o sunset for all species listed except mourning dove, Sandhill crane and tundra swan which is 30 minutes before
sunrise fo sunset and crow, prairie dog, ground squirrel, gopher, porcupine and marmot, which are not restricted.

* Although federal laws apply, o Federal Waterfow! Stamp is not required to hunt mourning dove, Sandhill crane or snipe. The State Migratory

Bird Certificate is still mandatory.

1. Mourning Dove Restrictions. A person:

*  May not shoot a mourning dove unless the bird is flying.

*  May not hunt mourning doves with a shotgun capable of holding more than three shells.

*  May not hunt mourning doves in a state park or recreation area, except that portion of
Angostura State Recreation Area lying west of the dam, Shadehill State Recreation Area,
and the portions of Oahe Downstream Recreation Area located west of SD Highway
1806 or any portion of a state park or recreation area posted as open.

*  May not hunt mourning doves within road rights-of-way.

NOTE: The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service encourage hunters who bag banded doves to visit report-

band.gov to report the band number and other important information.

2. Snipe. Hunters must use non-toxic shot to hunt snipe.

3. Sandhill Crane. Open area is that portion of South Dakota lying west of a line beginning at
the South Dakota-North Dakota border and SD Hwy 25, south on SD Hwy 25 to its junction
with SD Hwy 34, east on SD Hwy 34 to its junction with U.S Hwy 81, then south on U.S Hwy
81 to the South Dakota-Nebraska border. Hunters must use non-toxic shot.

4. Crow. Electronic calls and rifles are legal to hunt crows.

5. Tundra Swan. Only hunters who applied for and received a license through the GFP License
Office are eligible to hunt. Hunters must use non-toxic shot when hunting tundra swans. The
open unit includes the counties of Aurora, Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Campbell,
Clark, Codington, Davison, Day, Deuel, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Hanson,
Hughes, Hyde, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Marshall, McCook, McPherson, Miner, Minnehaha,
Moody, Potter, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, Sully and Walworth. Federal laws apply.

6. Prairie Dog. Prairie dog shooting is prohibited year-round in the Conata Basin and several
other areas within the Buffalo Gap National Grasslands. Please contact the U.S. Forest
Service for additional information regarding specific closure locations at 605.279.2125.

7. Cottontail Rabbit. Landowners and their guests may hunt cottontail rabbit on the landowner’s
property year-round without a limit.
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FURBEARER SEASONS

Species Dates ® Open Areas and Other Information

Mink, Weasel Nov. 1-Jan. 31 Statewide

All counties west of the Missouri River, except portions of

West River Year-round o N e
the Black Hills Fire Protection District

Black Hills
and Nov. 1-Apr. 30
East River

In the Black Hills Fire Protection District and all counties east
of the Missouri River

SHOOTING- Only landowners and lessees, including SD
LTS5 School and Public land surface lease holders, on land they
own or operate and state, county or township highway
officials within road rights-of-way are allowed to shoot
muskrats, statewide. Only rimfire cartridges of .22 caliber

or smaller, muzzleloaders of .45 caliber or smaller, legal

Statewide Apr. 1-Aug. 31

archery equipment, or shotguns with non-toxic shot are

allowed.

Statewide, except areas within the Black Hills Fire Protection

Beaver Year-round . L A 3
District, which is closed to beaver hunting and trapping

Aurora, Beadle, Bon Homme, Brookings, Brown, Charles Mix,
Clark, Clay, Codington, Davison, Day, Deuel, Douglas, Grant,
East River Nov. 1-Dec. 31 ® | Hamlin, Hanson, Hutchinson, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln,
Marshall, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Roberts,
Sanborn, Spink, Turner, Union and Yankton counties

River
Otter

Bobcat Statewide @ | Dec. 26-Feb. 15 Black Hills, East River, West River

Red and Grey Fox,
Badger, Raccoon, Skunk,
Opossum, Jackrabbit,
Coyote®

Year-round Statewide

Wolf Closed

1. Nonresidents may take only raccoon, beaver and muskrat from Dec. 1, 2025 - Mar.
15, 2026, and bobcats from Jan. 1 - Feb. 15, 2026. Mink and weasel may be
trapped from Dec. 1, 2025 - Jan. 31, 2026.

2. Seasons begin at sunrise of opening day and end at sunset of closing day.

3. River Otter. Limit of one river otter per resident hunter /trapper. Season will end prior
to December 31, 2025 if the harvest limit of 30 is reached. Resident only.

4. Bobcat. Season bag limit is one bobcat East River and in the Black Hills and unlimited
bobcats West River, excluding the Black Hills.

5. Coyote. The coyote season in Custer State Park is from Nov. 1, 2025 - April 30,
2026. No shooting is allowed within 200 yards of any public building or road within
Custer State Park.
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BARBED HOOKS

Barbed hooks or other similarly
sharpened instruments may not be used
to take furbearing animals.

BOBCAT CARCASSES

Any person harvesting a bobcat must
submit the entire carcass, along with the
detached pelt, to GFP personnel within
five days of capture. Once the season
has closed, an individual has 24 hours
to notify a Department representative
of any untagged bobcats harvested
during the season. The pelt will be
inspected, tagged, and registered.
The lower jaw will be removed from
the carcass. The tagged pelt will be
returned. The carcass may be returned
upon request. No person may possess,
purchase, or sell raw bobcat pelts that
are not legally tagged.

RIVER OTTER CARCASSES

Any person harvesting a river otter
must report it to GFP within 24 hours of
harvest. The entire carcass, along with
the detached pelt, must be submitted
to GFP personnel within five days of
capture. Once the season has closed
(last day of season or harvest limit
reached), an individual has 24 hours
to notify a Department representative
of any untagged river otter harvested
during the season. The pelt will be
inspected, tagged, and registered.
The tagged pelt will be returned. The
carcass will be surrendered to GFP and
may be returned upon request after
collection of biological data.

No person may possess, purchase,
or sell raw river otter pelts that are
not legally tagged. Any river otter
harvested after the 24-hour period
following the close of the season, will

be considered incidental take and will
be surrendered to GFP.

BODY GRIP TRAPS (COMMONLY

KNOWN AS CONIBEARS)

Body grip traps with a jaw spread
greater than eight inches are permitted
only as water sets. The entire bottom
surface of these traps must remain
completely below the water’s edge for
trapping.

On all public lands and road rights-
of-way statewide, no person may set
or operate a body grip trap with a
jaw spread greater than 6 3/4 inches
(i.e. larger than a 160 conibear) when
used in conjunction with any bait, lure,
or scent unless:

» The trap is recessed in a plastic,
wood, or metal cubby a minimum of
seven inches from the front edge of
the cubby to the trigger of the trap;
or

P

X

The trap is set below the water’s
edge of a stream, river, or other
body of water.

NOTE: A single overhang on the top
of the cubby does not meet this recess
requirement.

CATCHES OUT OF SEASON

A trapper must immediately release
any live wild animal found in a trap or
snare at a time when the established
season is closed. Any trapper who finds
a dead wild animal in a trap or snare
out of season must leave the animal
undisturbed in the trap or snare and
contact a Department representative
within 12 hours. Contact information at
end of booklet.
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COLONY TRAPS

The size of colony traps for muskrats
may not exceed 36 inches in overall
length. If using a round colony trap, the
diameter cannot exceed 12 inches. If
using a box colony trap, the height may
not exceed 12 inches, nor may the width
exceed 12 inches.

FLAGGING

No person may flag, mark or attempt
to claim a muskrat house on public lands
or waters before sunrise on opening day
of the trapping season (i.e., November
1). After the season is open, marking
of muskrat houses is legal if the house
contains an operational trap set.

FURBEARER POSSESSION, LIVE

Possession of live furbearers is
prohibited except that no more than
one live furbearer (either a raccoon,
jackrabbit, skunk, red or grey fox or
coyote) per household may be kept as
a pet. In addition, the Animal Industry
Board requires a permit to keep
mammals including certain furbearers.
For details, contact the Animal Industry
Board at 605.773.3321. No pet
furbearer may be physically altered
except skunks may be descented. Sale
or purchase of a pet wild furbearer is
prohibited.

FURBEARERS, RELEASE OR KILLING
Except when kept as a pet as
provided above, a furbearer taken
from the wild must either be released or
immediately and humanely killed.

LANDOWNERS

A resident of South Dakota may catch,
trap, or kill furbearing animals upon
land owned or leased without obtaining
a license to do so, during any period
when hunting, catching, taking, trapping,

or killing such animals is permitted.

LIVE MAMMALS OR BIRDS

The use of any live mammal or live
bird to aid in the taking of a furbearing
animal, predator or varmint by a trap or
snare is prohibited.

PERMISSION REQUIRED

No person may attach a trap,
including snares, to any part of a fence
along road rights-of-way adjacent to
private land without permission from the
adjoining landowner.

No person, except the adjoining
landowner or a person receiving written
permission from the adjoining landowner,
may trap on public road rights-of-way
within 660 feet of a home, church, or
schoolhouse.

Snares may not be set within fenced
pastures, cropland, feedlots, or fenced
areas containing domestic livestock
without permission of the landowner or
the operator.

A person must have a permit issued by
the park manager to trap in a state park
or recreation area. The free permits are
valid Nov. 1 - Mar. 31.

Permission is required from the
landowner for trapping on private land
leased for public hunting in the Walk- In
Area program, Controlled Hunting and
Access Program and the Conservation
Reserve Enhancement Program.

POLE TRAPS

No person may set or place any trap,
snare or similar device on a pole or
post in a manner that a raptor may be
captured, injured or killed.

PROTECTED ANIMALS
No person may take pine (Pacific)
marten, black-footed ferret, swift fox,
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fisher, or wolves. If any of these
protected species are accidentally
caught the animal must be released
alive. If the animal is found dead, it
must be left undisturbed in the snare
or trap and a GFP representative
contacted within 12 hours.

RAW FURS

Raw furs may be kept after the close
of each respective season if the furs
are checked with a GFP representative
within 10 days.

RESTRICTIONS
Except in Haakon, Jackson, Jones,

Lyman, and Stanley counties where

these laws do not apply for muskrats,

no person may:

» Hunt mink or muskrats with dogs.

» Dig or disturb a mink den or beaver
house to capture mink or beaver, or
use poison, gas, or smoke to kill or
capture these animals.

»

¥

Spear muskrat.
»

¥

Destroy a muskrat house, except
that in open season a house may
be opened in a manner that will not
destroy or damage it as a place of
habitation.

SNARES

Snares must have a mechanical lock,
swivel device on the anchor end and
stop device to prohibit the restraint
loop from closing to a diameter less
than 2-1/2 inches. Snares must be
attached by the swivel directly to the
anchoring device or by chain or cable
between the swivel and the anchoring
device. The swivel may not be more
than four inches long and must operate
freely when set. Attaching snares to a
drag is prohibited. Exempt from the
above restriction that requires the use

of a permanent stop are snares that
have a lock or device with a breaking
strength of 350 pounds of pressure
or less. Trappers who use these types
of snares must submit the snare for
breaking strength testing if requested
by a Department representative.

It is unlawful to possess or transport
snares not properly equipped, except
manufacturers may obtain a free
Shipping and Transportation Permit
from a GFP representative to ship or
transport snares to another area that
does not require the same equipment
as South Dakota.

Snares are prohibited May 1 - Nov.
13 on improved road rights-of-way
and on all public lands statewide. No
snare with a spring or other device
that applies pressure to the locking
mechanism (commonly referred to as:
kill springs, choke springs, compression
springs, dispatch springs, ram snares,
or similar devices) may be placed on a
Game Production Area or Waterfowl
Production Area unless the snare is
placed below the surface of the water
or ice.

TRAP CHECKING

Traps, including snares, must be
checked, in-person prior to midnight
of the second full calendar day (from
the time the trap was initially set or
last checked) east of the Missouri River
and prior to midnight of the third full
calendar day west of the Missouri
River. Any animal caught must be
removed.

