
FISHING HANDBOOK
SOUTH DAKOTA

2024



2 | 2024 South Dakota Fishing Handbook

South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks receives Federal financial assistance from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Under 
Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1975, Title IX of the Education Amend-
ments of 1972, the U.S. Department of the Interior and its bureaus prohibit discrimination on the basis of race, color, 
national origin, age, disability or sex (in educational programs). If you believe that you have been discriminated against 
in any program, activity or facility, or if you desire further information please write to:
Office of Civil Rights, Department of the Interior, 1849 C Street, NW, Washington, DC 20240.

160,000 copies | Midstates Printing | $0.32 each

CURRENT
POSITIONS
GOVERNOR
KRISTI NOEM

DEPARTMENT SECRETARY
KEVIN ROBLING

DEPUTY SECRETARY
SCOTT SIMPSON

WILDLIFE DIRECTOR
TOM KIRSCHENMANN

PARKS DIRECTOR
JEFF VAN MEETEREN

ADMINISTRATION DIRECTOR
CHRIS PETERSON

GAME, FISH AND PARKS COMMISSIONERS

CHAIR
STEPHANIE RISSLER, VERMILLION

VICE CHAIR
TRAVIS BIES, FAIRBURN

JULIE BARTLING, GREGORY
BRUCE CULL, YANKTON
JON LOCKEN, BATH
CHUCK SPRING, UNION CENTER
JIM WHITE, HURON
ROBERT WHITMYRE, WEBSTER

FACEBOOK.COM/SDGFP @SDGAMEFISHPARKS @SDGAMEFISHPARKS

Positions current at time of publication

Positions current at time of publication



gfp.sd.gov  | 605.223.7660 | 3

WHAT’S 
NEW

 » At Big Stone Lake, the Lake Sturgeon season will be open for catch-
and-release angling from June 16 through April 14. The season is 
closed year-round for all other sturgeon species.

 » The setline license ($5) allows resident anglers to fish a single 
setline or up to ten floatlines.

 » The number of resident Paddlefish tags for the Lake Francis Case 
snagging/archery season has increased from 350 to 500.

 » Silver Carp, Bighead Carp, and rough fish may now be taken with 
dip nets.

 » Species that can be taken for bait with traps, seines, dip nets, lift 
nets and cast nets by lawful anglers for noncommercial use are 
Flathead Chub, Western Silvery Minnow, Plains Minnow, Fathead 
Minnow, White Sucker, Creek Chub, Golden Shiner, Emerald Shiner, 
Spottail Shiner, Gizzard Shad, Tiger Salamander (all subspecies), 
Leopard Frog (all subspecies), Crayfish (Lacunicambarus diogenes, 
Faxionius immunis, Faxionius virilis, and Faxionius causeyi), 
Freshwater Shrimp, and Leeches. 

 » Free fishing will no longer be offered on Mother and Fathers Days.
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FREQUENTLY 
ASKED
QUESTIONS

Aberdeen: 605.626.2391, 5850 E. Hwy 12
Chamberlain: 605.734.4530, 1550 E. King Ave.
Ft. Pierre: 605.223.7700, 20641 SD Hwy 1806
Huron: 605.353.7145, 895 3rd Street SW
Mobridge: 605.789.4699, 909 Lake Front Drive
Pierre: 605.773.3387, 523 E. Capitol Ave.
Rapid City: 605.394.2391, 4130 Adventure Trail
Sioux Falls: 605.362.2700, 4500 S. Oxbow Ave.
Watertown: 605.882.5200, 400 West Kemp
Webster: 605.626.3343, 603 E. 8th Ave.

GENERAL INFORMATION: 605.223.7660 
TTY: 605.223.7684, email: wildinfo@state.sd.us

Q: Where can I find information on Aquatic Invasive Species in South 
Dakota?

A: Information on Aquatic Invasive Species in South Dakota can be found at 
SDLEASTWANTED.SD.GOV

Q: Where can I find information on boat ramps and shore fishing?

A: Information on fishing access can be found on the “Public Water Access” map 
on the South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks website under the “Maps” tab (gfp.
sd.gov/maps).

Q: Where can I find information on recent fish stockings within the state?

A: Recent stocking information is available on the South Dakota Game, Fish, and 
Parks website (gfp.sd.gov) under the “Fish Stockings in the Last 14 Days” tab.

Q: Where can I find information on state record fish or submitting a state 
record fish application?

A: State record fish information, including the requirements and application, can 
be found on the South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks website (gfp.sd.gov) under 
“State Records” within the “Fish” tab (gfp.sd.gov/fish).
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GENERAL LICENSING
No license may be refunded or 
transferred to another person 
after being issued. A fishing license 
is needed to take fish, turtles, 
bullfrogs or bait. A hoop net/trap or  
floatline/setline license, in addition 
to a valid resident fishing license, is 
required when using these methods. 
See Hoop Net, Trap, Floatline/
Setline Licenses in the Resident 
License Section.

AGENT FEE
 The maximum fee for each fishing 
license sold or replaced by a license 
agent or online is $4. 

BUYING LICENSES
 Resident and nonresident fishing 
licenses may be purchased in South 
Dakota at many retail stores, bait 
shops and a few County Treasurer 
offices. When purchasing licenses 
over the counter you must have your 
state-issued ID with you.
 Licenses may be purchased and 
printed from home. To purchase 
licenses online, visit gfp.sd.gov or 
use GFP’s mobile app.
See Resident Hoop Net, Trap, 
Floatline/Setline Licenses in the 
Resident Licensing section for details 
about purchasing these licenses.

CARRYING/EXHIBITING LICENSES
 A licensee shall exhibit the 
licensee’s license or license 
authorization issued by GFP upon 
request by a wildlife conservation 
officer or other law enforcement 
officer. A licensee who is 18 years 
of age or older who holds the 
license authorization, shall exhibit 

and provide for inspection a driver’s 
license, a state-issued identification 
card or another form of valid 
identification for the
purpose of verifying the identity of 
the licensee.

DELINQUENT CHILD SUPPORT
 South Dakota law prohibits the 
issuance or renewal of any hunting 
or fishing license if an
individual owes $1,000 or more in 
past-due child support, unless the 
individual enters into a repayment 
agreement with the Department of 
Social Services for payment
of the delinquent child support. 
There is a requirement to enter 
into a repayment agreement with 
the Department of Social Services 
even if the individual is presently 
making child support payments, or 
if child support is being withheld 
from wages or income. To enter 
into the required repayment 
agreement, individuals must 
contact the Department of Social 
Services, Division of Child Support; 
700 Governors Drive, Kneip 
Building; Pierre, SD 57501; or call 
605.773.6456.

LOST LICENSES
 Lost licenses may be replaced by 
any registered license agent. License 
agents may charge the standard 
agent fee ($4) for replacing 
general fishing licenses. In addition, 
licenses may be reprinted at home 
by the licensee at any time.
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REVOKED LICENSES
 If a person is convicted of 
knowingly trespassing or violating a 
fishing law punishable as a Class 1 
misdemeanor, or substantially
exceeding daily or possession limits, 
or violating any rule pertaining to 
fishing or possessing fish without a 
license or during a closed season, 
the person’s fishing privileges will 
be revoked for one or more years 
and the person is prohibited from 
purchasing or applying for another 
fishing license during the period of 
revocation.
 Those whose privileges are 
revoked in South Dakota may be 
subject to revocation or suspension in 
other states, including the home state 
of non-residents. Any person whose 
fishing privileges are currently 
revoked or suspended in any state 
or country may not apply for or
buy a license or exercise the same 
privilege in South Dakota during the 
period of revocation or suspension.
 No person who has an unpaid 
and unsatisfied judgment issued 
for wildlife civil damages may 
purchase, attempt to purchase or 
possess any South Dakota hunting, 
fishing or trapping license.

TRIBAL WATERS
 Non-tribal members fishing 
inland waters that overlay Indian 
trust property need a tribal fishing 
license. Non-tribal members fishing 
on the Missouri River and its 
impoundments need only the state
license. However, anglers fishing the 
Missouri River from tribal lands may 
need to purchase a tribal fishing 
license or access permit from the 
tribe to fish from shore.

ANGLER ASSISTANCE PERMIT
The Department may issue an 
Angler Assistance permit to a 
person with a valid fishing license, 
or who is exempt from licensing 
requirements, who has a physical 
or developmental disability that 
prevents them from being able 
to perform any of the activities 
associated with fishing. The permit 
allows another person to assist the 
permitted individual while fishing, in 
accordance with existing regulations, 
and without the need to possess 
a valid fishing license. An Angler 
Assistance permit may be issued on 
either a temporary or permanent 
basis, dependent on the type of 
disability, at the discretion of the 
Department. 

GENERAL LICENSING
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RESIDENCY 
 To be eligible for a resident 
license, a person must meet all the 
following criteria:

 » Have a domicile within 
this state for at least 90 
consecutive days immediately 
preceding the date of 
application for, purchasing, or 
attempting to purchase any 
hunting, fishing, or trapping 
license/permit. A domicile is 
a person’s established, fixed, 
and permanent home to which 
the person, whenever absent, 
has the present intention of 
returning.

 » Make no claim of residency 
in any other state or foreign 
country for any purpose.

 » Claim no resident hunting, 
fishing, or trapping privileges 
in any other state or foreign 
country.

 » Have a valid South Dakota 
driver’s license and motor 
vehicles registered in South 
Dakota prior to application/ 
purchase.

EXCEPTIONS: The following persons 
are deemed to be residents of this 
state if they continue to meet any of 
the conditions set forth below:

 » Any person who previously 
had a domicile in this state 
who is absent due to business 
of the United States or of this 
state, or is serving in the armed 
forces of the United States or 
the spouse of an active duty 
military person;

 » Any person who previously 
had a domicile in this state who 
is absent due to the person’s 
regular attendance at a post- 
high school institution as a 
full-time student or due to the 
person’s regular attendance in 
a medical or dental residency 
program;

 » Any person in the active 
military of the United States 
or that person’s spouse who is 
continuously stationed in this 
state;

 » Any person who is a patient 
in any war veterans’ hospital 
within this state;

 » Any person who is an 

RESIDENT LICENSING

2024 Resident Fees
The license period is December 15, 2023 through January 31, 2025

 Annual Fishing .............................................................$28
 One-Day Fishing .......................................................... $8
 Combination License ..................................................$55
 Senior Combination (65 and over) .........................$40
 Senior Annual Fishing (65 and over) ......................$12
 Habitat Stamp ............................................................$10
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RESIDENT LICENSING
employee of the veterans’ 
administration or any veterans’ 
hospital in this state;

 » Any person residing on 
restricted military reservations 
in this state;

 » Any person attending regularly 
a post-high school institution 
in this state as a full-time 
student for 30 days or more 
immediately preceding the 
application;

 » Any foreign exchange 
student over 18 years of age 
attending a public or private 
high school who has resided in 
the state for 30 days or more 
preceding the application;

 » Any person who is a minor 
dependent of a resident of this 
state; and

 » For the purpose of acquiring 
resident small game and 
fishing licenses, any person 
who does not reside in South 
Dakota but who is a member 
of the South Dakota National 
Guard or of any other unit of 
a reserve component of the 
armed forces of the United 
States that is located in South 
Dakota.

TERMINATION OF RESIDENCY
 A person (other than a person 
who fits into one of the above 
EXCEPTIONS) is deemed to have 
terminated their South Dakota 
resident hunting, fishing, and 
trapping status if the person does 
any of the following:

 » Applies for, purchases, or 

accepts a resident hunting, 
fishing, or trapping license 
issued by another state or 
foreign country;

 » Registers to vote in another 
state or foreign country;

 » Accepts a driver’s license 
issued by another state or 
foreign country; or

 » Moves to any other state or 
foreign country and makes it 
the person’s domicile or makes 
any claim of residency for any 
purpose in the other state or 
foreign country.

 However, a person who has 
lawfully acquired a resident hunting, 
fishing, or trapping license and who 
leaves the state after acquiring
the license to take up residency 
elsewhere may continue to exercise 
all the privileges granted by the 
license until the license expires if the 
person’s respective privileges are 
not revoked or suspended.

MILITARY GENERAL FISHING  AND 
HUNTING LICENSE
 Any resident who is on active 
duty in the armed forces of the 
United States and who is stationed 
at a location outside the state 
may fish and hunt small game 
without payment of a fee or the 
applicable hunting and fishing 
license authorizing the activity. 
While engaged in the permitted 
activity, the resident shall possess 
and display appropriate military 
orders indicating the resident is on 
active duty stationed outside of 
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RESIDENT LICENSING

South Dakota and a valid military 
identification card. This section does 
not apply to any person who is 
serving on active duty for training 
as a member of the armed forces 
reserve or National Guard.

PROOF OF RESIDENCY
 To buy a license, a resident age 
18 or older needs a valid South 
Dakota driver’s license or a state- 
issued and expiration-dated South 
Dakota ID card. Either can be 
obtained at a state driver’s license 
office.

DISABILITY LICENSE
 The following residents may apply 
to the GFP License Office to
receive a $10 Disability Card that is 
equivalent to the Fishing License and 
Small Game License and is valid for 
four years:

 » Persons who are paraplegic  
or otherwise permanently 
physically unable to walk;

 »  Persons blind or visually 
impaired;

 » A person who has a 
developmental disability 
(fishing only), contact the 
GFP License Office at 
605.223.7660, or visit gfp. 
sd.gov

Resident veterans can qualify for 
a Disability License by one of four 
ways:

1. If they receive a veterans 
allotment for a 40% or more 
disability which is deemed a 
service-connected injury.

2. If they have received the 

Department of Veterans Affairs 
“K” Award.

