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Residency
To apply for a resident license, a person must:

which the person, whenever absent, has the present intention of  returning) 
within South Dakota for at least 90 consecutive days immediately 
preceding the date of  application for, purchasing, or attempting to 

• Make no claim of  residency in any other state or foreign country for 

• Prior to any application for any license, transfer to SD the person’s 
driver’s license and motor vehicle registrations.
EXCEPTION: The following persons are eligible for resident licenses:
• Any person who previously had a domicile in SD who is absent due to 

• Any person who previously had a domicile in this state who is absent 
due to the person’s regular attendance at a post-high school institution 

• Any person who is an employee of  the veterans’ administration or any 

• Any person attending regularly a post-high school institution in SD 
as a full-time student for 30 days or more immediately preceding the 

or private high school who has resided in the state for 30 days or more 

who has completed GFP’s course of  instruction in the safe handling 

completion of  instruction and who has resided in SD for 30 days or 

• Any person who is a minor dependent of  a resident of  SD.

Termination of  Residency
A person ( ) 
is deemed to have terminated their South Dakota resident hunting, 

• Moves to any other state or foreign country and makes it the person’s 
domicile or makes any claim of  residency for any purpose in the other 
state or foreign country.
 

Social Security Number
The last four digits of  your Social Security Number are required. The Social 

state law on collection of  delinquent child support payments.

Age Eligibility

course.

their hunter safety card, or a current or previous hunting license issued 
to them from any state.
• Residents and nonresidents who have not completed the HuntSAFE 
course at the time of  application must use a paper application and leave 
that information blank on the application form. If  drawn, their license 

number once the course has been successfully completed. 

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS



• Information on the “Mentored Hunt” program is found in a separate 
application form.

Bowhunter Education

by any state or provincial government. Residents and nonresidents 

course to obtain an archery license.

Submitting Fees
You must submit the appropriate license fee to cover the cost of  each 
season applied for on this multiple application form. One check may 
be written to cover the cost of  all seasons you apply for on this form. 
We recommend the fee be sent in the form of  a personal check, but 
a cashier’s check, money order or cash will be accepted. Cash is not 
recommended. Make checks payable to “South Dakota Game, Fish and 
Parks.” Payment for applications submitted online must be made with 

card will not be charged until, and only if  you are successful in the 
drawing. Nonpayment in the form of  a cancelled credit card will result 
in your license being withheld and the blocking of  any future license 
purchases until the unpaid fee, along with any penalties, is paid in full. A 

or if  the drawing has been completed, it will result in the blocking of  
any future license purchases until the unpaid fee, along with any back 
check fees and penalties are paid in full.

Application Rules

and receive no more than one license. See “Application Deadlines” for 
rules allowing additional licenses.

choice must include the higher fee. You will receive a refund if  you 
draw the lower-priced license.
• Licenses may not be transferred to another person.

Group Applications

same group, will be treated as a group application. All applicants will 
either be successful or unsuccessful in the drawings.

that do not match will be treated as individual applications in the 
drawings, not as a group application.

• An incomplete application voids all other applications in the group.
• Applicants with preference points should be aware when applying 
with applicants with fewer preference points. Doing so gives all 
applicants the lowest point represented in the group.
• Residents and nonresidents may apply together in the same group.
Either all in the group will be drawn together or all will be rejected.
Residents must submit the resident fee and nonresidents must submit the 
nonresident fee. This is valid only in seasons and units where both resident 

noted that in most instances, residents who apply with nonresidents will 

Submitting Applications
Applications may be submitted online or on the forms provided in this 
pamphlet (the forms may be photocopied), and may be mailed in the 
self-addressed envelopes provided or in the applicant’s envelope. Proper 

Successful Applicants
Successful applicants for limited licenses are selected at random by 
computer lottery.