Traps or snares entirely submerged
in the water and remain set beneath
ice must be checked in-person and
any caught animals removed prior to
midnight of the fifth full calendar day
statewide.
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TRAP REMOVALS

If traps including snares are not
being checked within the required trap
check period, traps shall be rendered
inoperable, and snares shall be closed
to their permanent stop or closed to less
than 2-1/2 inches if not equipped with
a permanent stop. All traps and snares
(set or unset), stakes, cables, chains,
wires, or other devices used for the
purpose of attaching a trap or snare
must be removed from public lands and
improved road rights-of-way prior to
May 1 of each year, except live traps
may be used until August 31.

TRAPPING IN STATE PARKS

A person must have a permit issued
by the park manager to trap in a State
Park or Recreation Area (Custer State
Park, Adams Homestead and Nature
Preserve in Union County and Beaver
Creek Nature Area in Minnehaha County
are closed to trapping). The free permits
are valid Nov. 1 - Mar. 31. Applications
can be found online or contact any
park office. A valid Furbearer license is
required. Trappers must also be familiar
with and adhere to all park, firearm,
and vebhicle restrictions.

TRAP VANDALISM

No person may steal, damage, or
destroy someone else’s trap, snare, or
animal in a trap.

VISIBLE BAIT

Traps, including snares, may not be set
within 30 feet of exposed bait visible to
airborne raptors. Exposed bait is meat
or viscera of any animal, bird, or fish
with or without skin, hide or feathers.

WATER SETS

Traps (except any live cage trap or
live box trap, snares and traps
designed specifically to catch raccoons
such as coon cuffs and egg traps) cannot
be placed or set in water or within 30
feet of water from Oct. 1 to Oct. 31.

However, body-grip traps may be
set below the water’s edge for beaver,
statewide (excluding the Black Hills Fire
Protection District). The entire bottom
surface of these traps must remain
completely below the water’s edge at
all times.

No person may place any trap (set or
unset), stake, cable, chain, wire, or other
device used for the purpose of attaching
a trap or otherwise attempt to claim
or mark a trap site on any public road
rights-of-way or public lands or waters
open to trapping within 30 feet of water
from Oct. 1 through sunrise on Nov. 1,
inclusive.
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WOLF IDENTIFICATION
On February 10, 2022, a District Court decision ruled that the United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) must re-instate
wolves under the Endangered Species Act (ESA) protections, with the exception of wolves in the Northern Rocky Mountains.
Therefore, the South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks (GFP) no longer has management authority over gray wolves, and they can no
longer be hunted or trapped in South Dakota.

WOLF COYOTE

+ 2.5 feet tall and 5-6 feet long + 1.5 feet tall and 4 feet long

+ 70-120 pounds + 30-40 pounds

* Broad snout + Narrow snout

*Round ears + Pointed ears

+ Color light gray to black + Color light gray to brown

+ Track 4.5 inches wide and 5.5 inches long + Track 2.5 inches wide and 2-2.5 inches long

TIME OF PRIMENESS FOR S.D. FURBEARERS
| # STRIPED SKUNK il
B2 _orossum 7z
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The following is a synopsis of
big game regulations. Other rules
applicable to big game hunting may be
found in other sections of this handbook.
Big game regulations are also available
on gfp.sd.gov.

Big game licenses are issued by
application. Season regulations
accompany licenses. All elk, bighorn
sheep, mountain lion, mountain goat and
Custer State Park seasons are resident
only. See gfp.sd.gov/hunt.

Big Game Season Dates can be found
in the back of the book.

TAG DEFINITIONS

» Any Deer - whitetail or mule deer
buck, doe, or fawn.

» Any Buck - whitetail or mule deer with
visible, polished antler.

» Any Whitetail Deer — whitetail only
buck, doe, or fawn.

» Any Whitetail Buck: whitetail with
visible, polished antler.

»

¥

Any Elk — elk bull, cow, or calf.
Antlerless Deer /Elk - deer/elk of
either sex without visible antler.

P

¥

P

4

Antlerless Whitetail — whitetail only of
either sex without visible antler.
»

4

Buck Antelope — antelope with visible
horns three inches or more in length.
»

4

Doe/Kid Antelope - antelope of either
sex without horns or with horns less
than three inches in length.

» Any Mountain Lion — solitary mountain
lion of either sex without a spotted
coat.

»

4

Any Turkey - wild turkey of either sex.
»

4

Male Turkey - wild turkey with a visi-
ble beard/spurs.

P

¥

Hen Turkey - wild turkey without a
visible beard/spurs.

APPRENTICE DEER

» See information in the Apprentice,
Mentored Big Game, and Youth Big
Game.

ARCHERY EQUIPMENT RESTRICTIONS:
A person hunting with bow and arrow

may not use or possess any of the

following:

» Explosive, poisonous, hydraulic or
pneumatic points;

» Crossbows and draw-lock devices that

v

hold the bow at partial or full draw
except for persons with qualifying
disabilities;

Electronic devices mounted to the
bow that aid in the taking of game.
However, cameras, video cameras,
cell phones used exclusively for
photographic purposes, lighted sight
pins and illuminated arrow nocks may
be used;

Electronic arrow or electronic string

»

v

»

v

releases;
Telescopic sights;
» An arrow without a broadhead (fixed

»

v

or mechanical) that has at least two
metal cutting edges when hunting
big game animals. However, an
arrow tipped with any point may be
possessed when used for practice;

» A bow measuring less than 40 pounds
pull when hunting an elk;

» A bow measuring less than 30 pounds
pull when hunting big game animals
other than elk.

CONCEALED PISTOL

No firearm restrictions in place for
any hunting season prohibit a licensee
from otherwise lawfully carrying a
concealed pistol while hunting.

DECOYS
Decoys may be used for big game
hunting.
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DOG USE WHILE HUNTING BIG GAME
No one may use a dog for hunting

big game, except for the following:

» A dog that is leashed and under the
control of a handler may be used
to track and retrieve any big game
animal that is wounded or presumed
dead.

» The use of dogs to hunt mountain lions

¥

is only allowed during those specified
hunting intervals with a license that
allows for the use of dogs and out-
side of the Black Hills Fire Protection
District.

FLUORESCENT ORANGE OR PINK
Any person hunting any big game
animal, except turkey or mountain lion,

with a firearm shall wear in a visible
manner one or more fluorescent orange
or fluorescent pink exterior garments.
The exterior garment shall be a hat,
cap, shirt, jacket, vest, coverall, or
poncho worn above the waist.

LEGAL FIREARMS/EQUIPMENT

No self-loading or auto-loading
firearm that holds more than six
cartridges may be used to hunt, pursue,
shoot at, shoot, kill or wound any
big game animal. No firearm that is
capable of being operated as a full
automatic may be used to hunt, shoot,
shoot at, wound, kill or pursue any big
game or small game animal. Shotguns
must discharge a single ball or rifled
slug weighing at least one-half ounce.
Buckshot is prohibited.

Deer, Antelope, Mountain Lion:

Shoulder-held firearms using
ammunition rated to produce at least
1,000 foot-pounds of energy at the
muzzle and handguns using ammunition
that is rated to produce at least 500
foot-pounds of energy at the muzzle,

may be used to hunt deer, antelope,
and mountain lion.

Only soft-point or expanding bullets
are permitted. Shotguns must discharge
a single ball or rifled slug weighing
at least one-half ounce. Buckshot is
prohibited.

Elk: It is illegal to use firearms that
produce less than 1,700 foot-pounds
of energy at the muzzle and that are
smaller than .243 caliber to hunt elk.
Only soft point or expanding bullets
are permitted. Buckshot is prohibited.

Turkey: A person may not use a
rimfire, centerfire or muzzleloading rifle
during the spring turkey season. In fall,
shoulder-held firearms using ammunition
that is factory-rated to produce at
least 700 foot-pounds of energy at the
muzzle and handguns using ammunition
which is factory-rated to produce at
least 500 foot-pounds of energy at the
muzzle may be used in the hunting of
wild turkeys. Buckshot is prohibited.

Muzzleloading Firearms: In seasons
restricted to muzzleloading firearms,
telescopic sights are not allowed.

Telescopic sights are those sights that
utilize magnification. No person may
hunt, shoot, shoot at, wound, kill, or
pursue any big game animal with any
muzzle loading rifle which is less than
.44 caliber. Muzzleloading handguns
must discharge a projectile of .50
caliber or larger.

NOTE: Hunters filling big game
tags that are not restricted to archery
or muzzleloaders may use any
of the weapons described under
“Legal Firearms” or “Archery” or any
combination of weapons. Additionally,
a person who holds a big game license
to take a big game animal during the
firearm season may take the animal by
using a crossbow instead of a firearm.
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The crossbow shall have at least 125
pounds pull and have a working
mechanical safety. Scopes may be
used on crossbows.

NONLICENSEES/ACCOMPANIMENT
ALL BIG GAME LICENSEES

No person possessing a firearm,
including a muzzleloading firearm or a
bow and arrow may accompany a big
game hunter in the field or cooperate
as part of a big game hunting group
unless the accompanying person
possesses a big game license that is
valid for the same geographic area
and time of year as the licensee. The
provisions of this section do not apply
to a person who is legally licensed
to hunt small game or exempt from
license requirements and hunting only
with a shotgun using shotshells.

No person hunting small game and
accompanying a licensed firearm big
game hunter in the field may use dogs
while accompanying the big game
hunter.

ARCHERY-ONLY BIG GAME
LICENSEE

No person who is licensed in a
season restricted to archery only may:
Possess a firearm in the field while
hunting big game with bow and arrow,
except a person who possesses a
firearm big game license that is valid
for the same geographic area and
time of year as the archery license OR
a person who is lawfully carrying a
pistol.

PERSONAL PROPERTY ON PUBLIC
LAND

A person may not leave any
property after 11:00 p.m. on public
lands owned, leased, or controlled
by GFP or in the water adjoining

such an areaq, or within the right-of-
way of the George S. Mickelson Trail
unless that person is legally camped,
lodged, or fishing or the property is
located in a leased space designated
for the specified use of that property.
Unless otherwise posted as such, these
restrictions do not apply to legally
placed tree stands, elevated platforms,
portable blinds, trail cameras, or
trapping equipment on GFP lands (see
additional requirements below).
Except for legal tree stands,
portable blinds, trail cameras and
trapping equipment all personal
property must be removed from lands
managed by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service by the end of each day.

PROHIBITED FELONS

An individual who has a felony
conviction might be prohibited from
possessing a firearm by state or
federal law. According to state law
the term “firearm” now includes
any antique firearm and any
muzzleloading rifle, muzzleloading
shotgun or muzzleloading pistol,
including muzzleloading weapons that
are designed to use black powder or
a black powder substitute and cannot
use fixed ammunition.

RESTRICTIONS

No one may discharge a firearm,
muzzleloader, crossbow, or bow and
arrow at any big game animal, except
turkey may be taken with a shotgun
using shot shells or with a bow and
arrow, from within the rights-of-way of
an improved highway including gravel
township roads.

No one may discharge a firearm
or other weapon across or from a
National Forest Service road.

No person may place any salt or
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salt lick or construct, occupy or use
any screen, blind, scaffold, or other
device at or near any salt or salt lick
for the purpose of enticing or baiting
big game animals to the same for the
purpose of hunting, watching for, or
killing big game.

No one may establish, utilize or
maintain a bait station from Aug.1
- Feb. 1, inclusive and from March
15 - May 31, inclusive, to attract any
big game animal (including turkey). A
bait station is a location where grains,
fruits, vegetables, nuts, hay, minerals
(including salt) or any other natural
food materials, commercial products
containing natural food materials or
by-products of such materials are
placed or maintained as an attractant
to big game animals for the purpose
of hunting. The use of scents alone does
not constitute a bait station.