3. If they have served on active 
duty in the armed forces of the 
United States or have served as 
a member of the armed forces 
reserve or National Guard, 
and the resident is 40% or 
more disabled for the purposes 
of receiving Social Security 
benefits.

4. If they were a Prisoner of War.
 A person must apply on forms 
provided by GFP, and provide proof 
of South Dakota residency with
the application. Information and 
applications are available from: 
GFP License Office; 20641 SD Hwy 
1806; Fort Pierre SD 57532; or call 
605.223.7660.

HABITAT STAMP
 A person 18 years of age or 
older shall purchase a habitat stamp 
when applying for or purchasing a 
hunting or fishing license. The fee for 
the habitat stamp shall be $10 for 
residents. A person is not required to 
purchase more than one habitat stamp 
in a license year. Any person required 
to possess a hunting or fishing license 
may not fish, hunt, or trap without 
purchasing a habitat stamp. Purchase 
of the habitat stamp is not required 
for the 1-Day Resident Small Game 
license, the 1-Day Resident Fishing 
License, any youth hunting license, 
any landowner hunting license, or any 
reduced fee disabled license.
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RESIDENT LICENSING
ANNUAL FISHING LICENSE
 Allows residents age 18-64 to 
fish throughout the license period. 
Residents age 65 or older must 
purchase the Senior Fishing License 
or Senior Combination License to fish 
throughout the license period.

COMBINATION LICENSE
 Residents age 18-64 may 
purchase this license which combines 
fishing and small game hunting 
privileges.

SENIOR ANNUAL FISHING LICENSE
 Allows residents age 65 or older 
to fish throughout the license period.

SENIOR COMBINATION LICENSE
 Residents age 65 or older may 
purchase this license which combines 
fishing and small game hunting 
privileges.

YOUTH
 Residents under age 18 do not 
need a license to fish and can take 
their own limits. 

ONE-DAY FISHING LICENSE
 The license begins at 12:01 a.m. 
and expires at midnight for the 
specified date on the license. License 
holders are allowed one daily limit 
of fish. No Habitat Stamp is needed.

LANDOWNERS
 Landowners and immediate 
family members (spouse and 
children residing at home or children 
residing on land owned or leased 
by the qualifying landowner) who 
are residents of South Dakota do 
not need a fishing license to fish 
in waters inundating private land 
owned or leased by the qualifying 
resident. Notwithstanding any other 
provisions of law, a resident is not
in violation of any season, daily, or 
possession limit established for the 
species of fish in a man-made water 
body on land owned by the resident 
provided the resident owns the bed 
of the water body in its entirety, 
and the fish taken remain on the 
resident’s land, unless said body of 
water has been stocked or managed 
by GFP within the past five years.

HOOP NET, TRAP, FLOATLINE/
SETLINE LICENSES
 Only South Dakota residents with 
a valid fishing license or are under 
18 years of age and exempt from 
licensing requirements may purchase 
Hoop Net/Trap ($10 each),  
Floatline/Setline ($5 each) licenses. 
Licenses can be purchased online at 
gfp.sd.gov.
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NONRESIDENT LICENSING

ANNUAL FISHING LICENSE
 Allows a nonresident to fish 
throughout the license period. 

TEMPORARY FISHING LICENSES
 The 1-Day Fishing License begins 
at 12:01 a.m. and ends at midnight 
for the date stated on the license. 
The license holder is allowed one 
daily limit of fish. No habitat stamp is 
needed.
 The 3-Day Fishing License begins 
at 12:01 a.m. for the date stated 
on the license and ends at midnight 
on the third day. The license holder 
is allowed one daily limit of fish for 
each day the license is valid,  but 
may not exceed the possession limit as 
determined by species.

HABITAT STAMP
 A person 18 years of age or 
older shall purchase a habitat stamp 
when applying for or purchasing a 
hunting or fishing license. The fee for 
the habitat stamp shall be $25 for 
nonresidents. A person is not required 
to purchase more than one habitat 
stamp within a license year. Any 
person required to possess a hunting 
or fishing license may not fish, hunt, 
or trap without a habitat stamp. 
Purchase of the habitat stamp is not 
required for the 1-Day Fishing License, 
any youth license, any private shooting 
preserve license, or landowner hunting 
license.

YOUTH
 Nonresidents under age 18 do not 
need a license to fish and can take 
their own limit.

2024 Nonresident Fees
The license period is December 15, 2023 through January 31, 2025

 Annual Fishing .............................................................$67
 Three Day Fishing ......................................................$37
 One Day Fishing .........................................................$16
 Habitat Stamp ............................................................$25
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BORDER WATERS

Exceptions are:
Minnesota - Anglers licensed in 
South Dakota or Minnesota may fish 
the MN/SD border waters. Residents 
of states other than South Dakota 
or Minnesota may fish the MN/SD 
border waters if in possession of 
a valid nonresident fishing license 
issued by either state or if lawfully 
authorized to fish by either state. 
Anglers must comply with the laws 
and rules of the state in which they 
are licensed. Anglers may launch 
and/or fish from either shore and 
must transport their catch to the 
state in which they are licensed by 
the most direct route. South Dakota 
licensed anglers transporting their 
fish from the Minnesota side must 
return to South Dakota by the most 
direct route.

Nebraska - Any person possessing a 
valid fishing license or permit issued 
by South Dakota or Nebraska, 
or who is legally exempted from 
license or permit requirements, may 
fish from a boat or the shore with 
any legal method in the flowing 
portions of the Missouri River, 
including backwaters, sloughs, and 
chutes that connect to the Missouri 
River proper within the boundary of 
South Dakota adjacent to Nebraska. 
These anglers may also fish with any 
legal method in the South Dakota 

portion of any oxbow lake that 
contains a common boundary with 
Nebraska. From Gavins Point Dam to 
0.6 miles downstream, a nonresident 
Nebraska fishing permit is required 
for anyone who is not a resident of 
Nebraska or South Dakota when 
fishing from boat or either bank. 
Anglers fishing in the South Dakota-
Nebraska border waters shall follow 
the laws and regulations of the 
state in which they are licensed or 
the state in which they are fishing, 
whichever are more restrictive. 

Iowa - Any licensed angler may 
fish from boat or either bank in the 
South Dakota-Iowa border waters of 
the Big Sioux River if the angler
complies with the laws of the state in 
which they are licensed or the state 
in which they are fishing, whichever 
are more restrictive.

North Dakota - Persons fishing on 
the Missouri River near the South 
Dakota-North Dakota border line 
must conform to all the laws of the 
state in which they are located or 
actively fishing. Possession of more 
than one day’s limit on the water is 
prohibited in both states.

Individuals fishing on waters that border South Dakota must enter the water 
and return to shore from the state in which they are licensed and only fish in 
the waters of the state in which they are licensed. Anglers may not exceed 
the daily or possession limits established for border waters even if they 
possess licenses from both adjoining states.
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FREE FISHING 
WEEKEND
MAY 17 - 19, 2024

#SDINTHEFIELD  |  GFP.SD.GOV
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STATEWIDE
LIMITS
Dingell - Johnson Funding Allocation
Statewide Harvest and Length Limits
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DINGELL - JOHNSON FUNDING ALLOCATION

AQUATICS PROGRAM SPENDING

General Fishing Access (3%)

Motorboat Fishing Access (10%)

Hatcheries (27%)

Small Dams with Fisheries (2%)

Hatchery Operations and 
Maintenance (54%)

Fisheries Management and 
Research 46%)

Fisheries Research (5%)

Aquatic Invasive Species (3%)

Fisheries Surveys (24%)

Habitat and Access (24%)

Aquatic Education (2%)

 The Dingell-Johnson Sport Fish Restoration Act authorizes the United States 
Secretary of the Interior to cooperate with state fish and game departments, 
on sport fish restoration projects. States must meet federal standards for the 
conservation of fish and wildlife, which prohibits the diversion of license fees 
paid by anglers for any purpose other than the administration of the state’s 
fish and wildlife department. Funds are collected through excise taxes on 
fishing equipment, tackle, electric outboard boat motors, sonar devices and 
motorboat and small engine fuel taxes. States must provide a 25% match 
to requested funds. The Dingell-Johnson funding allocation to South Dakota 
in 2023, totaled $5,381,426. The following chart illustrates how those funds 
were allocated.

While allocation of funds generated by the Dingell-Johnson Sportfish 
Restoration Act are spent as indicated above, the overall allocation of all 
funds spent on aquatics resource management are provided below.
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MINIMUM LENGTH LIMITS FOR 
WALLEYE
 Walleye minimum length limits 
have been used in South Dakota 
fisheries management for more than 
30 years. Minimum length limits are 
designed to protect small fish from 
harvest and increase average fish 
size. In order for a walleye minimum 
length limit to have the intended 
results there must be: fast growth 
(grow to 15 inches in four years 
or less), high harvest, low numbers 
dying of natural causes annually, 
poor natural production or stocking 
success.
 Growth is a key factor in the 
success of minimum length limits. 
Walleye growth often slows as 
food becomes limited and generally 
indicates that the predator-prey 
relationship is out of balance.
 It’s usually easy to recognize when 
the predator-prey relationship is
out of balance; walleyes tend to be 
skinny and willing to bite, which can 
lead to high angler catch rates but 
very few harvestable fish. However, 
it’s not always obvious. Walleyes 
may continue to have good body 
condition even though their growth 
has slowed. When growth is slow, 
few fish will reach harvestable size 

and are said to have “stockpiled” 
below the minimum length limit.
 When stockpiling occurs, many 
people do not realize that growth 
has slowed and believe the short fish 
will be larger next year. When the 
next year comes, most fish anglers 
catch remain below the minimum 
length. These slow growing fish 
may be lost to natural or hooking 
mortality before they reach the 
minimum length. If those
fish do survive without growing past 
the minimum length, they could
further deplete the food supply and 
potentially impact future walleye 
year classes.
 GFP annually evaluate walleye 
minimum length limits in place on 
South Dakota lakes. When there 
is no positive impact on a fish 
population from a minimum length 
restriction, GFP will recommend 
removing the minimum length limit.

STATEWIDE HARVEST AND LENGTH LIMITS
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FISHERIES AREA EXCEPTIONS: Refer to harvest limit exceptions for each 
fisheries area on the following pages to see if the waters you are fishing 
are different from these statewide limits. See border water sections for 
Minnesota, Iowa, and Nebraska border water limits.

STATEWIDE HARVEST AND LENGTH LIMITS

FISH MANAGEMENT AREAS

Species  Daily Limit Possession Limit

Walleye (includes walleye/sauger/saugeye) 4 (only one 20” or 
longer) 8

Northern pike 6 12

Muskellunge, tiger muskie Catch and release only

Trout, salmon, splake (any combination) 5 10

Largemouth/smallmouth bass (any combination) 5 10

Yellow perch 15 30

Crappie 15 30

Sunfish (bluegill, green, pumpkinseed, redear, 
Orangespotted in any combination) 15 30

Catfish (any combination) 10 (only one flathead 
catfish 30” or longer) 20

Sturgeon

With the exception of a catch and 
release season for lake sturgeon on Big 
Stone Lake from June 16 to April 14, the 
season is closed for all sturgeon species.

Paddlefish Available by special permit only

Smelt 5 gallons No possession

White bass/rock bass No limit

Lake herring/lake whitefish/bullhead/rough fish No limit



EAST RIVER
REGULATIONS
2023 East River Exceptions to Statewide Harvest Limits
East River Border Waters
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EAST RIVER
REGULATIONS

EAST RIVER EXCEPTIONS TO STATEWIDE HARVEST LIMITS

BIG STONE LAKE, Grant/Roberts 
Co. - See border waters section for 
harvest limits.

BOIS DE SIOUX RIVER, Roberts Co. - 
See border waters section for harvest 
limits.

HENDRICKS LAKE, Brookings Co. - 
See border waters section for harvest 
limits.

HORSESHOE LAKE, Day Co. - 
Walleye: Daily limit 1; Minimum 
length 28”.

LYNN LAKE, Day Co. - Walleye: 
Daily limit 2; Minimum length 15”.

MIDDLE LYNN LAKE, Day Co. - 
Walleye: Daily limit 2; Minimum 
length 15”.

MITCHELL LAKE, Davison Co. –

Largemouth/Smallmouth Bass

Minimum length 15”.

MUD LAKE, Roberts Co. - See 
border waters section for harvest 
limits.

OPITZ LAKE, Day/Marshall Co. 
- Walleye: Daily limit 2; Minimum 
length 15”.

TRAVERSE LAKE, Roberts Co. - See 
border waters section for harvest 
limits.

TWIN LAKE, Minnehaha Co. - 
Walleye: Daily limit 1; Minimum 
length 28”.

YANKTON LAKE, Yankton Co. 
- Largemouth/Smallmouth Bass: 
Minimum length 15”.

REETZ LAKE, Day Co. 
REETZ LAKE | MAY 1 - SEPTEMBER 30:  

OPEN TO PUBLIC ACCESS

Species Daily Limit Minimum 
Length

Walleye or 
sauger 1 28"

Yellow perch 1 14"

Black crappie 1 15"

Bluegill 1 10"

All other  
species Statewide regulations

REETZ LAKE | OCTOBER 1 - APRIL 30:  
LANDOWNER PERMISSION REQUIRED

Species Daily Limit Minimum 
Length

All species Statewide regulations

Waters not listed as East River exceptions are included in statewide harvest and length limits on page 19.
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EAST RIVER BORDER WATERS
MINNESOTA-SOUTH DAKOTA BORDER WATERS

Species Daily Limit Possession Limit

Walleye (includes walleye/sauger/saugeye) 4 (only one 20” or longer) 4

Northern pike 6 6

Largemouth/smallmouth bass (any combination) 6 6

Yellow perch 15 30

Crappie 10 10

Sunfish (bluegill, green, pumpkinseed, redear, 
Orangespotted in any combination) 10 10

White bass No Limit

Rock bass 20 20

Bullhead 100 100

Catfish (any combination) 5 (only one 24” or longer) 5

Paddlefish Season closed

Sturgeon
With the exception of a catch and release season for 
lake sturgeon on Big Stone Lake from June 16 to April 

14, the season is closed for sturgeon species.

