

34,000 copies | Midstates Printing | \$0.13 each | 2018

SOUTH DAKOTA SNOWMOBILING

ICENSING REQUIREMENTS In South Dakota, all snowmobiles must be licensed if operated on any public or private lands except on private land owned by the snowmobile operator.

A resident snowmobile license costs \$10 per year. Snowmobiles are registered under a staggered registration system, just like motor vehicles. If you have questions regarding snowmobile licensing, contact the Motor Vehicles Division at 605.773.3541. License decals can be obtained at the county treasurer's office of the owner's county, or, in the case of a nonresident of this state, the treasurer of any county and must be permanently affixed to the snowmobile on the hood cowling.

32-20A-25. Permit to operate motorcycle as a snowmobile. Any resident owner who has titled a motorcycle which has been modified to comply with the definition of a snowmobile for use as a snowmobile on a state snowmobile trail or area established pursuant to the provisions of chapter 41-19 may purchase an annual permit valid from Dec. 1 - Mar. 31, inclusive, for a fee of \$20. The permit shall be affixed to the motorcycle on the right side of the unit and shall be clearly visible. The Department of Game, Fish and Parks shall collect the annual permit fee imposed by this section and shall deposit the fees in the snowmobile trails fund established by – 32-5-9.2.

Non-resident snowmobiles validly licensed in another state may be legally operated in South Dakota. Non-resident user fees from other states are not valid. Unlicensed snowmobiles must have a special \$40/five-day temporary permit. In the Black Hills these permits are available at the county treasurer's office in Lawrence County or from the following license agents: Deadwood Gulch, Deadwood; Recreational Springs Resort, Lead, Hwy 85 S.; Spearfish Canyon Lodge, Spearfish Canyon; Steel Wheel Trading Post, Hwy 385; Trailshead Lodge, O'Neil Pass.

Snowmobile registration receipts are deposited into a designated State Snowmobile Trails Fund, which helps finance snowmobile trail development and maintenance costs throughout South Dakota. Public input for the development of the program is provided by the South Dakota Snowmobile Association, and the Governor's Snowmobile Advisory Council.

OPERATING UNDER THE INFLUENCE In South Dakota, snowmobiles are classified as motor vehicles. Therefore the operator of a snowmobile who is under the influence of alcohol, drugs or otherwise, may be prosecuted under the same provisions of the state's DUI laws. The legal limit in the State of South Dakota is 0.08 percent.

PLOWED ROADS No person may operate a snowmobile on a roadway that has been plowed or where snow removal has taken place, except to cross the road only after stopping and yielding to any oncoming traffic, or, when operation in a road ditch is not possible, to the extreme right-hand side of the road until such time as the operator can again use a road ditch or an unplowed area.

SPEEDING AND RECKLESS OPERATION No person may operate a snowmobile at a speed that is greater than is reasonable and prudent under the circumstances, or in a reckless way so as to endanger the person or property of another

WILDLIFE No person may, while operating a snowmobile, chase, harass, kill or attempt to kill any game animal or game bird.

ACCIDENTS The operator of a snowmobile involved in an accident on public lands, frozen public waters or any private lands leased for public snowmobile use which results in damage to a snowmobile or other property in excess of \$1,000 or results in death or injury requiring medical attention to any person must immediately report the accident to a law enforcement officer. If the snowmobile operator is physically incapable of filing a report, then someone acting for him/ her must file. Failure to report such an accident is a Class 2 misdemeanor.

SOUTH DAKOTA **SNOWMOBILE MAP** 2019-2020

FOR FREE DISTRIBUTION 1-800-S-DAKOTA | TRAVELSOUTHDAKOTA.COM

NOT FOR OHV