Unsuccessful Applicants

South Dakota if  they applied through the mail by paper application. 
Each member of  a group who applied together will receive a separate 
refund. Members of  a group who sent one check will be responsible 
for reimbursement among themselves. Those who applied online using 
a credit card will be charged only if  they are successful in the drawing. 
Those unsuccessful will not be charged and there will be no refund 
required.

Resident Landowner Preference

drawing for residents who qualify for landowner preference.
•To be eligible for landowner preference, a landowner or tenant must 

•“Operate” means: to lease or hold fee title to farm or ranch real 
property and be directly involved in the management decisions made 
for agricultural purposes on the farm or ranch.
•“Agricultural purposes” includes the producing, raising, growing, 

products, livestock, crops, timber, and grasslands.

landowner preference.
•A landowner or tenant, but not both, may claim landowner preference 
for the same qualifying property.
• Immediate family members are eligible, and include the applicant’s 
spouse and the applicant’s children residing with the applicant or on 
land owned or leased by the resident farmer or rancher.
•Employment on a farm or ranch alone does not qualify an individual 
for landowner preference.
•Shareholders of  a corporation, members of  a limited liability 
company holding a membership interest in the company, partners in a 

laws of  South Dakota are eligible for landowner preference if:

responsibility for making the day-to-day management decisions for 
agricultural purposes on the farm or ranch.
•Nonresident landowners do not qualify for this preference.

Preference Points

will not receive preference unless the appropriate fee is submitted with the 
application.
Seasons with a limited number of  licenses have a preference system for 

point may be purchased each year the applicant is unsuccessful. Preference is 

automatically credited to an application even if  you do not apply the following 

Preference cannot be transferred to another person and is only valid for the 

license will lose all accumulated preference and eligibility.



Season Dates:

 

SEASON  APPLICATION  INFORMATION

Interstate 90. See map of  spring turkey units.

License Eligibility: Residents are eligible for all units. Nonresidents 
are eligible for all units west of  the Missouri River, and leftover 
licenses east of  the Missouri River remaining after the second 
drawing.

Individual License Quota: Applicants may have one license from 

third drawing, and an unlimited number after the third drawing as 
described under the application deadline section below.

APPLICATION DEADLINES:
 First Deadline - Applications must be postmarked by Friday, 

per applicant.
 Second Deadline - Applications must be postmarked by Friday, 

available online by Friday, Mar. 3. Those who do not already have a 
license may submit one application.
 Third Deadline - After the second deadline drawing, licenses 
remaining are pooled and available to both residents and nonresidents. 
Applications must be postmarked by Friday, Mar. 10. Apply online by 

or second draw).
 Leftover Licenses - An individual may have an unlimited number of  
licenses for this season in any unit or any combination of  units. They 

SEASON/UNIT/TYPE CHOICES:

MINNEHAHA CO. Restricted to shotguns using 

only. Valid for one male wild turkey.

PENNINGTON CO. east of  the Cheyenne River. Valid 
for one male wild turkey.

Restricted to shotguns using 

only. Valid for one male wild turkey.

Restricted to shotguns using 
crossbows and archery equipment only. Valid for one male wild turkey. 

BENNETT CO. Valid for one male wild turkey.

BON HOMME CO. Valid for one male wild turkey.

SPRING PRAIRIE TURKEY SEASON

The season/unit/type choice designations apply to both resident and 

the SEASON you are applying for, the second three digits describe the 
geographic area and in some cases split season dates, and the last two 
digits describe the animal for which the license is valid.
 

Dakota Legislature. Surcharge monies are divided between programs 
for wildlife damage management and public hunting land access, 

boundaries of  an Indian reservation. Persons applying to hunt on tribal 

and licenses.