Rough fish No Limit

Species Daily Limit Possession Limit

Walleye (includes walleye/sauger/saugeye) 4 (only one 20” or longer) 8

Northern pike 6 12

Largemouth/smallmouth bass (any combination) 5 10

Yellow perch 15 30

Crappie 15 30

Sunfish (bluegill, green, pumpkinseed, redear, 
orangespotted in any combination) 15 30

White bass/rock bass No Limit

Rough fish, bullhead No Limit

Channel Catfish 10 20

Flathead catfish 5 (only one 30” or longer) 10

Blue catfish 1 1

Muskellunge/tiger muskie Catch and release only

Sturgeon Season closed

Paddlefish Available by special permit only

Trout/salmon (any combination) 5 10

IOWA-SOUTH DAKOTA BORDER WATERS
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MINNESOTA-SOUTH DAKOTA BORDER WATERS

 » not transport fish fillets 
unless those fillets can be 
readily counted.

 » package frozen 
fish individually for 
transportation or when 
placed in public storage. 

 » tag and identify any fish 
placed in public storage.

 » remember that individual 
pieces of fish constitute 
one fillet; two fillets are the 
equivalent of one fish.

To legally transport 
fish you must...



MISSOURI RIVER
REGULATIONS
Missouri River Exceptions to Statewide Harvest and Length Limits
Inland Missouri River Harvest and Length Limits
Nebraska - South Dakota Border Waters
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MISSOURI RIVER EXCEPTIONS TO STATEWIDE HARVEST 
AND LENGTH LIMITS

uLAKE OAHE - Walleye: 
Daily limit may include no 
more than one fish 20” or 
longer year round.

vLAKE SHARPE - 
Walleye: Minimum length 
limit 15”, except during 
July and August when 
there is no minimum length 
restriction. Daily limit may 
include no more than one 
fish 20” or longer year-
round. 

wLAKE FRANCIS CASE 
- Walleye: Minimum length 
limit 15”, except during 
July and August when 
there is no minimum length 
restriction. Daily limit may 
include no more than one 
fish 20” or longer year-
round. 
wA - CLOSED AREA - The closed area on Lake Francis Case includes the 
waters between the railroad bridge and I-90 bridge causeway in Brule and 
Lyman counties. Waters are closed to fishing from Dec. 1 - April 30, except that 
shore fishing is allowed from the Brule County side of this area year-round.

xMISSOURI RIVER FROM FORT RANDALL DAM DOWNSTREAM 5.5 MILES TO 
THE NEBRASKA BORDER
Walleye: Minimum length 15” year-round.
Daily limit may include no more than one fish 20” or longer year-round. 
Catfish: No daily limit or possession limit; only one flathead catfish 30” or 
longer daily
White Bass: Daily limit 15; Possession limit 30.

MISSOURI RIVER INLAND WATERS

MISSOURI RIVER
REGULATIONS
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NEBRASKA-SOUTH DAKOTA BORDER WATERS

yMissouri River from Gavins Point Dam upstream to the SD-Nebraska border 
at the point where the river becomes entirely in SD
 Walleye: Minimum length 15” year-round.
 
zGavins Point Tailwaters downstream to the Missouri River-Big Sioux River 
confluence (river mile 734). Nonresident anglers fishing from Gavins Point Dam 
to 0.6 miles downstream must have a Nebraska nonresident fishing license. South 
Dakota residents may fish with their South Dakota resident license.

NEBRASKA-SOUTH DAKOTA BORDER WATERS

Boats launched from any Nebraska boat ramp, including the North Tailrace ramp 
below Gavins Dam and Lake Yankton, need to have a Nebraska Aquatic Invasive 
Species (AIS) stamp affixed to the starboard (right) rearward side of the boat. Boats 
launched from South Dakota boat ramps do not need the AIS stamp to access SD/NE 
border waters. For more information visit: outdoornebraska.gov/aisstamp/
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Species Daily Limit Possession Limit

Walleye (additional length restrictions apply             
to some waters) 4 (only one 20” or longer) 8

Northern pike 6 12

Largemouth/smallmouth bass (any combination) 5 10

Yellow perch 15 30

Crappie (any combination) 15 30

Sunfish (bluegill, green, pumpkinseed, redear, 
orangespotted in any combination) 15 30

Trout/salmon (any combination) 5 10

Muskellunge/tiger muskie Catch and release only

Rainbow smelt 5 gallons No limit

White bass/rock bass* No limit

Lake herring/lake whitefish No limit

Bullhead No limit

Catfish (any combination) No limit (only one flathead catfish 30” or longer daily)

Sturgeon Season closed

Paddlefish Available by special permit only

Rough fish No limit

Species Daily Limit Possession Limit

Walleye (length restrictions apply to some border waters) 4 8

Northern pike 3 6

Largemouth/smallmouth bass (any combination) 5 10

Rock bass No limit

White bass 15 30

Yellow perch 15 30

Crappie (any combination) 15 30

Sunfish (bluegill, green, pumpkinseed, redear, 
orangespotted in any combination) 15 30

Channel catfish 10 20

Flathead catfish 5 (only one 30” or longer) 10

Blue catfish 1 1

Trout (any combination) 5 5

Muskellunge/tiger muskie Catch and release only.

Rainbow smelt 5 gallons daily No limit

Sturgeon Season closed

Paddlefish Available by special permit only

Rough fish No limit

INLAND MISSOURI RIVER HARVEST AND LENGTH LIMITS

NEBRASKA-SOUTH DAKOTA BORDER WATERS

* The last 5.5 miles of the MR in SD, from Ft. Randall Dam to the SD/NE state line, has a daily limit of 15 
and a possession limit of 30 white bass.



WEST RIVER
REGULATIONS
West River Exceptions to Statewide Harvest and Length Limits
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WEST RIVER
REGULATIONS

WEST RIVER EXCEPTIONS TO STATEWIDE HARVEST 
AND LENGTH LIMITS

ANGOSTURA RESERVOIR, Fall 
River Co.
Walleye: Minimum length 15”

BAD RIVER
Catfish: No limit

BELLE FOURCHE RESERVOIR,  
Butte Co.
including the inlet canal up to the 
terminal drop structure above the 
Fisherman’s Road Bridge - Walleye: 
Only those less than 15” or 18” and 
longer may be taken; of those, no 
more than one may be 18” or longer.

BELLE FOURCHE RIVER
Catfish: No limit

CEDAR CREEK DAM #1 AND #2, 
Bennett Co. 
at Lacreek NWR - Use and possession 
of live baitfish prohibited.

CHEYENNE RIVER
Catfish: No limit

CURLEW LAKE, Meade Co. 
Walleye: Daily limit 2; Minimum 
length 15”

GRAND RIVER
Catfish: No limit

LITTLE MISSOURI RIVER
Catfish: No limit

MOREAU RIVER
Catfish: No limit

NEW WALL DAM, Pennington Co. 
Largemouth/smallmouth bass: Only 
those less than 14” or 18” and longer 
may be taken; of those, no more than 
one may be 18” or longer.

NEWELL LAKE, Butte Co.
Walleye: Daily limit 2; Minimum 
length 15”

SHADEHILL RESERVOIR, Perkins Co.  
Walleye: Minimum length 15” 

WHITE RIVER
Catfish: No limit



BLACK HILLS
REGULATIONS
Black Hills Exceptions to Statewide Harvest and Length Limits
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BLACK HILLS EXCEPTIONS TO STATEWIDE HARVEST 
AND LENGTH LIMITS

BLACK HILLS
REGULATIONS

1 - BLACK HILLS FISH 
MANAGEMENT AREA
This area includes all waters 
of the Black Hills within the 
following boundary: Beginning 
at the junction of the SD-WY 
state line and the Redwater River 
(inclusive) to US 85, then south on 
US 85 to I- 90, then southeast on 
I-90 to US 16T (Campbell St.) in 
Rapid City,
then south on US 16T (Campbell 
St.) to SD 79, then south on SD 
79 to Maverick Junction near Hot 
Springs, then westerly
on U.S. 18 to Edgemont, then 
northwest along the Burlington 
Northern Railroad to the SD-WY 
state line, then north along the 
state line to the Redwater River. 

TROUT: Only one trout 14” or 
longer caught from any Black 
Hills stream may be included in 
the daily limit (does not apply 
to reservoirs). No high grading 
of trout is permitted in the 
management area.

LAKE TROUT/SPLAKE: Daily 
limit 1; Minimum length 24”

2 - RAPID CREEK (Pennington 
Co.)
The area below Pactola Dam, 
including the stilling basin, 
downstream to the footbridge 
at Placerville Camp (about 2.5 
miles).

TROUT: Catch and release only.

BAIT: Artificial lures only. Use or 
possession of organic bait within 
100 feet of stream is prohibited.

Waters not listed as Black Hills exceptions fall under statewide harvest and length limits on page 19.
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BLACK HILLS EXCEPTIONS TO STATEWIDE HARVEST 
AND LENGTH LIMITS

3 - RAPID CREEK (Pennington 
Co.)
The area in Rapid City from 
Park Drive downstream to 
Jackson Boulevard.

TROUT: Catch and release 
only.

BAIT: Artificial lures only. Use 
or possession of organic bait 
within 100 feet of stream is 
prohibited.

4 - SPEARFISH CREEK 
(Lawrence Co.) 
The area from Homestake 
Hydro Plant No. 2 downstream 
to the face of the Maurice 
Intake Dam (about one mile).

TROUT: Catch and release for 
rainbow trout. Standard harvest 
limits are in place for other 
trout.

BAIT: Artificial lures only. Use 
or possession of organic bait 
within 100 feet of stream is 
prohibited.

5 - YATES PONDS 
CHEYENNE CROSSING 
(Lawrence Co.)

TROUT: Catch and release 
only.

BAIT: Artificial lures only. Use 
or possession of organic bait 
within 100 feet of ponds is 
prohibited.

Waters not listed as Black Hills exceptions fall under statewide harvest and length limits on page 19.
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REGULATIONS
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Boating Regulations
Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs)
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Turtles, Smelt, and Bullfrog Regulations
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GENERAL DEFINITIONS

GENERAL 
REGULATIONS

ACCESS
 When accessed by legal means, 
meandered waters are open to fishing. 
Nonmeandered waters are also open to 
fishing unless marked “Closed” indicated 
by the sign and/or buoy shown below. 
Areas marked “Closed” on nonmeandered 
waters are open to recreational use with 
permission from the owner of the property 
underlying the water.

     
  
  

Please visit gfp.sd.gov for more 
information regarding meandered and 
nonmeandered waters, including an 
interactive map illustrating current closures 
to date or contact the nearest GFP office 
with further questions.
 Most waters in the Black Hills are within 
boundaries of the Black Hills National 
Forest and accessible from adjacent public 
lands. Private land in the Black Hills Fire 
Protection District can be crossed to access 
waters for fishing unless posted as “no 
trespassing.”
 Public access to waters on private 
property is made possible through leases. 
Lease work is supported by the Voluntary 
Public Access and Habitat Incentive 
Program at USDA’s Natural Resources 
Conservation Service.

ARTIFICIAL LIGHTS
 Both submersible and non- submersible 
artificial lights may be used while fishing 
with legal methods.

ARTIFICIAL LURES
 Artificial lures include flies, jigs, spoons, 
spinners and plugs made of metal, 
plastic, wood, hair, feathers, and other 
inedible materials. Artificial lures do not 
include fish eggs, moldable scented baits, 
naturally occurring foods or man-made 
food.

CIVIL DAMAGE LIABILITY
 Besides criminal penalties, people 
illegally taking, killing or possessing game 
fish may be civilly liable to the state for 
damages of $50 for each fish with an 
established daily limit of less than 25, and 
$200 for each paddlefish. Under certain 
situations, the amount may double. Any 
person who has a judgment issued for
not paying civil damages will lose their 
fishing, hunting and trapping privileges 
until the judgment is paid in full.

GAME FISH
 Includes all species belonging to the 
paddlefish, salmon/trout (including 
splake, lake trout, lake herring and 
whitefish), sturgeon, pike, catfish (including 
bullheads), sunfish (including largemouth 
bass, smallmouth bass and crappies), 
perch (including walleye and sauger) and 
bass families (including white bass).   
 Season dates, limits and restrictions are 
established for all game fish. Except for 
lake sturgeon on Big Stone Lake during 
the specified catch and release season, 
the season is closed for all sturgeon 
species in South Dakota inland and border 
waters.
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GENERAL DEFINITIONS
ROUGH FISH
 All fish species not defined as game 
fish or baitfish nor otherwise protected 
are rough fish. Smelt are a rough fish, 
but a daily limit exists. For the purposes 
of management, catfish are considered 
rough fish on inland waters of the 
Missouri River.

FISHING
 Includes the taking, capturing, killing 
or fishing for fish of any variety in any 
manner.

FOUL-HOOKED FISH
 Foul-hooked fish are those 
inadvertently snagged in body areas 
other than the mouth with conventional 
lures by anglers using normal fishing 
methods. Intentional snagging of fish is 
prohibited, except for paddlefish and 
salmon during established seasons. Foul-
hooked fish may be kept as part of the 
legal limit. Foul-hooked paddlefish may 
only be kept by anglers with paddlefish 
permits during the established 
paddlefish seasons.

HARASSMENT
 No one may intentionally interfere 
with other people lawfully fishing,
or engage in an activity specifically 
intended to harass or prevent lawful 
fishing.

