GFP News - March 20, 2013
- HB1123 Signed Increasing Hunting License Surcharge
hb1123 signed increasing hunting license surcharge
PIERRE, S.D. - House Bill 1123, "an Act to increase the surcharge on certain hunting licenses for predator control purposes, approve temporary funding provisions relating to predator control, and to declare an emergency," was signed into state law today by Governor Dennis Daugaard.
The law includes an emergency provision that puts it into immediate effect when signed by the Governor.
It increases the surcharge on certain hunting licenses from $5 to $6, in essence raising the fee of these hunting licenses by $1: Resident Combination, Resident Senior Combination, Resident Small Game, Nonresident Small Game, Nonresident Waterfowl, Nonresident Early Canada Goose, Nonresident Spring Light Goose, all Shooting Preserve licenses, and all big game hunting licenses with the exception of Youth Deer and Mentored Big Game hunting licenses.
Previously South Dakota law required a $5 surcharge on these licenses that was split evenly between sportsmen's access and landowner depredation programs.
The South Dakota legislature enacted the new law to provide additional $1 funding to the state's animal damage control fund that assists agriculture producers with predator and varmint control issues.
The fee change is now in effect for general license sales through storefront license agents and the Game, Fish and Parks online license system. The additional fee will be added to all future applicable big game licenses.The full text of House Bill 1123 can be found online at http://legis.state.sd.us/sessions/2013/Bill.aspx?File=HB1123ENR.htm