Legal Firearms/Muzzleloaders for Wild Turkey

cartridges may be used to hunt, pursue, shoot at, shoot, kill, or wound 

automatic may be used to hunt, shoot, shoot at, wound, kill, or pursue 

slug weighing less than one-half  ounce may be used in hunting wild 

handguns using ammunition which is factory-rated to produce at least 

Crossbow means a device for propelling a bolt by means of  traverse 
limbs mounted on a stock and a string.  The crossbow may be drawn, 
held, and released by a mechanical device and shall have at least one 

Legal Archery Equipment for Wild Turkey
A person hunting wild turkey with bow and arrow may not use or 

(3) Arrow rests that have more than three inches of  continuous 

that aid in the taking of  game. However, cameras, video cameras, 

measured from the top of  the upper wheel or cam to the bottom of  the 



one male wild turkey.

CAMPBELL and WALWORTH CO. Valid for one male 
wild turkey.

wild turkey.

CLAY CO. Valid for one male wild turkey.

CORSON CO. Valid for one male wild turkey.

Valid for one male wild turkey.

DAY and CODINGTON counties. Restricted to 
shotguns using 
archery equipment only. Valid for one male wild turkey. 

Restricted to shotguns using shotshells, 

for one male wild turkey. 

DEWEY and ZIEBACH counties. Valid for one male 
wild turkey.

FALL RIVER CO. south and east of  a line beginning at 

to the Cheyenne River near Edgemont, east on the Cheyenne River to 

wild turkeys.

GRANT CO. Restricted to shotguns using shotshells, 

for one male wild turkey. 

GREGORY CO. Valid for one male wild turkey.

HAMLIN CO. Valid for one male wild turkey.

HARDING CO. Valid for one male wild turkey.

Restricted to shotguns using 

only. Valid for one male wild turkey. 

Restricted to shotguns using shotshells, 

for one male wild turkey.

JONES CO. Valid for one male wild turkey.

LINCOLN CO., including Newton Hills State Park and 
Restricted to shotguns using shotshells, 

crossbow and archery hunting only. Valid for one male wild turkey.

Restricted to shotguns using shotshells, 

crossbow and archery hunting only. Valid for one male wild turkey.

LYMAN CO. Valid for one male wild turkey.

MARSHALL and ROBERTS counties, including 
Sica Hollow State Park. Restricted to shotguns using shotshells, 

for one male wild turkey.

MEADE CO. those portions of  Meade County not 

Pennington County north of  Interstate 90 and west of  the Cheyenne 
River. Valid for two male wild turkeys.

MELLETTE CO. Valid for one male wild turkey.

MOODY CO. Restricted to shotguns using shotshells, 

for one male wild turkey.

SANBORN CO. Restricted to shotguns using shotshells, 

for one male wild turkey.

restricted to shotguns using 

one male wild turkey.

STANLEY CO. Limited to persons who use a wheelchair 

of  Engineers Land and the GFP campground below Oahe Dam, south 
and east of  Power House Road. Successful applicants will be allowed to 

TRIPP CO. Valid for one male wild turkey.

Restricted to shotguns using shotshells, 

for one male wild turkey.

for one male wild turkey.

TODD CO. Valid for one male wild turkey.

a license. Your application will be processed as though you were 
unsuccessful and you will receive the additional preference point for the 

will not be valid in a second or third drawing.



south and west of  Interstate 90.  See map of  spring turkey units.

Season Dates: 

License Eligibility: Residents and nonresidents are eligible. Licenses 

in Fort Pierre. There is no application deadline. Applications may 
be submitted online or via mail through the end of  the season, but 

Individual License Quota: Nonresidents may purchase one BH1 

Methods of  taking: 

being operated as a full automatic. Shotguns using shotshells and 
slugs weighing more than one-half  ounce may be used. Shoulder-held 

SEASON/UNIT/TYPE CHOICE:
 That portion of  Lawrence County south of  Interstate 

those portions of  Pennington and Custer Counties west of  State 

line beginning at the junction of  the South Dakota-Wyoming border 

with the Cheyenne River, then east along the Cheyenne River to its 

to its junction with the Custer County line. Closed to hunting: Custer 

SPRING BLACK HILLS TURKEY SEASON

Season Dates: 

License Eligibility: South Dakota residents only.
Individual License Quota: Applicants may have one CSP turkey license.