LANDING AIDS
 Landing nets, gaffs, and similar 
devices may be used to land fish, which 
are in the process of being caught 
by legal methods. Gaffs and other 
penetrating devices cannot be used to 
land snagged paddlefish.

FISH CLEANING RESTRICTIONS
 Where and when water-specific size 
limits apply for a species of gamefish, 
any person in possession of that 
species must leave fish measurable and 
countable. This applies to individuals 
on the water, ice, or shore fishing. Fish 
carcasses must be kept whole with the 
head, skin, and fins attached. Only 
gills, entrails, scales, and eyes may be 
removed. 
 These provisions do not apply to the 
statewide daily limit of one walleye 
over 20 inches.
 No person may place fish or fish 
cleanings on shorelines or in public 
waters.

DAILY LIMITS
 The number of fish that may be 
taken from 12:01 a.m. to midnight. 
When fishing multiple waters in a day, 
cumulative harvest of a species may not 
exceed the standard statewide daily 
limit. A person may possess no more 
than one day’s limit of fish while on the 
water or actively engaged in fishing. 
However, persons on the ice are allowed 
to keep a possession limit of fish taken 
in accordance with the daily limit and 
transportation regulations.

LENGTH LIMITS
 Water-specific restrictions on lengths 
of fish that anglers are allowed to 
harvest exists in some waters. All fish in 
possession while on the water or ice or 
actively engaged in fishing must comply 
with all laws and regulations in effect for 
that water.
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GENERAL DEFINITIONS
POSSESSION LIMITS
 The possession limit is the maximum 
number of legally harvested fish that a 
person may possess or control. The fish 
possession limit is unlimited at a person’s 
domicile. A domicile is a person’s 
established, fixed, and permanent home 
to which the person, whenever absent, 
has the present intention of returning. 
Places that are NOT domiciles include 
hotels, motels, summer cabins, campers, 
sleeper ice shacks, travel trailers, etc.
 Nonresidents may not exceed the 
established possession limit for each 
species of fish because they do not have 
a domicile in South Dakota. Fish taken 
under another state’s valid license do 
not apply to South Dakota’s possession 
limits, unless taken on a South Dakota 
border water.

ORGANIC BAIT
 In some waters it is illegal to use 
“organic bait.” Organic bait includes 
worms, baitfish, fish eggs, corn, 
marshmallows, insects, moldable scented 
bait, or naturally occurring or manmade 
food intended to be used as bait.

PARTY FISHING 
 Two or more people who mutually 
agree to fish together as a party from 
a single watercraft or from shore or on 
ice while in unaided visual and vocal 
contact may take a combined daily limit 
of fish equal to the sum of all licensed 
party members’ individual daily limits. 
Party fishing provisions do not apply to 
a person fishing in more than one party 
per day or to anglers using spearing/
archery equipment.
 No person may lend his or her license 
to another person or aid someone in 
securing a license fraudulently.

PROTECTED SPECIES
 State and federally listed threatened 
and endangered species cannot be 
taken or possessed. Species you could 
encounter when fishing or boating 
include pallid sturgeon and shovelnose 
sturgeon. All waters of South Dakota, 
including waters bordering with other 
states, are closed to the harvest 
of freshwater mussels; except for 
threatened or endangered species, 
shells from mussels found dead may be 
possessed. For a comprehensive list of 
threatened and endangered species 
visit: gfp.sd.gov/threatened- endangered.

SNAGGING
 Snagging is a method used by 
anglers to intentionally hook fish in body 
areas other than the mouth by rapid, 
intermittent jerking of a hook or lure 
through the water. Snagging is illegal 
except for permitted paddlefish anglers 
during established seasons or during the 
established chinook salmon snagging 
season on Lake Oahe.

STATE RECORD FISH
 Anglers who catch a fish that they 
feel may qualify as a state record are 
encouraged to visit gfp.sd.gov/fish to 
view the guidelines along with the state 
record fish application.

UNATTENDED LINES
 Each line used must be under the 
direct supervision and within the 
unaided observation of the legal user 
at all times. 
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NON-COMMERCIAL BAIT REGULATIONS

IMPORTATION OF FISH PROHIBITED
 Anglers may not import live fish into 
South Dakota.

RELEASE OF BAIT PROHIBITED
 It is illegal to empty receptacles 
containing bait into public waters.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
 Residents and nonresident age 18 
and over need a fishing license to take, 
possess, or transport bait.

TRANSPORTATION OF BAIT
 Bait may not be transported in water 
taken from a lake, pond, stream, or 
river.

PROTECTED SPECIES
 State and federally listed threatened 
and endangered species cannot be 
used as bait. For a comprehensive list 
of threatened and endangered species 
visit gfp.sd.gov/threatened-endangered. 
Any game fish or threatened and 
endangered species taken in traps, nets, 
or seines shall be immediately returned 
to the waters from which taken.

PROHIBITED BAIT

 Common carp, goldfish, game fish 
species except bullhead (all species) 
and sunfish of genus Lepomis (green 
sunfish, pumpkinseed, orangespotted 
sunfish, bluegill, redear sunfish, 
Lepomis sunfish hybrids), protected 
species, and freshwater mussels and 
clams may not be used as bait in hook 
and line fishing.

LEGAL METHODS
 Legal methods of take for all fish 
species not protected or prohibited 
from use as bait include legal hook 
and line, speargun, spear, bow and 
arrow, and crossbow, during established 
seasons and in areas open for specific 
methods of take.
 Seines, lift nets, cast nets, dip 
nets, and traps can be used to take 
fathead minnow, white sucker, creek 
chub, flathead chub, western silvery 
minnow, plains minnow, golden shiner, 
emerald shiner, spottail shiner, gizzard 
shad, lake herring, rainbow smelt, 
crayfish (all native species), freshwater 
shrimp, leeches, tiger salamander (all 
subspecies combined), and leopard 
frog (all subspecies).  See Waters 
Closed for the Taking of Bait Using 
Seines, Nets, and Traps below.
 Dip nets may be used to take all 
rough fish species.
 Licensed hoop nets, slat catfish traps, 
setlines, and floatlines may be used 
to take all rough fish species in areas 
where use of those methods is allowed.
 Bullhead (all species) and sunfish 
of the genus Lepomis (green sunfish, 
pumpkinseed, orangespotted sunfish, 
bluegill, redear sunfish, Lepomis sunfish 
hybrids) can be used as bait if taken by 
hook and line. 

LEGAL SEINES, NETS, AND TRAPS
 There are no mesh-size or size 
restrictions for traps, seines, dip nets, lift 
nets, or cast nets used to take bait for 
noncommercial use.

These rules pertain to the taking of bait by licensed anglers or individuals less than 18 years of age for 
personal use.
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NON-COMMERCIAL BAIT REGULATIONS

USE OF GAME FISH PARTS AS BAIT
 Eyes, gills, entrails, and scales of all 
game fish species may be used as bait, 
if fish were taken by legal methods.

WATERS CLOSED TO TAKING OF BAIT 
USING SEINES, NETS, AND TRAPS
 All permanent or temporary creeks, 
streams, or rivers in Aurora, Beadle, Bon 
Homme, Brown, Clay, Davison, Edmunds, 
Faulk, Hand, Hanson, Hutchinson, 
Jerauld, Lincoln, McCook, McPherson, 
Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Sanborn, 
Spink, Turner, Union, Yankton counties 
(except that portion of Lake Lewis and 
Clark and the Missouri River above 
Gavins Point Dam in Yankton and Bon 
Homme counties) and these individual 
waters:

Brookings County – Interstate
Beadle County – Byron and Mud 
Butte County – Newell
Deuel County – Alice
Edmunds County – Mina
Pennington County – Deerfield, 
Pactola, and Sheridan
Yankton County – Yankton Lake

All permanent  
or temporary  
creeks, streams, 
or rivers in the 
shaded areas are 
closed to the taking 
of bait by the use of 
seines, nets, and traps.

LIMITS

Bait limits only apply to bait legally taken from waters of the state. Limits do not 
apply to bait purchased from licensed bait dealers.

Species Daily Limit
(all species combined) 

Possession Limit 
(all species combined)

Fathead minnow, white sucker, creek chub, flathead 
chub, western silvery minnow, plains minnow, golden 
shiner, emerald shiner, spottail shiner, gizzard shad1

144*

Other rough fish No limit

Bullhead (all species) See harvest limits

Sunfish of the genus Lepomis (green sunfish, 
pumpkinseed, orangespotted sunfish, bluegill, redear 
sunfish, Lepomis sunfish hybrids)

See harvest limits

Lake herring No limit

Rainbow smelt1 5 gallons No limit

Invasive fish (except common carp), including bighead 
and silver carp2 No limit

Crayfish (all native species) 144*

Freshwater shrimp 144*

Leeches 144*

Tiger salamander (all subspecies combined) 24*

Leopard frog (all subspecies) 24*

1Gizzard shad and rainbow smelt must be dead to transport away from the water where taken. 
2Must be dead to use as bait, possess, and transport.
*Limit only applies when using seines, lift nets, cast nets, dip nets, and traps.
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NON-COMMERCIAL BAIT REGULATIONS

BOATING REGULATIONS

 All other public waters, except 
those where baitfish use is restricted 
and those posted as game fish 
rearing ponds or special waterfowl 
management areas, are open to the 
taking of bait by lawful anglers.

TRAP MARKING
 Bait traps must be clearly marked on 
the top of the trap with the user’s name 
and address.

LOST TRAPS
 Lost or stolen bait traps must be 
reported to a GFP Conservation Officer 
within five days of discovering the loss.

TRAP SETTING
 Bait traps may not be set to block 
more than one-half the width of a 
stream. Any trap throats exposed 

above the surface of the water must 
be blocked by a solid shield or mesh to 
prevent the entrapment of waterfowl.

TRAP CHECKING
 To prevent unnecessary fish loss, traps 
must be checked and emptied at least 
once every 48 hours, May 15-Sept. 14 
and at least once every 96 hours, Sept. 
15-May 14.

FRESHWATER MUSSELS AND CLAMS
 All waters of the state, including 
waters bordering with other states, are 
closed to the harvest of freshwater 
mussels and clams. Except for 
threatened, endangered, or Aquatic 
Invasive Species, dead mussel shells 
may be possessed. A person may not 
buy, sell, barter, or trade any species of 
freshwater mussels or their shells.

BOATS
 No one may operate or give 
permission to operate a
nonmotorized boat over 12 feet in 
length or a motorboat of any length 
on South Dakota waters unless a 
valid registration decal is displayed 
on each side of the bow of the boat. 
The registration must be available 
at all times whenever the boat is in 
operation.
 Exceptions:

 » Nonmotorized boats 12 feet or 
less in length.

 » Boats that are covered by a 
valid registration from another 
state that have not been in 
South Dakota for more than 60 
consecutive days during any 
calendar year. However, boats 

subject to a contract for a berth 
for a period of 60 or more 
consecutive days during any 
calendar year in marina facilities 
located within South Dakota must 
be registered by the State of 
South Dakota.

 » Boats that are documented by 
the United States Coast Guard 
(USCG) and used on South 
Dakota waters for less than 60 
consecutive days during any 
calendar year.

 However, USCG documented boats 
subject to a contract for a berth for a 
period of 60 or more consecutive days 
during any calendar year in marina 
facilities located within South Dakota 
must be registered by the State of 
South Dakota.

The South Dakota Boating Handbook is available from GFP offices, County Treasurer offices, or gfp.sd.gov
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BOATING REGULATIONS
BOAT NUMBERING
 No one may operate or give 
permission to operate a
nonmotorized boat over 18 feet in 
length or a motorboat of any length 
on South Dakota waters unless the 
boat is numbered in accordance 
with state and federal law and the 
identifying number set forth in the 
certificate of number is displayed on 
each side of the bow of the boat:

 » The assigned number comprises 
the letters “SD” followed by a 
group of three (or four) numbers 
followed by two (or three) 
letters.

 »  The owner must permanently 
and securely display the 
numbers on each side of the 
forward part of the boat so that 
the numbers are clearly visible 
and readable at a distance of 
100 feet on a clear day without 
the aid of a magnifying device 
when the boat is on the water.

 » The number displayed must be 
a plain block design – script or 
cursive design is prohibited.

 » The number must be a color
 » that contrasts with the color of 

the vessel and be placed to 
read from left to right.

 » A space equal to one letter or 
number must be left between 
the letters “SD” and the group 
of three (or four) numbers that 
follows. Another space equal to 
one letter or number must be 
left between the group of three 
(or four) numbers and the final 
group of two (or three) letters.

 » No numbers or letters other than 
those assigned may appear on 
the forward part of the boat.

ACCIDENT REPORTING
 The operator of a boat involved in 
an accident resulting in damage to a 
boat or other property to an apparent 
extent of $1,000 or more to any one 
person’s property or $2,000 or more 
total damage in any one accident, or 
resulting in death or injury to a person, 
must immediately by the quickest 
means of communication notify the 
nearest law enforcement officer of the 
accident. Notice is not required of any 
person who is physically incapable 
of giving immediate notice. If there is 
another occupant in the boat at the 
time of the accident, that occupant 
shall make the notice if capable of 
doing so.

 



42 | 2024 South Dakota Fishing Handbook

BOATING REGULATIONS

BOATING RESTRICTIONS
 Most South Dakota waters that 
have no wake zones are posted.
 The following South Dakota 
waters have boating or boat motor 
restrictions. This list is not all
inclusive of boating restrictions 
within South Dakota. A complete 
listing of public water safety zones 
by county may be found within the 
South Dakota Boating Handbook or 
online at sdlegislature.gov/Rules/
Administrative/41:04:02.
 
AURORA COUNTY: Wilmarth Lake, 
no wake zone. 

BEADLE COUNTY: Staum Dam, no 
wake zone. 