The bait station restriction does not
apply to foods that have not been
placed or gathered by an individual
and result from normal environmental
conditions or accepted farming, forest
management, wildlife food plantings,
orchard management or similar land
management activities. Individuals
are exempt from the bait station
requirements while participating in any
research or depredation management
activities directed by GFP.

No person may establish, utilize or
maintain a bait station on lands leased
for public hunting by the GFP or owned
by the GFP.

Additionally, the distribution of bait
and hunting over bait is prohibited
on U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA).

No one may use an electronic call
when hunting big game (including
turkey). Electronic calls are allowed for

mountain lion hunting.

No one may kill a big game animal
not in season or kill a big game animal
in season and not tag and claim the
animal.

SHOOTING HOURS

All firearms and archery big game
shooting hours (except turkey) are 30
minutes before sunrise to 30 minutes
after sunset. Shooting hours for turkey
season are 30 minutes before sunrise to
sunset.

TAGGING AND TRANSPORTATION
The tag you receive with your license
must be signed, dated and securely
attached to the big game animal at the
time it is brought to a road or into any
hunting camp, farmyard or residence
or before it is placed in or on a vehicle.
The locking seal issued with each big

game license is an adhesive tag. The
licensee shall sign the tag and date
it by cutting out completely the month
and date of kill only. The licensee shall
attach the tag securely around one leg
of a mountain lion, turkey, or swan. The
licensee shall attach the tag securely to
all hoofed big game animals:

1. Around one hind leg between the
hoof and ankle joint;

2. Around the hock tendon directly
above the ankle joint on one hind
leg; or

3. Around the base of the antler or
horn.

4. Tagging allows a big game animal
to be transported and stored by
the hunter or another person for the
hunter.

No one may lend a license or tag

to another or knowingly issue or aid in

securing a license or preference point

for any person not legally entitled to it.
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No person may possess in the field
or transport a big game animal
(including boned out meat), except
turkey, unless it is accompanied by the
animal’s lawfully tagged leg or antler
along with either the animal’s head or
a hind quarter with the visible external
sex organs left naturally attached
to it. Any person licensed to take
any deer, any elk or any antelope is
exempt from transporting the animal’s
head or hind quarter with attached
sex organs if the lawfully tagged
leg accompanies the animal for such
license. However, the provisions of this
section do not apply to a big game
licensee who transports big game
parts (including boned out meat) from
the licensee’s domicile to another
location if the licensee possesses the
big game tag or big game license
entitling the licensee to the animal or
to big game that has been cooked or
cured, by means other than freezing,
for personal consumption. If a person
other than licensee transports big
game animal parts (including boned
meat) from the licensee’s domicile to
another location, the tagged leg or a
transportation permit must accompany
the items being transported.

Any person who lawfully takes
a wild turkey may remove edible
portions from the turkey while in the
field and transport providing the
person also has in their possession
the beard, leg and foot with the
attached tag until the bird has arrived
at the domicile of the processor. Any
person licensed to take “any turkey”
is exempt from transporting the
beard.

Big game taken in another state or
with a tribal license must be properly
tagged when transported within South

Dakota. If no tag was issued, the
person in possession of the animal must
provide proof the animal was lawfully
taken.

DISPOSAL OF DEER AND ELK
CARCASSES

If any portion of the deer or elk
carcass is transported from the county
of harvest, hunters must dispose
all carcass remains with a waste
management provider, if an allowable
trash item, or with a permitted landfill.
Game processors and taxidermists,
regardless of the location of harvest,
are required to dispose of all carcass
remains with a waste management
provider, if an allowable trash item, or
with a permitted landfill.

If you are not moving a deer or elk
carcass from the county of harvest,
the regulations do not apply unless
the carcass is delivered to a game
processor or a taxidermist. Returning
carcass remains to public lands and
using road ditches to dispose of
carcass remains is illegal. Make sure
permission is granted if disposing on
private land.

Deer or elk carcasses from another
state brought back into South Dakota
must be disposed of with a waste
management provider or landfill that
accepts carcass parts.

Deer or elk carcasses passing
through South Dakota are exempt from
any regulations.

TRAIL CAMERAS ON GFP LANDS
Any trail camera placed on public
lands owned, leased, or controlled by
GFP may be attached to a tree, post,

or other structure by utilizing no more
than one nail, bolt, or screw. The use of
trail cameras on private lands leased
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for public hunting by GFP is prohibited
without the permission of the landowner.
The name and address of the owner or
user OR Customer Identification Number
of the owner or user must be on the
exterior of an unattended trail camera.
A trail camera is a remotely activated
device set fo capture photos, video,
sound, or other evidence of activity while
the user is absent from the location.

TREE STANDS/PORTABLE BLINDS ON
PUBLIC LAND

Construction or use of permanent tree
stands, permanent blinds, and climbing
devices are prohibited on lands owned,
leased, or controlled by GFP and on all
private lands leased for public hunting
by GFP. Portable tree stands, portable
blinds, and climbing devices that do not
utilize nails, wire, or bolts for attachment
are allowed from August 1 - March 31,
inclusive. Portable blinds may also be
used during the spring turkey seasons
by licensed spring turkey hunters.

One screw-in “T” bolt may be used to
stabilize a tree stand.

Removable screw-in steps may be
used to access a tree stand. The name
and address OR Customer |dentification
Number of the owner or user must be on

the exterior of an unoccupied portable
blind and legible from the ground on

a tree stand. Other elevated platform
devices that are not attached to a tree
must meet the requirements of this rule
for permitted dates and for labeling if
left overnight or unattended. A properly
labeled tree stand on GFP land is
privately owned property.

The use of nails, wires, screws, bolts, or
screw-in steps is prohibited on National
Wildlife Refuges and Waterfowl
Production Areas, both managed by the
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Contact Sand Lake National Wildlife
Refuge for specifics on placement of
deer stands within the Refuge. Call
605.885.6320 or visit fws.gov/sandlake.

TURKEY HUNTING RESTRICTION

No turkey may be shot while roosting
in a tree. Lead shot is legal for turkey
hunting on all public lands.
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TAGGING AND TRANSPORTING
ANTELOPE, DEER, AND ELK

When do I tag my antelope, deer, or elk?

The locking seal issued with each big game license is an adhesive tag. The licensee
shall sign the tag and date it by cutting out completely the month and date of kill
only. The tag shall be securely attached to the animal at the time it is brought to a
road or into any hunting camp, dwelling, farmyard, or other place of abode of any

kind, or before it is placed in or on a vehicle of any kind (including ATVs and UTVs).

Where do I tag my antelope, deer, or elk?

The licensee shall attach the tag securely to all hoofed big game animals:
1. Around one hind leg between the hoof and ankle joint;

2. Around the hock tendon directly above the ankle joint on one hind leg; or

3. Around the base of the antler or horn.

How do I transport my antelope, deer, or elk from the field?

The antelope, deer, or elk (including boned out meat) must be accompanied by the
animal’s lawfully tagged leg or antler along with either the animal’s head or a hind
quarter with the visible external sex organs left naturally attached to it. However, a
person with an any deer or any elk license must only provide the lawfully tagged leg

or antler that accompanies the animal for such license.

Can | transport an antelope, deer, or elk for another person?

Tagging allows an antelope, deer, or elk to be transported and stored by the hunter
or for the hunter. If a person other than licensee transports antelope /deer/elk parts
(including boned meat) from the licensee’s domicile to another location, the tagged

leg OR a transportation permit must accompany the items being transported.

What do I need to transport my antelope, deer, elk from my domicile to the taxidermist
or processor?
You must carry the big game tag or big game

license entitling you to the animal.

gfp.sd.gov | 605.223.7660 | 63




HUNTING ON
ROAD RIGHTS-
OF-WAY




HUNTING ON ROAD RIGHTS-OF-WAY

Laws and rules governing trespass and motor vehicles are complex. The laws may be simplified if the hunter remembers
to hunt only on foot during established seasons, to ask permission to enter private land and not to drive on state

and federal lands. It is also advisable to restrict vehicular travel in wet weather when roads, trails, rangeland, and
cropland could be damaged and in dry conditions when fire danger is high.

Road rights-of-way, excluding the
Interstate highway system, are open for
the hunting of small game and waterfowl
(see Mourning Dove, Youth Pheasant
and Resident-Only Pheasant seasons for
special road hunting restrictions). Only the
owner of the occupied dwelling, church, or
schoolhouse; the owner of livestock; or a
person who has written permission from the
owner of the occupied dwelling, church, or
schoolhouse, or the owner of the livestock
may use such highways or rights-of-way for
the purposes of discharging any firearm or
for the purposes of hunting within a 660-
foot safety zone surrounding an occupied
dwelling, a church, schoolhouse, or livestock.
No other person may discharge a firearm
at small game within the safety zone.

The rights-of-way along a section line or
other highway are open for hunting if:

» The rights-of-way have been commonly

used by the public for vehicular travel, as

demonstrated by the existence of a well-
worn vehicle trail.

An intentional alteration or adaptation

has been made to the rights-of-way to

enhance the natural terrain’s utility for
vehicular travel or to permit vehicular
travel where it was not possible before.

NOTE: Fences are sometimes not on a

rights-of-way boundary and sometimes

there is no fence. Most section line rights-
of-way are 66 feet wide. Some acquired
rights-of-way are wider.

» Hunters can take only small game
(except mourning doves) and waterfowl
within the rights-of-way on foot. The
hunter must be within the rights-of-way
and the game must originate from the
road rights-of-way or be flying over the
rights-of-way.

»

v

» The person must park or stop their vehicle
as far to the right-hand side of the road
as possible.

If the person who discharges a firearm is
more than 50 yards from the vehicle, the
doors on the side of the vehicle nearest
the roadway must be closed, but the
engine may remain running.

If the person who discharges a firearm
is less than 50 yards from the vehicle, all
doors of the vehicle must be closed and
the engine shall be turned off.

It is NOT legal to shoot small game and
waterfowl that takes flight from rights-
of-way over a Federal Refuge or Tribal
lands. If a state-licensed hunter shoots

¥

¥

¥

at a bird across the fence on either of
these lands, the hunter may be subject to
federal arrest.

Small game and waterfowl taken from
the rights-of-way but falling onto private
property can be retrieved by unarmed
hunters on foot.

No person may discharge a firearm,
muzzleloader, crossbow or bow and

¥

¥

arrow at any big game animal, except
turkey, may be taken with a shotgun
using shot shells or with a bow and
arrow, from within rights-of-ways open
to hunting.

A person may not discharge a firearm or
other weapon across or from any Black
Hills National Forest Service road.

Any person who, while hunting road
rights-of-way, negligently endangers
another person or puts that person in
fear of imminent serious bodily harm, is
guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

¥

¥
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GENERAL LAWS
ARTIFICIAL LIGHT

Between sunset and sunrise, no
person may use or possess night-vision
equipment or throw or cast the rays of
a spotlight, motor vehicle headlight,
or other artificial light onto a highway
or into any field, pasture, woodland,
forest, or prairie for the purpose of
spotting, locating, taking, attempting
to take, or hunting any animal, if the
person is in possession or control of
a firearm, bow, or other implement
by which an animal could be killed.
However:

» A person may use a handheld light,
while the person is on foot, to take
raccoons after the raccoons have
been treed by dogs, or to engage
in trapping activity and to take
trapped fur-bearing animals.

» From January 1 - August 31
a person may use night vision
equipment, but not artificial light, to
take jackrabbits, coyotes, beaver
during its hunting season, foxes,
raccoons, opossums, badgers,
skunks, and rodents, provided the
person is on public land and they
use a shotgun and shot shells or a
firearm and a cartridge having a
bullet diameter of less than .312
inches.