APPLICATION DEADLINES:
 First Deadline - Applications must be postmarked by Friday, 

online or via mail.

SEASON/UNIT/TYPE CHOICE:

only. 
Valid for one male wild turkey.

a license. Your application will be processed as though you were 
unsuccessful and you will receive the additional preference point for the 

will not be valid in a second or third drawing.

SPRING CUSTER STATE PARK TURKEY SEASON

Season Dates: 

License Eligibility: Residents and nonresidents are eligible. Licenses 

in Fort Pierre. There is no application deadline. Licenses may be 
purchased either online or via mail through the end of  the season, 

Individual License Quota: Applicants may have one Archery Turkey 
License.

ACCESS PERMITS: A free Residents-Only Access Permit is required 
to hunt archery turkey in Adams Homestead and Nature Preserve in 

Spring Archery Turkey License. After you have received your license, 
the Access Permits may be applied for only on the GFP website.

• Five resident archery licensees will be selected through a random 

licensees to hunt at Adams Homestead and Nature Preserve.  Access 
permits valid from April 1-30.

a.m. CT. For more information, visit:  
gfp.sd.gov/hunting/big-game/turkey/spring-turkey.aspx

SEASON/UNIT/TYPE CHOICE:

all other state park, recreation and lakeside use areas. Valid for one male 
wild turkey.

SPRING ARCHERY TURKEY SEASON
State Park, Wind Cave National Monument, Mount Rushmore National 
Memorial, and Jewel Cave National Monument. Valid for one male wild 
turkey.

restrictions as BH1. Valid for one male wild turkey.
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Season/Unit Type Choices: Fill in your unit-type choice from the choices provided with each season. Additional choices, for those seasons 
that allow additional choices, are optional. You may apply for multiple seasons with this form. Select a preference point option for each season. 

Please remember, if  you are applying together in the same envelope with other individuals, all unit choices must be identical or the application 
will be rejected. 

Last four digits only. This information is required by state law and applications that do not include the SSN will be 
rejected. See information under “application requirements.”

If  you possess one, please enter your driver’s license number, even if  it duplicates your 

number. Include the two-letter abbreviation for the state or province your driver’s license was issued from. Youth without a driver’s license or ID 

safety card number or the number of  a current or previous hunting license issued to them from any state. If  the hunter safety course has not been 

Licenses and refunds will be mailed to the address provided on the application. Those returned as “undeliverable” will be held 

measured in feet and inches. Weight: registered in pounds.

This information is optional, but is helpful if  there is a need to contact or send updates on information. We request that you 

state and year when you last were licensed.

Applications are considered “public record” and from time to time the Game, Fish and Parks Commission receives 
requests from groups and businesses for these names and addresses. If  you wish to keep your name from appearing on these lists, you may check 

 You may make a donation to the Turn In Poachers (TIPs) or Sportsmen Against Hunger (SAH) programs by 
checking one of  the blanks at the bottom of  the application and including an amount greater than the license fee in your payment. Any 

Applications that are not signed will not be processed for a license. 

APPLICATION  INSTRUCTIONS

CONTACT US: FOR MORE INFORMATION:
License Office

20641 SD Hwy 1806
Fort Pierre, SD 57532

Phone
605.223.7660

TTY: 605.223.7684

Office Hours
Monday - Friday

8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Visit our website at:
gfp.sd.gov



BIG GAME APPLICATION FORM

Please follow instructions on the 
opposite side of this page. Detach 
and mail this completed page with 

the appropriate fee.

You may apply for multiple seasons with this form.
You must first read the attached information and follow application instructions. Applications with errors will be rejected. 
You may find the most convenient method is to apply using the online system offered by GFP at its website: gfp.sd.gov. Click on the 
link that invites you to apply for limited license seasons and follow the instructions. Your application will be submitted directly into the 
license lottery system without mail time or further handling. If errors occur, you will be prompted to correct them before proceeding.