BON HOMME COUNTY: Lake Henry, 
no wake zone. 

BROWN COUNTY: Willow Dam 
Wildlife Management Area, no 
motor boats or motor vehicles; Putney 
Slough Game Production Area, no 
boating Oct. 20 - Dec. 31 in Secs. 
7, 8, 17 and 18 in T124N, R61W; 
Richmond Lake, no wake zone during 
any time at which the water level 
reaches the height of eighteen inches 
or more over the level of the top of 
the spillway. 

CLARK COUNTY: Reid Lake, no 
boating Oct. 20 - Dec. 31. Indian 
Springs and Antelope Lake, no fishing 
from a boat east of the 424th Ave. 
line to 0.5 miles east of 427th Ave. 
line from Oct. 20-Dec. 31.

 
CODINGTON COUNTY: McKilligan 
Lake, no boating during waterfowl 
seasons; Horseshoe Lake, no motors 
during waterfowl seasons; Blythe 
Slough in portions of Secs. 27 and 28 
of T117N, R55W, no boating from 
March 1 - Aug. 31.
 
CUSTER COUNTY: Sylvan, Legion, 
and Bismarck lakes electric motors 
only; Center Lake, no wake zone.
 
DAVISON COUNTY: Lake Mitchell, no 
wake zone during any time at which 
the water level reaches the height 
of 12” or more over the level of the 
top of the spillway. Once in effect, no 
wake zone shall remain
in effect until such time as the water 
level of the lake drops to the level 
of 6” over the level of the top of the 
spillway.

DAY COUNTY: The waters within 
the boundary of Waubay National 
Wildlife Refuge are a “no motors 
zone”

DEUEL COUNTY: Lake Oliver, no 
wake zone. 
 
EDMUNDS COUNTY: Mina Lake, no 
wake zone during any time at which 
the water level reaches the height of 
18” or more over the level of the top 
of the spillway.
 
FALL RIVER COUNTY: Cold Brook 
and Cottonwood reservoirs, electric 
motors only. 
 
HAND COUNTY: Wall Lake, no 
motors during waterfowl seasons. 



gfp.sd.gov  | 605.223.7660 | 43

BOATING REGULATIONS

HANSON COUNTY: Hanson Lake, 
no wake zone when lake elevation 
is 12” or greater over the spillway 
elevation. 
 
HUGHES COUNTY: Hipple Lake 
west of the buoy, electric motors 
only. 
 
HUTCHINSON COUNTY: Silver 
Lake, no boating during a 
Conservation Order and during 
any open season for migratory 
waterfowl, inclusive; Dimock, Tripp 
and Menno lakes, no wake zone.

LAKE COUNTY: Long Lake, no wake 
zone (except the months of July and 
August).
 
LINCOLN COUNTY: Lake Alvin and 
Lake Lakota, no wake zone; Rollings 
Game Production Area, electric 
motors only.

McCOOK COUNTY: The waters of 
Lehrman Game Production Area
in section 32, T103N, R56W are 
a “no boating zone” during a 
Conservation Order and during 
any open season for migratory 
waterfowl, inclusive.

MEADE COUNTY: Bear Butte Lake, 
no wake zone.
 
MINNEHAHA COUNTY: Clear Lake,
no boating Oct. 20 - Dec. 31; Loss 
Lake, no wake zone; The waters 
within the man-made and natural 
connection between the north and 
south basins of Twin Lakes in Section 
17, Range 52W, Township 103N are 

a no wake zone.
MOODY COUNTY: Lake Campbell, 
no wake zone south of 220th St. 
(Moody County Road 1); Battle 
Creek, no wake zone from Lake 
Campbell south to the steel bridge 
one mile south of 221st St. (Moody 
County Road 2).
 
PENNINGTON COUNTY: Deerfield 
Reservoir and Canyon Lake, no wake 
zone; Canyon Lake, electric motors 
only.
ROBERTS COUNTY: Secs. 20, 28,
29, 32 and 33 of T128N, R49W
of Cottonwood Lake Waterfowl 
Refuge, no boating zone during 
waterfowl seasons; and Secs. 11, 
12 and 14 of T127N, R48W of 
Mud Lake, only boats using electric 
motors during waterfowl seasons.
 
STANLEY COUNTY: No boating 
zone on Lake Sharpe south of the 
Lake Oahe Powerhouse from the 
“T-Dike” south to a signed point
2,100’ downstream inside the buoys; 
the waters inside Oahe Marina are 
a no wake zone; the waters from the 
mouth of the Bad River upstream to 
the pedestrian footbridge are a no 
wake zone.
 
TURNER COUNTY: Swan Lake, no 
motors on waters south and west of 
Christian Camp.
 
YANKTON COUNTY: Marindahl 
Lake, no wake zone; Lake Yankton, 
electric motors only.

 For additional boating rules 
and guidelines on Black Hills lakes, 
contact the Black Hills National 
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PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICES (PFDs)

AREAS CLOSED TO FISHING

 All vessels (including canoes, 
kayaks, paddleboards and 
inflatable rafts) being operated on 
public waters of this state must
have at least one wearable USCG– 
approved PFD for each person on 
board or being towed. Inflatable 
PFDs are not approved for persons 
being towed.
 All vessels 16’ or longer, except 
canoes and kayaks, must also carry 
on board one USCG approved 
throwable device.
 All children under seven years of 
age must wear a PFD on any vessel 
operating at greater than “slow,
no wake speed” unless they are 
below deck or in an enclosed cabin. 
Inflatable PFDs are not approved for 
children under 16 years of age.
 A personal watercraft may not 
be operated unless each person 
on board is wearing a USCG– 
approved PFD. Inflatable PFDs are 
not approved for use on personal 
watercraft.
 

 A Type V hybrid PFD is 
acceptable only if it is worn at all 
times except when the person is 
below deck or in an enclosed cabin.
Besides being USCG–approved, all 
PFDs must be:

 » In good and serviceable 
condition.

 » Readily accessible, which means 
you are able to put the PFD on 
quickly in an emergency.

 » Of the proper size for the 
intended wearer. Sizing for 
PFDs is based on body weight 
and chest size.

 For other specific regulations 
see the publication South Dakota 
Boating Handbook available at 
regional offices or online at  
gfp.sd.gov.

Designated No Fishing Zones: 
 » Blue Dog Lake State Fish 

Hatchery Ponds
 » Cleghorn Springs State Fish 

Hatchery Ponds
 » McNenny State Fish Hatchery 

Ponds
 » D.C. Booth Fish Hatchery Ponds
 » Gavins Point National Fish 

Hatchery Ponds

No Fishing Zones when posted: 
 » Whitlock Bay Fish Spawning 

Station
 » Big Stone Rearing Ponds
 » Other natural rearing ponds 

posted by GFP
 » GFP Outdoor Campus Ponds 

- fishing only allowed during 
GFP-organized events
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FELT SOLE WADERS PROHIBITED

FISH IMPORTATION

FISH MEASUREMENT

 External felt sole footwear including boots and waders may not be 
used in the waters of South Dakota. This type of waders/boots can be a 
pathway for transmission of aquatic invasive species and fish diseases, as the 
absorbent felt material can trap sediment and organic material which may 
include didymo (rock snot) cells, disease spores or invertebrate larvae.

 A person may not import live fish or any fish reproductive product into 
South Dakota without a valid importation permit issued by GFP, unless they 
are fishing on any border waters or they are importing fish designated for 
aquaria use. Importation permits will not be issued to anglers wishing to 
import baitfish for fishing in South Dakota inland waters.

Lay the fish on its side, with the mouth closed and the tail lobes pressed 
together. Measure the length from the tip of the snout to the end of the 
pinched tail.

How to Measure a Fish

LENGTH means the total length of a fish in inches, as measured in a 
straight line along a flat surface, from the tip of the snout to the tip of the 
tail, except when measuring paddlefish.
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FISHING TOURNAMENTS/SPECIAL EVENTS

GENERAL RESTRICTIONS

 A fishing tournament is any organized 
competitive angling event:

 » involving 20 or more boats
 » 50 or more people in a non-

boating situation.
 » conducted on public waters for the 

purpose of awarding prizes or 
for personal gain or promotional 
consideration.

 All fishing tournaments require a 
permit issued by Game, Fish and Parks. 
Approval will not be given to hold 
a catch and release tournament for 
salmon or a tournament for walleye
where fish are taken into possession 
and later released from June 1 - Sept. 
15.
 Junior fishing clinics for youth under 
age 18 are not considered to be fishing 

tournaments, but a Fishing Tournament 
Permit is required if an admission fee 
or registration fee is charged or if 
there are more than 50 participants. 
Tournament sponsors or organizers must 
apply for the Fishing Tournament Permit. 
 Fishing tournament applications can 
be submitted no earlier than November 
1 of the year proceeding the 
tournament date and must be submitted 
at least 30 days before the event.
 Applications are available online at 
gfp.sd.gov, at GFP offices, or by writing 
Game, Fish and Parks, 523 E. Capitol, 
Pierre, SD 57501, for application and 
fishing tournament rules.

Refuse
 » No person may deposit refuse in 

public waters.
 » No person may leave refuse on 

the ice.
Stockings

 » No person may release fish or 
fish eggs into public waters, 
unless they were taken from the 
same waters, without written 
authorization from GFP.

 » No person may stock baitfish or 
empty bait containers into public 
waters.

 » No person may release fish, 
reptiles, amphibians, mollusks or 
crustaceans not native to South 
Dakota into public waters without 
written authorization from GFP.

Sell, Buy or Bartering 
 » No person may sell, buy or barter 

game fish, except those catfish 

lawfully taken by hoop net, 
floatline/ setline, or trap when 
allowed.

 » Lawfully taken fish that have been 
mounted may be sold.

Illegal Means
 » No person may possess, use or 

maintain certain nets, such as 
trammel or gill nets, unless they 
are a landowner authorized by 
GFP to conduct certain fisheries 
management activities on man-
made impoundments that only 
inundate private land.

 » No person my use explosives, 
electrical devices, poisonous 
chemicals or stupefying drugs to 
take fish.

 » No person my use a firearm to 
shoot fish, frogs or turtles.
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HOOP NETS, TRAPS, FLOATLINES/SETLINES
 South Dakota residents with a valid 
fishing license or are under 18 years 
of age and exempt from licensing 
requirements may purchase additional 
specialty licenses to use hoop nets, 
traps, floatlines/setlines on the inland 
waters of the Missouri River, its 
western tributaries, Angostura, Belle 

Fourche,  and Shadehill Reservoirs, and 
Nebraska border waters.
 Licenses can be viewed and 
purchased on the GFP website at 
gfp.sd.gov. 

HIGH GRADING

HOOK AND LINE RESTRICTIONS

ICE HOUSES

 High grading (culling) is the act 
of releasing fish that have been 
held in a livewell, on a stringer, or 
with other fish holding devices. High 
grading increases the likelihood 
of fish mortality due to extra fish 
handling and the    presence of warm 
surface water in livewells and other 
fish holding devices. Anglers can help 
reduce unnecessary fish mortality 

by not high grading. Regulations 
restricting high grading do not prevent 
catch and release or selective harvest, 
but prohibit exchanging a fish held in 
possession with a recently-caught fish.  
WALLEYE - High grading is prohibited 
statewide, including border waters. 
TROUT - High grading of all trout 
species is prohibited in the Black Hills 
Fish Management Area.

 » A line is defined as a length of string or cord to which a hook or artificial 
lure is attached for the purpose of catching fish.

 » Two lines may be used for open-water fishing whereas four lines may be 
used for fishing through the ice.

 » Only two lines may be used in the South Dakota-Minnesota Border Waters 
year-round.

 » A line may have three hooks per line year-round, including the South 
Dakota-Minnesota Border Waters.

 » Only one end of each line may be equipped with hooks. An artificial lure 
constitutes one hook, regardless of the number of gang hooks attached.

 » A legal bow and arrow, legal crossbow, legal spear, or legal speargun is to 
be counted as one line when anglers are using multiple lines.

 Each fish house, shanty, or other 
shelter utilized on the ice for the 
purpose of ice fishing or spearing must 
display the name and address of the 
owner in letters at least two inches tall 
on the outside of the shelter. Portable 
shelters removed from the ice daily are 
exempt from the marking requirements. 
Shelter doors must permit entry at all 

times, except when unoccupied and 
locked from the outside. On South 
Dakota-Minnesota border waters, 
shelters must be removed from the 
ice by midnight of March 5. After the 
removal date, shelters may remain on 
the ice between midnight and one hour 
before sunrise only when occupied or 
attended.



48 | 2024 South Dakota Fishing Handbook

PUBLIC LAND RESTRICTIONS

PADDLEFISH
 Anglers interested in pursuing 
paddlefish have three options: a 
spring snagging and archery season 
on Lake Francis Case, a summer 
archery season or a fall snagging 
season in the Missouri River below 
Gavins Point Dam, near Yankton, 
SD. The fishery below Gavins Point 
Dam is managed jointly with the 
state of Nebraska. Anglers wishing 
to participate in these seasons must 
apply for a permit issued by lottery 
drawing. 
 The application deadline for 
permits issued for the Lake Francis 
Case season is in February. The 
application deadline for permits 
issued for seasons below Gavins Point 
Dam is in April for the archery season 
and May for the snagging season.

LAKE FRANCIS CASE SNAGGING/
ARCHERY

Open Area: Lake Francis Case from 
Fort Randall Dam upstream to Big 
Bend Dam and in the White River 
from the mouth upstream to Highway 
47 bridge.
Season: May 1 - 31.
Method: Snagging or hand-drawn 
bow and arrow or crossbow.
Landing Aids: Landing nets and 
similar devices. No gaffs allowed.
Season Limit: One per valid permit 
and tag.
Size Restrictions: None.
Daily Paddlefish Snagging/Archery 
Hours: 6 a.m. - 9 p.m.
Permit Fee: $25 residents (500 
issued), no nonresident permits.