» From January 1- August 31,

a person may use night vision

equipment, but not artificial light, to

take jackrabbits, coyotes, beaver
during its hunting season, foxes,
raccoons, opossums, badgers,
skunks, and rodents, provided the
person is on private land that is
under lease to the Department

of Game, Fish and Parks for

the purpose of providing public

access, has the permission of the

landowner, and they use a shotgun

and shot shells or a firearm and a
cartridge having a bullet diameter
of less than .312 inches.

» A person may use night vision
equipment and artificial light to
take jackrabbits, coyotes, beaver
during its hunting season, foxes,
raccoons, opossums, badgers,
skunks, and rodents, provided the
person is on private land, and they
use a shotgun and shot shells or a
firearm and a cartridge having a
bullet diameter of less than .312
inches.

» “Artificial light” means a man-made
light or lighting device that projects
lumination for an unaided eye.

»  “Night-vision equipment” means
an electronic or battery-powered
device that enhances a person’s
ability to see in the dark.

RECREATIONAL ARTIFICIAL
LIGHT LAW

Except as otherwise provided in
“Avrtificial Light” above, between 10
p.m. and sunrise, from September 1
to January 31, inclusive, no person
may cast the rays of a spotlight,
or any artificial light other than a
motor vehicle headlight, into any
field, pasture, woodland, forest, or
prairie, for the purpose of spotting or
locating any wild animal. However,
a person owning or occupying land
and up to two guests may use night-
vision equipment, a spotlight, or other
artificial light, on the person’s land.

BOATING RESTRICTIONS

Hunters and trappers must follow all
state and federal boating regulations
when operating boats on public waters
in South Dakota. Those using a boat for
hunting or trapping purposes should
verify they have all required boating
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equipment on board and their vessel is
currently and properly licensed.

The latest South Dakota Boating
Handbook is available from any GFP
Wildlife Division office and from
County Treasurer offices or online at:
gfp.sd.gov/pages/regulations.

The following list includes water
bodies in South Dakota with boating or
boat motor restrictions that may impact
hunters and trappers. A complete listing
of public water safety zones by county
may be found online at: sdlegislature.
gov.

» Brown County: Willow Dam Wildlife
Management Area, no motorboats or
motor vehicles; Putney Slough Game
Production Area, no boating Oct. 20
- Dec. 31 in Secs. 7,8, 17 and 18 in
T124N, R61W.

Clark County: Reid Lake, no boating
Oct. 20 - Dec. 31; Indian Springs
and Antelope Lake, no discharging a

R

¥

firearm or fishing from a boat east of
the 424th Ave. line to 0.5 miles east
of 427th Ave. line from Oct. 20-Dec.
31.

Codington County: McKilligan Lake,
no boating during waterfowl seasons;

R

¥

Horseshoe Lake, no motors during
waterfowl seasons; Blythe Slough

in portions of Secs. 27 and 28 of
T117N, R55W, no boating from
March 1 - Aug. 31.

Day County: Blue Dog Lake on
waters fronting the Lakeside Use
Area starting at east property
boundary and extending 300 feet
west along shore is a no wake zone.
» Hand County: Wall Lake, no motors
during waterfowl seasons.
Hutchinson County: Silver Lake,

no boating during fall and spring

R

¥

R

¥

waterfowl seasons; Dimock, Tripp and
Menno lakes, no wake zone.

» McCook County: The waters of
Lehrman Game Production Areq, in
Sec. 32, TTO3N, R56W, no boating
during the Light Goose Conservation
Order as well as any open season
for migratory waterfowl.

Minnehaha County: Clear Lake, no
boating Oct. 20 - Dec. 31.

Roberts County: Secs. 20, 28, 29,
32 and 33 of T128N, R49W of
Cottonwood Lake Waterfowl Refuge,
no boating zone during waterfowl
seasons; and Secs. 11, 12 and 14

of T127N, R48W of Mud Lake, only
boats using electric motors during
waterfowl seasons.

Turner County: Swan Lake, no motors
on waters south and west of Christian
Camp; and the waters at the eastern

»

¥

»

¥

»

¥

end of Swan Lake within an area
starting at a point along the shoreline
approximately 60 feet south of the
concrete retaining wall that is located
on the north side of the beach on a
line to a point 100 feet westerly,
then on a line to a point 100 feet
southerly, then on a line in an easterly
direction back to a point on shore are
a no boating zone.

CIVIL DAMAGE LIABILITY

Violations of most big game
regulations are Class 1 misdemeanors,
punishable by fine and/ or
imprisonment and mandatory loss of
hunting privileges for one year. In
addition to criminal penalties, a person
taking or killing big game illegally
may be assessed civil damages in the
amount of $100 for each game bird,
$200 for each turkey, $1,000 for each
non-trophy deer, non-trophy antelope
or bobcat, $5,000 for each non-trophy
elk, mountain lion or buffalo and
$10,000 for each mountain goat or
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bighorn sheep.

Cases involving “trophy” antelope
or deer, civil damages will be at least
$2,000 and not more than $5,000 for
each animal; cases involving “trophy”
elk, civil damages will be at least
$6,000 and not more than $10,000
for each elk. If a person has taken
or is in possession of more than two
times the lawful daily or possession
limit of a regulated wild animal, such
person may be liable for twice the
civil damages. In addition, individuals
charged with the illegal taking of a
trophy big game animal are subject
to loss of all preference points for the
lottery license drawing.

CLOSED AREAS
The following are illegal:

» Hunting without permission of
landowner on legally vacated
section lines.

» No person (except the landowner or
anyone with landowner permission)
may hunt on public waters that
inundate private land within 660
feet of livestock, occupied dwelling,
churches, or schoolhouses.

» Discharging firearms or hunting
road rights-of-way within 660 feet
of an occupied dwelling, church,
schoolhouse, or livestock without
written permission from the owner
of such property. NOTE: Hunters
often violate this state law when trees
obscure feedlots, livestock, buildings,
and dwellings. A violation of the 660-
foot law carries a one-year suspension
of hunting privileges when the distance
is clearly and accurately posted.

»

¥

Hunting waterfowl| within state
waterfowl refuges or game birds
(including waterfowl) within state
game bird refuges except as

provided in season regulations.

¥

Hunting during the waterfowl seasons
along Brown County Road 16
adjacent to the Sand Lake National
Wildlife Refuge.

» Hunting within any federal refuge,

¥

National Park or monument, except
as otherwise provided for in season
regulations.

DOG TRAINING
No person may kill or capture any

wild game birds while training or
running a dog except during open
seasons. Using pen-raised birds to
train dogs is permitted with certain
restrictions:

» Ducks, ring-necked pheasants,
partridges, and quail, which are
obtained from the holder of a South
Dakota captive game bird license,
marked according to this chapter,
and used for any event or activity
related to sporting dog training or
field trials may be pursued or taken
on private lands at any time and
on public areas with prior approval
of the director of the division with
management authority over the public
area.

» A bill of sale that shows the licensee’s

¥

name, address, and captive game
bird license number; the number,
species, and sex of the birds; the
date of the transaction; and the name
and address of the possessor of the
birds must accompany the birds at
all times, until the birds reach the
domicile of the possessor.

»

¥

Dog trainers may use throwing
dummies, lures, or pigeons in the
training of dogs at any time and in
any place that such activity is not
otherwise prohibited.

»

¥

Sporting dog trials may be
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authorized and conducted on lands
administered by the department.
Application for a sporting dog trial
must be made in writing on forms
provided by the department.

»

4

Ringneck pheasants to be killed or

captured for any event or activity

related to a sporting dog training

or field trial shall be confined in

a release trap, release box, or

similar device until they are released

immediately before they are killed or
captured. A streamer of fluorescent
surveyor tape conspicuously attached
to the bird at all times during the
event or activity is acceptable in lieu

of confinement and release from a

trap. No more than four dogs may be

trained in any one day. In addition, a

person may not use or carry a shotgun

or rifle during training.

» The dog(s) must be owned by the
person conducting the training and not
offered for sale.

» The owner of the dog may be assisted
in the training if the owner is present.

» No motor vehicle, horse or any other
conveyance may be used.

» However, persons who otherwise

qualify to train dogs on public lands

may use a horse for dog training on
public lands until noon central time

on Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays

from the first Friday of August to the

first Sunday of September, inclusive,
with authorization of the government
agency managing the public land.

DOG REQUIREMENTS

Dogs being brought into South
Dakota are required to have a
certificate from their local veterinarian
indicating that they are vaccinated
against rabies. A health certificate is
not necessary for dogs traveling to this
state with their owners for less than

30 days. Dog owners with questions
concerning requirements may call the
South Dakota Animal Industry Board at
605.773.3321.

ELECTRONIC CALLS

The use of electronic calls is prohibited
when hunting migratory birds (except
for crows and during the Spring Light
Goose Conservation Order) and when
hunting big game except for mountain
lion. Turkeys are considered big game.

FALCONRY - GENERAL

A person may not hunt by falconry
and be in possession of a firearm,
except a pistol or be accompanied by
a person carrying a firearm, except for
a pistol. Non- migratory game birds
and game animals may be hunted Sept.
1 - March 31. Migratory game birds
may be hunted only in accordance with
state and federal migratory game
bird season regulations for 107 days
beginning no earlier than Sept. 1 and
ending by Jan. 15. The daily bag limit
is three and the possession limit is six of
game species in the aggregate.

Protected nongame birds and animals
taken incidentally by a raptor may not
be retained or possessed.

FALCONRY-TAKING OR ACQUISITION
OF RAPTORS

No person may take or attempt to
take any raptor without first acquiring
a raptor collecting permit issued by
GFP. Permittees must be in immediate
possession of the raptor collecting
permit while taking or attempting to
take raptors. The fee for a nonresident
raptor collecting permit is $200.

The trapping of passage raptors
(immature raptors in their first-year
plumage) is permitted only between
Aug. 1 - March 31. Only resident
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general or master falconry permittees
may take eyas (young, flightless birds)
from a nest or aerie. At least one eyas
must be left in the nest or aerie. Eyas
may be taken only May 1 - July 31. For
additional information, visit
gfp.sd.gov/falconry-permit.

FEDERAL LACEY ACT

No person may transport or ship to
another state fish and wildlife unlawfully
taken, possessed, or sold in South
Dakota.

GENERAL RESTRICTIONS
No one may:
»

4

Wantonly waste game or destroy any
birds or animals protected by the laws
of South Dakota.

» Possess a loaded firearm while

4

intoxicated.
»

4

Recklessly discharge a firearm or bow

and arrow.

» Use a firearm in the Fort Meade
Recreation Area South Unit and the
signed portion of the North Unit.

» Take game, except by shooting it with
a legal weapon or by birds trained in
falconry.

»

4

Hunt game birds with a shotgun
capable of being operated as a fully
auvtomatic.

»

4

Use rifles and handguns, including .22
caliber rimfire firearms, to hunt upland
game birds. They may be used for
hunting other small game animals such
as squirrels and rabbits.

»

4

Hunt with air guns, EXCEPT air guns
may be used by licensed hunters to
take cottontail rabbit, tree squirrel,
coyote, fox, skunk, gopher, ground
squirrel, chipmunk, jackrabbit, marmot,
porcupine, crow, and prairie dog; air
guns must be factory-rated to produce
a muzzle velocity of at least 600 feet
per second; only hunting pellets are

permitted.
» Steal, damage, or destroy someone
else’s trap, snare or animal in a trap.
» Use a drone to aid in the taking or
recovery game.

GIFTING WILDLIFE AND FISH
For this rule, gift means the voluntary

transfer of game /fish from any person

to another without fee or consideration.

A licensee may gift game and fish

or any part of game and fish, to

another person if each of the following

conditions is met:

» The game/fish was lawfully taken,
caught, or killed; and

» The number of game/fish gifted does
not place the recipient in violation of
any season, daily or possession limit
established for the species of game/
fish being gifted.

» If gifting to an unlicensed person the
licensee shall gift the game /fish at
the domicile of the recipient.