Print all information one letter or number per box. Do not tape, staple or paper clip forms and fees.

Check One:    I qualify as a South Dakota resident                  I am applying as a nonresident

1

2

3

6

8

9 10

11

12

13 14

15

7

4 5X X X X X
Last four digits of Social Security Number Date of Birth (Month,Day, Year) Driver License or Identification Card Number State/Province

Name (First, Middle Initial, Last) Hunt Safe No. (under age 16)

Mailing Address (Street, Box Number, Rural Route)

City State Zip Code Country if not USA

Height Weight Phone Number

E-mail Address

ft.                  in.

Archery applicant information:
I have completed the National Bowhunter Education Foundation course.  Yes              No              Certificate Number:                                           OR

I have previously held a big game archery license in South Dakota, in another state or in a Canadian province.  Yes              No

State or Province:                                                    Year

Male              Female

Which privileges are under suspension or revocation:          Hunting              Fishing               Trapping

Which state or country has imposed the revocation or suspension

What is the time period of the revocation or suspension

Donate my overpayment to Sportsmen Against Hunger
Donate my overpayment to Turn In Poachers

APPLICANT SIGNATURE (parent or guardian if applicant under 16)        DATE

16

17 X

I affirm that I am eligible for the license in which I am applying. If this is a 
hunting license, I affirm that my hunting privileges are not in any way currently 
revoked or suspended in any state or country. If this is a fishing license, I affirm 
that my fishing privileges are not in any way currently revoked or suspended in 
any state or country. I understand that if my hunting, or fishing privileges are 
revoked or suspended in any state or country I am not eligible for that privilege 
in this state, and I understand that any misrepresentations of fact or identity 
may result in criminal prosecution and loss of privileges.

DO NOT MARK IN THIS BOX  For office use only

First Choice:

Second Choice:

SEASON UNIT TYPE

SEASON UNIT TYPE

 SEASON ONE

SECTION TOWNSHIP RANGE COUNTY
Yes, I am a landowner/operator in this unit.        Description of land:

Preference Point Option

Yes, I wish to purchase a preference point if I 
am unsuccessful with this first choice. This fee 
($5 residents, $10 nonresidents) is included in 
my check in addition to the fees for licenses 
applied for in this section.

No, I do not wish to purchase a 
preference point if I am unsuccessful 
with this first choice and will not 
receive a preference point in this 
season for next year.

First Choice:

Second Choice:

SEASON UNIT TYPE

SEASON UNIT TYPE

 SEASON TWO

SECTION TOWNSHIP RANGE COUNTY
Yes, I am a landowner/operator in this unit.        Description of land:

Preference Point Option

Yes, I wish to purchase a preference point if I 
am unsuccessful with this first choice. This fee 
($5 residents, $10 nonresidents) is included in 
my check in addition to the fees for licenses 
applied for in this section.

No, I do not wish to purchase a 
preference point if I am unsuccessful 
with this first choice and will not 
receive a preference point in this 
season for next year.

First Choice:

Second Choice:

SEASON UNIT TYPE

SEASON UNIT TYPE

 SEASON THREE

SECTION TOWNSHIP RANGE COUNTY
Yes, I am a landowner/operator in this unit.        Description of land:

Preference Point Option

Yes, I wish to purchase a preference point if I 
am unsuccessful with this first choice. This fee 
($5 residents, $10 nonresidents) is included in 
my check in addition to the fees for licenses 
applied for in this section.

No, I do not wish to purchase a 
preference point if I am unsuccessful 
with this first choice and will not 
receive a preference point in this 
season for next year.

Gender:                                               Check the box to remove your name from non-GFP mailing lists

Indicate below if any of your hunting, fishing or trapping privileges are under revocation or suspension in any state or country:

NOTE: Your check total should include the largest price of licenses applied for above, and the price of a preference point as described in the preference point option above.