 Walk-In Areas are closed to fishing 
except with landowner permission.
 No one may enter, use or occupy 
lands owned, leased, managed, or 
controlled by GFP for any purpose 
which interferes with the management 
of the area, or the authorized use of 
the area by others.
 Only people using a state park, 
state recreation area, state nature 
area or state lakeside use area for 
lawful fishing, hunting, trapping, 
snowmobiling, boating or camping may 
enter any of the above areas from 11 
p.m. - 6 a.m.
 Only persons engaged in lawful 
fishing, boating, hunting or trapping 
may enter any of the following areas 
from 11 p.m. - 6 a.m. year-round: Public 
Shooting Areas, Game Production 

Areas, Wildlife Refuges, Lake and 
Fishing Access Areas, and Public Water 
Access Areas.
 No person may use a motor vehicle 
for the purposes of fishing, hunting or 
trapping on any land under the control 
of the South Dakota Commissioner 
of School and Public Lands, except 
for roads, trails or parking areas 
designated and signed by GFP.
 Camping is only permitted in 
established campgrounds.
 Commercial activities (including 
guiding) are not allowed on lands 
owned by the US Fish and Wildlife 
Service, unless authorized by a special 
use permit. Anglers should contact the 
appropriate administrative agency with 
other questions regarding land use of 
public lands not controlled by GFP.
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PADDLEFISH

SPEARING AND ARCHERY

SALMON SNAGGING

GAVINS POINT DAM ARCHERY

Open Area: Missouri River from 
Gavins Point Dam downstream to the 
mouth of the Big Sioux River (river mile 
734).
Season: June 1 - 30.
Method: Hand-drawn bow and arrow 
or crossbow (crossbows may only be 
used downstream of the Highway 81 
bridge).
Landing Aids: Landing nets, gaffs, and 
similar devices.
Season Limit: One per valid permit.
Size Restrictions: None.
Daily Paddlefish Archery Hours: 
Sunrise to sunset
Permit Fee: $25 residents (255 
issued), $25 nonresidents (20 issued).

GAVINS POINT DAM SNAGGING

Open Area: Missouri River from 
Gavins Point Dam downstream to the 
mouth of the Big Sioux River (river mile 
734) and on the Big Sioux River from 
the mouth upstream to the I-29 bridge.
Season: Oct. 1 - 31.
Method: Snagging. 
Landing Aids: Landing nets and 
similar devices. No gaffs allowed.
Season Limit: One per valid permit.
Size Restrictions: Any paddlefish 
taken measuring between 35”-45” 
inclusive, from front of the eye to 
the natural fork of the tail, must be 
immediately released to the water 
where it is caught.
Daily Paddlefish Snagging Hours:  
7 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Permit Fee: $25 residents (1,550 
issued), $25 nonresidents (50 issued).

 The spearing and archery seasons 
allow licensed anglers to take fish 
with a legal spear, legal speargun, 
legal crossbow or bow and arrow, 
with some restrictions for specific 
seasons and dates for game fish and 
rough fish.

DEFINITIONS
 Spear: A shaft with a sharp, 
barbed point or points propelled by 
muscle power.
  

Speargun: A muscle-loaded device 
propelling a spear attached to a line 
no more than 20’ long.
 Bow and Arrow: A hand-drawn 
bow that has an arrow with at least 
one barbed point attached to the 
bow by a line.
 Crossbow: A bow mounted 
crosswise on a stock equipped with a 
functional mechanical safety device 
that discharges a projectile with at 
least one barbed point attached to 
the crossbow by a line.

Open Area: Lake Oahe from Oahe Dam to the North Dakota border
Season: October 1 - November 30.
Species: Chinook salmon only. All other fish species snagged must be 
immediately released.
Restrictions: Only one line with one hook may be used to snag chinook salmon.
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SPEARING AND ARCHERY
SPEARING/ARCHERY HOURS 
 One-half hour before sunrise to 
one-half hour after sunset. Refer to 
the rough fish section for specific 
time periods when rough fish may be 
taken.

LIMITS 
 Length limits are the same as for 
hook and line fishing. Daily and 
possession limits are the same as, and 
in combination with, hook and line 
limits. Rough fish taken by spearing or 
archery must be retained.

DIVER-DOWN FLAG  
 Divers and anyone using an 
underwater air supply, including a 
snorkel, must display a diver-down 
flag firmly attached to a securely 
anchored float, rubber tube, diver 
or boat while diving. The flag must 
be at least 12” by 15” and must 
be red with a white diagonal strip 
running from the upper left corner 
to the lower right corner. Divers 
must also stay within 75’ of the flag. 
Diver-down flags are not required in 
areas where motorboat or sailboat 
operation is prohibited.

RESTRICTIONS
 Underwater spearfishing is not 
permitted within 100 yards of 
designated swimming or waterskiing 
areas, boat docks, power intake tubes 
or spillways.
 Underwater diving is not permitted 
where placement of the diver-down 
flag would restrict boat access at 
public access ramps or watercraft 
navigation.

 Boats using internal combustion 
engines may not be operated within 
75' of a diver-down flag unless the 
boat is part of or related to the 
diving activity.
 Artificial light may be used to take 
game fish and rough fish by legal 
methods.
 Spearing and archery are 
prohibited in Angostura Marina and 
Lewis and Clark Marina.

ROUGH FISH SEASONS AND DATES
 Rough fish, excluding protected 
species, may be taken by legal 
spear, speargun, bow and arrow or 
crossbow from all inland and border 
waters year-round any time of day 
or night.
 Catfish in the Missouri River Inland 
Waters are considered rough fish for 
management purposes and can be 
taken year-round any time of day or 
night.

GAME FISH
 Game fish may be taken with 
legal crossbows, spear guns, spears, 
and bow and arrow in the following 
areas with the restrictions listed.

GAME FISH POSSESSION 
 People actively engaged in 
spearfishing/bowfishing may not 
possess speared game fish in areas 
not open to the spearing of game 
fish.
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DIVER-DOWN FLAGS
Boaters and divers are encouraged to exhibit courtesy on the water.

 » Diver-down flags indicate a diver is within 75 feet.
 » Boats may not be operated using an internal combustion 

engine within 75 feet of a diver down flag.
 » Boats under the power of an electric motor may legally be 

operated within 75 feet of a diver-down flag.
 » A diver-down flag must be anchored to a float, a rubber tube, 

a diver, or a boat to indicate a diver is near.

GAME FISH SPEARING/ARCHERY SEASONS AND DATES

Season/Location Dates Waters Species

Statewide*

*For 
exceptions 
see “Waters” 
column

Year-round All inland waters, including the 
Missouri River inland waters. 
EXCEPT: Lynn, Middle Lynn and 
Amsden (Day County), Lake Sinai 
and Twin Lake east of U.S. Hwy 
81 (Brookings County), Twin
Lake west of U.S. Hwy 81 
(Kingsbury County), and North 
Island and South Island Lakes 
(McCook and Minnehaha 
Counties).

Northern pike and 
all catfish species

Missouri River 
Inland Waters

May 1 - March 31 Lake Francis Case
Lake Sharpe
Lake Oahe
On the Missouri River from Ft. 
Randall Dam downstream 5.5 
miles to the Nebraska border

All game fish 
species except 
paddlefish, muskie, 
and sturgeon

Eastern SD May 1 - March 31 All inland waters, EXCEPT: 
walleye may not be taken from 
Horseshoe and Reetz Lakes (Day 
County), Twin Lake (Minnehaha 
County)

All game fish 
species except 
paddlefish, muskie, 
and sturgeon

Western SD May 1 - March 31 All inland waters All game fish 
species except 
paddlefish, muskie, 
and sturgeon

Black Hills May 1 - March 31 All inland waters All game fish 
species except 
paddlefish, muskie, 
sturgeon, trout and 
salmon

SD/NE Border 
Waters

July 1 - Dec. 31 Missouri River from the Big Sioux 
confluence upstream to the South 
Dakota-Nebraska state line where 
the river is entirely within South 
Dakota. (This includes Lewis and 
Clark Lake)

All game fish species 
except paddlefish, 
muskie and sturgeon

SD/MN 
Border Waters

Nov. 15 (annually) 
-  Last Sunday in 
February

All boundary waters except the 
Bois de Sioux River

Northern pike and 
all catfish species

SPEARING AND ARCHERY
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TURTLES, SMELT AND BULLFROG REGULATIONS

TRANSPORTATION, STORAGE AND GIFTING

TURTLES (all species except false map)
Season: Year-round
Daily Limit: 2 of each species
Possession Limit: 4 of each species
Legal Methods: Hook and line, legal 
minnow seines, gaff hooks, legal spears, 
or legal turtle traps.
 Traps with mesh less than 4” square 
must have an opening at least 6”
in diameter leading from it or an 
entrance opening suspended at or 
above the water level.
 Traps must be clearly marked with 
the owner’s name and address. It is 
illegal to buy, sell, barter, or trade any 
species of turtle, including parts thereof. 
A person may not export snapping 
turtles for any purpose other than 
personal consumption.

SMELT
Season: Year-round
Limit: 5 gallons daily, no possession 

limit
Legal Methods: Smelt may be taken 
by hook and line, dip nets, lift nets, cast 
nets and seines.
Restriction: Live smelt cannot be 

transported.

BULLFROGS
Season: Year-round
Daily Limit: 15
Possession Limit: 30
Restriction: Frogs may not be taken 

with firearms.

DEFINITIONS
 Public Storage: Public storage is any 
business that stores game birds, game 
fish or game animals for a fee or a 
convenience and has a South Dakota 
sales tax license. No person may place 
into public storage any game bird, 
game fish or game animal unless the 
game bird, game fish or game animal 
has attached to it a tag showing the 
owner’s name and address, the number 
and species of bird, fish or animal and 
the date the bird, fish or animal was 
placed in storage. Any person who 
accepts into public storage any game 
bird, game fish, or game animal must 
post notice of the tagging requirements 
of this section in a conspicuous place 
adjacent to the public storage.
 

Domicile: A person’s established,
fixed and permanent home to which 
the person, whenever absent, has the 
present intention of returning.
 Wildlife Processing Facility: Any 
person or entity that has a South 
Dakota sales tax license to operate a 
business that receives, possesses or has 
in custody any wild animal belonging to 
another person for purposes of picking, 
skinning, cleaning, freezing, processing 
or storage.

RECORDS REQUIRED
No wildlife processing facility may:

 » Receive or have in custody any 
wild animal unless accurate 
records are maintained that can 
identify each wild animal received 
by, or in the custody of, the 

A valid fishing license is required to take turtles, smelt, and bullfrogs.
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facility by the name of the person 
from whom the wild animal was 
obtained, and show the number of 
each species; the date each wild 
animal was received; the name 
and address of the owner of each 
wild animal that was received; 
the date each wild animal was 
disposed of; and the name of the 
person or business to whom each 
wild animal was delivered, or

 » Destroy any records required 
to be maintained under this 
section for a period of one year 
following receipt of each wild 
animal, or

 » Allow any wild animal, or parts 
thereof, to leave the facility 
without a receipt bearing the 
name of the facility, number and 
species of wild animals and the 
name of the owner of each wild 
animal.

INSPECTION
 No wildlife processing facility may 
prevent any department representative 
from entering the facilities during 
normal business hours and inspecting 
any wild animal, records, and the 
premises of the facility.

SHIPPING BY COMMON CARRIER
 A person may ship his or her own 
lawfully possessed fish by common 
carrier. The container with the fish inside 
must have affixed to the outside of the 
container a clearly visible statement 
containing the following information:

 » Name, address and license 
number of the person shipping the 
fish.

 » The number and species of fish in 
the container.

 » The date of shipment.
 » The name and address of the 

person to whom the fish has been 
shipped.

TRANSPORTATION OF FISH
 To legally transport fish, you must:

 » Not transport fish fillets unless 
those fillets can be readily 
counted.

 » Package frozen fish individually 
for transportation or when placed 
in public storage.

 » Tag and identify any fish placed 
in public storage.

 » Remember that individual pieces 
of fish constitute one fillet; two 
fillets are the equivalent of one 
fish.

TRANSPORTATION PERMIT
 Transportation permits allow one 
person to transport another person’s 
legally taken fish. Transportation 
permits are not given as a means of 
allowing a person to exceed his or 
her possession limit. Permits will not be 
issued before they are needed. Follow 
these steps to obtain a permit:

 » Contact a Conservation Officer or 
GFP office to arrange a meeting 
place and time.

 » All persons involved must meet 
with the officer and bring their 
fishing licenses and fish to be 
transported.

SALE OF FISH
 Except where provided, no person 
may barter, sell or offer for sale at any 
time or knowingly purchase any fish 
taken or killed in any of the waters of 
this state. Lawfully taken fish that have 
been mounted may be sold.

A valid fishing license is required to take turtles, smelt, and bullfrogs.

TRANSPORTATION, STORAGE AND GIFTING
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TRANSPORTATION, STORAGE AND GIFTING

GIFTING WILDLIFE AND FISH
 A licensee may gift game and fish, 
or any part of game and fish, to 
another person if each of the following 
conditions is met:

 » The game/fish was lawfully 
taken, caught or killed; and

 » The number or amount of game/
fish gifted does not place the 
recipient in violation of any 
season, daily or possession limit 
established for the species of 
game/fish being gifted; and

 » If gifting to an unlicensed person, 
the licensee shall gift the game/
fish at the domicile of the 
recipient. For the purpose of this 
rule, gift means the voluntary 
transfer of game/fish from any 
person to another without fee or 
consideration.