» A wildlife processing facility and
a person who deposits lawfully
taken game with the facility for
processing may agree upon a period
of time following which the facility
may consider the game, except a
migratory bird, to be abandoned by
the person. Except for a migratory
bird, the facility may distribute
abandoned game to any non-profit
organization or any charitable
organization that distributes food or
other services to individuals in need.
At no time may any abandoned
game be considered the property of
the wildlife processing facility.

P

4

Gifting of waterfowl must comply
with federal regulations. See
“Federal Laws for Migratory Game
Birds” for more information.
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HARASSMENT

No person may intentionally interfere
with other persons lawfully engaged
in taking or attempting to take game
or fish, engage in activity specifically
intended to harass or prevent the
lawful taking of game or fish or scare
or disturb game with specific intent to
prevent its lawful taking.

HUNTING GUIDES ON PUBLIC LANDS

No person, acting as a hunting
guide, may guide any hunting
activity on state-owned or managed
Game Production Areas, state parks,
recreation areas and lakeside use
areas, federal land leased or under
agreement to GFP and posted as a
Game Production Area and managed
for wildlife purposes or private land
leased or under agreement to GFP for
the purpose of providing public access,
or on highways or other rights-of-way
within this state that otherwise meet
the requirements except that a hunting
guide or employees of a hunting
guide may guide a hunting activity on
the road rights-of-way immediately
adjacent to property owned or leased
by the hunting guide.

A hunting guide is defined as a
person who holds himself or herself
out to the public as a hunting guide,
and for compensation or remuneration,
directs or provides services to any
person for the purpose of hunting any
wild animals.

Federal agencies have regulations
pertaining to guiding and outfitting in
addition to those listed here. Contact
the respective agency for more
information.

INSPECTION
Any person who possesses any
game bird, animal, or fish shall, upon

the request of any person authorized
to enforce the game and fish laws of
the state, permit the inspection and
count of the birds, animals, or fish. Any
motor vehicle, pickup camper, camper,
or any conveyance attached thereto,
may be stopped for such an inspection
and count by any uniformed law
enforcement officer.

MOTOR VEHICLE RESTRICTIONS

No person may operate motor-
propelled vehicles (including e-bikes) on:
» Lands owned, leased, or controlled
by GFP except on designated roads
and parking areas; and waters that
are open to motorized boats (see
boating restrictions).
Federal Waterfowl Production Areas,
except on designated parking areas.
National Grasslands except on
designated roads and trails.
U.S. Forest Service roads posted
against travel in the Black Hills.

»

¥

»

¥

»

¥

»

¥

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers land
except on established roads.

» On all waters of the Waubay
National Wildlife Refuge and
Waubay State Game Refuge in Day
County, except for designated trails.

» Private land without permission from

¥

the owner or lessee.

No person who is in or on a motor
vehicle, except those hunters with
Disabled Hunter Permits, may discharge
a firearm, crossbow or a bow and
arrow at any wild animal except,
coyotes, jackrabbits, rodents, skunks,
badgers, raccoons, red fox, and grey
fox.

No person may allow a firearm to
protrude from a motor vehicle or a
conveyance attached to it while the
vehicle is on a public road during a
hunting season. However, a firearm
may protrude from a motor vehicle

72 | 2025 South Dakota Hunting and Trapping Handbook



GENERAL LAWS

when shooting at, coyotes, jackrabbits,
rodents, skunks, badgers, raccoons, red
fox, and grey fox.

NOTE: Trespass laws apply and
landowner permission is necessary to
shoot from a road at these species that
are on private land.

No person may use a motor vehicle
to chase, harass, intercept, pursue
or disturb big game, small game, or
migratory birds.

No person may kill or attempt to
kill any wild bird or animal from an
aircraft, except for persons with a
valid aerial hunting permit issued by
the Department. No person may use
an aircraft for the purpose of hunting,
taking, concentrating, driving, rallying,
stirring up, locating, or spotting any
wild bird or animal, except a person
who uses a drone for the purpose
of locating or spotting a predator
or varmint, provided (1) The activity
occurs only on or over land that is
privately owned; (2) The person
operating the drone is the landowner
or has permission from the landowner
or a lessee; (3) The activity does not
occur during the months of September,
October, or November; and (4)

The operation of the drone is in full
compliance with all applicable Federal
Aviation Administration regulations.

No person may use an amphibious
vehicle to hunt or shoot at waterfowl
unless the vehicle is at rest or being
used as part of a fixed hunting blind.

No person may use a motor vehicle
on SD School and Public Lands (SPL)
for the purpose of hunting, fishing,
or trapping. This restriction does not
apply to roads, trails, or parking
areas designated and signed by GFP.
However, a person who holds a valid
Disabled Hunter permit from GFP

and who uses a device for mobility
may lawfully access SPL property by
means of a Power Mobility Device
for the purpose of hunting, fishing, or
trapping.

No person may use a snowmobile
to chase, harass or disturb any wild
animal.

No person may use a snowmobile
to chase, drive, harass, kill or attempt
to kill any game animal. An individual
may use a snowmobile in the taking
of a coyote if: the individual is on
property that the individual owns,
leases or is an invitee of the owner
or lessee; the individual is 18 or
older; the individual is not engaged
in harassing coyotes; the individual
is using a firearm to take the coyote;
the snowmobile is stationary at the
time the individual shoots or attempts
to shoot the coyote; and no other
individual is aboard the snowmobile.

No person may send or receive
a message by radio, cellular
telephone or other electronic form of
communications while in or on a motor
vehicle for the purpose of hunting
big game, small game, or migratory
waterfowl.

Hunters planning to use U.S. Forest
Service or National Grassland public
lands should contact the Forest Service
or Grasslands office for details on
travel restrictions.

PARTY HUNTING DAILY LIMITS

Two or more legally licensed hunters
who mutually agree to hunt small game
as a party and who maintain visual
and unaided vocal contact may take
more than one daily limit of small
game. However, the total number of
small game taken by the party may
not exceed the aggregate daily limit
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for all members of the party who are
licensed to take and possess small
game.

This does not apply to anyone who
hunts small game in more than one
party in one day.

This does not apply to any big game
license, or any tag issued as a part of
a hunting license nor does this section
apply to hunting of migratory birds.

PROTECTED ANIMALS

The following mammals are on the
state and/or federal threatened or
endangered species lists and are
protected: wolf, swift fox, and black-
footed ferret. No person may kill
nongame birds except English (house)
sparrows, rock pigeons, Eurasian
collared-doves, and European starlings.
Blackbirds (red-winged and yellow-
headed), common grackles, American
crows, and Black-billed magpies may
be killed when doing or about to do
depredation.
NON-TOXIC SHOT

The use of non-toxic shot is required
for all small game/waterfow! hunting
on all State Game Production Areas,
lake and fishing access areas, state
park system areas, U.S. Army Corps
of Engineers land, U.S. Bureau of
Reclamation Wildlife Production
Areas managed by GFP, U.S. Fish and
Wildlife Service National Wildlife
Refuges, and U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service Waterfowl Production
Areas (WPA). Lead shot may not be
possessed while hunting waterfowl/
small game on these areas. GFP
encourages hunters to use non-toxic shot
for all hunting, but it is not required
on U.S. Forest Service National
Grasslands, SD School and Public Lands
or on most GFP-managed and leased
property designated as Walk-In Areas,

CHAP and CREP areas when hunting
small game such as pheasants, grouse,
or doves.

Those hunting ducks, geese, coots,
tundra swan, Sandhill cranes or snipe
may not possess lead shot and must use
a federally approved non-toxic shot.

Approved non-toxic shot includes
steel (iron) shot, bismuth-tin, tungsten-
polymer, tungsten-matrix, tungsten-iron-
fluoropolymer and any combination
of tungsten-iron-nickel-tin-copper-
bismuth. See also 50 Code of Federal
Regulations 20.21(j)(1) for the complete
listing of federally approved non-toxic
shot types.

Coated lead shot does NOT qualify
as non-toxic shot.

Turkeys are classified as big game
and can be hunted with lead shot.

In addition, target shooting with
shotguns using lead shot is prohibited
on the following state public lands:
State Game Production Areas, lake
and fishing access areas, public water
access areas, state park system areas
and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Wildlife Production Areas and U.S.
Bureau of Reclamation lands managed
by GFP.

NATIONAL PARKS, MONUMENTS,
MEMORIALS

The taking of wildlife is prohibited in
Badlands National Park, Jewel Cave
National Monument, Mount Rushmore
National Memorial and Wind Cave
National Park. No person may hunt,
trap or discharge a firearm within the
boundaries of these units.

If an animal is wounded outside
the boundaries of one of these units
and enters within the boundaries, the
hunter should immediately notify a Park
Ranger before tracking or retrieving
the animal.
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PUBLIC LAND AND PARK
RESTRICTIONS

For more information on hunting in
South Dakota State Parks, visit page 79
of the handbook.

No person may enter, use, or occupy
lands owned or leased by GFP if it
interferes with the management of
the areaq, the posted purpose for
which the land was acquired or if the
lands are posted against such entry
or use. Camping is only permitted in
established campgrounds. Camping is
also prohibited on U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service Waterfowl Production Areas
(WPA). Campfires are allowed only at
designated campsites and in approved
fireplaces, stoves, or grills on GFP lands.
Campfires are not allowed on U.S.

Fish and Wildlife Service Waterfowl
Production Areas (WPA).

Hunting is not permitted in standing
crops.

Only persons using a state park, state
recreation area, state nature areq,
or state lakeside use area for lawful
hunting, trapping, fishing, snowmobiling,
boating, or camping may enter, use, or
occupy any of the above areas from
11p.m. to 6 a.m.

Only persons engaged in lawful
hunting, trapping, fishing, or boating
may enter, use, or occupy any of the
following areas from 11 p.m. to 6 a.m.
year-round: Public Shooting Areas,
Game Production Areas, Wildlife
Refuges, Lake and Fishing Access Areas,
Public Water Access Areas and U.S.
Fish and Wildlife Service Waterfowl
Production Areas (WPA).

A person hunting in a leased
controlled waterfowl hunting area may
hunt only in designated hunting areas.
Hunting in leased shooting zones where
blinds have been constructed by GFP
must only occur from the constructed

blinds. Hunting outside of or between

adjacent blinds is prohibited.

No person may target shoot on U.S.
Fish and Wildlife Service Waterfowl
Production Areas (WPA).

The Fort Pierre National Grasslands
prohibits trap shooting.

Uncased firearms, crossbows and
bows are prohibited in all state parks,
state recreation areas, state nature
areas and state lakeside use areas with
the following exceptions:

Uncased firearms, crossbows and
bows are permitted on designated rifle
and archery ranges the year around
and may be transported or carried
uncased to and from ranges and boat
ramps from designated parking areas;
and a firearm, air gun, crossbow or bow
legally transported in a motor vehicle,
trailer camper, or boat pursuant to state
law, is considered cased for purposes of
this section;

Other exceptions for State Park and
Recreation Areas are described on the
table on page 79.

The discharge of firearms or bows on
or across the George S. Mickelson Trail
rights-of-way is prohibited

Uncased firearms are prohibited on:
» The East Pelican Lake Access Area in

Codington Co.

» That portion of the Beilage Game
Production Area north of Christensen
Drive located in Sec. 24 and 25, Té6N,
R2E, in Lawrence Co.

» Hazel's Haven Fishing Access Area in
Moody Co.

» That portion of the Marcotte Game
Production Area in Sec. 16, T5N, R5E,
in Meade Co.

» Kelley’s Cove Fishing Access Area in
Yankton Co.

» The Hwy 38/James River Fishing
Access Area in Davison Co.

» The New Underwood Lake Access
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Area in Pennington Co. except
any licensed hunter while lawfully
engaged in hunting.

»

¥

The Rollings Game Production Area
in Lincoln Co. except any licensed
hunter, using a shotgun with shot
shells only, while hunting small game
or wild turkey and persons using the
shooting range when open.