MISSOURI RIVER COORIDOR ENDANGERED AND THREATENED SPECIES
Two protected sturgeon species are native to the Missouri River system. The 
pallid sturgeon is listed as both a federal and state endangered species and 
the shovelnose sturgeon is federally listed as threatened due to the similarity in 
appearance to the pallid. The season is closed year-round on all sturgeon species in 
South Dakota, except on Big Stone Lake, which is open to catch and release angling 
of Lake Sturgeon from June 16 through April 14.

Least terns and piping plovers are shorebirds protected by state endangered and 
threatened species laws. They nest on sandy shores and islands along the Missouri 
River. The piping plover is also protected as a federal threatened species.  It is 
illegal to disturb or harass these bird species because this can cause nest failure. 
Many large colonies are fenced to protect the camouflaged nests and young birds 
from harm, but smaller colonies may not be fenced. Do not disturb 
these rare birds at nesting sites, and do not allow unsupervised 
dogs to visit these colonies.
 
Softshells and other aquatic turtles nest on some of the same sandy 
beaches river recreationists may use. If you notice any turtle 
nesting concentrations, avoid disturbing the turtles and keep pets 
away from the area. Please inform SD Game, Fish and Parks 
Natural Heritage Program of these locations.

Shovelnose Sturgeon

Pallid Sturgeon

Least Tern

Piping Plover

Least Tern Image © USFWS
Piping Plover Image © Doug Backlund
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FISH CONSUMPTION ADVISORIES
 The purpose of this information is not to discourage people from eating fish. Rather, it is intended as a 
guide to help you select sizes and species of fish low in mercury. By following these recommendations, people 
can enjoy the benefits of eating fish. The South Dakota Depaartment of Health, Department of Agriculture 
and Natural Resources, and GFP cooperate to test fish for metals, pesticides, and PCBs.
 Almost 150 of South Dakota’s most popular fishing waters have been tested for fish contaminates and as 
a result, fish consumption advisories have been issued for elevated mercury levels on waters listed below.

GUIDELINES FOR WATERS 
WITH ADVISORIES

 General: Includes men, 
children over seven years of 
age, and women who do not fit 
into the category entitled, “high 
risk.” Fish consumption may 
exceed the recommended rate 
for a period of time as long as
consumption averages to one 
seven-ounce meal per week. A 
seven-ounce portion is roughly 
the size of two decks of playing 
cards.
 High Risk: Includes any 
woman who is pregnant, 
plans to become pregnant or 
is nursing. The consumption 
recommendation is based 
upon a woman weighing 
approximately 140 pounds. Fish 
consumption should not exceed 
the recommendation of seven 
ounces per month (12 meals/
year).
 Children: Includes children 
under seven years of age.  Fish 
consumption should not exceed 
the recommendation of four 
ounces per month (12 meals/
year).

Additional advisories may have been 
issued after the time this publication 
was printed. For more information 
about waters not included in the list of 
current consumption advisories, please 
visit doh.sd.gov/topics/food-lodging-
safety/preventing-foodborne-illness/fish-
consumption-advisories

MERCURY FISH CONSUMPTION ADVISORIES
LAKE COUNTY SPECIES

Bitter Lake Day County Walleye (all sizes) 
Northern Pike (>30 inches)

Coal Springs 
Reservoir Perkins County Northern Pike (>25 inches)

Dry Lake #2 Clark County Walleye (>22 inches)
Elm Lake Brown County Walleye (>25 inches)
Hazeldon Day County Walleye (>21 inches)

Kiesz Dam McPherson 
County Walleye (>16 inches)

Lake Hurley Potter County Largemouth Bass (>18 
inches)

Lake Isabel Dewey County
Northern Pike (>25 inches) 

Largemouth Bass (>17 
inches)

Lake Minnewasta Day County Walleye (>18 inches)

Lake Roosevelt Tripp County Largemouth Bass (>18 
inches)

Lardy Lake Day County Walleye (>25 inches)
Little Moreau 

Lake Dewey County Northern Pike (>26 inches)

Long Lake Codington County Walleye (>17 inches)

Lynn Lake Day County Walleye (>18 inches)
Middle Lynn Lake Day County Walleye (>18 inches)

New Wall Lake Pennington County Crappie (>13 inches)

Newell Lake Butte County Walleye (>18 inches) 
Northern Pike (>18 inches)

North & South 
Buffalo Lake Marshall County Walleye (>21 inches)

North Island Lake Minnehaha, 
McCook Counties Walleye (>18 inches)

Opitz Lake Day County Northern Pike (>26 inches)

Pudwell Dam Corson County Walleye (>18 inches)
Reid Lake Clark County Walleye (>23 inches)

Scott Lake Minnehaha 
County Walleye (>25 Inches)

Swan Lake Clark County Walleye (>21 inches)

Twin Lakes
Kingsbury, 
Brookings 
Counties

Walleye (>18 inches) 
Northern Pike (>19 inches)

Twin Lakes Minnehaha 
County Walleye (all sizes)
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AQUATIC
INVASIVE
SPECIES

AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES LIST
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AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES REGULATIONS
 Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) can 
have negative effects to South Dakota 
waters, including: reducing game fish 
populations, impacting water quality 
and interfering with recreational 
boating.

REGULATIONS
 External felt sole footwear (boots 
and waders) may not be used in South 
Dakota waters.
 A person may not possess, transport, 
sell, purchase, or propagate an AIS 
except for:

 » A person possessing a valid 
scientific collector’s permit;

 » A person authorized by GFP to 
stock triploid grass carp for pond 
management purposes;

 » A person contracted by GFP 
to conduct commercial fishing 
operations;

 » A commercial plant harvester 
operating within the requirements 
of a department approved work 
plan or a lakeshore property 
owner operating within the 
requirements of a GFP approved 
permit;

 » A person in the process of 
removing an AIS from a boat, 
boat dock or lift or related 
equipment;

 » An owner or agent of the owner 
of a boat, boat dock or lift, 
or related equipment in the 
process of transporting the boat 
for decontamination using a 
department-approved process; or

 » An employee of a business 
approved by the department 
to transport and possess  
boats, boat docks and lifts 
for the purpose of watercraft 
decontamination.

 » A lakeshore property owner in the 
process of transporting aquatic 
invasive species for disposal in a 
manner that minimizes possible 
introduction to new waters.

 » In the case of fish and crayfish 
species, only dead specimens may 
be transported or possessed.

WATERCRAFT RESTRICTIONS
 All plants, mud, animals, or other 
organic material must be removed 
from boats and trailers except for:

 » An owner or agent of the owner 
of a boat with a shooting or 
observational blind constructed of 
aquatic macrophytes cut above 
the water line, attached to or in 
boat. 

 A person may not launch or attempt 
to launch a boat, motorboat, boat 
trailer, boat dock, or boat lift of any 
kind into the waters of South Dakota 
with an aquatic invasive species 
attached or onboard except for:

 » An owner or agent of the 
owner of a conveyance with 
dreissenid mussels attached that 
is subsequently launched directly 
into the infested water from which 
it was removed, if the conveyance 
was stored on the riparian 
property of the owner or at a 
marina business property on the 
infested water, prior to launch

 Except for emergency response 
boats, all trailered boats shall have all 
drain and livewell plugs, bailers, valves 
or other devices used to control the 
drainage of water opened or removed 
and kept out, except while in a boat 
ramp parking area, or while being 
launched or loaded.
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WATERCRAFT INSPECTIONS
 Any vehicle transporting a 
boat, other watercraft, or related        
equipment must stop at open AIS 
inspection stations.
 Should an aquatic invasive 
species be found or suspected 
to be present as a result of an  
inspection, a Department-approved 
decontamination will be required prior 
to launching. 

FISH AND BAIT TRANSPORTATION 
RESTRICTIONS
 Except when in a boat ramp 
parking area or on the water, bait 
and fish cannot be transported in 
water from a lake, river, or stream.

NOTE: Silver and bighead carp that 
jump into a boat or are netted using 
a dip net may be kept. Only dead 
silver and bighead carp may be 
transported. 

AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES REGULATION

sdleastwanted.sd.gov

UNLESS YOU’RE...

LOADING,
LAUNCHING OR 

ON THE WATER
All PLUGS Must be out
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AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES INFESTED WATERS

ANGOSTURA RESERVOIR  
Asian Clam, Curlyleaf Pondweed

BEAVER CREEK
New Zealand Mudsnail
 
BIG SIOUX RIVER  
BELOW FALLS PARK IN SIOUX FALLS  
Bighead Carp, Grass Carp, Silver Carp

BIG SIOUX RIVER  
BELOW LAKE KAMPESKA TO THE  
MISSOURI RIVER
Zebra Mussel

BIG STONE LAKE
Curlyleaf Pondweed, Zebra Mussel

BLUE DOG LAKE
Curlyleaf Pondweed, Zebra Mussel
 
BURKE LAKE
Curlyleaf Pondweed

CANYON LAKE
Curlyleaf Pondweed
 
CASCADE SPRINGS
Red-Rimmed Melania
 
CASTLE CREEK 
BELOW DEERFIELD RESERVOIR 
Didymo

CHEYENNE RIVER
Asian Clam, Red-Rimmed Melania

CLEAR LAKE (MARSHALL CO.)
Zebra Mussel

DAHME QUARRY
Zebra Mussel

DAKOTA LAKE
Curlyleaf Pondweed

ENEMY SWIM LAKE
Zebra Mussel
 
FALL RIVER
Red-Rimmed Melania, Asian Clam

HERRICK LAKE
Curlyleaf Pondweed

HORSETHIEF LAKE
European Rudd
 
INTERSTATE LAKE 
BROOKINGS
European Rudd
 
JAMES RIVER
Bighead Carp, Grass Carp, Silver Carp, 
Zebra Mussel
 
LAKE ALICE
European Rudd, Curlyleaf Pondweed

LAKE BYRON AND MUD LAKE
Bighead Carp, Silver Carp, Grass Carp

LAKE COCHRANE
Zebra Mussel
 
LAKE FAULKTON
Flowering Rush

LAKE HURLEY
Curlyleaf Pondweed
 
LAKE FRANCIS CASE
Zebra Mussel, Asian Clam, Eurasian 
Watermilfoil, European Rudd, Curlyleaf 
Pondweed, Purple Loosetrife, Phragmites
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LAKE KAMPESKA
Zebra Mussel
 
LAKE LOUISE
Flowering Rush
 
LAKE MITCHELL (DAVISON CO.)
Curlyleaf Pondweed, Zebra Mussel
LAKE OAHE
European Rudd, Curlyleaf Pondweed, 
Eurasian Watermilfoil

LAKE ROOSEVELT
Curlyleaf Pondweed

LAKE SHARPE
Zebra Mussel, Asian Clam, European 
Rudd, Curlyleaf Pondweed, Eurasian 
Watermilfoil, Purple Loosestrife
 
LAKE TRAVERSE 
Curlyleaf Pondweed 
 
LAKE YANKTON
Zebra Mussels, Asian Clam, Curlyleaf 
Pondweed
 
LEWIS AND CLARK LAKE
Zebra Mussel, Asian Clam, Rusty Crayfish, 
Red Swamp Crayfish, European Rudd, 
Brittle Naiad, Curlyleaf Pondweed, 
Eurasian Watermilfoil, Purple Loosestrife
 
MCCOOK LAKE
Zebra Mussel, Brittle Naiad, Curlyleaf 
Pondweed

MINA LAKE
European Rudd
 

MISSOURI RIVER
BELOW GAVINS POINT DAM
Bighead Carp, Grass Carp, Silver 
Carp, Asian Clam, Zebra Mussel, Rusty 
Crayfishy, European Rudd, Brittle Naiad, 
Red Swamp Crayfish

NELSON LAKE
Curlyleaf Pondweed

NEWELL RESERVOIR
European Rudd
 
PACTOLA RESERVOIR
European Rudd, Zebra Mussel

PICKEREL LAKE
Curlyleaf Pondweed, Zebra Mussel

RAHN LAKE
Curlyleaf Pondweed
 
RAPID CREEK
Curlyleaf Pondweed, Didymo, Purple 
Loosestrife
 
ROY LAKE
Curlyleaf Pondweed, Zebra Mussel
 
SHERIDAN LAKE
European Rudd, Curlyleaf Pondweed

SOUTH RUSH LAKE
Zebra Mussel
 
STOCKADE LAKE
Curlyleaf Pondweed

VERMILLION RIVER BELOW EAST 
VERMILLION STATE REC AREA
Bighead Carp, Grass Carp, Silver Carp

AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES INFESTED WATERS

For a complete list of AIS regulations and the most current list of AIS infested waters, 
visit SDLEASTWANTED.SD.GOV.



CLEAN, DRAIN, DRY

SCAN THE QR CODE OR VISIT SDLEASTWANTED.
SD.GOV FOR MORE INFORMATION ON AQUATIC 
INVASIVE SPECIES IN SOUTH DAKOTA. 

SELF-INSPECTION: Users should 
perform a self-inspection of their 
watercraft after every trip on the 
water using the acronym H.E.A.D. 

 » Hull: examine both sides of the hull below the waterline and       

the trailer. 

 » Engine: inspect the engine, look for AIS in dark areas, right 

angles, and rough spots, and drain water from your lower unit. 

 » Anchor: examine interior compartments, anchor, and ropes. 

 » Dry: pull all plugs and leave them out until your next launch.



Habitat Stamp

TO LEARN MORE, VISIT GFP.SD.GOV AND 
SEARCH HABITAT STAMP Game, Fish

& Parks

SOUTH DAKOTA

What is the Habitat stamp
A habitat stamp is required for anyone 18 years of age or older who 
purchases or applies for a hunting, fishing or furbearer license. This includes 
both residents and nonresidents. The habitat stamp must be purchased 
before obtaining or applying for a license or at the time of a license sale or 
application. Habitat stamp funds will be used to create and improve habitat for 
a variety of wildlife and fish species. In many cases, habitat enhancements 
made with habitat stamp funds intended to benefit game species will also 
provide direct benefits to species of greatest conservation concern. 