»

¥

The Lake Henry Fishing Access Area
in Bon Homme Co. except any
licensed hunter, using a shotgun with
shot shells only, while hunting small
game or turkey.

»

¥

Only shotguns using shot shells,

crossbows, and bow and arrow

are permitted on lands owned and

operated by the Otter Tail Power

Company and leased as a Game

Production Area in Grant Co. and the

Lake Andes units Game Production

Areas in Charles Mix Co.

» Centerfire rifles are prohibited on
the Lechtenberg Game Production
Area in Hand Co. and on the
Cottonwood Lake Hatchery Game
Bird Refuge in Spink Co.

No person may use any firearm on
the Fort Meade Recreation Area South
Unit and the signed portion of the North
Unit.

No person may discharge a weapon
across or from a National Forest
Service road, Grassland road, or
into a cave or within 150 yards of
a residence, building, campsite or
recreation area (Pactola, Sheridan,
Deerfield, etc.).

NOTE: A person who is allowed
to legally carry a concealed pistol
pursuant to state law may carry a
concealed pistol at any time.

No person may ride or allow horses
on land owned, leased, or controlled by
GFP except on designated bridle trails
or equestrian areas. During established

seasons, licensed deer hunters may

use horses on state Game Production
Areas along the Missouri River, and
licensed deer and elk hunters or anyone
assisting in the removal of legally
tagged deer and elk may use horses on
the Battle Mountain/Friendshuh GPA in
Fall River and Custer counties. Horses
are prohibited on U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service Waterfowl Production Areas
(WPA) and National Wildlife Refuges.

A person may not destroy, damage,
or remove a living or dead tree, shrub
or vegetation; disturb any earth,
rocks, minerals, natural formations, or
cultural resources; or destroy, damage
or remove skulls or other parts of
animal carcass located on lands owned
or leased by GFP without written
permission from the secretary or a
designated agent.

Shed antler hunting is allowed on
GFP owned lands, including state
parks, recreation areas and Game
Production Areas. However, permission
from the landowner is required for
shed hunting on Walk-In Areas, CREP,
CHAP, or other privately-owned lands
leased by GFP for public hunting.
Regulations differ for lands owned
by other state or federal agencies.
Contact the respective agency for more
information.

If you are planning a trip for hunting
or other recreation on National Forest
and Grasslands in South Dakota please
contact a U.S. Forest Service Office
for information on use of these public
areas, road closures and recreation
fees that might apply in certain areas.

RAILROAD RIGHTS-OF-WAY
Railroad rights-of-way are not

considered to be the same as road

rights-of-way for purposes of hunting.
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Some rail lines expressly prohibit
hunting on their owned or leased
railroad rights-of-way.

ROAD-KILLED BIG GAME

If an accident occurs between a
motor vehicle and a deer or other
big game, the accident must be
reported to law enforcement if there
is significant damage to the vehicle.
In accordance with state law, before
any individual can possess a big game
animal killed by a motor vehicle that
individual must obtain authorization
from a GFP Conservation Officer
prior to taking possession. Taking
carcasses or any part of a big game
animal, including the antlers, without
authorization is illegal.

SALE/USE OF WILDLIFE

No person may sell or barter game
birds or animals except for skin, head
or bone-hard antlers of big game;
skin or plumage of pheasants, sharp-
tailed grouse, prairie chickens or grey
partridge; turkey feathers; skins of
cottontail rabbit, fox squirrel, grey
squirrel and red squirrel that have
been lawfully taken by a licensed
hunter; and legal furbearers.

No person may wantonly waste
game.

TRESPASS

No person may hunt or trap any
species of game, including unprotected
species, on private land without
permission from the owner or lessee
except in that part of the Black
Hills Fire Protection District south of
Interstate 90 and west of SD Hwy
79. In that area, no person may
enter private land to hunt if the land
is posted or if told by the owner or
lessee not to do so. The Black Hills

Fire Protection District is as follows:
Commencing at a point on the WY-
SD state line at the junction of 1-90 at
the state line; then east and southeast
along 1-90 via Rapid City to the
intersection of U.S. Hwy 16B; then
south and southwest along U.S. Hwy
16B to the intersection of SD Hwy 79;
then south along SD Hwy 79 to the
intersection of U.S. Hwy 18; then south
along U.S. Hwy 18 to the Cheyenne
River; then west and northwest along
the Cheyenne River to the WY-SD
state line; then north along said state
line to the place of beginning. The
Black Hills Fire Protection District does
not include any area within the limits of
any municipality.

If a person is convicted of knowingly
trespassing, the person’s applicable
hunting or trapping privilege shall
be revoked for one year. A person’s
applicable hunting or trapping
privilege shall be revoked for
two years following a second or
subsequent trespassing conviction within
ten years.

UNARMED RETRIEVAL

Hunters may retrieve lawfully taken
small game without permission from
private or public land (except National
Wildlife Refuges closed to such entry)
if they are unarmed and retrieve on
foot.

Permission is needed to retrieve big
game, including turkeys.

To be lawfully taken from road
rights-of-way, the hunter must be within
the rights-of-way boundaries when
shooting and the small game must
originate from or be flying over the
road rights-of-way.

See the “Hunting on Public Road
Rights-of-Way” section.
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WALK-IN AREA/CREP/CHAP

RESTRICTIONS
No one may enter, use, or occupy

lands leased by GFP through state

access programs for any purpose other
than hunting unless they have permission
from the landowner or any lessee of
the land other than GFP.

A person may enter, use, or occupy
lands leased by GFP under the state
for purposes of hunting under the
following conditions:

» The person moves or travels only on
foot.

» The conditions under which a per-
son may enter, use, or occupy lands
leased by GFP apply whether or not
the state has jurisdiction to impose
its hunting regulations on the person
seeking to enter, use, or occupy the
land.

» Landowner permission is required to
night hunt these areas. Landowner
permission is required to trap on
these areas.

» The same restrictions apply to land in
CREP, except hunting and fishing are
allowed on CREP without landowner
permission.

YOUTH ACCOMPANIMENT

A parent, guardian or responsible
adult (at least 18 years old) must
accompany youth under age 16 while
hunting.

BE RESPECTFUL OF ROAD
CONDITIONS

Driving roads during wet weather
and leaving the traveled road in bad
condition may hinder relationships
between hunters and landowners.

Landowners have expressed their
concern about road conditions during
the hunting seasons. When roads
are traveled during wet periods ruts
are developed and once frozen, can
be extremely difficult to drive farm
equipment down to access crop fields.
Please respect these important roads.
If you notice your vehicle leaving ruts,
make the right decision; back out of
the soft areaq, park and walk to your
desired location.
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HUNTING IN SOUTH DAKOTA STATE PARKS

Open October 1-April 30

Open September 1-May 31

Prohibited Year-round

Archery Only

Open except rifles or muzzleloader.

Other*

Open October 1-April 30

Open September 1-May 31

Prohibited Year-round

Archery Only

Open except rifles or muzzleloader.

Other*

Adams Homestead

North Point

Angostura

North Wheeler

Bear Butte

Oahe Downstream

Beaver Creek

Oakwood Lakes

Big Sioux

Okobojo Point

Big Stone Island

Palisades

Buryanek

Pease Creek

Chief White Crane

Pelican Lake

Cow Creek o Q East Pickerel Lake o
Custer . West Pickerel Lake o o
Farm Island © o Platte Creek o

Fisher Grove

Randall Creek

Fort Sisseton

Revheim Bay

Good Earth 0 . Richmond Lake .
Hartford Beach ] Rocky Point . .
Indian Creek . Roy Lake o

LaFramboise Island

Sandy Shore

Lake Alvin

Shadehill

Lake Cochrane

Sheps Canyon

Lake Herman

Sica Hollow

Lake Hiddenwood

Snake Creek

Lake Louise

Spearfish Canyon

Lake Poinsett

Spirit Mound

Lake Thompson

Spring Creek

Lake Vermillion

Springfield

Lewis & Clark

Swan Creek

Little Moreau

Union Grove

Llewellyn Johns

Walker’s Point

Mickelson Trail

West Bend

Mina Lake

West Whitlock

Newton Hills

* Access Permit, season or special regulations, etc.

CUSTER STATE PARK
Hunters licensed for Custer State Park hunting seasons may have uncased firearms, crossbows, and bows in Custer
State Park during the season which they are licensed.

MICKELSON TRAIL

There is no hunting allowed on the Mickelson Trail.

For detailed information about each State Park, please contact the respective State Park office.
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S.D. SPORTSMEN AGAINST
HUNGER

The South Dakota Sportsmen Against
Hunger (SAH) program was established
in 1993 to provide hunters with an
easier way to share their success
with those who are not as fortunate.
South Dakota sportsmen and women
can continue to make a difference
by sharing the meat from big game
and game birds. SAH processing
certificates will again be available from
participating processors for hunters to
use in paying for most or all the cost of
processing donated wild game. Hunters

OTHER INFORMATION AND MAPS

may help offset costs of this program by
making tax-deductible cash donations to
SAH through use of a check-off provision
on the online and paper applications for
hunting licenses. Individuals may also use
the “Donate” link on the SAH website at
feedtheneedsd.com or make out checks
or money orders to “South Dakota
Sportsmen Against Hunger” and send
them to South Dakota Sportsmen Against
Hunger, P.O. Box 1172, Pierre, SD
57501. Call 1.800.456.2758 or visit the
feedtheneedsd.com to learn more about
the program.

WILDLIFE DISEASES

SCAN TO LEARN
MORE ABOUT
AVIAN INFLUENZA

SCAN TO LEARN
MORE ABOUT

CHRONIC
WASTING DISEASE
(CWD)

SCAN TO LEARN
MORE ABOUT
EPIZOOTIC
HEMORRHAGIC
DISEASE (EHD)

gfp.sd.gov | 605.223.7660 | 83



OTHER INFORMATION AND MAPS

PUBLIC HUNTING AREAS

Please remember some of these lands are
privately owned and your actions while
hunting them can determine if they are
open to public hunting in the future.

Game Production Areas (GPA)

GPAs are public lands owned by the
State of South Dakota and managed
by Game, Fish and Parks for wildlife
habitat and public hunting opportunities.

GPAs are open to public hunting,
fishing, trapping, and related
outdoor activities. South Dakota has
approximately 723 GPAs, totaling more
than 286,000 acres. GPAs are assessed
as agricultural lands, with full property
taxes paid annually by GFP.

Non-toxic shot is required for
waterfowl and small game.

Walk-In Areas (WIA)

WIAs are lands owned by private
individuals as working farms and ranches
leased for public hunting access by GFP.
Landowner permission is required for
fishing, night hunting, and trapping on
WiIAs. Funds from the sale of hunting
licenses and the Wildlife and Sportfish
Restoration program are used by GFP
to pay for these leases. No permission
is needed to hunt WIAs and driving
is prohibited on WIAs except on
designated trails marked with signs.
There are over 1.3 million acres enrolled
in the Walk-In Area program.

Non-toxic shot is required for
waterfowl.

Controlled Hunting Access Program
(CHAP)

CHAP areas are lands owned by
private individuals as working farms
and ranches that are leased for

public hunting access by GFP. Specific
allowances such as huntable species,
number of hunters per day, and open
season dates vary by property, so it is
critical to verify this information prior to
hunting. Funds from the sale of hunting
licenses and the Wildlife and Sportfish
Restoration program are used to pay
these leases. Permission is needed to
hunt these areas and can be received
via self-serve check in boxes, on-line
reservations, or by directly contacting
the landowner. Landowner permission is
required for fishing, trapping and night
hunting. See the Public Hunting Atlas
for more details. Driving is prohibited
on CHAPs except on designated trails
marked with signs.

Non-toxic shot is required for
waterfowl.