Frequently Asked Questions
1. How much does a habitat stamp cost? 
The annual fee for the habitat stamp is $10 for residents and $25 for 
nonresidents. 

2. I just want to purchase a one-day license, do I have to buy a habitat 
stamp? 
No, a habitat stamp is not required for the one-day hunting or fishing license, 
youth hunting license, Private Shooting Preserve license, Hunt for Habitat 
application, or landowner hunting license.

3. Is a habitat stamp required for a landowner license? What about other 
hunting, fishing or trapping that takes place on my own land? 
A habitat stamp is not required for a landowner hunting license. Hunting small 
game, fishing and trapping on a landowner’s own land does not require a 
license purchase nor does it require a habitat stamp. The purchase of any 
license or permit to hunt, fish or trap when not on the landowner’s land 
requires the purchase of a habitat stamp.

4. Am I required to purchase a habitat stamp to purchase a furbearer 
license? 
Yes, a habitat stamp is required to purchase a furbearer license.

5. Am I required to purchase a habitat stamp in order to apply for a 
license or am I required to purchase one once I am successful in the 
draw? 
All individuals 18 years of age or older are required to 
purchase a habitat stamp prior to applying for a license.



SHORELINE 
ALTERATIONS
AND DOCK 
REGULATIONS
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SHORELINE 
ALTERATIONS
AND DOCK 
REGULATIONS

BEFORE YOU ALTER A SHORELINE
 GFP has rules in place that prohibit 
any person from modifying a shoreline or 
bottomland without permission. These rules 
are in place to help protect South Dakota’s 
water resources for the benefit, welfare, 
and enjoyment of all citizens and visitors.
 Before you proceed with any work 
on, alteration, or disturbance of a lake, 
lakebed, or lakeshore, a “Permit to Alter 
Lakeshore or Bottom Lands” must be 
issued by GFP. There is no cost for the 
application, and it can be found on gfp.
sd.gov or at any GFP office.
 Activities for which a permit may be 
required include:

 » Construction of ditches or channels
 » Dredging or excavating to remove 

sediment, or rock
 » Seawall installation or repairs
 » Retaining wall or breakwater 

construction
 » Rip-rap installation or repairs
 » Filling or creating artificial beach
 » Stockpiling brush, trees, vegetation, 

construction materials or debris in the 
lake or on the shore

 » Removal or clearing of aquatic 
vegetation

 » Any other activity that may have 
an impact on the lake, lakebed, or 
lakeshore

 Any person that performs work in the 
lake, lakebed, or lakeshore without a 
permit for that work may be required to 
restore the lake, lakebed, or lakeshore 
to its original condition before it was 
disturbed. GFP staff will assess both 
singular and cumulative impacts of a 
proposed project on the lake and its 
resources, taking into consideration the 
natural resource, natural scenic beauty, 
and recreational opportunities. The 
overall goal of the permitting process is 
to strike a balance between people using 
South Dakota’s water resources while 
protecting them for future generations.

SOUTH DAKOTA DOCK REGULATIONS
 Dock styles, shapes, and accessories 
have come a long way in recent years to 
meet the desires and needs of today’s lake 
patrons. GFP would like to remind you that 
these structures are used on
a public resource and are therefore 
regulated:

 » A dock may not extend over the 
water for more than 60 feet

 » The walking platform must be at 
least 30 inches wide but no wider 
than 10 feet

 » A boat lift, “T” or “L”, or a similar 
attachment may not be placed more 
than 60 feet from shore

 » All docks must be securely anchored 
in place to prevent drifting

 » Docks cannot be placed where they 
become a public nuisance or severely 
distract the aesthetic value to the 
public waters and the shoreline of 
adjacent properties

 » Only landowners whose property 
adjoins public waters can place a 
dock within the riparian boundaries 
of the landowner’s property

 » Landowners whose property is 50 
feet or less in width are allowed to 
place no more than one stationary 
dock and one floating dock in the 
water

 » Landowners whose property is more 
than 50 feet wide are allowed to 
place no more than two stationary 
docks and one floating dock in the 
water

 » Docks placed on the Missouri River 
and its reservoirs are administered 
by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

 If you wish to place a dock that does 
not conform to these requirements, contact 
a GFP office to see if you qualify for a 
variance permit.

SHORELINE ALTERATIONS AND DOCK REGULATIONS
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Largemouth Bass

Pumpkinseed Sunfish

Smallmouth Bass

Rock Bass

Bluegill

Jaw extends past eye

Red eye

Gill cover lobe black

Red eye

Gill cover lobe has red or orange spot at top

SOUTH DAKOTA FISH IDENTIFICATION
South  Dakota is home to more than one hundred fish species. The following, by 
family, are those most sought or encountered by anglers.

SUNFISH FAMILY 
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Gill cover lobe black

Gill cover lobe has red or orange spot at top

SOUTH DAKOTA FISH IDENTIFICATION

White Crappie

Black Crappie

Dorsal fin has 5 or 6 hard spines

Dorsal fin has 7 or 8 hard spines

CATFISH FAMILY 

Flathead Catfish

Channel Catfish

Black Bullhead

Tail square and unforked

Dark mottling on sides

Deeply forked tail fin

Body marked with pigmented spots

Most common bullhead in South Dakota
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SOUTH DAKOTA FISH IDENTIFICATION

PIKE FAMILY 

PADDLEFISH FAMILY 

STURGEON FAMILY 

Northern Pike

Muskellunge

Light markings on 
dark background

Rounded tail fins

pointed tail finsDark markings on a 
light background

Pallid Sturgeon

Shovelnose Sturgeon

Belly mostly naked

Belly covered by bony 
scalelike plates

Paddlefish
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SOUTH DAKOTA FISH IDENTIFICATION

TEMPERATE BASS FAMILY 

DRUM FAMILY 

CODFISH FAMILY 

MINNOW FAMILY 

White Bass

Freshwater Drum

Burbot

Common Carp Silver Carp Bighead Carp
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SOUTH DAKOTA FISH IDENTIFICATION
TROUT AND SALMON FAMILY 

Rainbow Trout

Brown Trout

Brook Trout

Lake Trout

Chinook Salmon

Light body with dark spots

White mouth

Large dark spots and red dots on 
brown body

Light, wormlike markings on dark 
upper body

White leading edge on lower fins

Square tail
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SOUTH DAKOTA FISH IDENTIFICATION
PERCH FAMILY

SMELT FAMILY

Walleye

Sauger

Yellow Perch

No spots on dorsal fin

Spots on dorsal fin

White tip on bottom of tail fin

Saddlelike markings on body

Rainbow Smelt



The The Second Century Habitat 
Fund is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) 
corporation who advocates for 

habitat stewardship, collaborates 
with community partners and strives 
to be conservation leaders to 
benefit all of South Dakota. 

The Second Century Habitat Fund 
has the vision to restore and retain 
pheasant habitat development 
while providing awareness to the 
importance of sustaining South 
Dakota’s strong outdoor heritage 

of pheasant hunting for future 
generations. Our goal is enhancing 
habitat and access across South 
Dakota.

We need everyone’s help to be 
successful in keeping the South 
Dakota pheasant hunting heritage 
alive. You can be a part of this 
important movement by supporting 
the Second Century Habitat Fund 
and donating on our website or 
become a member of our Corporate 
Friends program. 

DONATE NOW AT SDHABITATFUND.ORG



ENHANCE 
AND PRESERVE
OUR PARKS AND WILDLIFE

Become a Friend of  Parks 
and Wildlife

$23 MILLION
RAISED TO ENHANCE 

SOUTH DAKOTA 
PARKS AND OUTDOOR 

RECREATION SINCE 2008

3800
TOTAL DONORS

1
STATE FOR US TO PROTECT

10
MAJOR PROJECTS 

COMPLETED SINCE 2008

The South Dakota Parks and Wildlife Foundation 
has been working for nearly three decades to 
conserve our state’s natural resources and it has a 
solid record of  accomplishment.

Now, for a limited time, you can receive this 
limited-edition cap that will show your support 
with pride! Membership costs just $50 and helps 
to make memories for countless others last a 
lifetime.  

VISIT PARKSWILDLIFEFOUNDATION.ORG OR SCAN THE QR CODE 
TO LEARN MORE
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Aberdeen  Nick Cochran | 605.881.7594
  Jakob Heyd | 605.237.9878
  Tim McCurdy (District CO Supervisor) | 605.380.4572
Belle Fourche Jacob Schwint | 605.391.6042
Britton   Jack Baumert | 605.280.4738
Brookings  Jeff Grendler | 605.360.0509
Buffalo   Adam Fuest | 605.280.7482
Canton  Josh VandenBosch |605.940.0222
Chamberlain Diana Landegent | 605.730.1578
  Travis March | 605.730.1573
Clark  Zach Thomsen | 605.881.2260
Clear Lake  Adam Behnke | 605.881.3780
Custer  Ron Tietsort | 605.431.7048
  Jenna Capper | 605.391.2132
  Jim Ganser | 605.431.8099
Elk Point  Tony Stokley | 605.677.7814
Fort Pierre  Dylan Peterson | 605.730.3774
  John Murphy (District CO Supervisor) | 605.730.1571
  Josh Carr (Regional CO Supervisor) | 605.730.1574
Gettysburg Kendyll DeRouchey | 605.730.1568
Gregory   Cheyanne Colton | 605.280.4741
Hayti  Logan Hammer | 605.881.0018
Hill City  Jeff Edwards | 605.381.9995
Hot Springs D.J. Schroeder | 605.381.6438
  Seth Lorton | 605.880.0009
  Brian Meiers (District CO Supervisor) | 605.391.6023
Ipswich  Eric Voigt | 605.380.4376
  Joe Galbraith (District CO Supervisor) | 605.380.4563
Kadoka   Jason Hamar  | 605.891.5775

Lake Preston  Christopher Schiera | 605.370.0980
Lemmon  Edgar Meza | 605.415.6462
Madison  Cody Symens | 605.480.3364
Martin  Tom Beck | 605.381.6433
Milbank  Blake Swanson | 605.881.3779
  Jamie Pekelder (District CO Supervisor) | 605.881.3778
Miller  Jon Dunlap | 605.730.1570
  Cory Flor (District CO Supervisor) | 605.680.0003
Mobridge  Patrick Beffa  | 605.845.6286

Olivet  Taylor Etherington | 605.941.4735
Onida  Tyler Krekelberg | 605.730.1384
Plankinton  Lynn Geuke | 605.220.6943

Platte  Eric Brumbaugh  | 605.295.1966
  Jeff Martin (District CO Supervisor) | 605.730.1575
Pierre  Jason Hamil | 605.280.7619
Presho   Wyatt Weber | 605.222.4192
Rapid City  Chris Dekker | 605.390.0923
  Ross Fees | 605.381.3734
  Adam Geigle (District  CO Supervisor) | 605.390.1230
  Jim McCormick (Regional CO Supervisor) | 605.381.9500
Redfield  Shane Pedersen | 605.460.0450
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Salem  Alex Osborne | 605.220.1169
  Matt Talbert (District CO Supervisor) | 605.360.0491
Sioux Falls  Craig Fishel | 605.201.3001
  Justin Harman |605.530.7085
  Jared Hill | 605.941.0181
  Jeremy Rakowicz (District CO Supervisor) | 605.941.0074
  Jeremy Roe (Regional CO Supervisor) | 605.940.3519

Sisseton  Anna Sells | 605.881.3773
Spearfish  Josh Thompson | 605.381.4704
  Mike Apland (District CO Supervisor) | 605.391.1574
Sturgis  Ryan Pearson | 605.391.0836
Tyndall   Taylor Kirchner| 605.360.0497
Vermillion  Tanner Pietz | 605.975.1482
Wall   Derek Pelton | 605.220.9688
Watertown  Kyle Lenzner | 605.881.3777
  Jackson Knight | 605.280.1545
  Kraig Haase (Regional CO Supervisor) | 605.881.3774
Webster  Austin Norton | 605.881.2177
  Calvin Meyer | 605.237.3275
Winner  Dillon Bates | 605.730.1576
Yankton  Don Allaway | 605.350.1669
  Dan Altman (District CO Supervisor) | 605.941.4549

Aberdeen  Tim Ray | 605.380.2425
Belle Fourche Spencer Lynch | 605.786.2283 
Bison  Mel Utter | 605.390.2364
Buffalo  Daniel Laine | 605.381.4482
Chamberlain Brent VanderLey | 605.730.1583
Faith  Garret Mooney | 605.431.1474
Fort Pierre  Jason Burt | 605.730.1581
Hot Springs  Loren Vande Stroet | 605.890.0532
Huron  Glen Sterling Jr. | 605.350.4648
Milbank  Eric Kraetsch | 605.881.0271
Miller  Chris Ray | 605.730.2419
Mitchell  Randy Becker | 605.933.9170
  Quinn Hanisch | 605.323.9001
Mobridge  Brendan Peterson | 605.730.1579
Murdo  Joe Kierl | 605.730.1582
Lemmon  Travis Chilson | 605.845.6570
Phillip  Collin Rhine | 605.391.6092
Platte  Tom Payne | 605.730.0747
Rapid City  Sean Marsich | 605.415.1132
Redfield  Colton Taylor | 605.460.0240
Sioux Falls  Stacey Bork | 605.305.2829
  Daren Hetland | 605.941.4554
  Greg Wolbrink | 605.351.7068
Spearfish  Chad Sebade | 605.381.9996
Watertown  Patrick Hybertson | 605.881.4881
Webster  Jake Ure  | 605.881.4423
  Jacob Lorton | 605.881.6908 
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