Elk Hunting Access Program (EHAP)

EHAP was developed to help address
depredation on private land and to
increase hunter success. EHAP areas are
lands owned by private individuals and
leased by GFP for public elk hunting
access. Funds from the sale of hunting
licenses are used to pay these leases.
Driving is prohibited on EHAP areas.
Permission is needed to hunt these
areas and can be received by directly
contacting the landowner. Contact your
local GFP office to learn how to access
these areas.

Conservation Reserve Enhancement
Program (CREP)

Lands in CREP are open year-round
to public hunting and fishing access.
Landowner permission is required for
trapping and night hunting. CREP lands
are owned by private individuals who
have enrolled them in the Conservation
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Reserve Program (CRP) and signed a
lease agreement with GFP to provide
public hunting and fishing access, and
target wildlife habitat conservation
in the James River or Big Sioux River
Woatersheds.

Non-toxic shot required for waterfowl.

Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA)
WPAs are owned by the United States
Fish and Wildlife Service. These areas are
open to public hunting and trapping. There
are 1,000 WPAs in South Dakota, totaling

nearly 150,000 acres.
Non-toxic shot required for waterfowl
and small game.

Other Public Areas

GFP also manages Water Access
Areas, State Game Refuges, State Game
Bird Refuges, State Waterfowl Refuges,
Lakeside Use Areas, State Recreation
Areas and State Parks. Many of these
areas have special use restrictions
or regulations limiting their use and
availability for public hunting. Other
agencies with public hunting lands in South
Dakota include the SD Office of School
and Public Lands, U.S. Forest Service, the
Army Corps of Engineers, the Bureau of
Land Management, and the Bureau of
Reclamation.

STATE GAME REFUGES

GAME REFUGE - No hunting or
trapping of any species.

GAME BIRD REFUGE - No hunting

of game birds, including waterfowl.
See exceptions on page 27. Big game
hunting and trapping are allowed.
WATERFOWL REFUGE - No waterfowl
hunting. Big game and small game
hunting and trapping are allowed.

Brown County

Renziehausen Slough - Game Bird
Refuge

Brule County

Jorgenson - Game Refuge

Clark County

Reid Lake - Waterfowl Refuge
Antelope Lake - Waterfowl Refuge
Day County

Waubay - Game Bird Refuge
Edmunds County

Scatterwood Lake - Waterfowl Refuge
Faulk County

Gerken - Game Bird Refuge
Scatterwood Lake - Waterfowl Refuge

Grant County

Eye - Game Refuge

Lake Albert - Waterfowl Refuge
Big Stone Power Plant - Waterfowl
Refuge

Hand County

Wall Lake - Game Bird Refuge
Hughes County

LaFramboise Island - Game Bird
Refuge (No Firearms)

Hutchinson County

Silver Lake - Waterfowl Refuge
Marshall County

White Lake - Game Bird Refuge
Perkins County

Shadehill - Waterfowl Refuge
Roberts County

Cottonwood Lake - Waterfowl Refuge
Bullhead Lake - Waterfowl Refuge
Spink County

Cottonwood Lake - Waterfowl Refuge
Cottonwood Hatchery - Game Bird
Refuge

Yankton County

Kelly’s Cove - Game Refuge
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MISSOURI RIVER STATE WATERFOWL
REFUGES

Refuge boundaries are posted with
signs. Missouri River state waterfowl
refuges are shown in the Hunting Atlas.
LAKE OAHE

Blue Blanket Waterfowl Refuge

Swan Creek Waterfowl Refuge

Latin Draw Waterfowl Refuge
Whitlock Bay Waterfowl Refuge
Sutton Waterfowl Refuge

Sutton Bottom Waterfowl Refuge
Baker’s Gulch Waterfowl Refuge

Mail Shack Waterfowl Refuge
Okobojo Creek Waterfowl Refuge
Spring Creek Waterfowl Refuge
Peoria Flats Waterfowl Refuge

Odahe Dam Waterfowl Refuge

LAKE SHARPE

Odahe Dam Waterfowl Refuge
DeGrey Waterfowl Refuge

Joe Creek Waterfowl Refuge

Big Bend Dam Waterfowl| Refuge
LAKE FRANCIS CASE

Big Bend Dam Waterfowl| Refuge
Chamberlain North Waterfowl Refuge
Chamberlain Waterfowl Refuge
Whetstone Waterfowl Refuge

White Swan Waterfowl Refuge

Fort Randall Dam Waterfowl Refuge
LAKE LEWIS AND CLARK

Fort Randall Dam Tailwater Waterfowl
Refuge

Refuges on Lake Oahe and Lake
Sharpe, except those including Oahe
Dam and Big Bend Dam, are closed to
waterfowl hunting from the opening day
of the earliest waterfowl season through
the last day of the Canada goose
season and are open to duck hunting
after that date if that season is still
open.

All state waterfowl refuges are open
during the Light Goose Conservation
Order in the spring, except for Silver
Lake and refuges that encompass Oahe
Dam, Big Bend Dam and Fort Randall
Dam. Waterfowl hunters should also
read the section on “Boating Restrictions’
in this handbook.

MAPS FOR HUNTERS

Maps are available to assist hunters when hunting and navigating public lands

across South Dakota.

SCAN TO VIEW
ACCESS, UNITS, AND
HARVEST MAPS
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Chronic Wasting Disease is a fatal disease that impacts deer and elk populations.

Hunters can do their part to slow the spread of CWD by ensuring they are following

all transportation and disposal regulations.

All deer or elk carcass remains must be disposed of with a waste management
provider, if an allowable trash item, or with a permitted landfill.
» Exceptions include deer or elk carcasses:
* Not transported from the county of harvest.
* Passing through South Dakota.
» This includes deer or elk carcasses:
* Transported to any game processor or taxidermist, regardless of where the
harvest occurred.
* Transported into South Dakota.
» Game processors and taxidermist must dispose of all remaining deer and elk
carcasses, regardless of where the harvest occurred, with a waste management

provider, if an allowable trash item, or with a permitted landfill.

Hunters are recommended to leave as much of the unusable carcass as possible at
the location of the harvest in a discrete location on both public and private lands.
» It is illegal to dispose of carcass remains on:

* Road ditches.

* Private property without permission.

* Public land different from location of the harvest.
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APPRENTICE, MENTORED BIG GAME, AND YOUTH DEER

RESIDENT

Age Eligible for | Eligible for
Youth Deer | Mentored Big
License? Game License?
Under 12 No Yes
(171 or
younger on
December 31)
12-17 Yes, Yes, if 15 or
(12 by HuntSafe younger
December 31) | required
if 15 or
younger

NONRESIDENT

Age Eligible for | Eligible for
Youth Deer | Mentored Big
License? Game License?
Under 12 No Yes
(17 or
younger on
December 31)
12-17 Yes, Yes, if 15 or
(12 by HuntSafe younger
December 31) | required
if 15 or
younger

Youth Deer license holders 15 or younger, are required to possess
hunter education certification, or a copy of a current or previous
year's hunting license issued by another state in the field. Mentee is
required to purchase their respective mentor license.

To learn more about mentored big game hunting, youth, and
apprentice deer hunting, visit gfp.sd.gov and search “mentor hunt.”
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MENTORED BIG GAME HUNTING LICENSE
Definitions

Mentee: The youth 15 years of age or younger
that will be hunting.

Mentor: The mentee’s parent, guardian, or
other adult 18 years of age or older.
Mentored licenses are issued to the

¥

mentee.
» Mentees are limited to one license per
species per year.
Available for both resident and nonresident

¥

mentees 15 years of age or younger.

» Mentees must be accompanied by an
unarmed parent, guardian or designated
mentor within immediate control (arm’s
length) and supervision of the adult.

» Mentors must have successfully completed
a hunter safety or hunter education course
that meets the requirements of SDCL 41-7.

» Mentors who are not the parent or
guardian of the mentee must also obtain
permission from the parent or guardian of
the mentee.

» Mentor can only accompany one mentee at
a time.

» The mentee is limited to one “any antlerless
deer” tag that is valid for Unit MHD-03 or
an “antlerless whitetail” tag that is valid for
Unit MHD-13.

YOUTH DEER LICENSEES (AGES 12-17)

» Available to both resident and
nonresidents.

P

v

The Youth Deer license (limited to one) is for
an “any antlerless deer” tag that is valid
for Unit YOD-03 or an “antlerless whitetail”
tag that is valid for Unit YOD-13.

All Youth Deer licensees 15 years of age
or younger must be accompanied (unaided
visual and vocal contact) by a parent,
guardian, or responsible adult (at least 18
years old).

Adult accompanying the youth deer

P

v

P

v

licensee is not required to possess hunter
education certification.

Adult (at least 18 years old) must be
unarmed unless the adult has a big game

P

v

license valid for the same geographic
area and time of year as the youth deer
licensee.

»

v

Youth Deer licensees are eligible for other
deer licenses, except the Mentored Deer
license.

» Adult can accompany multiple youth deer
hunters.

APPRENTICE DEER

P

v

Residents who are 18 years of age

or older by June 30 can receive an
apprentice license if they have not held a
deer license during the previous 10 years.
» The Apprentice Deer license (limited to one)
is for an “any antlerless deer” tag that

is valid for Unit APD-03 or an “antlerless
whitetail deer” tag that is valid for Unit
APD-13.

» Apprentice deer hunters are not required to

v

be accompanied by an adult while hunting.
»

v

Apprentice deer hunters are eligible for
other deer licenses.
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MENTORED AND YOUTH SMALL GAME

RESIDENT

Age Eligible for Youth | Eligible for
Small Game Mentored Small
License? Game
License?
Under 12 No Yes
(11 or younger on
Dec. 31)
12-17 Yes Yes, if 15 or
(12 by Dec. 31) * younger
18+ No No
NONRESIDENT
Age Eligible for Eligible for Eligible for
Nonresident Mentored Small | Nonresident Adult
Youth Small Game License? | Small Game
Game License? License?
Under 12 No Yes No
(11 or younger
on Dec. 31)
12-17 Yes Yes, if 15 or No
(12 by Dec. 31)* younger
18+ No No Yes

Youth small game license holders 15 or younger, are required to possess Hunter
Education Certification, or a copy of a current or previous year’s hunting license issued
by another state in the field. Mentee is required to purchase their respective mentor
license.

If the youth acquires a youth small game license before turning 18, the license is valid
through Jan. 31, the following year.

Mentored small game license holders are not required to have completed hunter safety
certification or previously held a hunting license, however, they must be accompanied
by a mentor.
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YOUTH SMALL GAME

» Available for both residents and
nonresidents.

»

T

Adult (at least 18) accompanying the
youth hunter is not required to have
hunter education certification.

»

T

Youth 15 or younger must be
accompanied (unaided visual and
vocal contact) by a parent, guardian
or responsible adult (at least 18
years old).

» Youth hunters 15 or younger, are
required to possess Hunter Education
Certification, or a copy of a current
or previous year's hunting license
issued by another state in the field.

P

T

An adult can accompany multiple
youth small game.
P

T

A person who has not reached age
18 is eligible to hunt in the youth
pheasant season.

MENTORED SMALL GAME LICENSE

Definitions

Mentee: The youth 15 years of age or

younger that will be hunting.

Mentor: The mentee’s parent, guardian,

or other adult 18 years of age or older.

» Available for both resident and
nonresident mentees who, at the time
of going hunting, is 15 or younger.

»

¥

Mentees are not required to possess
hunter education certification.

¥

Mentors must have successfully
completed a hunter safety or hunter
education course that meets the
requirements of SDCL 41-7.

» The mentee can hunt during the

¥

youth small game or other small
game seasons but the mentored
hunting rules for accompaniment must
be followed anytime a mentee is
hunting.

» A mentee must be accompanied by
an unarmed parent, guardian or
designated mentor within immediate
control (arm’s length) and supervision
of the adult.

» Adult mentor can only accompany

¥

one mentee at a time.
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MAKE A DIFFERENCE.
BECOME A HUNTSAFE
INSTRUCTOR.

CONTACT BRANDON MAAHS, HUNTSAFE COORDINATOR, AT
605.280.3782 OR BRANDON.MAAHS@STATE.SD.US.



MENTORED
AND YOUTH
WATERFOWL




MENTORED AND YOUTH WATERFOWL

RESIDENT

Age Eligible for Youth | Eligible for
Waterfowl Mentored /
License? Youth
Waterfowl
License?
Under 12 No Yes
(11 or younger on
Dec. 31)
12-17 Yes Yes, if 15 or
(12 by Dec. 31) younger
18+ No No
NONRESIDENT
Age Eligible for | Eligible for Eligible for
Nonresident | Mentored/Youth | Nonresident
Youth License? Adult Waterfowl
Waterfowl License?
License?
Under 12 No Yes No
(11 or younger
on Dec. 31)
12-17 Yes, valid Yes, if 15 or Yes
(12 by Dec. 31) | for the two- | younger. Only
day Youth valid for the
Waterfowl two-day Youth
Season Waterfowl
Season
18+ No No Yes

Those 16 and older are also required to possess the Federal Waterfowl
Stamp. License holders are required to purchase a state migratory bird
certificate. Additionally, youth season license-holders 15 or younger, are
required to possess Hunter Education Certification, or a copy of a current or
previous year’s hunting license issued by another state in the field.
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MENTORED AND YOUTH WATERFOWL

1. Youth who have not reached
age 18 by the first day of the
Youth Waterfowl season may
hunt waterfowl during the Youth
Waterfowl season.

2. Mentors must have successfully
completed Hunter Safety or
Education certification as described
in SDCL 41-7. Mentors who are not
the parent or guardian of the mentee
must be at least 18 years old and
have obtained permission from the
parent or guardian of the hunter.

3. If the resident youth acquires a Small
Game License before turning 18, the
license is valid through Jan. 31 of the
following year.

4. Llicense holders are required to
purchase a State Migratory Bird
Certificate.

YOUTH WATERFOWL (AGES 12-17)

» Available for both residents and
nonresidents.

» Youth hunters 15 or younger, are
required to possess Hunter Education
Certification, or a copy of a current or
previous year's hunting license issued
by another state in the field.

P

X

Federal Waterfowl Stamp is required
for any hunters 16 and older.
P

X

Youth 15 or younger, must be
accompanied (unaided visual and
vocal contact) by a parent, guardian
or responsible adult (at least 18 years
old).

Nonresident Youth and Mentored
Hunting Licenses are by application

»

X

only.

» Adult can accompany multiple youth

X

waterfowl hunters.

WATERFOWL MENTORED HUNTING

LICENSE

Definitions

Mentee: The youth 15 years of age or

younger that will be hunting.

Mentor: The mentee’s parent, guardian,

or other adult 18 years of age or older.

» Available for both resident and
nonresident mentees 15 or younger.

» The mentee can hunt during the Youth
Woaterfowl seasons

* The mentee shall be properly
licensed to hunt waterfowl in
South Dakota.

* A mentee must be accompanied
by an unarmed parent, guardian
or designated mentor within
immediate control (arm’s length)
and supervision of the adult.

* Adult mentor can only accompany
one mentee at a time.
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Great Places Don't Just Happen
Without Donors Like You.

Your support has helped enhance outdoor
recreation, protect wild places, and ensure
that people of all ages and abilities can

connect with nature. ‘

28 IN 19
PROJECTS PARKS

Now, you can be part of this exciting new chapter to bring to life 28 Projects.
Your continued support can help make even greater places happen—for
today, tomorrow, and the generations to come.

Learn more about the campaign or make a gift, please
visit parkswildlifefoundation.org

o4
7 Parks & WILDLIFE

S, FOUNDATION



CONSERVATION OFFICERS

Aberdeen

Belle Fourche
Britton
Brookings
Buffalo

Canton

Chamberlain

Clark
Clear Lake

Custer

Flandreau

Fort Pierre

Gettysburg
Gregory
Hayti

Hill City
Hot Springs

Ipswich

Kadoka
Lake Preston
Lemmon
Madison
Milbank

Miller

Mitchell
Mobridge
Olivet
Onida
Plankinton
Platte
Pierre
Presho
Rapid City

Redfield

Salem

Jakob Heyd | 605.237.9878

Tim McCurdy (District CO Supervisor) | 605.380.4572
Jacob Schwint | 605.391.6042

Jack Baumert | 605.280.4738

Jeff Grendler | 605.360.0509

Adam Fuest | 605.280.7482

Tanner Pietz | 605.975.1482

Josh VandenBosch (District CO Supervisor) |605.940.0222
Diana Landegent | 605.730.1578

Travis March | 605.730.1573

Jeff Martin (District CO Supervisor) | 605.730.1575
Zach Thomsen | 605.881.2260

Adam Behnke | 605.881.3780

Ron Tietsort | 605.431.7048

Jenna Capper | 605.391.2132

Jim Ganser | 605.431.8099

Andrew Stark | 605. 222.0948

Dylan Peterson | 605.730.3774

John Murphy (District CO Supervisor) | 605.730.1571
Josh Carr (Regional CO Supervisor) | 605.730.1574
Kendyll DeRouchey | 605.730.1568

Cheyanne Colton | 605.280.4741

Logan Hammer | 605.881.0018

Jeff Edwards | 605.381.9995

D.J. Schroeder | 605.381.6438

Eric Voigt | 605.380.4376

Joe Galbraith (District CO Supervisor) | 605.380.4563
Jason Hamar | 605.891.5775

Christopher Schiera | 605.370.0980

Edgar Meza | 605.415.6462

Cody Symens | 605.480.3364

Blake Swanson | 605.881.3779

Jamie Pekelder (District CO Supervisor) | 605.881.3778
Jon Dunlap | 605.730.1570

Cory Flor (District CO Supervisor) | 605.680.0003
Dylan Urban | 605. 941.4552

Patrick Beffa | 605.845.6286

Taylor Etherington | 605.941.4735

Tyler Krekelberg | 605.730.1384

Lynn Geuke | 605.220.6943

Eric Brumbaugh | 605.295.1966

Jason Hamil | 605.280.7619

Wyatt Weber | 605.222.4192

Chris Dekker (District CO Supervisor) | 605.390.0923
Ross Fees | 605.381.3734

Derek Pelton | 605.220.9688

Adam Geigle (District CO Supervisor) | 605.390.1230
Jim McCormick (Regional CO Supervisor) | 605.381.9500
Shane Pedersen | 605.460.0450

Alex Osborne | 605.220.1169

Matt Talbert (District CO Supervisor) | 605.360.0491
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CONSERVATION OFFICERS

Sioux Falls

Sisseton
Spearfish
Sturgis
Tyndall
Watertown

Webster
Winner
Yankton

Craig Fishel | 605.201.3001

Justin Harman |605.530.7085

Jared Hill | 605.941.0181

Jeremy Rakowicz (District CO Supervisor) | 605.941.0074
Jeremy Roe (Regional CO Supervisor) | 605.940.3519
Anna Sells | 605.881.3773

Josh Thompson | 605.381.4704

Ryan Pearson (District CO Supervisor) | 605.391.0836
Taylor Kirchner| 605.360.0497

Kyle Lenzner | 605.881.3777

Jackson Knight | 605.280.1545

Kraig Haase (Regional CO Supervisor) | 605.881.3774
Austin Norton | 605.881.2177

Dillon Bates | 605.730.1576

Don Allaway | 605.350.1669

WILDLIFE DAMAGE SPECIALISTS

SCAN ME

FOR THE MOST UP-TO-DATE CONTACTS,
SCAN THE QR CODE
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2025-2026
HUNTING SEASONS

Hunting Season September October November

Grouse' and Partridge | Sep. 20 - Jan.
Pheasant | | Oc
Youth only | |% Sep. 27 - Oct. 5
Residents only | | <— Oct. 11-13
Quail | Oc
Cottontail Rabbit and Tree Squirrel Sep. 1 - M
Crow Sep 1 - Oct. 31 The crow hunting se
Snipe Sep. 1 - Oct. 31
Mourning Dove Sep. 1- Nov. 9 |
Youth only | |€— sep.13-14 |
_g Low Plains North and Middle | Sep. 27 - Dec. 9°
A |Low Plains South | Oct. 25 -
High Plains | Oct. 11 -
Canada Goose - Unit 1 Sep. 1-Dec. 16 *
Canada Goose - Unit 2 | ||
Light Geese Sep. 27 - Jan. 9
White-fronted Geese Sep. 27 - Dec. 9
Sandhill Crane Sep. 27 - Nov. 23 | |
Tundra Swan Oct. 4 -Jan.9
Turkey
Black Hills Mountain Lion
Antelope - Archery <— Aug. 16 - Oct. 3 <— Oct. 20 - 31
Antelope - Rifle | <—|Oct. 4-19
Deer - Archery Sep.1-Jan. 1’
Deer - Muzzleloader | | |
Deer - Mentored/Youth/Apprentice Sep. 13 - Jan. 1
Deer - Black Hills | Nov.1-30
Deer - West River Nov.15-30% —> |
Deer - East River Nov. 22 - Dec. 7= |
Deer - Refuge Varies by Refuge. See deer ap
Deer - Custer State Park Nov. 1-30"°
Elk - Black Hills and CSP Archery: Sep. 1 - 30| Rifle: Oct. 1-31 "
Elk - Prairie Varies by unit and license type. See e
Bison | [Non-trophy: Oct. 6 - Nov. 14 |
Bighorn Sheep Sep. 1 - Dec. 31
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31 " Includes prairie chicken, sharp-

.18 - Jan. 3172 tailed grouse, and ruffed grouse.
2 See small game hunting section

t. 18 - Jan. 31 for exceptions.

ar. 31 —>

ason is also open Mar. 1 - Apr. 30

Jan.6° |

Jan. 15 ° |

Nov. 3 - Feb. 15 *

Nov. 1 - Jan. 31 °

| Dec. 26 - April 30 ° -

Dec. 1-Jan. 1

<—Dec. 13-21°

| <—Dec. 13-21°

plication. |

k application.

l'rophy: Nov. 17 - Jan. 16

® Bonus blue-winged teal first 9 days
of season.

4 August Management Take (Aug.
16 - 31)

® See spring turkey application for
season dates.

® BH season will end if harvest limit
is met. Open year-round outside BH
Fire Protection Area.

" Nonresident archery season on
public lands starts Oct. 1.

8 Gregory County has different
season dates. See deer application.

° Only antlerless deer tags are valid
during this period

' December antlerless season
closed.

" Archery and rifle season dates
are for any elk licenses. Antlerless
season dates vary by unit. See elk
application.

gfp.sd.gov | 605.223.7660 | 103




POACHING RING EXPOSED:

SUSPECTS USED SPOTLIGHTS, NIGHT
VISION, AND THERMAL OPTICS TO
ILLEGALLY HUNT DEER IN BEADLE AND
SPINK COUNTY TARGETING RIVER
BOTTOMS AND PRIVATE LANDS.

Four poachers - 55 violations: 7 Class 2
misdemeanors, 45 Class 1 misdemeanors, 3 felonies.
» Penalties: $10,626 in fines, $19,500 in civil damages, 2,340 days in
jail (2,250 suspended).
» Seized:
* 5 firearms, including an AR-15 with a thermal scope.
* lllegal suppressors, some 3D-printed.
*  Trophy 5x6 whitetail buck (Boone & Crockett score: 168”).
*  Multiple other deer, including a 5x5 buck and a doe.

" TURNIN

JURMIC| 1.888.0VERBAG | TIPS.SD.GOV

THIS NUMBER IS FOR REPORTING WILDLIFE LAW VIOLATIONS ONLY. OPERATORS ARE NOT EQUIPPED TO HANDLE
INFORMATION OR TO TRANSFER CALLS.




